Author Topic: Show us your in home winter camp fire  (Read 16113 times)

Show us your in home winter camp fire
« on: May 05, 2014, 08:46:44 AM »
Been some interesting discussion of late re this topic and realised as people who love a good campfire, seems quite a few swaggers also have a wood fire at home.
Not just us southeners, but I have discovered a few Qld'rs also have one at home for those days it get's down to 18degrees:-)

So show us ya hot stuff and some detail on how good it is (or not), how you clean or maintain it. Where you source your wood and type.

Here's my 2yo Masport from Nu Zeelund. Has fan unit included, but rarely use the fan.  This model also comes with a cast plug in the bottom that opens a hole through to a large ash pan underneath.  While not a bad idea, have you ever tried to grab a hot piece of cast iron out through fire ashes?  Only really a good idea when fire is cold, and round here that's not likely to happen for a few months.
We have had ours going now for the last few weeks since the sun disappeared and having a concrete slab and tile floor, (but insulated home), we keep it slow combusting almost 24hrs as even when it's gone out, the heat remains for a few hours.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2014, 05:17:08 PM by scarps »

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
Re: Show us your home wood fire
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2014, 10:10:19 AM »
Here is our Kent EV8, the largest in their range. It gets lit in mid Autumn and gets put out at the end of Winter.
The entire house is Tiled and keeps the tiles in the immediate area cosy warm and takes the chill out of the entire house.
We use jarrah and sheok to burn.
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2014, 10:40:09 AM »
Ours is a kent jindabyne ii and it was here when we got the house. We usually do a wood run at barmah when it is open and burn pine offcuts as well. Have metal fire bucket and shovel for cleaning. Last year the chimney needed a good clean, on my search for a chimney brush I found local store that hired one out for $5 this suited us fine. No fan and being older house it doesnt heat bedrooms have thought a few times about putting heat transfer kit in the roof.

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2014, 12:55:29 PM »
11 square house and a fire place for a 25 square house.. hmmm toasty..

Dont get them smaller, cos the wood has to be cut smaller..

Note the tray in the front, that is fire tray ver 2, leant out the ver 1 to friends.
the tray catches all the ash  (cos ultimate fire places are prone to drop a bit of ash) and it catches the logs that roll out when I have loaded it up and left the door clipped.

also gives you a place to throw a wrapper etc during the day, or some sticks etc when starting the fire and you can only get on your knees once.

We have an old metal dust pan in it for scooping the stuff back into the fire.

Anyway, make one yourself.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2014, 12:58:37 PM »
11 square house and a fire place for a 25 square house.. hmmm toasty..

Dont get them smaller, cos the wood has to be cut smaller..

Note the tray in the front, that is fire tray ver 2, leant out the ver 1 to friends.
the tray catches all the ash  (cos ultimate fire places are prone to drop a bit of ash) and it catches the logs that roll out when I have loaded it up and left the door clipped.

also gives you a place to throw a wrapper etc during the day, or some sticks etc when starting the fire and you can only get on your knees once.

We have an old metal dust pan in it for scooping the stuff back into the fire.

Anyway, make one yourself.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

If we had been choosing our own fire would of got one a bit bigger but since it was here we stuck with it we are lucky as we have the saw bench so can cut it to the size we want.  At least with the saw bench cutting to size is standing up instead of with the chainsaw.  We get reasonable size logs in ours still.

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2014, 01:00:12 PM »
and its much cheaper than spending 2k plus for a new bigger fire place..

Hmm saw bench, would like one of them..

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2014, 01:12:54 PM »
and its much cheaper than spending 2k plus for a new bigger fire place..

Hmm saw bench, would like one of them..

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

Absolutely it is cheaper  ;D  The other benefit is when we cut wood at Barmah we will take the small end lengths that most people have left as they are easy to bench and easier for me to load in ute/trailer whilst Andrew is chainsawing

Hmm saw bench we were lucky enough that this one was at the inlaws not getting any use it is an electric one and apart from sharpening blades it has certainly done a great job for us. 

« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2014, 03:15:20 PM »
This is ours being utilised by the "Rough, Tough, Farm Dogs" & we're lucky enough to be able to supply our own wood. Fired it up last night thankfully as it hit 8.6° this a.m.  :o
Steffo
« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 03:18:51 PM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2014, 04:58:20 PM »
Just installed mine in the shed up at the block.
It is a Norseman, not sure which model but quite large, picked it up on Gumtree for $500.
Fully lined with fire bricks and glass in near new nick.
A 5L pot of water takes no time at all to heat up.
In the mornings we use the hot plate from the weberQ for breaky, toast on the grill.

Over last month have got 4 trailer loads of redgum [ 8 x 5 with a 3' cage] and the firewood collection still has
untill the 30th June to run.  Will get another 4 loads before then to get a head start for next winter.
The 2 designated areas for up here are only 5k's away, so easy pickings.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 05:00:26 PM by Kangaron »

Offline griz066

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2014, 05:42:42 PM »
This is our Australian Made "Nectre" we put in when we bought the house 18 years ago. Bought it second hand out of trading post for $500 including the extra long flu kit as we have 3.3 mtr ceilings in the Queenslander. We can fit a log 450mm long and 250mm diameter in it that will last overnight and half the next day if you close it right up. We only use iron bark which we source ourselves from secret spot X ;D. I had the flue professionally cleaned after 15 years of use and the guy got about half a bucket of ash and crud out of it. Should be right for another 12 years I reckon. We use kiln Dried Cypress Pine for kindling ( I get it from work). We always keep the kettle on top full of water, puts a bit of moisture back in the air and reduces static electricity. The key to a fire drawing well is the chimney must be higher than the highest point of the house so it gets air flow from all directions. To clean the glass use wet newspaper and dip it in the ash, rub the glass till it's clean then wipe the streaks and dry it with more newspaper. :cheers:
« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 05:47:10 PM by griz066 »
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2014, 06:06:55 PM »
This is ours, it's a basic Jetmaster firebox, plan is to upgrade it to a gas log fire.

It get used about twice a year when the missus wants to be romantic ;D

Work - Outback  SOLD

« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2014, 06:16:25 PM »
Nice mantel piece. I bet you look at that while stoking the fire.  ;D  ;D

Offline Fathom

« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2014, 06:18:54 PM »
Here is mine..
Turbo 10. Bought it not long after we bought the house.
Heats the house just fine.
I mainly burn iron bark or if I have cut down a tree or three... It ends up in there too.
Love a good fire! ;)
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2014, 06:26:03 PM »
This is mine (unlit). Have to be frugal with wood. It too is basic and serves our needs. The ceiling fan comes on to bring the heat down from the 10' ceilings. Works a treat. It is made by Jindara and made here in oz. it has a three speed fan as well.  I love my fire!! Ooops sorry should only be one foto.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 06:28:34 PM by fuji »

« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2014, 06:27:40 PM »
Been some interesting discussion of late re this topic and realised as people who love a good campfire, seems quite a few swaggers also have a wood fire at home.
Not just us southeners, but I have discovered a few Qld'rs also have one at home for those days it get's down to 18degrees:-)

So show us ya hot stuff and some detail on how good it is (or not), how you clean or maintain it. Where you source your wood and type.

Here's my 2yo Masport from Nu Zeelund. Has fan unit included, but rarely use the fan.  This model also comes with a cast plug in the bottom that opens a hole through to a large ash pan underneath.  While not a bad idea, have you ever tried to grab a hot piece of cast iron out through fire ashes?  Only really a good idea when fire is cold, and round here that's not likely to happen for a few months.
We have had ours going now for the last few weeks since the sun disappeared and having a concrete slab and tile floor, (but insulated home), we keep it slow combusting almost 24hrs as even when it's gone out, the heat remains for a few hours.

The glass is so clean

« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2014, 06:37:06 PM »

The glass is so clean
swmbo cleans the glass on occasion with wet newspaper.

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2014, 06:38:31 PM »
swmbo cleans the glass on occasion with wet newspaper.

Clearly from my photo I do not clean the glass very well.

theins

« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2014, 07:42:16 PM »
open fireplace - going through a lot of wood but loving the ambience...  :D

« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2014, 08:03:09 PM »
here's our fireplace, cranked it up yesterday for the first time this year when it dropped below 20 degrees....lol. Normally i burn hardwood offcuts from the worksites i work on, if we do reno work on an old house i'll usually cut a heap of the old timber up and take it home with me.....just got to fish the old nails and window hinges and what not out of the fireplace later on when it cools down is all...lol. Heats up the lounge and dining room nicely, but sadly the heat doesn't make it's way down to the bedrooms through out the house.....been meaning to put in a duct system with inline fan, just never got around to it yet.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 08:06:45 PM by Rumpig »

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2014, 08:07:06 PM »
Mine, first fire for the season, will run 24-7 now.....

« Reply #20 on: May 05, 2014, 08:10:36 PM »
This is ours, it's a basic Jetmaster firebox, plan is to upgrade it to a gas log fire.

It get used about twice a year when the missus wants to be romantic ;D

mate that's like a display home ;D

Is that the SS Minow on the shelf? ;D

« Reply #21 on: May 05, 2014, 08:10:55 PM »
Mine, first fire for the season, will run 24-7 now.....
the floor needs sweeping when you get a minute Steve  8)

Offline patyv

« Reply #22 on: May 05, 2014, 08:26:24 PM »
We all know you never look at the mantel peace while stoking the fire >:D

« Reply #23 on: May 05, 2014, 08:29:58 PM »
We all know you never look at the mantel peace while stoking the fire >:D
especially BHG's mantel peice..........its very unattractive  :'(

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #24 on: May 05, 2014, 09:04:45 PM »
especially BHG's mantel peice..........its very unattractive  :'(
be careful next time you ring Goldie, I'm telling exactly what you said .. :cup: