Author Topic: I really dont like the packing.  (Read 12010 times)

Re: I really dont like the packing.
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2014, 08:16:57 AM »
I have one of those pelican cases that is always packed with my 'swag trip' cooking/cutlery/bits'n pieces. It has enough room to fit my food as well.
I use a single burner stove and travel very light. Simple meals/etc.

When ready to go, I just throw my food in the pelican case, pack swag/sleeping bag/pillow/chair/water/esky and I'm good to go.

We too have a Day Box  withal the making of a day trip either way from home or the CT . From kettle to cutlery ,bickies , tinned fish   & above all a pen & paper to make a list of what ever else you forgot to bring  . Then include it as required  :cheers:

« Reply #26 on: June 04, 2014, 08:54:32 AM »
Step 1: Buy a Jayco

Step 2: Leave it packed

Step 3: After trip unpack dirty clothes

Step 4: Wash dirty clothes

Step 5: Repack clean clothes and food

Step 6: Go on another trip
Soft  ;D

« Reply #27 on: June 04, 2014, 10:44:54 AM »
Looks like the trailer might be coming home. One more load or two and a good clean with the Karcher, a dent and paint job and she will be coming home to daddy.  ;D

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #28 on: June 04, 2014, 10:53:03 AM »
Looks like the trailer might be coming home. One more load or two and a good clean with the Karcher, a dent and paint job and she will be coming home to daddy.  ;D

No need to rush mate, I have plenty of "back-ups"! Probably would have only been sitting at home doing nothing anyway! Or I might have used it to do some fencing for the horses so nothing important....... >:D
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #29 on: June 04, 2014, 12:01:42 PM »

I'm starting to think the "overnight pack" is the go. Get one of those plastic space cases and chuck all the stuff in that. Then all you are doing is chucking in the swag, the case and the fridge and food (and for us the dogs and dog stuff) and its on like Donkey Kong! Maybe a chainsaw in this weather as Nay-DMax is at pyro level just below Fuji and Scarps and Bird, but higher than most  :D
here you go, finally found the pic I was looking for.

Waeco on the right, my version of a pelican case on the left with my overnight kit in it.
Was going to sell the big esky to buy a pelican case but figured why bother, both do the same job.

« Reply #30 on: June 04, 2014, 12:03:35 PM »
Oh and the camp chair fits neatly in the middle

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #31 on: June 04, 2014, 12:18:05 PM »
Looks like I have picked up a roof basket for the DMax of evilbay so will grab that on the way home tomorrow. This will give us a spot to put the dog cages and hopefully enough firewood for the weekend. Then I reckon we'll do something similar to what you have scarps, just not on slides or anything. Starting to think we should just take the swag and the dog stuff and the shot gun and just hunt for food. Should be able to find something up the river??....
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #32 on: June 04, 2014, 03:17:16 PM »
Soft  ;D

YES. ;D And VERY comfortable and quick and easy.......

Offline Yimmy

« Reply #33 on: June 04, 2014, 08:44:32 PM »
We are heading up river for the long weekend with 2 other couples.

Each of us has our boat (tinny) ranging in size from 3.9 to 4.9 metres, this means we need to travel light.
2 swags, 2 chairs, table, esky, food box, clothing bag, flat BBQ plate and associated bits, that's it no more room.

I love it, pared back to the basics, 70 km up river from the nearest civilisation and best of all the kids have been left at home.

Woohoo  :cheers:

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #34 on: June 05, 2014, 09:54:47 AM »
With 3 kids it is always a struggle for us to find time to do the packing/prep.  It's especially worse at the moment since my wife is typically asleep by 9pm (that's another story).  So I have to deal with the usual evening housework as well as packing for any trip.
We sometimes take the trailer, sometimes don't.  Every trip is different so it isn't possible to just leave everything packed and ready to go. 

Sometimes I wonder if it is worth the hassle. 

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #35 on: June 05, 2014, 07:07:36 PM »
With 3 kids it is always a struggle for us to find time to do the packing/prep.  It's especially worse at the moment since my wife is typically asleep by 9pm (that's another story).  So I have to deal with the usual evening housework as well as packing for any trip.
We sometimes take the trailer, sometimes don't.  Every trip is different so it isn't possible to just leave everything packed and ready to go. 

Sometimes I wonder if it is worth the hassle.

Yep it can be tough I always think it is worth the hassle as I love to get away, more so that if we are going to use the swag will be good to have an o/n set up a bit like some of those listed above.

« Reply #36 on: June 05, 2014, 08:40:14 PM »
Why did you go and buy a roof basket when I have a practically new one sitting under the house you could have had for nix?  >:(

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #37 on: June 05, 2014, 08:41:34 PM »
Why did you go and buy a roof basket when I have a practically new one sitting under the house you could have had for nix?  >:(

Bugger mate had no idea you had one there  ??? never mind cant do much about it now.

Offline heath74

« Reply #38 on: June 05, 2014, 08:47:23 PM »
I've got a couple of hard plastic boxes, one has the kitchen and cooking gear, one with food, that helps a bit, but I'm not a fan of packing either.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #39 on: June 05, 2014, 08:56:29 PM »

Damn, wonder if SWMBO will let me put 1 on bars on the canopy too?

Offline Ciscokid

« Reply #40 on: June 05, 2014, 10:26:17 PM »
Step 1: Buy a Jayco

Step 2: Leave it packed

Step 3: After trip unpack dirty clothes

Step 4: Wash dirty clothes

Step 5: Repack clean clothes and food

Step 6: Go on another trip

That's what I thought...but it's still canvas, so if wet have to open up. Can't just relax cos u have to unclip, raise roof, crawl in to get food n boxes out, then close roof n clips.

Usually if not wet I just leave it and unpack the next day.

My biggest gripe is on longer trips when I have to bring the roof pod.  That really sh#%s me cos I can't back the trailer through the garage until I've removed it and all the contents!!  :-\

Maybe a caravan would be easier >:D
LC200 60th Anniversary TTD and Jayco Swan outback 2013