Author Topic: Getting there is half the fun!  (Read 6093 times)

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
Getting there is half the fun!
« on: October 14, 2013, 09:11:00 PM »
So as not to get too far off topic in the main trip itinerary thread, I thought I'd start this thread so as those heading on the Red Centre trip can discuss how we are all getting there. For us, the trip there (and back) is an adventure in itself!

So, the southern convoy plans are already taking shape. The idea is to head to Alice Springs via the Oodnadatta track. Ourselves and Lindamc will be leaving from Melbourne, meeting Shrek4 at Leigh Creek, up the O. Track to Marla then onto Alice Springs:

Sat 21st June: Leave Melbourne, travel to Renmark ( 724km)

Sun 22nd June: travel to Leigh Creek, meet up with shrek4 and family (594km)

Mon 23rd June: travel to Coward Springs (252km)

Tue 24 June: Coward Springs.  Day trip to William Creek and Lake Eyre

Wed 25th June:  travel to Algebuckina (174km)

Thur 26th June: travel to Marla (178km)

Fri 27th June: travel to Alice Springs (449km)

Sat 28th June: meet up with the rest of the group :D

That's the plan at this stage. We're open to ideas/suggestions, and of course, anyone is more than welcome to join us; the more the merrier ;D

Would love to see other's travel plans on getting to the meet posted up here as well. As the subject says, getting there is half the fun!!

Offline StevenB

Re: Getting there is half the fun!
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 06:58:12 AM »
My rough idea for the trip from Sydney, might be too ambitious though

Sat 21st June: Leave Sydney to Florida rest area (west of Nyngan)

Sun 22nd June: Florida rest area to Cockburn (SA border)

Mon 23rd June: Cockburn to Marree

Tue 24 June: Marree to Oodnadatta

Wed 25th June:  Oodnadatta to Dalhousie Springs

Thur 26th June: Dalhousie to Alice Springs

Fri 27th June: Alice Springs

Sat 28th June: meet up with the rest of the group
2015 LC200 GXl with KDSS
2017 Drifta DOT6 DOT216 "Blue DOT"

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 07:05:01 AM »
Hey Matt, that's almost what we did when we went up there a few years ago. We stopped at the Marla roadhouse for a rest day. It was good to get cleaned up from the bush and do some washing. The nomads are mostly gone by 9-10am and you have the place to yourself.

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2013, 11:26:57 AM »
Hey Matt, that's almost what we did when we went up there a few years ago. We stopped at the Marla roadhouse for a rest day. It was good to get cleaned up from the bush and do some washing. The nomads are mostly gone by 9-10am and you have the place to yourself.

Thanks for the info jamie. Im tipping my wife and daughter will be wanting a decent shower by then ;D Then a cruise up the hwy to Alice, makes Marla a good stopover.

So, are you coming on this trip mate? Be a good run with the new customline!

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2013, 03:33:44 PM »
My rough idea for the trip from Sydney, might be too ambitious though

Sat 21st June: Leave Sydney to Florida rest area (west of Nyngan)

Sun 22nd June: Florida rest area to Cockburn (SA border)

Mon 23rd June: Cockburn to Marree

Tue 24 June: Marree to Oodnadatta

Wed 25th June:  Oodnadatta to Dalhousie Springs

Thur 26th June: Dalhousie to Alice Springs

Fri 27th June: Alice Springs

Sat 28th June: meet up with the rest of the group

We were considering Dalhousie and Mt Dare also, but thought that might be pushing it a bit with the time constraints. Also, being our fisrt time in the area, I was worried our ambition may have outweighed our talent!
We'll put that one down for another trip.
You could always meet up with us somewhere along the Oodnadatta Track.

Offline StevenB

« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2013, 09:49:50 PM »
We were considering Dalhousie and Mt Dare also, but thought that might be pushing it a bit with the time constraints. Also, being our fisrt time in the area, I was worried our ambition may have outweighed our talent!
We'll put that one down for another trip.
You could always meet up with us somewhere along the Oodnadatta Track.

Yeah I think Dalhousie is pushing it. But looking at Coward Springs would be a nice stop.

We're planning to arrive in Alice Springs on the Thursday, gives us an extra day there for a bit of exploring and relaxing at the park for the kids
2015 LC200 GXl with KDSS
2017 Drifta DOT6 DOT216 "Blue DOT"

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2014, 11:40:08 AM »
BrickieMatt ,

We will be in Mildura from 14/6 to 21/6 - So will catch up with you at Renmark if we can ..

We want to go into Muloorina for a night its 50 kms North of Maree about 45 Kms South of Lake Eyre South ..
Might try to get to the beach this time ...

Mandrake
Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2014, 03:20:09 PM »
BrickieMatt ,

We will be in Mildura from 14/6 to 21/6 - So will catch up with you at Renmark if we can ..

We want to go into Muloorina for a night its 50 kms North of Maree about 45 Kms South of Lake Eyre South ..
Might try to get to the beach this time ...

Mandrake

Sounds great mate! I can book another site at Renmark for you, and maybe we could meet up as we go through Mildura.
After Muloorina you could maybe catch us up at Coward Springs, as we're there for 2 nights.
The more the merrier I say ;D

Offline Jacko

• Here for a good time not a long time!
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2014, 10:22:42 PM »
G'day Matt, have you givin this any more thought, I am in 2 minds as to where to stop on the way up are your plans still the same?
 :cheers: Jacko

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=15012.msg227580#msg227580
FZJ105 and Camel Discovery Plus CT

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2014, 07:40:11 AM »
G'day Matt, have you givin this any more thought, I am in 2 minds as to where to stop on the way up are your plans still the same?
 :cheers: Jacko

Gday jacko.
Plans are still the same mate. I think Linda is now leaving on Friday and taking 2 days to get to Renmark just to break the drive up a bit, but the rest of the trip is the same as in my OP.
You're more than welcome to join us in some or all of the trip up mate.

Offline Jacko

« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2014, 10:10:31 PM »
Thanks Matt I will work out our route and let you know

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2014, 06:01:07 AM »
Thanks Matt I will work out our route and let you know

No worries mate

Offline Jacko

« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2014, 05:24:20 PM »
No worries mate
Sorry Matt forgot all about getting back to you, it's been very busy getting everything ready as I'm sure you'd appreciate. Anyhow after much deliberation the following is our agenda.

Sat 21st   Melb - Renmark Big4(soft I know!)
Sun 22nd.  Renmark - Rawnsley Park
Mon 23rd.  Rawnsley Park
Tue 24th.  Rawnsley Park - Farina
Wed 25th.  Farina - Algebuckina
Thur 26th.  Algebuckina - Marla
Fri 27th.  Marla - Alice Springs

Wanted to get a small taste of the Flinders on the way, hence the stop at Rawnsley. Some long days in the saddle and I'm sure we'll miss some of the sights but I guess that gives us an excuse to come back! Looks like we will see you guys at Algebuckina unless you are staying at the same place in Renmark, looking forward to this trip, not long now!

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2014, 08:25:07 PM »
Sorry Matt forgot all about getting back to you, it's been very busy getting everything ready as I'm sure you'd appreciate. Anyhow after much deliberation the following is our agenda.

Sat 21st   Melb - Renmark Big4(soft I know!)
Sun 22nd.  Renmark - Rawnsley Park
Mon 23rd.  Rawnsley Park
Tue 24th.  Rawnsley Park - Farina
Wed 25th.  Farina - Algebuckina
Thur 26th.  Algebuckina - Marla
Fri 27th.  Marla - Alice Springs

Wanted to get a small taste of the Flinders on the way, hence the stop at Rawnsley. Some long days in the saddle and I'm sure we'll miss some of the sights but I guess that gives us an excuse to come back! Looks like we will see you guys at Algebuckina unless you are staying at the same place in Renmark, looking forward to this trip, not long now!

Hey jacko, looks like a good itinerary. Would love to do the Flinders, but that will be another trip altogether!
We're staying at the Big4 in Renmark also (not soft mate, just comfortable after nearly 800 k's in the saddle ;) ), so if you want to head up with us that'd be sweet ;D
We're meeting up with Mandrake at Cullulleraine (about halfway between Mildura and Renmark) and meeting Lindamc at Renmark.
We like to get away pretty early (earlier than sparrow's fart even!) on longer drives, that way we get to where we're going earlier and can relax a bit. Let us know if you want to travel up with us, otherwise we'll save you a spot at Renmark :D
Looking forward to the trip, not long to go now!