Author Topic: What's your camping BBQ weapon of choice  (Read 25106 times)

Offline feisty

Re: What's your camping BBQ weapon of choice
« Reply #75 on: April 10, 2014, 05:32:52 PM »
Do yourself a favour and buy one of those gasmate remote electronic thermometers. Dial in the meat type and then rare medium or well done insert the probe and the little fella beeps at you when the roast is done. Best bbq gadget ever for weber users. 25 bucks at bunnings etc. No more lifting lids.....

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

Offline toad

« Reply #76 on: April 10, 2014, 08:28:35 PM »
 Does SWMBO talk to the fiancĂ©?
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline Buttsy

« Reply #77 on: April 11, 2014, 12:04:51 PM »
Weber here as well... Since Santa bought the baby for Christmas, the beef master never got used again.... So just went last weekend and got a family q also.

Gooooood bbq's

Buttsy.

Offline fridayman

• TRIP TALES
« Reply #78 on: April 11, 2014, 12:57:07 PM »
Chainsaw, axe, spade, grid, camp oven, stubby cooler and I'm sorted. I think the missus might also have this gas contraption...

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #79 on: April 12, 2014, 12:31:51 PM »
We don't take a gas bbq away with us, instead we carry one of these ...

Its used primarily for cooking over an open fire. If that option is unavailable, it sits nicely on the Primus 3 burner, taking up 2 burners and leaving the third one for a pot, billy or such. This has been our goto system for many years. I hate carrying acres of gear about. Multi-use equipment is my thing.

We recently inherited a Cobb cooker. The outside plastic surround was cracked and broken. Ordered a new stainless mesh surround from the supplier in Sydney.

Bought a couple of accessories and she's ready to go ...

I've read all the mixed reviews on them, but have also experienced the results of food cooked correctly using this device. A work colleague purchased one quite some time back, at the local camping show. Took it home and for the life of him couldn't get the thing to cook properly. After contacting the distributor with his conundrum, they offered to come to his place of employment and fire it up for him. A lovely lady arrived, complete with a roast to place into the Cobb. She fired up the bad boy, waited for it to reach critical mass, placed the beef inside and hey presto a couple of hours later, succulent roast dinner.

Gunna fire it up this arvo ... can't wait.

Offline feisty

« Reply #80 on: April 13, 2014, 10:17:26 AM »
How did it go???

Feisty

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #81 on: April 14, 2014, 02:03:31 PM »
How did it go???

Fantastic ... pork roast with veggies. Used a Cobblestone, they last almost exactly 2 hours.

Pretty happy with the result, considering it was our first attempt.

Its given me some ideas for improving on the first effort.

Tickled pink with a Cobb.

Offline feisty

« Reply #82 on: April 14, 2014, 02:04:25 PM »
Great to hear

Feisty

Offline GraemeL

« Reply #83 on: April 14, 2014, 04:36:42 PM »
I have the Weber Family Q at home and love it, I want to get the Baby Q for camping. I just have to work out how I am going to store and carry it.

But at the moment I am using the Drifta Fire Pit (Snow Peak).