Author Topic: Toyota Aurion - Who has one? Are they any good?  (Read 11649 times)

Toyota Aurion - Who has one? Are they any good?
« on: May 12, 2014, 03:42:14 PM »
It has come time for me to update my wife's car. The Toypta Avalon is coming up to 200K Kms. It was a great car. Leather interior, electric everything, climate control and just beautiful to drive.

The Mrs doesn't really like the look of Camry's but does like the Aurion.
Looking to get something second hand from 2011-2013 with low Kms. Like to know what others think of these cars and what the different models are.
Thanks in advance for any advice.

Offline AJ150

Re: Toyota Aurion - Who has one? Are they any good?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 03:47:35 PM »
We have these cars for our reps and they all say nice car but are very thirsty.

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2014, 03:53:56 PM »
We have 6 at work that we use for driver training, I would rather drive them than a commodore, nice car....

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2014, 04:12:22 PM »
Have you considered a Nissan Maxima. Have done a long trip in one and was rather impressed.

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2014, 04:20:18 PM »
SWMBO is pretty short and found in the Camry (not sure if they are the same or very similar bodies) that there were large blind spots at the rear pillars. Ended up selling the car because of it.

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2014, 04:27:19 PM »
Have a 2007 ATX for the wife.  It's a weapon.  Hit the loud pedal from a standing start and the traction control light comes on every time. 200kw thru the front wheels is interesting at times. It can feel undertyred, it's only got the standard 16 x 6 rims.  17 inch by 7s on the up market models would be better, I've been looking for a set of factory alloys but havnt found any second hand yet.

It's not as good a car as our past VX Holden seating wise, could drive that all day and get out relatively intact.  Toyota front seats still not as good as Holdens, too short in the squab.

We find it very economical on a long trip, 8.5litre per hundred Kay's with the rev counter on 2000rpm.  That's about 106 kph from the gps. Around town, yep, goes up to about 12 (what the supercharged VX used to get on the highway.

Well built, reasonable room.  hope they have changed the radio/cd display so that you can dim it at night, you can read a book of ours whilst traveling!

Would get another If we were in the market for a family car again.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 04:34:35 PM by Mace »

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2014, 04:29:03 PM »
SWMBO is pretty short and found in the Camry (not sure if they are the same or very similar bodies) that there were large blind spots at the rear pillars. Ended up selling the car because of it.

Did it have the electric seats with the height adjust function?  SHMBO is shortish too, drives ours all the time without right up.  I'm sick of cracking my noggin on the roof when I get in.

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2014, 04:48:13 PM »
Did it have the electric seats with the height adjust function?  SHMBO is shortish too, drives ours all the time without right up.  I'm sick of cracking my noggin on the roof when I get in.

Cracking the noggin on the roof and the knees into the steering wheel. Hate that too.

We had the manual adjusting seats (poverty pack) and nobody could be bothered changing it except the eldest son, mind you if he didn't adjust absolutely everything every time he got in the car (he likes bass in his music I can guarantee that one) then he didn't drive the car.

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2014, 05:05:08 PM »
Have you considered a Nissan Maxima. Have done a long trip in one and was rather impressed.
Definitely, it is number 2 on our list :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2014, 05:29:12 PM »
I had an Aurion Sports for a hire car while in Sydney for a week.. Loved it. I'd buy one tomorrow.
Very smooth, very comfortable, honest, didn't take notice of the fuel, as I wasn't payin for it..

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2014, 07:47:26 PM »
My best mate in Sydney has one, its a sportivo.
It is beautiful to drive, cruises on the highway no problem and also great around town. Very easy to park and plenty of poke if you need it in traffic.

It's a great car although I really recommend hiring a maxima for a day/weekend. I had one while I was in Brisbane a month or two ago and it was awesome! I preferred it to the aurion to be honest.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline chillipepperz

« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2014, 08:00:02 PM »
I had one from 2007 to 2009 as my work car. It was the Prodigy model. Very, very nice car at the time. Dual zone climate, leather, CD stacker, front and rear parking sensors etc. very economical on the highway (low 8's I think) and around 10.5 city. 200kw through the front wheels makes all of the electronic devices work overtime, particularly in the wet. Nice handling, quiet and comfy. My wife liked this car more than any of my other work cars (mostly Falcodores and Territories) and yeah, I would get another one if I could.
Alumina Hardtop Camper Build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2014, 08:03:29 PM »
Careful on the Maxima on resale. It is well known you will never be able to sell it without pretty much giving it away. Which is actually pretty good if you plan to buy one second hand.

Work - Outback  SOLD

Offline Jasman

« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2014, 08:17:13 PM »
I'm a bit of a car tragic and always updating but I had a sportivo SX6 about 2-3 years ago and was a fantastic car, did about 40k and didn't miss a beat.  Heaps of grunt and because of this was a bit hard on fuel and tyres, at passing speed the thing was a weapon.  Very comfortable car to do some highway miles, I reckon the best seats and driving position of any Australian made vehicle.

The Sportivo spec suspension is a very well sorted package, I think it's worth spending a little extra to get it.  They come with Toyota Advantage which means cheap servicing which is nice.

Down sides was the resale, they don't fair well, but if you're buying second hand it's a buyers market.  The paint also probably wasn't up to scratch, a fair bit of orange peel in the finish and I know this wasn't unique to mine.

I've spoken to Coppers about theirs and they love them and prefer them to other cars in the fleet.

Jason.

« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2014, 08:32:48 PM »

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2014, 09:02:32 PM »
i had the avalon, sold it at just over 300,000km ran very well still.
I had and used it as a taxi, changed the oil and brakes myself, but had the auto professionally serviced by a local mechanic.

I had the springs boosted up to make it higher for the oldies and tougher for when I had it full of big blokes.
it drove like a new car still, even though ......... I drove it.

the sound system was so much better than anything else I have ever owned. keep ya avalon for another 100,000kms

I reckon the aurion would be just as good if not much better.

if I still had the taxi business I would have got an aurion.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Ciscokid

« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2014, 09:53:22 PM »
I've got the 07 sportive. Great car in my opinion. It's seen nearly 90k and haven't required any maintenance other than change of battery. All the brakes n tyres are still stock although new shoes will be required soon.
Fuel is about 11l/100 city n 7-8l/100 highway sitting on 1750rpm at 100km.
Power available on tap. Although a downside is that you can not switch off traction control and vsc.
 >:D
The only drawback is depreciation...I just renewed my insurance n agreed value was just over $13k! :-[ while the premiums have steadily gone up!

Great pick up for second hand buyer in my opinion. But I wouldn't buy new if I had my time again purely because of poor resale value.
LC200 60th Anniversary TTD and Jayco Swan outback 2013

« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2014, 10:02:50 PM »
Quote from: Ciscokid
The only drawback is depreciation...I just renewed my insurance n agreed value was just over $13k! :-[ while the premiums have steadily gone up!

Great pick up for second hand buyer in my opinion. But I wouldn't buy new if I had my time again purely because of poor resale value.
OUCH!

Offline Ciscokid

« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2014, 10:08:03 PM »
OUCH!
Tell me about it! In another 3 years my insurance premium will cost more than my car!!!   >:D >:D :'(
LC200 60th Anniversary TTD and Jayco Swan outback 2013

Offline ScottT

• Random acts of kindness without expectations
« Reply #19 on: May 13, 2014, 12:26:54 PM »
I had an Aurion Sports for a hire car while in Sydney for a week.. Loved it. I'd buy one tomorrow.
Very smooth, very comfortable, honest, didn't take notice of the fuel, as I wasn't payin for it..

We have one, and tow(ed) with it

It's awesome ! Heaps of grunt, comfortable and frugal on the fuel. We pulled our Off Road Customline with and average 11.8lts/100ks (getting the same from the Prado) Around town get about 9.5-10lts/100klms

Have had zero issues with it. There was a known kock in the stering which was fixed under warranty. Sometimes the ABS check in the first couple of minutes is confused with this.

Ours is a 2007 model and we bought it with 13000ks on it, now has 70000ks.

Very comfortable on long trips and my 180cm 13 year old son fits in without any problems.

Scott
2005 Toyota Prado 1KZ 120 Series
2008 Customline 12ft Deluxe Off Road

« Reply #20 on: May 13, 2014, 04:23:50 PM »

So disappointed.  I thought you would have DEMANDED the Hybrid Camry......   :D

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #21 on: May 13, 2014, 04:27:36 PM »
We have a 2012 ATX. It's a great car. Does well on fuel on the highway but does like a little around town. More room than a commodore or falcon and I reckon more poke too.

The knock knock in the steering which is a common problem is a simple fix under warranty. We've had ours done. It's the intermediate steering shaft. 

I'd say go for it. You will love it.

Sent from my Ring-a-ding-a-ling
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

« Reply #22 on: May 13, 2014, 05:46:20 PM »
It has come time for me to update my wife's car. The Toypta Avalon is coming up to 200K Kms. It was a great car. Leather interior, electric everything, climate control and just beautiful to drive.

The Mrs doesn't really like the look of Camry's but does like the Aurion.
Looking to get something second hand from 2011-2013 with low Kms. Like to know what others think of these cars and what the different models are.
Thanks in advance for any advice.

Would she consider test driving both and then writing off the Camry?

I was stunned what a great overall package the Camry was when I borrowed a mates.  The Aurion felt a bit floaty to me when I drove it here in Tas for a couple of days but that could have been a flogged out rental LOL....

Either you can't go wrong I reckon.

« Reply #23 on: May 13, 2014, 08:18:45 PM »
Thanks for the input everyone. I will keep you updated.

Offline street camper

« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2014, 08:26:07 PM »
we got a 2nd hand aurion around 2 years ago 2007 with 32000 on it for $18000 bargain I reckon in my eyes! great car to drive and tow with pulls the camper no worries and great on  fuel got it down to 7.6/100km on the high way(without camper) great power too would buy one again but the new ones do look a bit ugly!