Author Topic: First fridge?  (Read 19755 times)

Offline MrNoodle

First fridge?
« on: April 03, 2014, 10:17:34 PM »
I am still to get out in my new camper but like the idea of a fridge for foods and esky for frothies. I have an arkpack, going to put a 120 - 130 AH AGM batt in there, a 150 W solar panel of some kind and maybe this fridge
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Waeco-CF40-Fridge-Freezer-37L.aspx?pid=134788&menuFrom=1021966#Cross

Does this fridge seem like a good starting out fridge? If I kept it in the back of my ute while driving, should I get a cig plug installed into the rear tub? Any other better ideas or fridges?

What about this Engel?
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924#Combo

Does this seem like a feasible setup? Run some LED lighting and charging phones and stuff and
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 10:52:40 PM by MrNoodle »

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
Re: First fridge?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2014, 10:38:01 PM »
It's the older model waeco but a good deal.  Doesn't use too many AHs.  Your setup should be heaps.

Offline Alexstein

Offline shakey55

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2014, 06:34:17 AM »
I run two fridges. IMO the best are Engel (a big outlay to start, but IMO they are the best). I am currently on the road and use two, which we find ample. A 40 litre as the main fridge and a 21 litre as a freezer.

« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2014, 06:56:01 AM »

What about this Engel?
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924#Combo

Does this seem like a feasible setup? Run some LED lighting and charging phones and stuff and

The engel I have just picked up for $689. HAve a search on ebay. Its in the back of the prado running from 12volt whilst parked, yet to change the socket to an anderson plug, and runs 240v from the toyota factory inverter in the back, its an automatic changeover which I like. Good solid construction.....theres my two cents.

Cheers Nomad.  :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2014, 07:05:25 AM »
I'm happy with my Bushman.  Made in Melbourne, low power use and it is unique in the flexibility to adjust from 35 to 52 litres.  Great baskets as well.

http://www.bushman.com.au/

Offline Foss

« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2014, 08:46:39 AM »
Whichever fridge you choose, just make sure the lid opening orientation suits your purpose and how you wish to access the fridge once in your vehicle. The Engel Eclipse lid is side opening and was not an option for me and my setup, so I went for the Engel MT45 with the lid opening lengthways. More expensive, but a great fridge !!

« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2014, 02:28:02 PM »
I run 2 engels and very happy with them, a 60L for our main fridge and a 32L for our freezer. I would stay with the main players if you can afford the initial outlay which is large but will pay for itself over time.

Also have a read here, http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=2411.0

« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2014, 02:38:13 PM »
If starting from scratch I would go 'Bushman'.
Whatever you get, I would fit an Anderson Plug or smaller version - PowerPoles - rather than ciggie lighter socket.
Ciggies are way to temperamental and known to work loose and either turn off or over heat as a result.
If you prefer that general shape then go the 'Merit' plug, which locks in much more betterer.  :cheers:

Offline MrNoodle

« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2014, 11:39:41 PM »
I have nutted it down to 2, maybe 3?

Engel MR40F
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924&menuFrom=1021966#Combo
and
Waeco CF 40
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Waeco-CF40-Fridge-Freezer-37L.aspx?pid=134788&menuFrom=1021966#Cross

Any thoughts? Both are similar on power usage.

I did see this Evacool on sale and for similar money I can get a 60 Litre but their power consumption seems pretty high in comparison to the previous 2
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Evakool-RV-Fridge-Freezer-60L.aspx?pid=321831&menuFrom=1021966#Cross

Noods

« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2014, 06:32:52 AM »
Personally I would save up and buy a Trailblaza. They have a mean reputation but costs alot of $$$$. That will be my next fridge when I sell my Engel.
Wayne
http://www.norcoast.com.au/

« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2014, 06:40:30 AM »
l have 2 Eclipse Engals have had since they 1st came out . 1 to freeze on longer trips &  :cheers:Beers  :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2014, 06:50:59 AM »
I have had plenty of Waeco's over the years and all have been excellent.   In fact I just bought another one a few weeks ago to put into the new LC200.

Very happy with the Waeco product.

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2014, 07:25:58 AM »
I have had plenty of Waeco's over the years and all have been excellent.   In fact I just bought another one a few weeks ago to put into the new LC200.

Very happy with the Waeco product.

It's funny how different people have different experiences with things.

Ive tried Waeco, Engel, Autofridge and more recently Evacool.
I rate all off them except the Waeco, it has been back for repairs and let me down numerous times. It is currently in need of some sort of poly block fuse as it won't run on 12v but is ok on 240v.
Definitely on the never buy again list I can tell you.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline knoath

• Far... FAR!!!
« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2014, 07:39:31 AM »
I bought a TecniIce fridge for my first.
http://www.techniice.com/car-fridges-1/60l-car-fridge.html
I payed $650 for the lot before Christmas, great fridge, big enough for our family (of 4) and doesn't run down the 100AH in the ArkPak too quick.
Very similar to the EvaKool fridge.
2013 Isuzu DMax LS-U, MDC Trooper C/T.

A Man's home is his castle, but his Garage is his sanctuary!

« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2014, 08:29:13 AM »
It's funny how different people have different experiences with things.

Ive tried Waeco, Engel, Autofridge and more recently Evacool.
I rate all off them except the Waeco, it has been back for repairs and let me down numerous times. It is currently in need of some sort of poly block fuse as it won't run on 12v but is ok on 240v.
Definitely on the never buy again list I can tell you.
I did a fair amount of research before we bought our fridge about 5 years ago. I paid a visit to the Cairns repairer seller of portable fridges. He sells Waeco, Evacool, Engel, Autofridge, Primus etc and repairs them all as well. He showed me the fridges he had in for repair.  I know I was amazed at how many Waecos he had in his worshop that were getting repaired. I scratched Waeco off my list of potentials. That was a few years ago, maybe the newer Waecos are better now.

Offline feisty

« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2014, 08:53:34 AM »
The cf40 is a good solid reliable fridge.  I have had two of the cf range and been happy with both.  Anaconda had the cf50 last week with lots of extras for 650. An absolute bargain.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2014, 09:28:45 AM »
There is a big assumption in the OP's question.   If you buy right, your "first fridge" will also be the last one you need to buy.
I originally had a 29 litre Engel (ye olde green and cream colour).   It had the same innards as the 39L but a shorter body.   Problem was you couldn't stand bottles upright in it.   It had a hard life in the back of an FJ40 and excessive vibrations meant it needed repairing once or twice (it was a mistake buying the spring base).   I sold it through the Trading Post for about what I paid for it (no eBay in those days) and replaced it with a 39 litre.   That was 20 years ago and it is still going strong.   It lives in the back of my vehicle and I tend to leave it running all the time.   It hasn't missed a beat.
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #18 on: April 10, 2014, 09:35:22 AM »
We've got a 60L Engel fridge in our camper, which we sometimes use in the tub of the covered ute. A mate of mine has a 65L CFX Waeco, and it is excellent from what I've seen of it in direct comparison on the same trips, for less $$.

If we had our time again now, we might have got 2x 40L CFX's, giving us the option to have one as fridge, one freezer, for not much more $$. The CFX's weren't out when we got the Engel. We will get a 2nd fridge down the track to put in the back of the 4WD, and it will be a CFX.

Also consider the height of anything you get. Will it fit where you want it to go, and will it fit the things inside it that you expect to want to have standing up. Example: I can't fit some wine bottles upright in our 60L Engel, and it's a pain. Just think it through and take a tape measure..

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2014, 01:00:18 PM »
Engel MT45 for me.  I run it off a 120AH AGM battery which is good for a weekend quite comfortably, along with some LED strip lights, phone chargers etc.

It cost a bomb, but it works very well.  Ideally, I'd have another one in a camper too, but gotta get a camper yet!
2015 Isuzu MU-X

Offline prado2004

« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2014, 01:09:20 PM »
I have a primus mammoth 65L, love it. danfoss compressor and I love the two lids, can have both fridges, both freezers or one fridge one freezer. I usually run drinks in one side as fridge and food in the other as fridge, this way when opening and closing for beers later at night you're not losing all the cold. Great quality fridge.

picked mine up for about 1k with the transit bag.

http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/fridge/item/primus-mammoth-65l-dual-zone-fridge-freezer.aspx
2012 4dr JK wrangler, 3.5" AEV lift, AEV mags, 35" muddies, front/rear arb bars, tjm sliders, pioneer platform and some other goodies
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=47825.0

Custom Camper with solar, gas hot water & fully self sufficient 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35159.0

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #21 on: April 10, 2014, 05:16:21 PM »
what I don't get is why they are so damned expensive.

I can buy a big upright fridge/freezer for the kitchen for the same amount as these little suckers.
these have less components, smaller compressors etc etc

total rort if you ask me!
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

Offline feisty

« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2014, 05:27:46 PM »
Good point! Never thought of it like that. +1 total rort...

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

Offline Fathom

First fridge?
« Reply #23 on: April 10, 2014, 05:35:46 PM »
what I don't get is why they are so damned expensive.

I can buy a big upright fridge/freezer for the kitchen for the same amount as these little suckers.
these have less components, smaller compressors etc etc

total rort if you ask me!
Agreed!!
That has always hacked me off.
While I have one or three fridges. (Market allows a price point) so I am guilty of allowing manufacturers to get away with it.. It drives me nuts.. Well nuttier...
Rant over.
In regard to the OP.
As all have said above.. Work out exactly what you want/need out of a fridge/ freezer...
Have a look at a few... Get feedback on as many as you can. (Redundant comment cause this post is doing that)
Work out how much you are happy to spend vs. how long the fridge will last vs. how you plan to treat it.
Ie: a fridge in the back of a bouncy old ute in full sun, used every day during the last few years  and competes in the tough truck winch challenges probably won't last as long as one that sits in your camper stationary most of the time.
Then buy the one SWMBO likes. ;)
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

nbd73

« Reply #24 on: April 10, 2014, 05:40:02 PM »
Then buy the one SWMBO likes. ;)
This is a man who has mastered the art of staying married. You could run a whole course on marriage counselling with only those 6 words to read every week!!