Author Topic: Farewell tasmania - well maybe?  (Read 12468 times)

Farewell tasmania - well maybe?
« on: August 20, 2013, 07:18:16 PM »
Sitting on the spirit with mixed feelings leaving tasmania for Queensland. Family will be following in a month or so.

Thanks to all the great swaggers down here in the Sth

Tassie sent me off with a bit if a cold blast through the midlands.

Hope to catch up on the mainland sometime.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 07:40:28 PM by dazzler »

Re: Farewell tasmania
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2013, 07:26:54 PM »

Where abouts in sunny warm Qld are you heading to.

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2013, 07:27:25 PM »
Have a safe trip!

Edit - I forgot to ask when are you getting your 2nd head chopped off ;D
« Last Edit: August 20, 2013, 08:02:51 PM by D4D »

Work - Outback  SOLD

Offline berlitza

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2013, 07:29:21 PM »
Good luck with it mate and at least you will miss the melbourne peak hour, Let us know what the sea conditions are, you could be in for a rough one

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2013, 07:44:33 PM »
I will tell you the weather on the Gold Coast has just been perfect for 2 weeks now. You moving here somewhere mate ?

Offline Wezza

« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2013, 07:50:45 PM »
I moved from Lonnie to Brisbane 20 odd years ago.

Work and weather were my key drivers.  Never looked back.

Queensland is a great place, hope you find a nice spot to setup.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2013, 08:01:42 PM »
All the best with your sea change!  :cheers:
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2013, 08:07:17 PM »
Hey dazzler, believe it was a bit cool on the Goldie this morning also.  Give us a yell when you get to the Sunshine State and we'll try to arrange a catch up.

Farewell tasmania
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2013, 08:07:30 PM »
All the best with the move mate. It was great meeting you and your family and hopefully we'll catch up again sometime.

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2013, 08:24:58 PM »
Looks like there's a problem with your display on your dash, it's not showing the first digit on the temp, hopefully that is fixed when you get to Qld.

Offline Wezza

« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2013, 08:27:47 PM »
Looks like there's a problem with your display on your dash, it's not showing the first digit on the temp, hopefully that is fixed when you get to Qld.

I am surprised that there is not a minus sign in front of it :)

Offline Brutus

« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2013, 08:39:49 PM »
Give you 18mths and you will be back, did it myself many years back. Love it here  :cup:

« Reply #12 on: August 20, 2013, 11:22:25 PM »
**** Id hate to be on the Spirit tonight with this weather....

« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2013, 05:57:44 AM »
All the best with the move mate. It was great meeting you and your family and hopefully we'll catch up again sometime.

« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2013, 06:03:02 AM »
Have a safe trip!

that is a myth about tasmanians having 2 heads and definitely not toyota owners --  it is only the tasmanians that drive nissans  have been known to have more than 1 head as the second head is needed to spot obstacles eg sticks whist 4wd'ng which maybe to much of a challenge to drive over.

« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2013, 06:19:03 AM »

I think it just naturally falls off if you make the move, and as fishfinder just proved, they must all have 2 heads, both of his just did a post each, you would think they would of talked about it first and done one post only  ;D  ;D :D ;D

« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2013, 07:52:30 AM »
All the best dazzler. Be interested to know what the crossing was like, heard there was some BIG Bass straight swells lately.

« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2013, 01:15:21 PM »
I think it just naturally falls off if you make the move, and as fishfinder just proved, they must all have 2 heads, both of his just did a post each, you would think they would of talked about it first and done one post only  ;D  ;D :D ;D

LOL - but got it wrong only been here 2 years just adding to the gene pool to clean out the stagnant genes down here.   ;D ;D

Offline speedhump

• Going places ... others dream!
« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2013, 05:02:41 PM »

Dazzler, all the best - I hope the move works out for you
Speedhump
Speedhump
2013 triton 4WD dual cab
2016 New Age Wallaby Caravan
4.55m Makocraft runabout & Quintrex 350 cartopper
Our Blog: chezzastravels.wordpress.com

« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2013, 08:43:39 PM »
So what's the latest?

Work - Outback  SOLD

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #20 on: September 21, 2013, 12:40:20 AM »
G'day Dazzler,

Whereabouts in Qld have you settled & how's it going?  I've just applied for a job in Hobart, so will more or less be reversing your route.  Mixed feelings I've got to say!   ???
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Farewell tasmania - well maybe not!
« Reply #21 on: January 11, 2014, 07:40:05 PM »

Well things did not quite work out how I had planned and may not be staying in the Gold Coast after all.  Main issue was that the job was not enjoyable primarily as a result of very dysfunctional previous management, poor leadership at the team leader level, poor training and virtually no investigations planning procedures.  This made the work environment a misery with very unhappy people.

I also didn't feel 'at home' at the Gold Coast finding it waaay more busy than when we stayed there for a while five years ago.  Found myself almost racing back to Tamborine to get away from the hustle and bustle of the GC. 

So  I resigned back in December but they asked I withdraw it and have till July to reconsider.  Just not sure if its right to drag the family all that way when the job is not real good.   So came back to Tas for xmas new year and am heading up tomorrow for a few weeks with the family to have a good look and feel without any pressure.  Am now thinking south of the border may be better so down around Pottsville / Cabarita / Murwillumbah so will head down that way for few days.

Any areas to avoid down that way.  I liked Murwillumbah when I was down that way in Nov but didn't get over to the beaches. 

And bugger me if the oldest kid didn't ace his Yr12 and got accepted into Advanced Science with Honours at UTAS so he will be staying down here.

Re: Farewell tasmania - well maybe?
« Reply #22 on: January 11, 2014, 07:47:09 PM »
THe NSW north coast is great, though work might be a bit short. I have thought about pulling up stumps and moving down that way myself but the only place I could make a decent living would be Byron............and thats not going to happen. You may as well have a look at the Sunny Coast if your floating around this part of the world.....still alot slower than the goldie.

Good luck with whatever you decide.

« Reply #23 on: January 11, 2014, 07:48:58 PM »
Wondering what was going on but didn't want to pry.

I guess it's another opportunity cost scenario. What's it worth to not enjoy work? How do you offset that with a lifestyle? It can be a big ask. Hope you can find the balance and it works out, no matter which way the coin lands.

Good of your new employer to give you a few options. Sounds like they might be wanting to make a few improvements. A good opportunity to set a few targets for them?

« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2014, 07:55:51 PM »
Daz sorry it didn't work out mate. Personally I think the GC is a bit of a zoo, but Iam a mountain redneck. Inland down the coast is good too, I know alstonville and inland of Balina is very nice. Good luck hope what ever works out for you.