Author Topic: Current & ex defence force members!  (Read 19802 times)

Offline RLI

Current & ex defence force members!
« on: March 06, 2014, 08:16:23 AM »

G'day Trendsetters,

I thought i would set-up a thread to see how many current and ex-defence force members we have on this great forum. Being an RSL Advocate/pensions officer i thought i could post up the latest defence force information to our members.

If any myswag members are having difficulty with any of there DVA entitlements or just need advice regarding a possible pension claim please contact me and i will endeavor to help you or direct you to the appropriate person to help you.

Kind regards,

Paul (RLI)

The Halls been rented, the Bands been paid, time to see you dance Pilgrim!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline RLI

Re: Current & ex defence force members!
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2014, 08:19:15 AM »

G'day folks,

For your perusal!

RLI

Wednesday, 5 March 2014 VA014

VETERANS URGED TO TAKE PART IN CONSULTATION

Today the Department of Veterans’ Affairs (DVA) will begin consultation with veterans, war widow/ers, their families, the Community and Public Sector Union and DVA staff about the future of some shopfront services in Victoria and New South Wales.

“The Government is committed to a stand-alone Department of Veterans’ Affairs which delivers efficient services to veterans right across Australia”, Senator Ronaldson said.

“As the veteran community changes so too must the Department adapt and respond to changing circumstances. More and more of our veterans, war widow/ers and their families are choosing the telephone or the internet to make contact with DVA. Visits to our shop fronts are declining and are down 28 per cent since 2009.”

The respective Deputy Commissioners of DVA in Victoria and New South Wales will facilitate the consultation, commencing today, regarding the provision of DVA Veterans’ Access Network (VAN) services in six regions.

Consultations will focus on shopfronts in Bairnsdale, Morwell, Ballarat and Frankston in Victoria and Wollongong and Gosford in NSW. In addition, Bendigo, Mildura and Warrnambool in Victoria, where VAN type services are provided by private organisations, will also be considered.

“This consultation process, which will conclude on 26 March, will guide DVA in deciding the future provision of current services”, Senator Ronaldson concluded.

Information on how members of the veteran community can be involved in the consultation process is available on the DVA website, www.dva.gov.au.

Media inquiries: Minister Ronaldson: Brad Rowswell 02 6277 7820 or 0417 917 796
Department of Veterans’ Affairs Media: 02 6289 6203
The Halls been rented, the Bands been paid, time to see you dance Pilgrim!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2014, 08:31:45 AM »
great idea.........

I should really track down somebody to assist me with getting a review, the initial application wasn't the best experience

and after being humiliated at my local RSL a few years ago I have kept them at arms distance....actually I probably keep the whole system at arms distance

anyways.......

43rd F&T, 9 years in the regs followed by 11 ish years in the choc's

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2014, 09:24:53 AM »
   ex RAAF here.  Joined in 1964 for 6 years to avoid being conscripted.
It is a good career starter for an 18 year-old, learned heaps, and kept out of trouble.
In retrospect (now retired) probably one of life's better decisions.

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2014, 01:05:05 PM »
G'day, RLI, you look familiar mate,

Anyway 22 years RAINF  :cup: :cup:, served in a few Battalions  :cup: :cup:, done a few posting to the School of Infantry  :cup: :cup:, and also did a few jobs OS  :cup: :cup:.

All in all had a great time, no regrets at all.

Very handy to know your an advocate, will come in handy id say.

Oh and BTW welcome to the swag, you wont find any better.

Regards Swanny  :cheers:

Offline Diver

« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2014, 01:33:38 PM »
nasho here.  July 72 intake into Pucka.  Went to 4 sig at Wacol in Brisbane and left the army December 73 after electing to serve out the last 12 months after Gough got in.  Eligible for a defence services housing loan that I did nothing with for 10 years and by that time $25k did not buy anything.  my bad.

don't regret my time  :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2014, 03:21:25 PM »
10 years ex Chocco Raeme. Enjoyed being a Recovery Mechanic. Joined 1991 out in 2001.

« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2014, 03:27:28 PM »
20 years full time RAAF aircrew, 4 years Reservist working for Army.

Offline Herks

• Not lost, just geographically displaced!!
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2014, 04:37:10 PM »
36 years Army Reservist and Regular, including OS work. Joined the Reserves in 76 and retired in 2012. Gunner by trade but also served in the MP's  and Engineers as CSM. what they called non Corps postings. A hell of a ride and would do it all over again in the blink of an eye.
I too have the Sh*ts with the local RSL, tried for over a year to join the Sub-Branch, all too hard for them, even though I have been an ordinary member for 30 years in the one club.
Ta
John
Dmax Duel Cab LSU. Canopy, duel batteries, GVM Upgrade, Light Bar, Draw system, Fridge slide and much more. Avan Aspire Pop Top van, Many mods, 12v, 240v.

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2014, 05:40:27 PM »
20 years in the senior Service RAN, 4 of those as an Aircraft Mechanic and 16 years doing Discipline and Prosecutions :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Offline chookduck

« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2014, 05:48:45 PM »
Joined RAAF 1979.  33 years of Service.  P-3 Orion aircrew.  Got out in April 2012.  Now contracting back to Joint Operations Command as a civvy.
1994 Landcruiser RV 80 and 2014 Ultimate Xplor, previously a Trak Shak Midway

Offline wambesi

• My blog
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2014, 06:06:28 PM »
Current serving Army with almost 14 years under my belt with the first four a mix of choco and full-time service (reserve style) before heading regular Army.

Best thing about the organisation is I've been able to change jobs to keep me happy - currently wearing my fourth corps badge - only bad side is I have to call all my mates I started with Sir when 'others' are around. ;)

Currently work for all three service newspapers as a Military Reporter although I focus more on Army.
I travel a lot around the country and OS which is great as I get to scope out and recce places to visit now we have the camper such as the two weeks I spent up in the Cape last year with 51 FNQR. (You can read all about that in the on-line paper).

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2014, 06:55:03 PM »
Did 4.5 yrs as a Dropshort, RAA, then 6 as a RadTech in the Airforce. 1974-1984.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2014, 07:31:26 PM »
Started young and seved  8 years in the Reserves as an Infantry / Assault Pioneer ....

« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2014, 07:32:38 PM »

10 years ex Chocco Raeme. Enjoyed being a Recovery Mechanic. Joined 1991 out in 2001.

Royal Australian Easy Money Earners..........

I was/am a blue bell as well......

« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2014, 08:01:58 PM »

Yes our corps colours, Red Blue and Yellow

Red for the blood we've never spilt
Blue for the seas we've never crossed
Yellow is the reason why!

« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2014, 08:04:21 PM »
I'm not in the Defence Forces.

Just wanted to say thank you.

Offline Sir Kev + Darkie

• The Proposed Dig Tree RoadHouse
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2014, 08:09:14 PM »
13 years Army in the #1 Corp  ;D RAE

If I wasn't medically discharged due to a spinal fusion 6 years ago I'd still be there  :cheers:

2018 79 Series Dual Cab
Coota Camper with lots of Fruit

« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2014, 08:52:50 PM »

Yes our corps colours, Red Blue and Yellow

Red for the blood we've never spilt
Blue for the seas we've never crossed
Yellow is the reason why!

When your car is broke or your gun busted I guess this is where we come in...........oh and fleece you for a goffa

The army cannot roll with RAEME.........quite happy sittin back in the sixbee, fridge, showers, laptops, radios, jaffles.........waitin to get everybody out of the Shit

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #19 on: March 06, 2014, 09:42:44 PM »
Dammit, still a lid. Good on you blokes/gals for your service.
4 years RAINF for me then a med discharge in 2011.
Still miss it but happy to have spent so much time with my children.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2014, 10:01:01 PM »
Still serving now. Have chalked up 24 years full time service with the Royal Australian Navy as an Electronic Technician. Served on several ships in that time;

HMAS Bendigo
HMAS Townsville
HMAS Gladstone
HMAS Tobruk
HMAS Canberra
HMAS Adelaide
HMAS Melville
HMAS Leeuwin

Offline maggs

« Reply #21 on: March 07, 2014, 07:25:44 AM »
RAN 1977 - 1985 Electrical Fitter Mechanic (ETP)

RANATE Nirimba
HMAS Brisbane
HMAS Moreton

Currently on DVA part pension with pending appeals. The claim process has been a bit of a nightmare due to lack of medical records that were kept in the old days and the lack of understanding the claims officers have of the old systems. Hopefully things will work out but it's a long drawn out process.

Offline RLI

« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2014, 07:44:22 AM »

G'day folks,

Firstly, thanks for your service to this great nation of ours and i wish you all well in what endeavor that you are currently engaged in.

Secondly, if any of you would like to share any photos please do so. It is fantastic looking back down memory lane.

PS, when i work out how to load photo's, i will up-load some of my embarrassing military photo's for a laugh or too. lol

Kind regards,

RLI

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #23 on: March 08, 2014, 07:43:30 AM »

Sorry, I though it was Royal Australian Engineer Minus the Experience!!!

Serving Royal Australian Engineer, 15 years this year and will look for another 5 or so as I still enjoy it!

Offline adrian

« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2014, 08:11:29 AM »
20 years RAInf, is there really anything else? ;D