Author Topic: Bribie verse Straddie Island  (Read 7912 times)

Offline Forest

Bribie verse Straddie Island
« on: May 25, 2014, 12:47:06 PM »
Hey Swaggers  :cup:

Not sure if you can compare these two destination as I have never been to either...

Just thinking of taking a trip with my smiling assassin the SWMBO   >:D (camper trailer or cabin) at some stage, reckon the June long weekend would be packed out or fully booked ???

Beach views, bushwalking and general relaxation, but happy to do a little beach driving  :4x4: , fishing too.

Thanks in advance
Forest

Re: Bribie verse Straddie Island
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2014, 12:56:45 PM »
Either are fantastic, but the bridge to bribie makes it a cheaper and quicker destination.....

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2014, 01:09:47 PM »
Its like comparing light beer with full strength....

But yeah good for a quick trip.
http://www.somuchviral.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/beer-holder.gif

nbd73

« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2014, 01:15:00 PM »
This is a lay down mizea in my book: Straddy all the way. Cost is a win to Bribie but then look at the following pluses for the bay island: fires tick; freshwater lake to swim in tick; LOTS of 4wd sand action tick; large variety of camp sites on western and eastern beaches tick; did I mention fires? Tick; key holes track to test your snorkel tick; beach and boat fishing tick (a matter of opinion but Bribie for me is not a fishing mecca but happy to be corrected) etc etc
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 01:16:50 PM by nbd73 »

Offline Forest

« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2014, 01:56:59 PM »
Well team Straddie clearly a nose in front with one, but early days I guess .... ;D

Forest

« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2014, 02:28:44 PM »
Straddie every day of the week IMHO, much more to see and do there.
Whilst both will have their fair share of clowns on a long weekend, Bribie has that every weekend.... it'll just get compounded 5 fold there on a long weekend.

Offline hainess

« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2014, 02:31:22 PM »
Another vote for Straddie,.

It's more the feel of the place. All about the "vibe".
I'm usually a non school hols or not a long weekend Straddie visitor.
You can virtually have Main Beach all to yourself at these times.

Although....

I do have another spot, south of the border, 30kms of beach with no one else on it some days.

Rod

Offline Clouty

« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2014, 03:10:16 PM »
Whilst both will have their fair share of clowns on a long weekend, Bribie has that every weekend.... it'll just get compounded 5 fold there on a long weekend.
X2 on that..

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2014, 03:31:37 PM »

X3
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Forest

« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2014, 03:51:59 PM »
MMMmmm was not born in a circus although my Father once told me he wanted to run away to one...
Is there beach camping on Straddie or would you try cabin or similar if still available?

Offline broncos11

« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2014, 04:00:20 PM »
Straddie x a thousand. Swimming, surfing, fishing, lakes, camp grounds, pubs etc all better. Moreton Island diminishes a lot of what Bribie could be in relation to beach/water quality, surf, fishing etc
2003 IFS V8 100 series

« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2014, 04:10:32 PM »
MMMmmm was not born in a circus although my Father once told me he wanted to run away to one...
Is there beach camping on Straddie or would you try cabin or similar if still available?
there's heaps of beach camping on Straddie, and heaps of accomodation aswell.
last year we (the misses and myself) rented a unit with Clouty and his wife and another mate and his wife also for a weekend away. Being we were only going over Friday and coming back on the Sunday we couldn't be bothered with setting gear up, so rented a place to stay at instead and had a great time over there. The money you save on taking a trailer over can be put towards the accomodation, so won't cost a rediculous amount extra, and you save on the set up and pack up costs. I think the place we stayed at was called Claytons on Cylinder Beach, but there's a pile of places to rent over there

« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2014, 06:21:09 PM »
What about Straddie compared to Moreton

Offline bigred

« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2014, 06:35:01 PM »
Moreton x heaps
120 prado KK Limited Ed

« Reply #14 on: May 25, 2014, 06:56:03 PM »
What about Straddie compared to Moreton
they are 2 completely different places altogether IMHO... one has plenty of bitumin roads and lots of people living on it with pubs, shops, bowls club, etc etc etc, ..... the other is a large sand island that you need a 4wd to get around on it . I'm not saying Moreton doesn't have some of the above above listed stuff on it, just you need to seek it out rather then it being on your door step and easily able to get to with a 2wd vehicle. There's no reason you can't visit Straddie with the family sedan for a weekend and not have a good time still, try and do the same on Moreton...lol

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2014, 07:02:31 PM »
Well team Straddie clearly a nose in front with one, but early days I guess .... ;D

Forest

straddie, but more expensive than Bribie.

however its free trailers until August on the straddie flyer, so only $149 return.
camp fees are more expensive than Bribie, as the indigenous people run their own organisation to manage the park rather than the national parks.
all up more expensive, but better.

remember though that all the schoolies decended on straddie and rioted one year - so you cant get away from all the bogans and nitwits.
queens bday long weekend I would totally avoid bribie, but I proved a month back that during the week it can be real quiet and quite enjoyable camping on bribie (ocean beach).
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

Offline hainess

« Reply #16 on: May 25, 2014, 08:12:13 PM »
The schoolies on Straddie stay at Point Lookout.
You don't see them anywhere else.
You also don't see them before 1 in the afternoon at the point either. ;D

Rod

Offline kiwipride

« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2014, 05:45:34 AM »
Another vote for Straddie,.

It's more the feel of the place. All about the "vibe".
I'm usually a non school hols or not a long weekend Straddie visitor.
You can virtually have Main Beach all to yourself at these times.

Although....

I do have another spot, south of the border, 30kms of beach with no one else on it some days.

Rod
Care to share? Or PM.....

My plan is to live forever......so far, so good!

Offline Forest

« Reply #18 on: May 26, 2014, 06:35:12 AM »
Oopps sorry Forgot about Moreton Is  :-[

« Reply #19 on: May 26, 2014, 06:42:02 AM »
Straddie.
If you have the younger kids, there is the fresh water running along the beach on Flinders which is lo of fun for them.
The Keyholes track is great fun, kids loved it, but, make sure you don't like the pint work as you will get the pin strips.
The drive across the top track past the look out is a very nice trip also. especially after the bush fire has given all the new growth.

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #20 on: May 26, 2014, 07:28:53 AM »
And straddle is pet friendly on main beach

« Reply #21 on: May 26, 2014, 09:40:01 AM »
I will go against the popular consensus and say Bribie for a long weekend just due to the $280ish saving in barge fees. (Car & Trailer)

If you were going for more than a long weekend I would definitely recommend Straddie due to more options it has on offer.  But for 3 days Bribie is fine as when your sitting on the beach having a beer, it doesn’t matter what beach your on. 

But in saying that I recommend Bribie, seeing you have left it this late I would guess the Ocean beach sites are already booked out.

Offline hainess

« Reply #22 on: May 26, 2014, 04:18:37 PM »
Care to share? Or PM.....

Have a read here.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37488.0;topicseen
You may get an idea of where I'm talking about. ;D

Rod

Offline Adrian_connor

• Young family with two kids, coastal campers
« Reply #23 on: June 09, 2014, 12:52:20 PM »
Do your self a favour and get out there and experience straddie. I find it hard to stay away from there
Do more camping.
2012 Prado
2013 LIFESTYLE WALK-THROUGH DELUXE