Author Topic: Yatala Pie Shop  (Read 7297 times)

Yatala Pie Shop
« on: October 17, 2013, 09:20:57 AM »
Yum, curry steak pie and a coffee for breakfast.

Highly recommend this as a place to stop if heading through Gold Coast / Brisbane.

Re: Yatala Pie Shop
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2013, 09:22:31 AM »
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=13056.0

Yatala Pie Shop
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2013, 11:18:20 AM »
Thnx Lost, I did find that thread when I did a search, just thought given the easy access to this place between Brisbane and the Gold Coast and the amount of swagg'rs that must head on through there, it might be good info  for anyone trying to escape either location early morning or late afternoon.

In our case, it gave us a 1/2hr break leaving Gold Coast to let the early morning peak hour traffic clear a bit.

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2013, 11:35:37 AM »
Yep it a regular for us. Yum!!!

Offline Clouty

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2013, 01:22:42 PM »
Mmmm. Only 10 mins away for us.. I'm feeling hungry >:D

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2013, 03:24:45 PM »
The only trick with the Yatla pie shop is to remember that they don't have Eftpos - cash only. Can someone who's been there recently confirm this? It's been a few years since I was last down that end of the state. Every time I am though, we drop in for a feed.

And don't drop in any time near lunch hour, unless you fancy being on the end of a line of people snaking out the door and along the veranda!

Free tip - grab a family apple pie when you're there, with fresh cream. I don't know how they can make money on them, given the sheer amount of apples crammed inside.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2013, 03:30:45 PM »
The only trick with the Yatla pie shop is to remember that they don't have Eftpos - cash only.
Still cash only..  :cheers:

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2013, 03:47:38 PM »
I might have to duck for cover ;D ;D ;D but I reckon they are crap pies for the $$$ give me a "Beefys" any day..

Jet :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2013, 03:56:00 PM »
 Lol. No need to duck for cover Jet.

I was thinking the same about those cruisers, but you still bought one!!!!  ;D ;D  >:D

PS. now I will duck for cover.   "Innnnnncommmmming"

Offline Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback

« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2013, 03:58:40 PM »
Still a great pie but I recon they were better when they were still in the tiny old building up the road before the highway was upgraded. 

« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2013, 04:05:16 PM »
Matto dont be surprized if those apple pies arnt chocked 3/4 full of choko's and just enough apple mixed in to taste, a lot are   ;D

« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2013, 05:42:34 PM »
Yep, still cash only and i don't reckon the pies are as good as they were a few years ago.  :D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2013, 07:15:26 PM »
Lol. No need to duck for cover Jet.

I was thinking the same about those cruisers, but you still bought one!!!!  ;D ;D  >:D

PS. now I will duck for cover.   "Innnnnncommmmming"

You'll keep mate ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Dion

« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2013, 07:28:36 PM »
We stopped going a few years ago because they had gone downhill.  We'd often do a run down the freeway from the city to grab one, about 20mins each way.
2017 Y62 Patrol
2009 Lifestyle Extenda

Offline toeball

« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2013, 08:19:27 PM »
My daughter is doing a project on the local history, she chose the pie shop to research. We visited the shop on the weekend strictly for research purposes !!!!
I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

« Reply #15 on: October 17, 2013, 08:26:42 PM »
My daughter is doing a project on the local history, she chose the pie shop to research. We visited the shop on the weekend strictly for research purposes !!!!

I am lead to believe there is fair bit of history behind it.

« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2013, 08:30:07 PM »
We stopped going a few years ago because they had gone downhill.  We'd often do a run down the freeway from the city to grab one, about 20mins each way.

Agree with you mate, not a fan of Yatala pies anymore... But I suppose I haven't had one for a long time, since the new M1 opened so I suppose it might be worth another try.. Heading home from the Coast Sunday so I might have to stop in and get one to see if they have gotten any better.

Offline V8ute

« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2013, 09:01:51 PM »
We'll I'm with jetcrew on this on, there pies are not much chop.
I would go a beefys before a yatala, but a pie from fernvale pie from the bakery would be my first choice.
            V8ute
08 Cruiser ute, 10 Outback Eagle.
Loaded ready to roll

Offline _Gecko_

« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2013, 12:49:43 AM »
I have tried a Yatala pie, but what are these beefy's pies you speak?
*XF Panelvan, Home Built Trailer, a Tent and my Girl. Living on the road since Feb 2013. So far we have driven Tas/Vic/Nsw, done over 10 000km's and counting.

« Reply #19 on: October 18, 2013, 06:19:08 AM »
Yatala pies are good but a bit far to go for lunch . When in transit to NSW go though Tocumwal on the north side of town is new pie shop . Well worth the drive even from my place in Central Vic  :cheers:

« Reply #20 on: October 18, 2013, 10:57:37 AM »
Matto dont be surprized if those apple pies arnt chocked 3/4 full of choko's and just enough apple mixed in to taste, a lot are   ;D
You know what? I don't care! Whatever's in them tastes delicious!!! (well, it used to anyway, I've not had one for a while). I'm happy with choko, I grew up with my grandparents having a very prolific choko vine out behind the garage :).

As far as pies go, I spend most of my hard-earned at Meldrums these days. If you're even in Cairns, drop in. They're in the city, and are most definitely cash-only. I can guarantee that their standards are still high, since it's only been 3 days since I last sampled their wares.

Offline Toppa

« Reply #21 on: October 18, 2013, 11:36:27 AM »
Yatala pies are good but a bit far to go for lunch . When in transit to NSW go though Tocumwal on the north side of town is new pie shop . Well worth the drive even from my place in Central Vic  :cheers:

My old home town (tocumwal) .  Obviously been a while since ive visited the folks because i dont even know of the new pie shop.  Unless you are talking about the two story one overlooking the Murray River?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
« Last Edit: October 18, 2013, 11:44:59 AM by Toppa »

« Reply #22 on: October 18, 2013, 01:49:30 PM »
I wouldn't give you thank you for a Beefy's Pie but it may have been a crap franchise that I got it from = Ningi.  :-\

Tried a Yatla pie some 3 months ago Steak and Mushroom with Spud on top and was very nice.  :)

« Reply #23 on: October 18, 2013, 01:53:22 PM »
My old home town (tocumwal) .  Obviously been a while since ive visited the folks because i dont even know of the new pie shop.  Unless you are talking about the two story one overlooking the Murray River?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

l think it used to be a servo by the way its set up & its not looking over the river  :cheers:

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #24 on: October 18, 2013, 02:54:01 PM »
I wouldn't give you thank you for a Beefy's Pie but it may have been a crap franchise that I got it from = Ningi.  :-\

Tried a Yatla pie some 3 months ago Steak and Mushroom with Spud on top and was very nice.  :)

You must have hit Beefy's on a very bad day - I've never had a bad one from there.  I've had one which I wasn't particularly fond of, but that was because I was trying a different filling which didn't appeal to me, not because it was badly cooked.

We always have some Beefy's Angus pies in the freezer for emergencies!  My wife tops them up when she comes back from visiting her aunt in Mooloolaba.

I've only been to Yatala a couple of times and was disappointed both times.  Definitely overhyped.

Leaving Queensland aside, a great place for pies is Vilis 24 hour cafe just off South Road in Adelaide - great range of fillings available.  Plus it's licensed!
« Last Edit: October 18, 2013, 02:57:55 PM by Pipeliner »
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!