Author Topic: Smelly Meat (to eat or not to eat)  (Read 7887 times)

Smelly Meat (to eat or not to eat)
« on: February 02, 2014, 06:00:34 PM »
G'day all,

When do you decide, what is to safe to eat and what's heading for the bin...?

With chicken i'll throw it if even looks or smells a bit dodgy, however red meats I am less hasty to just toss...

For instance, we have a lamb roast at the moment, has been in the fridge for 6 days, bought fresh from the butcher, last Monday. Had a bit of a smell to it when we unpacked it, however the color etc looked fine, what do ya's reckon, eat it or not??? Slow cooked for 8 hours, safe or not???

Your thoughts?

Barrabart

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
Re: Smelly Meat (to eat or not to eat)
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2014, 06:09:41 PM »
its a good way to lose weight .....  8)

having the whole family lined up for the sh!tter ....a game for the whole family   ;D

coming from an x-butcher , if it smells funny ... go vege for the night

best of luck ,   :worthles: of the night ... lol
« Last Edit: February 02, 2014, 06:19:24 PM by rockman »

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2014, 06:17:32 PM »
By the time it smells it's probably well past being safe.
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200

Offline Banjo16

• The road less travelled
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2014, 06:31:29 PM »
6 days before cooking ? Your joking I hope.
Don

PB Challenger
Jayco Starcraft OB

« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2014, 06:45:49 PM »
its a good way to lose weight .....  8)
having the whole family lined up for the sh!tter ....a game for the whole family   ;D

Bart, my motto is, "if in doubt, chuck it out" ( even the tiniest bit of doubt)

I had food poisoning once about 20 years ago, though I was going to die. I won't ever take a chance again.

« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2014, 06:55:24 PM »

also, another question I have, what's the story with the expressions like "cooked on the turn" and made with "28 day old beef" etc, these are normally mentioned in meals you are  paying a premium for, also in other countries I've been to (mainly through SE Asia) you buy meats from markets, meat is freshly slaughtered, usually at the market place, the butchered meats sits on tables for sale, not a fridge in site?

Are we all just getting to soft??
« Last Edit: February 02, 2014, 08:15:30 PM by Barrabart »

« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2014, 07:01:08 PM »

Are we all just getting to soft??

I think we are and I have eaten some really dodgy food in my travels and survived and kept it down.

We get aged beef and keep it in the fridge for around 6 weeks or so before opening the cryovac and cutting it. the meat really smells and has a bit of a green tinge sometimes, we give it a wash and then cook it as normal.

My stepfather was a butcher and he said if you cook it long enough all will be well (not too sure how much truth is in that)

Offline KieranR

« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2014, 07:01:59 PM »
got a mate that reckons when it goes a little off colour and slimy is the best time to eat them.  I aint so sure about his methods and wont eat it, but ive seen what he cooks sometimes and yep he does it, havnt seen him crook yet!

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2014, 07:02:57 PM »
at tafe school , we ate some rib fillet that was seriously green and slimly , the teacher cut the green stuff off and fed us the rest ... then showed us what he cut off ... sick prick ! ... but we never died or got sick ... lol

I just would not risk it for the family side of things

« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2014, 07:09:58 PM »
the meat i ate up in the in halls creek would spend 4 in the fridge truck a couple of days at the butchers then a few days in my fridge before i decided what to freeze and what i would be eating in the next few days had a mild off odor to it but always tasted ok and never got crook from it.

« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2014, 07:11:46 PM »
Harden up and eat it, sounds like a 1st world problem ;D

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2014, 07:35:01 PM »
Heat (cooking) will kill bacteria but it won't necessarily destroy the toxins already produced.
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200

« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2014, 07:37:04 PM »
Sometimes it just smells from being in the plastic bag for a few days or if it's been cryovaced.  Give it a good wash under running water and if it still smells, err on the side of caution.

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2014, 07:43:17 PM »
Sometimes it just smells from being in the plastic bag for a few days or if it's been cryovaced.  Give it a good wash under running water and if it still smells, err on the side of caution and make a curry out of it ... lol

Offline markg66

• yippee ki yay MF
    • Murrumba Pistol Club Inc
« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2014, 07:44:32 PM »
When i was traveling for work in India the rule was when you got the plate in front of you it had to be really steaming or sizzling and you would be OK no matter how bad it was before they cooked it, never got sick except once I broke that rule............thank god for the travel doctor self medicate drug bag specially for those countries.
Jayco 2000 Eagle Outback.
If it isn't 50% off it aint a discount.

Offline Mongoose

• These are the Good Old Days
« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2014, 07:52:03 PM »
Lived on King Island back in the 80's. Best beef in the country, and the local rule was no less than 6 weeks in the fridge for a cryovac - by which time your steak was totally green. Had to be opened outside, otherwise it would stink the house out. 20 minutes in the fresh air, green turns to bright red and you are ready to BBQ. Tender? Chewing was entirely optional!
200 TTD Cruiser
'05 Pioneer Argyle (Limited Shaker edition)

Offline rossm

« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2014, 07:54:33 PM »
Met a guy once who had been travelling in the western deserts in the 70s when refrigeration was poor or non existent. Dodgy meat was always made into a curry. Lots of keen's curry powder!
My son, who looks after the cooking at home cos he hates what I cook, is a bit fastidious  about use by dates because he used to work for Coles but he has been known to cut the edges off a bit of steak if it looked dodgy. No  problems so far.
Having said all that, if in doubt ...

« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2014, 07:59:34 PM »
Lived on King Island back in the 80's. Best beef in the country

King Island eye fillet yummo :D

« Reply #18 on: February 02, 2014, 08:02:46 PM »
and make a curry out of it ... lol

May as well.  Vindaloo and food poisoning hurt the same on exit...

« Reply #19 on: February 02, 2014, 08:21:04 PM »
at tafe school , we ate some rib fillet that was seriously green and slimly , the teacher cut the green stuff off and fed us the rest ... then showed us what he cut off ... sick prick ! ... but we never died or got sick ... lol

I just would not risk it for the family side of things

Yeah I hear you Rockman, bit different when feeding I to the kids etc.......

Whats always made me less hasty to chuck meat out is,

1. I've seen what people in other countries live on, and don't get crook.
2. I've grown up hearing stories from old bushies of how they kept sides of beef etc (there own slaughtered beef) hanging in dampened canvas meat safes under water tanks etc, out of the direct sun, and each day would cut the black rot of the meat and eat the good gear underneath......

I reckon we can handle more then we think......  ;D

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #20 on: February 02, 2014, 08:29:32 PM »
Life is not tried if just merely survived. Quote from that well known theologian Garth Brooks.

I say hook in. If we haven't heard back from you in two to three weeks well.....I might change my advice.
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

Offline rodw

« Reply #21 on: February 02, 2014, 08:34:37 PM »
Having grown up in the bush where we had to slaughter our own and survive on kero fridges, I will say today's generation is far too paranoid about meat storage. My old man always differentiated between meat that was off which you can't mistake from the stench and meat that was sour from poor storage. Most meat that is turfed because people are concerned about it is sour, not off. He reckoned nobody could mistake the smell of off (rotten) meat! Glad wrap is the worst offender for sending meat sour. Let meat breathe or vacuum pack it is my advice. If vacuum packed, let it breathe for half an hour and the smell will dissapate and it will not smell off!

« Reply #22 on: February 02, 2014, 09:24:09 PM »
C'mon you guys, harden up a bit  ::) Just cook it and dump a bit more tomatoe sauce on it  :cup:

Offline KeithB

« Reply #23 on: February 02, 2014, 10:04:46 PM »
I used to age eye fillet in the fridge for about ten days till it was a bit green and slimy. Then wash it in white vinegar and the green and the smell disappear. Marinate for an hour or two in something nice and then a few minutes each side on a hot BBQ grill. Your knife will slide through it and the flavour is fantastic.
Never made me crook ever.
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #24 on: February 02, 2014, 11:09:38 PM »
Yeah I hear you Rockman, bit different when feeding I to the kids etc.......

Whats always made me less hasty to chuck meat out is,

1. I've seen what people in other countries live on, and don't get crook.
2. I've grown up hearing stories from old bushies of how they kept sides of beef etc (there own slaughtered beef) hanging in dampened canvas meat safes under water tanks etc, out of the direct sun, and each day would cut the black rot of the meat and eat the good gear underneath......

I reckon we can handle more then we think......  ;D

I don't think they eat rancid meat unless its really really decomposed and  by that time  the bacteria are all dead or on holidays. ;D