Author Topic: DRL To be or not to be  (Read 32426 times)

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
DRL To be or not to be
« on: April 08, 2014, 10:44:29 AM »
I was toying with the idea of getting DRLs a while back, but of late, I have decided that it's just too much hassle.

My vehicle doesn't have DRLs, and I was looking at getting some because I would drive on the highway a lot and I want to be seen. But as it turns out, they annoy a lot of people that are on the road, particularly in conditions like fog. I have some trucker friends telling me how much they hate the white light in fog. Also, people driving with them on at night along with their other lights also earns them a reputation they really shouldn't want. So I'm not going to get them because they aren't "loved" much by other drivers, and an ADR approved pair are very costly! (there are heaps of cheap ones on-line that don't meet Australian requirements) $50 can get me a set of headlight bulbs, but about $200 will get me some DRLs that I have to wire in... too much hassle.

I particularly want to know the views of people that drive past someone with DRLs, or have someone following close behind you and they have DRLs. I'm not after the views of people that actually have them as such. So when you see cars with their DRLs on, what does it make you think?

Hope this makes sense...
Tim
IT and Graphics
2004 TD Hilux SR5 with double bed (aka. fibreglass roof-top tent)

Re: DRL To be or not to be
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2014, 11:13:02 AM »
They annoy me. Seem very dazzling sometimes.

I prefer the older 90w/130w bulbs with relays.  Not a clear white but brighter.

The following users thanked this post: GDAIY

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2014, 12:59:37 PM »
I have DRL's on my to do list, I believe they're a valuable safety addition. The detractors are probably complaining about people who fit non ADR compliant lights. If they're on with the headlights then they're wired wrong. Case in point, I saw a B&S ute this morning fitted with white LEDs running up both of his 3m antennas hanging of his 5 poster bullbar on his commondore ute.

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2014, 01:16:12 PM »
No I am just a whiny little bitch !  LOL

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2014, 01:30:21 PM »
I have DRL's on my to do list, I believe they're a valuable safety addition. The detractors are probably complaining about people who fit non ADR compliant lights. If they're on with the headlights then they're wired wrong. Case in point, I saw a B&S ute this morning fitted with white LEDs running up both of his 3m antennas hanging of his 5 poster bullbar on his commondore ute.

So would you say that other people with their DRLs on have helped you in regards to you being a safer driver?
Tim
IT and Graphics

« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2014, 02:05:38 PM »
Hi, DRL's, or Daytime Running Lights are not so you can see where your going.
They are supposed to be used for alerting other drivers of your prescence.
Old Volvo's had them in the Parking light fitting.
Buses have them in the headlights (sorry Coaches).
If you fit them, they should turn off when you turn on your headlights.
Not a hard thing, just a relay.
NC when headlights are off and open when the headlights are on.
This supplies power for your DRL's.
The feed via an ON/OFF switch, for your control relay, should come from the parkers.
This means you need 2 different relays to do the job.
1. So you don't forget to turn them off.
2. So your tail-lights are operating as well.
3. Fog lights, white or yellow, should be wired the same way.
DRL's should be a diffuse light so they are noticeable.
They should NOT be a pinpoint beam so they dazzle.
That's where diodes FAIL for this purpose.

People take shortcuts and it ruins it for everybody else.
It's laziness based on "She'll be right.". 
And it isn't right, it's half-arsed at best.

That's why people have always been encouraged to turn on LOW Beam in daytime.
Especially for low visibility conditions, Fog, smoke etc..

Hope this helps.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2014, 02:12:49 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2014, 02:07:02 PM »
I have DRL's on my to do list, I believe they're a valuable safety addition. The detractors are probably complaining about people who fit non ADR compliant lights. If they're on with the headlights then they're wired wrong.

Agree 1000%

What is really annoying is that most come straight from the factory non relayed. Just a note in the manual saying they should only be used when conditions require - rain, low light and fog.

There was a Vic police media statement about two years ago sayin they were going to get tough on inappropriate use - ie, used in conjunction with any combination of low/ high beam. Didn't see any follow up actions in our jurisdiction tho.

Must say, down south, they seem to be used much more appropriately than on the mainland for some reason.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2014, 02:10:40 PM by Mace »

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2014, 02:24:03 PM »
There was a Vic police media statement about two years ago sayin they were going to get tough on inappropriate use - ie, used in conjunction with any combination of low/ high beam. Didn't see any follow up actions in our jurisdiction tho.

There were mornings when I would come to work and a couple of regular people would be driving with both DRLs on and low beams on. Anyway, low and behold, after complaining about the "bright lights" to the police in the early hours of the morning, SUDDENLY, the same offenders now drive without the DRLs on in low light. So... I guess the police got them? I'm sure a lot of people have been once again blessed with the gift of sight after passing them in low light!
Tim
IT and Graphics

« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2014, 02:33:29 PM »
It'll cost 'em about $255.00 in Victoria Tim.
Especially if they arc-up about being pulled over for nothing.
Should include Demerit point as well, but doesn't.
If it did "The Boyz" would probably be more enthusiastic in enforcing it.

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2014, 02:37:31 PM »
Darn... that sounds a bit extravagant...

I'm not being convinced that I need them here!
Tim
IT and Graphics

« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2014, 02:47:25 PM »
Quote from: autoelecau
I'm not being convinced that I need them here!
same...
If people cant see a 6ft high 5ft wide (or what ever a patrol is) ~3ton vehicle - natural selection I say.

Offline autoelecau

• Camping with computers
    • Autoelec
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2014, 03:02:40 PM »
Yes, I think so... but that's my point. I see a vehicle coming my way, I just "don't hit it" lights on or no. I just don't want to be the moron that spends a few hundred dollars on a part for my vehicle that only annoys other people... again! Been there already.

Just a by the by, if you have Google chrome that can translate from Polish, this is interesting: http://dadrl.pl/ (I'm not saying it's true, after all, the law is for people own good, right?)
Tim
IT and Graphics

« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2014, 03:36:33 PM »
If people cant see a 6ft high 5ft wide (or what ever a patrol is) ~3ton vehicle - natural selection I say.

I'd prefer to avoid an accident in the first place but each to their own.

Offline Traveller

« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2014, 05:00:35 PM »
I don't mind the LED strip DRLs, particularly on expensive European cars that turn off when the indicator is turned on so you can see the things, bit I detest the other DRLs that were the rage a few years ago. I particularly despised the w*nkers that put the higher wattage globes in the lights and then drive along with their normal low beams on and the eyeball searing lower ones. I really look forward to meeting one of the geniuses on a wet evening when the lights on the car are bad enough, but combined with reflection, it looks like a wall of light approaching.

However, even after that whinge, I think the LED strip variety are a great idea in the country as it is certainly easier to see cars approaching from a longer distance.

« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2014, 07:14:46 PM »
Quote from: D4D
I'd prefer to avoid an accident in the first place but each to their own.
We all would.. but we all know even if you had an escort, flashing lights and more some scrote would still find a way to run into you.
I had 150watts of lights on my bike when I was wiped out, and he still "didn't see him"

People don't see fire trucks, and cops and ambos behind them with flashing blue/red/headlights/spot lights and sirens on, few LED's aren't going to do squat.

I don't know what the solution to deadShits on the road is... it certainly isn't getting any safer out there on the tar...
« Last Edit: April 08, 2014, 07:20:01 PM by Lost »

« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2014, 07:34:03 PM »

I don't know what the solution to dead****s on the road is... it certainly isn't getting any safer out there on the tar...

My 2c after 12 yrs in traffic and accident squad is ZERO ZERO ZERO tolerance.

And I mean ZERO.  You go 10% you get done.  Increase traffic cops x 10 times.

Smash everyone.  No cautions, no let offs.  Get stopped get booked.

Get it into everyones heads that if you choose not to drive to the law the right will be taken off you.

Not popular but thats the solution.

« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2014, 07:39:44 PM »
Quote from: dazzler
Increase traffic cops x 10 times.
I couldn't agree more. I have no issue with that at all.
I'd say 20-30 fold.

The first thing most normal people do when they see the cops is pucker up, and look at their speedo - even if they aren't doing anything wrong. A larger cop presence certainly makes a difference - even foot patrols do on the streets... But that costs money.... It will never happen.

Do cops still do Patrols ? Just drive around the suburbs and backstreets looking for crime? I never see them do it if they are... ???

« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2014, 07:43:06 PM »
...... :cheers:
« Last Edit: April 08, 2014, 11:24:25 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2014, 07:50:41 PM »
Why would you need dedicated DRL's?
Why not use your headlights?

Am I missing something?

« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2014, 07:53:20 PM »

Am I missing something?
EXACTLY :cheers: ;D ;D ;D

Offline topcat

« Reply #20 on: April 08, 2014, 08:13:05 PM »
My 2c after 12 yrs in traffic and accident squad is ZERO ZERO ZERO tolerance.

And I mean ZERO.  You go 10% you get done.  Increase traffic cops x 10 times.

Smash everyone.  No cautions, no let offs.  Get stopped get booked.

Get it into everyones heads that if you choose not to drive to the law the right will be taken off you.

Not popular but thats the solution.

When you only know how to hammer .... the whole world is a nail.

I would prefer that we train drivers properly and re-test frequently.

TC
Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"

« Reply #21 on: April 08, 2014, 08:18:39 PM »

Am I missing something?

Yup, I get about 4 months out of a set of $60 headlights if I leave them on all the time I am driving. PITA replacing them all the time.

« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2014, 08:26:58 PM »
When you only know how to hammer .... the whole world is a nail.

I would prefer that we train drivers properly and re-test frequently.

TC
Then you end up with Drivers only able to pass the test.

Whereas at the moment, they get instructed to pass the test. 
Only get quizzed on thirty questions. 
Only needing to answer a percentage correctly.
They should have to be subjected to some sort of extended period of supervised training in vehicle control as well.

There are some absolute TURKEY's out there.
Of all ages and all sexes, with NO REAL IDEA of their abilities or capabilities. 
They are all firmly convinced of their superiority to the rest of us.
Why, I don't know.

« Reply #23 on: April 08, 2014, 08:27:47 PM »
Yup, I get about 4 months out of a set of $60 headlights if I leave them on all the time I am driving. PITA replacing them all the time.

Use different globes.

« Reply #24 on: April 08, 2014, 08:30:13 PM »
Use different globes.

I have, Philips, Osram, Narva