Author Topic: Current & ex defence force members!  (Read 19775 times)

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
Re: Current & ex defence force members!
« Reply #50 on: March 20, 2014, 09:51:17 PM »
So how many serving pers on this thread are working in brisvagas!?

Sent from my iPhone using the Tappy thing

« Reply #51 on: March 21, 2014, 07:00:27 AM »
6 years USN Medical Corps (Fleet Marine Force, short stint on HMAS Melbourne, yes the tin can opener, PA) Vietnam Vet
2 years USNR
2 years Oregon National Guard (yes, tending kindergarteners ;)
What's the wheels in the pic?
Doesn't look much bigger than a WW2 'Jeep'.

Offline HuskyInAuz

« Reply #52 on: March 21, 2014, 08:07:16 PM »
Actually there is a pretty funny story behind this .. The guy without the red cross armband was my driver and at that time a Sargent in a pretty good size Oregon city police force.  He'd just lifted two tires (since they are USA tires ;) from the CO's staff pool jeeps and threw them in the back of my 1/4 ton ambo (which is what they were called ) but I could get two casualties in the back on stretchers.    We are waiting for the 'slick' to put us up and take ourselves and the tires to where EOD was blowing stuff up.  The ambo jeep there had one flat or something  (can't remember those details).    Laughing 'cause he thought he'd gotten caught since this other guy pulled up to take a picture of us and I said 'your stuffed, my hands are clean'
"Pressure makes diamonds" -- George S. Patton

2004 Nissan Patrol 4.2TD way too many mods, wish I had it here.. Dodge does okay though

2007 Dodge RAM 3500 Laramie DRW (6.7LCummins  / 6sp Allison)

Offline Beatle

• Devil's Advocate
« Reply #53 on: March 21, 2014, 08:27:49 PM »
Ex RAAF.  Airframe apprentice joining at 16yrs 4mths old. Can't imagine letting my kids go off to permanent 'camp' at that age, so kudos to my parents.

Served 27 years, mainly on fighters.  Certainly never intended to stay that long but time flew by. Don't regret a minute of it and didn't burn any bridges.

Still working in Defence Industry supporting the team (5 years out) and occasionally look for a hat before stepping outside the building :D.

My missus is a public servant and has more medals than I do....... ???
***The words typed in my messages do not necessarily reflect the personally held views of the author***

Beatle
'97 80 series Landcruiser

Offline RLI

« Reply #54 on: March 21, 2014, 08:56:03 PM »
Ex RAAF.  Airframe apprentice joining at 16yrs 4mths old. Can't imagine letting my kids go off to permanent 'camp' at that age, so kudos to my parents.

Served 27 years, mainly on fighters.  Certainly never intended to stay that long but time flew by. Don't regret a minute of it and didn't burn any bridges.

Still working in Defence Industry supporting the team (5 years out) and occasionally look for a hat before stepping outside the building :D.

My missus is a public servant and has more medals than I do....... ???

G'day Beatle link,

Congrats on your service mate!

RLI
The Halls been rented, the Bands been paid, time to see you dance Pilgrim!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline RLI

« Reply #55 on: March 21, 2014, 09:08:06 PM »
G'day folks,

The following photo's are from the days i served with 6 RAR and Special forces!

RLI

Me in the background during Vickers machine training with 6 RAR in 1982.

Repelling from Iroquois helicopter (HUEY) at 6 RAR.

Being deployed from Chinook Helicopters whilst serving with 2 Commando.

Relaxing after exercise "silent dagger".

RLI

« Last Edit: March 21, 2014, 09:12:49 PM by RLI »
The Halls been rented, the Bands been paid, time to see you dance Pilgrim!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #56 on: March 21, 2014, 09:48:36 PM »
Love the photos mate! I will have to dig out some of mine!

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

« Reply #57 on: March 21, 2014, 09:58:25 PM »
I didn't serve, but I reckon this is a great thread..... :cup: :cup:

Offline PB

« Reply #58 on: March 22, 2014, 10:36:46 AM »
1994 to 2005 with RAINF with 49 RQR, 3 RAR(para) and 5/7 RAR (mech).

I'm not lost. I am exploring.

Offline johnmm

« Reply #59 on: March 22, 2014, 05:11:46 PM »
Still serving in the RAAF some 23 years later, started as RadTech, now an engineer......
2000 HDJ-105 Landcruiser towing a Johnno's Dreamtime Offroad Camper.

Offline lochgilphead

• Disgruntled by work; Gruntled by camping
« Reply #60 on: April 09, 2014, 08:39:46 PM »

3 years 11 months in RAN, HMAS Cerberus, HMAS Stalwart (Dockyard Building 215) and finished as an AB QMG.

I know I didn't do four years cos they knocked me back for the Australian Defence Medal.

I made enquiries re hearing damage from the use of Jason Pistols but could never get anywhere. 

If you reckon I should make further enquiries happy for an email.   Thanks 
Mac and Jen - Isuzu MUX with some small mods towing a Rhinomax Discovery. This is our rig until we stop travelling!!

Offline bottlecreek

• 2011 Triton - Liesure Matters CT
« Reply #61 on: April 15, 2014, 03:35:47 PM »
I joined 17 May 1978, retired 6 Jul 1998. I see there are a few Gentlemen of the Corps here the Royal Regiment of Australian Artillery. Is good to see you other blokes as well.

I spent most of the time as a Bird Gunner and seen my bit of non corps postings, enjoyed the service and the company immensely.

Offline itchvet

« Reply #62 on: April 18, 2014, 06:16:59 PM »
Firstly Paul, let me say thank you for sticking up your hand to volunteer for this work. You are an exceptional human being in my mind.
Of course if our Government and Service authorities were to really perform their appointed tasks, there'd be no need for folks such as you putting your hand up in the first place. But seriously, good on you mate.
O.K. got that outa the way, feel a bit like an ancient relic after reading the posts here, I was a Member of 6 RAR Infantry battalion. from 1968 thru to 1974.
Posted to non other then the famous D Company of Long Tan Fame. Let me also insert here, I was NOT present at that altercation, which occurred during 6RAR's first tour. My involvement came in the SECOND tour, where we erected the concrete cross in the rubber plantation as a memorial.
I believe said cross was taken down by the Vietnamese Govt and is now in a museum over there and a new one erected.
During my service with 6 RAR, on return to Ozz, we were posted to Singapore, (personally believe it was a thank you for their efforts in Vietnam ) for 2 years, and that was the cushiest posting anyone could ever think of. Got the opportunity to check out Malaya and Penang  at close quarters.
Now I'm a T.P.I. reminiscing here, but I do spend a lot of time in the bush where I'm most comfortable.
As a T.P.I. I understand very clearly, the difficulties ex service members face when applying for same, that's why I say what you volunteered for is a very demanding task, and I guess with the demobbing of many of our troops nowadays, will be much in demand in the near future.