Author Topic: After opinions on this vehicle thanks.  (Read 5464 times)

Offline JRABS

After opinions on this vehicle thanks.
« on: September 17, 2013, 01:56:27 PM »
Hi all, I have come across a 2005 Prado Grande V6 for sale with less than 100 000 K & full service history for 19k.
Just wondering what people think of the car and price and how suitable they would be for an expanda 17.56.2 down the track if we go that way.
I wasnt particulary chasing a petrol and would love a 200 series diesel if money were no object but I thought this was a pretty good deal.
Thanks for any input.
 :D

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
Re: After opinions on this vehicle thanks.
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 02:04:18 PM »
Judging by carsales figures, that's very cheap.  Maybe too cheap.  Do you know the history of the vehicle?

Offline JRABS

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 02:25:50 PM »
Not personally but a relative does and it sounds like a surplus to requirements type of sale.
I havent looked at it yet and am not even sure if I am ready to buy yet but it may be too good to pass up.
I has a look at prices on carpint last night to get a feel for it.

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2013, 03:45:14 PM »
One of my camping mates has a 120 Prado and he has been very happy with it. Very comfortable on road and while we don’t do extreme tracks, it’s got him everywhere he has wanted to go when off road. Heaps of power, but can be very thirsty.

« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2013, 03:48:59 PM »
I would be suss of the K's under 100 for an 8 year old car is low

even if they were doing only 15,000 per year is should have 120k on it

« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2013, 04:09:27 PM »
I have a few friends who have found 120s with low km's at great prices, they can be a ripper buy.

« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2013, 04:41:50 PM »

Not necessarily.  We now only use our Pajero for our trips and not as a daily driver - so we would be lucky to rack up 8,000km a year.

After opinions on this vehicle thanks.
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2013, 04:58:12 PM »
Not necessarily.  We now only use our Pajero for our trips and not as a daily driver - so we would be lucky to rack up 8,000km a year.

Totally agree. The  08 Prado we just bought had 66k  on it and we'll be lucky to do another 10 per year.

That price does sound very cheap still though. Get it thoroughly inspected and if its all good, grab a bargain!
We tow a soft floor camper which ours pulls without a flinch, but I have a mate that tows a caravan weighing 2.2 tonne and he lives it. Can get thirsty though, but still better than my old V6 Rodeo so I'm happy.

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

Offline JRABS

« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2013, 01:06:39 PM »
Thanks all, gave myself a reality check last night and have decided not to look at it as we dont really need it and I may end up buying it if I look.

Offline DRB120

« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2013, 01:47:20 PM »
For that price if it all checked out it would be worth buying and then on sell it if you didnt wish to keep it.

I recently bought an 05 GXL V6 with 95,000 on the clock for $24,000 and from what I had looked at that was quite cheap. Tows my CT like a dream.
2005 Prado 120 & 2013 Jawa Offshore 1

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
    • LJ Hooker Mermaid Beach
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2013, 08:02:53 PM »
Almost seems too good to pass up..... :angel:
Steinzy

Offline JRABS

« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2013, 08:11:45 AM »
Yeah, I could probably convince myself of that.
Going to give them a call today to get some more details.

Offline MADCOW

• I Rescue Fish from Water and Beer from Bottles
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2013, 08:27:40 AM »

Depends on how much and where it's driven, Mines nearly 11 years old with only 161,000kms on the clock. Saying that about 100,000kms has been doing the hard stuff!
03 4.2 TDI Gu, Mountain Trail Extended Escape Camper,
 June 2018 Terrain Tamer Calendar

Offline JRABS

« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2013, 07:53:38 PM »
So it got the better of me and I went and had a look this arvo. First thing is its a 2004 GXL (has wood grain trim which is what made me think Grande when I was told).
101000 km so pretty much as described. Has a couple of marks in the paint but pretty good on that front.
4 new Dunlop AT's.
They were talking $20K -$22K but I wouldn't go that much. Not quite the deal it was looking but that's usually how it goes.
I think I am probably better off looking at a 100 series petrol for the same money same year more K's.
Thanks for all your input, much appreciated.

« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2013, 07:58:16 PM »
First thing is its a 2004 GXL (has wood grain trim which is what made me think Grande when I was told).

Woodgrain must be aftermarket...

Offline JRABS

« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2013, 08:07:04 PM »
Yep, not really my thing but whatever works for you.