Author Topic: Gulf, Alice Springs and Plenty Highway  (Read 4599 times)

Offline Hodgies

• Hodgies
Gulf, Alice Springs and Plenty Highway
« on: March 24, 2014, 04:03:33 PM »
We are heading off at the end of June to head up to the gulf and then down to Alice Springs.

We are then heading home(Sunshine Coast) via the Plenty Highway, our thoughts are for those who have done this.

Did you carry extra fuel and was it needed to do the stint across the Plenty?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
D and S
2011 Ford Ranger
2001 K.K

Re: Gulf, Alice Springs and Plenty Highway
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 04:14:03 PM »
From Alice Springs it is 140klm to Gemtree caravan park (Fuel) then a further 210klm to Jervoic Stn (Fuel) and then 460klm to Boulia (Fuel), so normally you would not need fuel unless you have a small tank, but if you going up the Cape then you should have plenty of capacity.

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2014, 04:47:45 PM »
G'day Hodgies,

We did the reverse trip, Plenty Hwy wise last year.  Fuel at Jervois Stn was cheaper than Gem Tree. $2.093/litre v $2.30/litre. So in a 200 Series diesel, towing a 2.2 tonne Quantum as mostly 100 kph (the road was in excellent condition) we had no trouble making Boulia-Jervois-Alice.
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2014, 07:42:39 AM »
We did the drive in 2012 and 2013. No problems with fuel. But watch the road conditions. In 2012 end of July the road had been closed for a week due to rain and after they graded it it was brilliant. In end of Sept last year the road was bad but driving to the conditions it was still easy. But we had to watch some deep bull dust holes. Unfortuantly   the road is not classified as a state road so it is up to the shire to maintain it, very expensive for them.  But it is a great drive.  kevin

Offline letsgo

• Happy and safe travels, Chris & Kate
    • Let's Go Travel Australia
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2014, 08:02:08 AM »
Great info, we will be traveling along the Plenty towards Alice direction in June. Was wondering about Fuel, so thanks :)

2011 Holden Colorado Twin Cab Ute with Metalink canopy
2011 Ultra E Aussie Swag Camper Trailer
Let’s Go Travel Australia

« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2014, 08:41:42 AM »
Have stayed a few times at a free camp beside the Arthur River, 159 km west of the NT/QLD border. Site 176 in the camps 7 book. Nice quite spot, able to have a fire.  Travelling east on the Plenty turn right after you cross the river and pick a spot. The river is usually dry. Kevin

Offline letsgo

« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2014, 08:46:53 AM »
Great thanks.  :D Don't want to hyjack the post. but I'm sure this would be of interest to hodgies as well. Any points of interest or things worth detouring for on the Plenty?

Offline Hodgies

• Hodgies
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2014, 04:01:53 PM »
Great info guys thanks heaps.

No appology needed letsgo as this thread may help many of us come June / July we all are needing any info / tips we can  get.

Thanks for the heads up on freecamp sites

Cheers Hodgies.
2011 Ford Ranger
2001 K.K

Offline Gemtree

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2014, 06:35:01 PM »
Hi Hodgies!

Good on you for making the trek. There is plenty of fuel all along the Plenty and it does vary in price. You should try living out here  :-[ ! If we have to get a fuel truck off-schedule they charge us over two bucks a litre... goodness knows what this new budget will do to little bush fuel stations.

There is 'plenty' to see on the 'Plenty' if you'll pardon the pun! If you come past Gemtree on a Wednesday or Saturday night we do the free history show, that fills you in on the pastoral history of the area. Areyonga (who commented below) will be able to fill you in as he has been a couple of times now!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gemtree/121877771172739

There is also now Tower Rock which is just off the Plenty Highway, on the northern section of the Binns Track. It is a land form very like the Devil's Marbles - minus all the backpackers if you know what I mean. That is a newly excised piece of land that has been made a Conservation Reserve, named after my grandparents (Mac and Rose Chalmers). As far as I know you can free camp there. If you do, the grave is there... tell Nanna & Grandpa I said hello xo.

Not far from Tower Rock is the Box Hole Meteorite Crater. We can give you free mud maps if you call in at Gemtree, to show you how to get directly there without annoying any pastoralists!

So good luck on your adventures, travel safely, and if you can manage to pull up at our place on a Wed or Sat I think you will find it just magic. We have a deal for forum members to stay 2 nights and get 1 free. Not sure what your schedule is like.

Cheers!
Kate

Offline Hodgies

• Hodgies
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2014, 07:07:12 PM »
Hi Kate,
Thanks so much Kate for all that local info. After Lawn Hill we have no plans as to where and when, but by the time we reach Alice we will have a bit of a plan for the stretch home, hopefully the days will align and yes we will definately call in. We are getting very excited I can tell you.
Love your website by the way.
Looking forward to catching up.
Cheers Hodgies
2011 Ford Ranger
2001 K.K

Offline letsgo

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2014, 07:20:41 PM »
Yes thanks for the info, have been looking it all up on the maps, now we are getting excited. Will call in and say hi if we can. For us it will just be the start of our trip. Thanks again :)

Offline letsgo

« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2014, 07:24:19 PM »
Found this PDF on Mac and Rose Chalmers Reserve, even shows the grave site :) http://www.parksandwildlife.nt.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0006/348369/Chalmers-Reserve-Fact-Sheet_web.pdf