Author Topic: Moreton island north west camp zone  (Read 10194 times)

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
Moreton island north west camp zone
« on: April 20, 2014, 03:52:48 PM »
Hi all we are off to moreton island shortly for our first time. We have gone to Fraser for many years time for a change. I am towing a jayco swan. What I want to know is how to I identify the north west camp zone is there signage or anything. We have 6 vehicles heading here any spots to look out for would be good.
2013 D22 Dual Cab Navara roo systems chip 3inch exhaust OME suspension upgrade winch bar IPF spotties tub liner rear park sensors electronic rust snorkel.
2012 Jayco swan outback camper

nbd73

Re: Moreton island north west camp zone
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 05:43:40 PM »
The DNRM web site shows the zones. From nemory north west comprises everywhere north of tangalooma to yellow patch. If towing a swan you will be 1500-1600kg loaded so watch the tide. High will make life very difficult and limit your camp site options.

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2014, 09:34:17 AM »
We arrive on a low tide so that's sweet. The web site says north of Ben Ewa to south of comboyuro point. My question is it marked at all as I've never been there.
2013 D22 Dual Cab Navara roo systems chip 3inch exhaust OME suspension upgrade winch bar IPF spotties tub liner rear park sensors electronic rust snorkel.

Offline DarWen

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2014, 10:05:01 AM »
Hi Fiddlestix, Looking at the map of Moreton the north west camping area is between BenEwa and Comboybro point. Both these areas are well sign posted. however i think the beach is closed North of Bulwar. It has been 5 years since i was last on Moreton so this information may be wrong. with 6 vehicles i would look at Bulwar camp ground Has a toilet and cold showers. Hope this helps.

nbd73

« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2014, 02:04:49 PM »
We have 6 vehicles heading here any spots to look out for would be good.

I think I have posted this before, but 1 of my favourite camp sites is on the western beach at the southern end of the Cowan beach closure zone.  After getting off the barge simply drive up the beach as far as you can until you reach the beach closed sign and a fallen gun turret pillar, take the exit which is a hard right hand hook (and can be very soft > see attached photos) and then the first left after 20m and drive in to a site that will handle about 10 vehicles and trailers.  Ideal if you have young kids as there's no vehicular traffic.

Camp site is where the circled x is on the 2nd bottom diagram.

The exit from the beach. What happens when you dont get enough run up.

View of the site from the water.

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2014, 03:15:57 PM »
Mate that looks a great spot. How far away is water? And the shops. So to get to this spot stay on the beach and where I need to get off to by pass Cowan take the track and turn after 20 meters to the left? Is there mozzies and midgies.

« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2014, 03:36:19 PM »
Mozzies shouldn't be too bad but midgies dawn & dusk especially on the beach. You'll know when you get to the camp as the old sewer plant is on the beach & some red witches hats designating the Cowan beach closure. As stated above, one of the better camps in the area. Just in behind there is the remains of the old Fort Cowan hospital but be very careful if wandering around there as there's some bloody big holes. Shop at Bulwer about 7 ks North but watch the tides. Nothing too dangerous but you may be held up a bit. Remember that there's two tracks at the Northern Cowan bypass, the longer one avoids a few obstacles at high tide. Also there's a rubbish tip at Cowan. If heading North take the right hand track at the crossroads to the township on the bypass road. Have a great time
Steffo
« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 03:38:26 PM by Steffo1 »

nbd73

« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2014, 03:39:12 PM »
Mate that looks a great spot. How far away is water? And the shops. So to get to this spot stay on the beach and where I need to get off to by pass Cowan take the track and turn after 20 meters to the left? Is there mozzies and midgies.
You can get water at the Ben Ewa camp ground which is about half way back to the barge landing ie 5mins south. There's also toilets and cold showers.
Never found insects to be too much of an issue.

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2014, 05:05:09 PM »
Oh righto I seen those orange wiches hats so that's what I need to look out for. Does the shop have fresh bread and milk?
How far long is this place from the barge? So I can have a indication would be great.

nbd73

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2014, 06:42:09 PM »
Oh righto I seen those orange wiches hats so that's what I need to look out for. Does the shop have fresh bread and milk?
How far long is this place from the barge? So I can have a indication would be great.
Yeah, shop has most things.
Camp site is at Southern end of Cowan beach closure zone. Its only about 10 minutes up the beach after you get off the barge. There are many more great campsites but for a group of 6 trailers its ideal.

« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2014, 07:40:44 PM »
There's some other decent sized sites further North after you come out from the bypass track heading to Bulwer also. We stayed about a klm North of where that bypass track hits the beach (at the Northern end) when we did our trip there with the guys from 4WDA magazine. Our campsite had their 3 vehicles aswell as about half a dozen of our guys vehicles set up in the one site, some were in tents and some rooftopping in their vehicles, and one person had a camper trailer set up in there aswell. I can't recall what our site number was though sorry to say. If you all have camper trailers it won't be big enough though, if the others are in tents then no worries. I don't recall alot of large sites up where we were, i more recall us having one of the larger sites, but my memory is hazy of what's there as it was our first time on Moreton in many many many years.

Offline fiddlestix

• Livin the dream
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2014, 07:57:02 PM »
Thanks all let's hope that area is free when we arrive. Does anyone know if Optus mobiles work there? And television reception is it good?

« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2014, 08:57:49 PM »
Your going Camping, What's T.V. got to do with it?
If your in need of visual Stimulation try DVD's.
Oh that's right, Footy on the telly.
Who ya shoutin for?

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2014, 09:25:47 AM »
We camped a little south of those photos, around 6 kms from the barge, couldn't get Optus, didn't try for TV
We were towing over 2 tonnes but at low tide did it easy
There are some larger sites, sort of multiple entrances joined that could be used
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

Offline Wato

« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2014, 09:39:07 AM »
Fiddlestix, look for the camp sites at Cowan Point, just before where the photos were taken. There is plenty of space for 6 camps and you will find it better protected from all but a westerly wind. Optus reception can be patchy but doable, no worries with TV reception( for the footy). Bread and milk available from the Bulwer shop, they get resupplied twice a week in the off season (prices are at a premium). There may still be a few midgies but you will only notice them if it is completely still ( no breeze)
Have a great trip it's a wonderful place.
Craig
2003 3ltr Patrol
2003 Camel Beachcomber Camper Trailer