Author Topic: Recommend me a medium wagon/SUV  (Read 6876 times)

Recommend me a medium wagon/SUV
« on: April 03, 2014, 02:54:50 AM »
We have 3 kids under 5 so we aren't using our Honda Jazz much anymore so looking at something bigger as our diesel Pajero isn't liking the short trips...

It needs to be petrol, wagon, fit 3 kid seats in the back, NOT white, reliable and not too big for her.

Looking at 2007+, about $15,000, less than 100,000km. Not fussed on auto/manual. Don't like the Euro wagons (Mondeo, Renault, VW etc).

We were looking at CRV, Forrester, Grand Vitara etc but decided that a 2WD wagon would be more cost effective.

Started looking at Mazda 6 wagons. What other similar mid sized wagons are out there? My Carsales search keeps saying "no matches"....

Probably 3-4 months away from buying.

Nick

nbd73

Re: Recommend me a medium wagon/SUV
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2014, 04:32:35 AM »
Nick, I cant help much but what I can add relates to most "mid size" wagons these days and that is lack of boot space,, and boot space is one of the main reasons (besides the ability to fold the back seat) to buy a wagon instead of sedan. My BIL has a CRV, & looked at all the SUV's such as VW, Suzuki, Holden etc and they are all pitiful. Most of the designs have been compromised to give the back seat as much leg room as possible without stretching the overall size of the vehicle. I dont know about price, but if the height of whatever you are going to carry is not an issue then mayback a Subaru Outback?
Just a thought to keep in mind. The other, though maybe a tad large, vehicle that comes to mind is the Territory.  Hired one in NZ a couple of years ago and was reasonably impressed, though it IS a Ford! !

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2014, 06:34:18 AM »
Hi ya
Not big on Fords but after driving the Territory at work, diesel model, I was very impressed. Very frugal with fuel, comfortable, and reasonably spacey.
Wayne

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2014, 06:42:23 AM »
We have a T31 series one nissan xtrail. It's a 2008 manual awd model. 2.5l motor. I have driven the 2lt which is what they put in the 2wd model and its a POS.

Very happy with ours and has served us well.  It has 130000km and not exactly easy life. We take it scrub and more places than some cruiser and patrol owners do.
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline DropBearRacing

« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2014, 07:51:04 AM »
Another vote for the xtrail. We have a 2009 manual petty awd. It's basically a front wheel drive but you can select auto and it will the be awd on demand or lock it to 50/50 split but only under 30km/hr.  We looked at all the competitors in this category and the xtrail won hands down for boot space, leg room, driveability and kid friendlyness. The missus and I still say it's the best car we have ever owned. We were going to upgrade to the new model but I feel it's too small. They have taken away the square shape of the interior/exterior and have lost some room so we are going to stick with the one we have (and I'll get a real 4wd :laugh:)

The only issue we have had with ours is the clutch is too light and wears out too quick but we fixed that with an after market heavy duty one and the air con pump Shite it's self about 12 months into ownership. It was replaced under warranty.

We have 3 kids, usually carry two adult mountain bikes on the roof and three kids bmx bike on the rear carrier plus the back fully packed and it is still very economical.
The Bear made me do it!!

« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2014, 08:15:01 AM »
Subaru for me. Value holds well. Best 4x4 system. Any of the on demand ones (rav, xtrail, crv) kill front tyres and they are not cheap.

Have fun

Offline DropBearRacing

« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2014, 09:24:04 AM »
Subaru for me. Value holds well. Best 4x4 system. Any of the on demand ones (rav, xtrail, crv) kill front tyres and they are not cheap.

Have fun

You won't get much for $15000.00 in a Subaru. They are good cars and do hold their value but you would be looking at a forester for that money.  We have one at work and it's the biggest piece of poo I've ever driven (even more so than the fords we have). It has a drinking problem, oil is it's choice of poison. Subaru agree that there is an issue but don't know how to fix it. Bridgestone have the mechanical contract and they are telling us that unusually high oil consumption is common ATM with foresters that they have seen across their network of workshops. It is gutless as well and there is no way you will get three kids in the back comfortably.

We have coopers on out xtrail, they are rotated every 10000km and we are getting excellent mileage out of them. I haven't noticed fronts wearing anymore than rears.
The Bear made me do it!!

Offline prado2004

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2014, 09:30:56 AM »
We have 3 kids under 5 so we aren't using our Honda Jazz much anymore so looking at something bigger as our diesel Pajero isn't liking the short trips...

Nick

surprised the diesel pajero isn't suiting what you need? any reasons?
2012 4dr JK wrangler, 3.5" AEV lift, AEV mags, 35" muddies, front/rear arb bars, tjm sliders, pioneer platform and some other goodies
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=47825.0

Custom Camper with solar, gas hot water & fully self sufficient 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35159.0

« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2014, 12:02:48 PM »

You won't get much for $15000.00 in a Subaru.

Yes they do hold their value though you would get into the new shape, that is as large as all the others, for a few bob more.  Maybe $19 or so.

Surprised at the horror story re the forester.  Though I imagine we can all find a horror story its when they become common place is the worry. 

I think the main thing is it is difficult to go really wrong in that field.

« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2014, 12:12:25 PM »
You should be able to pick up a 2005 - 2008 Subaru Outback for under $15,000.
(A mate recently picked up an auto from the later end of that body shape for that, and in very good nick.)

Manual comes with dual range, but probably superflous for your needs (although I do love mine).
Auto is probably more economical around town anyway.

Rear has far more room than the Forrie of similar age.

If 4x4 isnt an issue a similar Liberty wagon might also suit you, although not sure on relative prices.

Offline elle.mac

« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2014, 12:54:34 PM »
One thing we found with any car with 3 kids all in child seats was getting them to fit.  So just be prepared to either buy seats to suit the new car or try all your seats in the potential vehicle.
2003 120 series Prado (aka the Beast)
2012 Customline Deluxe Offroad

Offline HoMErMY12

« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2014, 01:32:39 PM »
We have a Subaru forester. 2012. This model ran from 2008-2012.

Never had an issue with it, and just about to clock over 50000km.
Doesn't go through oil  tyres are still original, and good still.
And being the turbo model, the power is awesome.

My only concern for you would be the fitting in 3 child seats. I've had a baby seat and 2 adults in the back and it's a squeeze. And I will say the boot space isn't very deep. My 40L engel fridge just fits front to back.

Subaru Forester MY12
My trailer

Offline Young Camping Family

« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2014, 02:46:40 PM »
We have a 7 seat Ford Territory. I love it - so much I want a new one before they stop production in 2 years time.
You can fit 3 car seats across the back (and it has 3 anchor points as standard), the rear seats do fold completely flat if you are transporting large items (I reckon a couple could sleep in it at a pinch), it is the same body size as the G6 (it's actually a tad shorter) and not too bad on fuel. We get about 500ks of town driving (school trips, shopping, etc) out of the 75L petrol tank, 600+ on highways. We are yet to do our maiden voyage with the trailer but I have been told they are a great tow vehicle too.
We chose the 7 seater as we have 2 kids and we sometimes take the ageing parents on day trips too, or if the kids friends come for sleepovers, etc it gives a bit extra room to cart them all around. There is very little boot space with the 3rd row up (extra 2 seats) but it has come in very handy to have those extra seats.
This coming from the chick whose last car was a Kia Rio.

« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2014, 11:32:51 PM »
Thanks guys. Wife likes the looks of the Subaru Outback/Liberty, they are up there on her list.

Xtrails are out, missus' parents have one and she doesn't like it.

Territories may be a bit on the large side. I have a Falcon ute for work and the missus doesn't enjoy driving it. Will look into them though.

Pajero is a great family car, missus likes driving/parking it and it fits everything nicely. But she does lots of short trips with the kinder/shops/playgroup etc all in the same suburb so the temp gauge doesn't even move from cold half the time. Also looking to have 2 cars that can fit all three carseats for flexibility. Work car is a 2 seater which suits me well, a dualcab would not have enough room in the back.

I even said to the missus today that we should buy a petrol Pajero Exceed for her. She only half laughed...

Offline Alexstein

« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2014, 12:10:06 AM »
I currently drive a 2006 Liberty Tuned by Sti Wagon and its a really good car. I would say if you can look for a 2 litre engine over the 2.5 as apparently they are more reliable. A good site to look for a 2nd hand one is http://forum.liberty.asn.au/index.php

The other half picked up a 2003 Pajero NP Exceed fully loaded for $12,500 3 months back with 150,000 km on the clock. Shame it wasnt the diesel though as they are about 6-8k more than the petrol. Again seems nice and comfy with plenty of space.

« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2014, 12:34:59 PM »
I currently drive a 2006 Liberty Tuned by Sti Wagon and its a really good car. I would say if you can look for a 2 litre engine over the 2.5 as apparently they are more reliable. A good site to look for a 2nd hand one is http://forum.liberty.asn.au/index.php

The other half picked up a 2003 Pajero NP Exceed fully loaded for $12,500 3 months back with 150,000 km on the clock. Shame it wasnt the diesel though as they are about 6-8k more than the petrol. Again seems nice and comfy with plenty of space.

It was my understanding that the engine in the Lib of your generation was the same as my Outback. i.e. 2.5 litre (ignoring the 6 cylinder 3.0litre H6 Outback of course).
Everything I have seen about the engines indicates that it was the earlier 2 litre engines that had problems (with head gaskets) and that this was fixed by the last of the 2.0 litres, certainly by the time the 2.5 litres were introduced (~)2004.

Offline Alexstein

« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2014, 12:36:45 PM »
The. 2006/7 facelift brought in the 2.5l engine

Offline Alexstein

« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2014, 12:40:10 PM »

This is mine :)

The liberty GT is a cheap car for 190kw!!!

« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2014, 12:48:48 PM »
Interesting, my Outback ('04 build of the '05) has the 2.5 litre engine.

I agree, either are a great car for the $, though yours is a bit sportier than mine!

Offline Alexstein

« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2014, 12:58:15 PM »
Im pretty sure that the outback had a different range of engines to the liberty though the 2.5l might be n/a compared to the 2.0l turbo in mine (2.0r engine). I know from the face lift they put in the 2.5l turbo engine into the GT.

http://www.autoevolution.com/subaru/legacy/

« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2014, 01:29:48 PM »
Ford Mondeo 2011/12 wagons are under $20k.
Plenty of room for your kids to grow into.

I wouldn't call a forester or a liberty a medium sized wagon.

« Last Edit: April 04, 2014, 01:35:12 PM by Mace »

Offline MarkVS

« Reply #21 on: April 04, 2014, 01:47:10 PM »
I have a Pajero and a 2010 Outback. (diesel)

I have done camper trailer touring with the Outback and find it a great car.... ground clearance, internal size, wagn area size, engine power, and economy. I know the diesel isn't what you are looking for but the rest of the car is great.

MarkVS
2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

Offline McTavish

« Reply #22 on: April 20, 2014, 11:18:59 PM »
How did ya go?  Any luck with your decision?
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2014, 12:17:01 AM »
Was only doing research at the moment, looking to buy in 3-4 months. Unfortunately had a unexpected financial circumstance so that has been pushed back even further until we save up again >:(