Author Topic: Current & ex defence force members!  (Read 19795 times)

Offline Draggin

Re: Current & ex defence force members!
« Reply #25 on: March 08, 2014, 08:31:51 AM »
8 years a crab and 2 years a pusser, whenever someone finds out I'm ex-military I cop the " oh, you were in the army" I always get a funny look when I reply" no the other two".

Like most, wouldn't have missed it for the world. Only regret leaving on days ending in y - (Dummy spit over "medical - unfit to fly")

Joined young, trained hard, visited exotic places, met interesting people and trained to kill them (or so the t-shirt says), >:D

Nil illegitimus carborundum
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Offline RLI

« Reply #26 on: March 08, 2014, 09:29:48 AM »
8 years a crab and 2 years a pusser, whenever someone finds out I'm ex-military I cop the " oh, you were in the army" I always get a funny look when I reply" no the other two".

Like most, wouldn't have missed it for the world. Only regret leaving on days ending in y - (Dummy spit over "medical - unfit to fly")

Joined young, trained hard, visited exotic places, met interesting people and trained to kill them (or so the t-shirt says), >:D

Nil illegitimus carborundum

G'day mate,

Congrats on your service mate!

RLI
The Halls been rented, the Bands been paid, time to see you dance Pilgrim!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Raym

« Reply #27 on: March 08, 2014, 10:01:54 AM »
G'day folks,

Firstly, thanks for your service to this great nation of ours and i wish you all well in what endeavor that you are currently engaged in.

Secondly, if any of you would like to share any photos please do so. It is fantastic looking back down memory lane.

PS, when i work out how to load photo's, i will up-load some of my embarrassing military photo's for a laugh or too. lol

Kind regards,

RLI

1970 - 1993  Apprentice blacksmith then RAE to RAEME back to RAE.

Ray

Offline RLI

« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2014, 10:06:38 AM »

1970 - 1993  Apprentice blacksmith then RAE to RAEME back to RAE.

Ray

G'day Ray,

RLI
The Halls been rented, the Bands been paid, time to see you dance Pilgrim!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #29 on: March 08, 2014, 10:34:36 AM »
I joined under the ready reserve scheme, so did 1 yr full time and 4 yr part time. The thing was, I hated university, so ended up spending most of my part time years  at the Army ... posted to 1 Fd Regt (RAA) at Enoggera as a driver (corp enlisted as RACT but transferred to RAA) I had lots of fun driving on the gun line (somehow I managed to keep off a gun course) and in the last few years became the sig/driver for the BC. Living life on the hill ... what a great job! Unfortunately I missed out on O/S deployment, as Timor just kicked off when I got out. Ive considered rejoining many a time (and may still do it) just not sure how the old body would cope.

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline RLI

« Reply #30 on: March 08, 2014, 10:43:21 AM »
I joined under the ready reserve scheme, so did 1 yr full time and 4 yr part time. The thing was, I hated university, so ended up spending most of my part time years  at the Army ... posted to 1 Fd Regt (RAA) at Enoggera as a driver (corp enlisted as RACT but transferred to RAA) I had lots of fun driving on the gun line (somehow I managed to keep off a gun course) and in the last few years became the sig/driver for the BC. Living life on the hill ... what a great job! Unfortunately I missed out on O/S deployment, as Timor just kicked off when I got out. Ive considered rejoining many a time (and may still do it) just not sure how the old body would cope.

G'day Chippy,

RLI

Offline RLI

« Reply #31 on: March 13, 2014, 08:13:42 PM »

To my band of brothers

Happy Brother's Day To You

You may have served in combat or non-combat.

You may have retired, or you may have served for a short time.

You may have been a draftee or a volunteer.

You may have served in the Corps, Army, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard or the Merchant Navy,  BUT YOU SERVED. You did your job HONORABLY and for that I am PROUD to call you Brother.

You may have served during  WW II, Korea, Vietnam, The Persian Gulf, Iraq or Afghanistan, but you served, you did not run.

You have those words"HONORABLY  DISCHARGED"two of the most noble words in the world. And I am proud to know each and every one of you.

* Today is Band of Brothers' Day*

Send this to all your brothers, fathers, sons and fellow veterans you know. Happy Band of Brothers' Day!

Here's to you! I was not a hero, I did my job because I had to, but I am thankful and proud to have served among them.

A real Brother walks with you when the rest of the world walks on you. 

Offline Cracker74

• Looking forward to pre-season 2014
« Reply #32 on: March 15, 2014, 09:33:09 AM »
Joined 1993 ARA and still going.  A few changes over this time (RMC), 5 o/s deployments and currently a Battery Commander in RAA (however, not a trail ape).

Cracker74
2013 Triton MN
2013 Lifestyle Walkthrough Deluxe

« Reply #33 on: March 15, 2014, 02:19:11 PM »

A real Brother walks with you when the rest of the world walks on you.

Really? 

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #34 on: March 15, 2014, 02:46:19 PM »
cracker where are you BC ?

"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
« Reply #35 on: March 15, 2014, 03:43:52 PM »
I joined as a ready reserve. I transferred to ARA in 1996. Still serving and loving it. Only had the two posting locations being Gallipoli BKS and Lavarack BKS. Have seen a lot of changes in my time some for the good some for the worse.

Enjoy Rod

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #36 on: March 15, 2014, 03:58:25 PM »
I joined as a ready reserve. I transferred to ARA in 1996. Still serving and loving it. Only had the two posting locations being Gallipoli BKS and Lavarack BKS. Have seen a lot of changes in my time some for the good some for the worse.

Enjoy Rod

Good on ya mate, I served in both locs, both are brilliant postings, but id have to say Townsville is were the action is...hahaha.

BTW...we prob chewed on some of the same dirt when you first enlisted...I was an ARA PLSGT looking after a Ready Res PL in 97-98 at Gallipoli Bk

Good times indeed.

Swanny
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 04:19:23 PM by swanny »

Offline RLI

« Reply #37 on: March 16, 2014, 08:59:46 PM »

G'evening folks,

Thanks for all of you so far contributing to this thread! Special thanks to all those that served in the Defence Forces!

RLI

Offline RLI

« Reply #38 on: March 16, 2014, 09:33:54 PM »

Thursday, 13 March 2014

MINVA014

SPEECH TO THE NATIONAL SERVICEMEN’S ASSOCIATION OF AUSTRALIA NATIONAL CONFERENCE
 GLENELG, SOUTH AUSTRALIA

Greetings

It is a pleasure to join you in Glenelg today to open the 2014 National Conference of the National Servicemen’s Association of Australia.

Less than a month after National Servicemen’s Day, let me again place on the record my thanks to all of you here today who were called up for national service and served our nation with distinction.

You helped strengthen our defence forces and added vital capability.

You were prepared to go into action if, and when, required.

Between 1951 and 1972 more than 280,000 young men were called up for national service.

Some served in the Vietnam War, others served in Borneo, Malaysia and Papua New Guinea.

212 Nashos died on active service.

We remember those who never returned home and who made the supreme sacrifice.

We also acknowledge the service and sacrifice of all those who were called upon to serve, your service perpetually honoured at the National Service Memorial at the Australian War Memorial in Canberra.

Your contribution to Australia’s defence preparedness will never be forgotten.

Indeed as we approach Anzac Centenary, we enter a period of commemoration of 100 years of service, where the service of all veterans from all conflicts, including those who serve today in the Australian Defence Force, will be highlighted.

Government’s plan for veterans’ affairs

I was last at your National Conference in Canberra in 2011.

Since then, of course, there has been a change of Government and I speak to you today as the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs.

At the last election, the Government was elected with a four-pillar policy for veterans and their families.

It included:

· Recognition of the unique nature of military service

· Maintaining a stand-alone Department of Veterans’ Affairs

· Tackling mental health challenges faced by veterans and their families; and

· Providing adequate welfare and advocacy support

Underpinning this was our commitment to deliver fair indexation for DFRB and DFRDB military superannuants aged 55 and over.

From 1 July this year the Government is committed to ensuring these superannuation pensions are indexed in the same manner as age and service pensions.

We will deliver this commitment and, in so doing, address a long-standing grievance of the veteran and ex-service community.

Maintaining a stand-alone Department of Veterans’ Affairs is critical if we are to ensure future generations of service men and women continue to receive the post-service support they deserve from the Australian Government.

Last week, the Government announced that DVA would be relocating its national office in Canberra from Woden to Civic.

This move is an opportunity for the Department to develop, to meet the challenges of the future and, more importantly, to re-dedicate itself to the service of those who have served their nation.

Our way of doing business is changing as the demands of our clients change.

Many of our younger clients prefer to deal with us online or over the phone and so we are adapting our way of doing business to meet these needs.

At the same time, our traditional ways of doing business remain as we continue to support older veterans, war widows and their families.

The fourth pillar of our plan recognised the role that veterans and ex-service people, themselves, play in the provision of support to their own.

After more than 100 veterans’ forums conducted right across the country, it became clear to me that veterans prefer to deal with their own when it comes to seeking advice about entitlements, assistance with transition or advice about where to seek support.

In 2011, the former government inexplicably cut funding for veterans’ advocacy through the Building Excellence in Support and Training programme by $1 million per year.

This cut was undertaken without consultation and mid-way through a grant approval round.

This Government promised to restore that cut funding, and restore it we have.

From 1 July this year, veteran and ex-service organisations will have up to $3.75 million to support veterans’ advocacy and welfare services.

As Minister, I have worked closely with the Ex Service Organisation Round Table to see that this funding is used where it needs to be used.

Further, and as part of this funding increase, I have tasked former Repatriation Commissioner and former Veterans’ Review Board Principal? Member, Bill Rolfe, with the task of reviewing the Training and Information Program which provides training to veterans’ advocates, pension and welfare officers.

As our client base changes, DVA must adapt its systems and processes to meet the needs of our clients.

This is no less true of the veteran and ex-service community.

Younger veterans expect that advocates are properly trained in the relevant compensation acts.

This review aims to identify how we can improve training for our veteran advocates, pension and welfare officers so that they can continue performing their invaluable work for the wider veteran and ex-service community.

Advocacy is the glue that holds the veteran and ex-service community together.

It was a Coalition government which created the BEST programme and it is this Coalition Government which is committed to see it prosper for the future.

Mental health

Tackling the mental health challenges faced by veterans, and their families, is a key policy priority for this Government.

Much good work has been done in this area.

But much more can and should be done.

Every year, the Department of Veterans’ Affairs spends $166 million on dedicated mental health services for veterans and their families.

This is part of a $12.5 billion budget including income support, compensation and health care.

The Government continues to support the Veterans and Veterans’ Families Counselling Service, a confidential and free service which specialises in counselling support for veterans and their families.

Later this year, the Government will expand the services provided by VVCS to more ex-service people with specified peacetime service.

Mental health support, however, is not simply confined to the amount of money we spend.

Before the election, I nominated the issue of claims processing times as an area requiring urgent action.

In my first meeting with DVA Secretary, Simon Lewis, I made it clear that processing times at more than 160 days under the MRCA were unacceptable.

The Secretary and I are determined to reduce processing times.

By reducing processing times, we can reduce the anxiety faced by veterans, and families, waiting for claims to be determined.

The longer a claim waits to be finalised, the longer a veteran must wait to get on with their life.

There is a great deal of work occurring in this area and already progress is being made to reduce processing times by improving the way we do business.

I am confident that we can make a difference in this area and will continue to work with DVA to drive further improvements.

Prime Minister’s Advisory Council on Veterans’ Mental Health

Ladies and gentlemen

Over nearly three and a half years as the shadow minister, and now the Minister, I have made consultation with veterans and their families a key priority.

I have not served.

I do not come to you as someone who has served.

Nor do I pretend to understand what it is to have served, to have a family member who has served, or who has come back affected by their service.

Consultation guided the development of our policy for the last election just as it will guide the decisions we make in Government.

Today, I am announcing a new way forward for consultation between the Government, veterans and the wider community about veterans’ mental health.

In 2008, a Prime Ministerial Advisory Council was established to provide feedback to government about issues affecting the ex-service community.

Over that time, it has provided advice to government about an enhanced focus on contemporary veterans and their families; further impetus for new research in Defence and overseas to look at blast injuries as a precursor to brain injury and implications on longer term health; ongoing research into the mental health impacts of military service, in both combat and training roles; and numerous other significant matters.

Today, I am announcing the reconstitution of the PMAC as the Prime Minister’s Advisory Council on Veterans’ Mental Health.

I have taken the decision that the PMAC needs a more dedicated focus specifically on veterans’ mental health.

The PMAC will consider high level and strategic issues – looking to identify gaps in available services and innovative approaches to address them.

It will provide advice to the Prime Minister and myself about future directions for veterans’ mental health policy.

This new PMAC will be chaired by former Chief of Navy, Vice Admiral Russ Crane.

Russ shares my passion about the need to ensure that mental health assistance for veterans and their families is contemporary, relevant and achieving the right outcome.

The Deputy Chair of the new PMAC will be Ben Roberts-Smith VC MG.

As a former serving soldier, Ben brings the unique perspective of a younger veteran, with a small family, to the PMAC.

I am delighted that Ben will play a part on the Council.

Ryan Stokes will join the PMAC as a member of the business community.

The Stokes family has a long history of support for the veteran and ex-service community and I am very pleased that Ryan has accepted my invitation to participate on PMAC.

Other members of PMAC will include representatives from the Partners of Veterans’ Association, the Ex-service Organisation Round Table, the Mental Health Commission and the Departments of Defence and Veterans’ Affairs.

This new PMAC will be dedicated to considering the needs of veterans and mental health challenges they face.

It is an important part of the Government’s commitment to tackling mental health challenges.

In addition to the new PMAC arrangements, the Government has strengthened the broader consultation framework to provide enhanced feedback and engagement.

Until recently the Department of Veterans’ Affairs had a four-pronged internal consultative framework.

As Minister, I have streamlined this approach to two committees.

The first forum deals with the needs of our recently returned veterans.

The ‘Younger Veterans – Contemporary Needs’ forum has combined the old Emerging Issues Forum and the Operational Working Party to focus specifically on the needs of younger and recently returned veterans.

The other forum is the National Aged and Community Care Forum which specifically addresses the challenges facing older veterans, their health issues and those faced by their families.

State and territory consultative fora through Deputy Commissioners will remain in place to ensure specific local issues are not overlooked by the Government.

I am confident that this new approach will ensure the Government receives the very best, targeted advice about how we can tackle mental health now and into the future.

Centenary of Anzac

The Centenary of Anzac will be this nation’s most defining period of commemoration.

Many of you would be aware of recent commentary about the Government’s financial commitment to the Centenary of Anzac.

It has been suggested that commemoration is coming at the expense of care for our veterans and their families.

This is simply not true.

In fact, commemorating the service and sacrifice of those who served and served in the Australian Defence Force is no less important than providing income support, compensation and health care to our veterans.

As I mentioned earlier, every year the Department of Veterans’ Affairs spends more than $166 million on dedicated mental health services, research and assistance for veterans and their families.

Over the course of the Centenary of Anzac, this will amount to more than $650 million.

Every year, the Government allocates $12.5 billion to the Department of Veterans’ Affairs to provide support to veterans and their families – from First World War Widows to our youngest client who is just a few months old.

This will amount to more than $50 billion over the period of the Centenary of Anzac.

To date, financial commitments to the Centenary of Anzac by this government and the former government amount to $145 million over that same period.

This is a very small investment in what I see as the building of a long-term legacy.

The Centenary of Anzac must be so much more than simply building or restoration of old memorials.

This is important, but it is not the end game.

By 2018, we must have left a legacy in the minds of younger Australians, in particular, about the service and sacrifice of past generations, of the responsibilities to care for those who have defend our rights and way of life.

In addition to understanding when we fought, where we fought and the values we fought for, the Centenary must teach a generation of younger Australians about our collective obligation to care for those who serve their nation at their nation’s request.

If we do nothing else, then we must ensure that we do not repeat the mistakes of the past, particularly the appalling manner in which Vietnam veterans were treated upon their return.

I hope we are entering a period of peace.

But the peace dividend must not be an abrogation of our national responsibility to care for those who serve and served in the Australian Defence Force.

The numbers of veterans in the future may be smaller, but our resolve to care for them and their families must not be diminished.

This is what I hope the Centenary of Anzac can achieve.

Conclusion

It is my great honour to serve as the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs.

There is much that I want to do.

With your help and the support of the veteran and ex-service community, we can set about tackling the challenges facing the veteran and ex-service community head on.

The Department of Veterans’ Affairs is, over the next five years, set to undergo a major change as the sad but inevitable decline of our Second World War population continues.

These are opportunities, not threats.

We are unlikely to again see the Government introduce a formal national service programme.

However, as a nation we must ensure that young men and women can look to the Australian Defence Force as a career path, confident that their nation will care for them if they are wounded, injured or incapacitated as a result of that service.

Thank you for the honour of speaking to you today and I have much pleasure in declaring your 2014 national conference open.

RLI

« Reply #39 on: March 16, 2014, 09:45:33 PM »
What a crock! All DFRDB recipiants should get the new deal, not just over 55's. Oh well another 5 yrs to wait.  >:(

« Reply #40 on: March 17, 2014, 12:08:22 PM »
What a crock! All DFRDB recipiants should get the new deal, not just over 55's. Oh well another 5 yrs to wait.  >:(
Amen Brother.

« Reply #41 on: March 17, 2014, 12:31:04 PM »
Governments always wait until there are damn all left before acting, even when their is no $ attached.

Look at how many years it took for the Gallipolli plaque to be awarded to vets  / Next of Kin.

Offline RLI

« Reply #42 on: March 17, 2014, 12:47:44 PM »

G'day folks,

I also received the following from DVA.

RLI

Thursday, 13 March 2014

VA016

NEW LOOK PMAC TO TACKLE VETERAN MENTAL HEALTH

The Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Senator the Hon. Michael Ronaldson, today announced the establishment of a new Prime Ministerial Advisory Council (PMAC) with a renewed focus on veteran mental health.

Senator Ronaldson said that one of the four pillars of the Abbott Government’s plans for Veterans’ Affairs was to tackle mental health challenges facing veterans and their families, especially following the draw down of troops from Afghanistan.

"In reviewing existing consultative arrangements, I have taken the opportunity to evolve PMAC’s role to specifically focus on veteran mental health issues, particularly those relating to former service personnel with service after 1975," Senator Ronaldson said.

"The Prime Minister and I are delighted that former Chief of Navy, Vice Admiral Russ Crane AO, CSM, RAN (Ret’d), will Chair the new PMAC and that he will be supported by Corporal Ben Roberts-Smith VC, MG, as the Deputy Chair.  Mr Ryan Stokes will also be a member of the new PMAC. 

"The new PMAC membership will also comprise of experts in mental health matters, representatives of the Australian Defence Force, the veteran community and industry leaders."

"The Government is determined to prioritise the mental health care of veterans and their families now and into the future.  The new PMAC has the Prime Minister’s unequivocal support in ensuring the Government can provide the very best support to veterans and their families facing the challenges of service-related mental illness.  We must never stop looking for ways to improve the support we provide to those who have served our nation,"

"The Prime Minister and I welcome the new membership and wish them well in the important task ahead of them," Senator Ronaldson said.

Senator Ronaldson thanked the outgoing PMAC membership for their invaluable contribution to ex-service matters including enhancing the focus on contemporary veterans and their families; supporting new research into blast injuries and the impact on longer-term health; and ongoing research into the mental health impacts of military service in both combat and training roles.

PMAC was first established in 2008 to advise the Prime Minister and Government on matters affecting the ex-service and defence communities.

Media inquiries:
Minister Ronaldson: Brad Rowswell 6277 7820 or 0417 917 796
 Department of Veterans’ Affairs Media: 02 6289 6203

Veterans and Veterans Families Counselling Service (VVCS) and Veterans Line can be reached 24 hours a day across Australia for crisis support and free and confidential counselling. Phone 1800 011 046

Offline Grant209

« Reply #43 on: March 18, 2014, 03:10:55 PM »
Served 9 years with the Army Reserves and 5 years RAAF Active Reserve.

Most of my 9 years with the Army Reserves was with Armoured Corps . . . M113 Recon and 6 month stint with 5th Combat Engineer's when I moved to Sydney.

The 5 years RAAF Active Reserve was as a Firefighter with Richmond RAAF Base Fire Section.
Grant

Vehicle: 2011 Nissan D22 Navara
Camper: "Expecting" a 2003 Jayco Outback Dove

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #44 on: March 18, 2014, 03:57:07 PM »
Joined March 1972 at 17 posted to 9 Tpt Coy RAASC now RACT where I did my driver training, had to do an exercise to Cape York before getting our T109. Then had 3 years DSU Rocky and last 3 years HQ 7MD Darwin, last 12 months as Tpt Control Officer. Loved it.
Will be needing a new Advocate down the track at some time Paul so will make contact. Cheers
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Offline stevo

• I used to have a handle on life........but it broke
« Reply #45 on: March 18, 2014, 09:13:06 PM »
Last ever Nasho service intake Sept 72. Marched out of rookie training the day before Gough got elected, so they didn't know what to do with us. Took up the offer to complete my time to receive the defence service home loan and medical benefits on offer. Finally made one wise decision in my life. Posted to RACT and did my remaining time at 2RTB Kapooka where I met my now wife who worked on the base. Guess I have to say that means the army was good for me.  >:D
Isuzu MU-X Coronet caravan
The hearse does not stop at the bank on the way to the cemetery.

Offline mickmac42

« Reply #46 on: March 19, 2014, 08:35:57 PM »
Joined as a Seaman Officer when i was young and single... then got married and had a kid, so i tossed it in and got out after only 4.5 years. Had a helluva good time and got in a few up-top trips and had a ripper of a 26th birthday in Guam, but i don't miss the sea sickness and long stints away. Best job i ever did was Boarding Officer on the boats. Still, being home with the family was top of the list for me. It sealed the deal for me when i was speaking with one of my Chiefs who told me it was the fifth year in a row that he'd missed his daughters birthday. Tip of the hat to all you lifers. It's a bigger sacrifice than most people will ever realise.

Where we're going, we don't need roads.

Offline blkd4d

« Reply #47 on: March 20, 2014, 06:02:15 PM »
Joined the Army in 1989 discharged in 2000, I had a great time and sometime do miss it . :D
5 Camp Hospital
86 TPT TP
85 TPT TP
Australian Defence Force Line Haul Service ( Out of Bandiana )
Duntroon

This is what I miss the most, great Job

Offline HuskyInAuz

« Reply #48 on: March 20, 2014, 08:04:50 PM »
6 years USN Medical Corps (Fleet Marine Force, short stint on HMAS Melbourne, yes the tin can opener, PA) Vietnam Vet
2 years USNR
2 years Oregon National Guard (yes, tending kindergarteners ;)

« Last Edit: March 20, 2014, 08:48:09 PM by HuskyInAuz »
"Pressure makes diamonds" -- George S. Patton

2004 Nissan Patrol 4.2TD way too many mods, wish I had it here.. Dodge does okay though

2007 Dodge RAM 3500 Laramie DRW (6.7LCummins  / 6sp Allison)

Offline samorgs

• Former Tent User
« Reply #49 on: March 20, 2014, 09:42:48 PM »
Current ARA, joined as a reservist 20 years ago and transferred to ARA 10 years ago, RACT the whole time.
'99 Holden Frontera
3.2V6 5 Speed Manual
3" Lift
31x10.5 on 15x7 Advanti Creed Alloys
ECB Alloy bar Narva Ultima 175 lights

GIC Off Road Soft Floor Camper