Author Topic: Tables and why they are useful  (Read 16238 times)

Offline Nay-DMAX

Re: Tables and why they are useful
« Reply #25 on: August 16, 2013, 07:13:30 PM »
I reckon I've seen them for a lot more than that in the specialist camping joints....

K mart had another one for $19 too I think from memory similar size when packed up but smaller when set up which might suit some who don't have a lot of space for set up.

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #26 on: August 16, 2013, 07:27:59 PM »
I reckon I've seen them for a lot more than that in the specialist camping joints....

I was thinking that. I think I have seen them for up to $60.......

I wouldn't mind one of those in a smaller version that fits inside your drawers ;D

Meh I think I have finally found the table in the drawer flaw. (lol) Is that I would continuously knock things off the table due to it being to narrow.....

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #27 on: August 16, 2013, 07:39:40 PM »
Thought I would share this cheap mod with you that I did a few weekends ago

I was wanting to put one of those drop down tray/tables that rivet/bolt to the side of your campers/caravans
I looked at the price and I was looking at $250  to  $300 which seemed a bit steep for a bit of plastic or aluminiumn.
Also when looking at the dimensions it would have to go to the rear end of the Coromal camper due to the section of side body in front of the door was to short (this was my preferred spot)..whilst the rear had room,.. I also had to contend with the door opening, and exterior light, exterior power point and TV antennae outlet.etc
I have also just fitted two small 4 kg gas bottles on the A Frame, the plan was to have a drop down table and put the portable BBQ on it and run it off the 4 kgs gas bottles.
With the restrictions for placement (and cost) of a bolt on folding table, site of the 4kg gas bottles and problems involved .....well it got me thinking
I also needed a new light weight and cheap folding set of steps..hence came the steps/bench/table project (working with the thought that camping mods have to have more than one purpose  :)

1x Gorilla Ally set of folding steps ($35.00)
1 x piece of ally chequer plate that I had lying around (value approx $30.00)
1 x strip of left over pinch weld (value approx $7.50) to neaten and soften the plate edge
2 x 1/4 inch gutter bolts with wing nuts

and the following was the results, I can use it as a set of folding steps for awnings, etc, table for the BBQ and or table to place the Coleman HWS on

Kind Regards John
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #28 on: August 16, 2013, 07:50:08 PM »
Thought I would share this cheap mod with you that I did a few weekends ago

I was wanting to put one of those drop down tray/tables that rivet/bolt to the side of your campers/caravans
I looked at the price and I was looking at $250  to  $300 which seemed a bit steep for a bit of plastic or aluminiumn.
Also when looking at the dimensions it would have to go to the rear end of the Coromal camper due to the section of side body in front of the door was to short (this was my preferred spot)..whilst the rear had room,.. I also had to contend with the door opening, and exterior light, exterior power point and TV antennae outlet.etc
I have also just fitted two small 4 kg gas bottles on the A Frame, the plan was to have a drop down table and put the portable BBQ on it and run it off the 4 kgs gas bottles.
With the restrictions for placement (and cost) of a bolt on folding table, site of the 4kg gas bottles and problems involved .....well it got me thinking
I also needed a new light weight and cheap folding set of steps..hence came the steps/bench/table project (working with the thought that camping mods have to have more than one purpose  :)

1x Gorilla Ally set of folding steps ($35.00)
1 x piece of ally chequer plate that I had lying around (value approx $30.00)
1 x strip of left over pinch weld (value approx $7.50) to neaten and soften the plate edge
2 x 1/4 inch gutter bolts with wing nuts

and the following was the results, I can use it as a set of folding steps for awnings, etc, table for the BBQ and or table to place the Coleman HWS on

Kind Regards John

I like it good inventing if you had a piece of ply or other aluminium around you could even slide one onto the bottom step and through to the back to have a bit of a shelf if you needed it

« Reply #29 on: August 16, 2013, 08:01:26 PM »
I was/am going to buy a single drifta drawer with the table. For me they are neat and the legs are adjustable. I have the aluminium and plastic tables and when I stop for a quick lunch often the biggest head #%^* is getting the table level to cook the snags. Mightn't be a problem in the desert or beach but in the mountains/Lithgow area level sites can be hard to come by.

« Reply #30 on: August 18, 2013, 12:23:05 PM »
AlnJan does your table and chairs have a brand? Cheers

Bit better day for going outside today, was cold and wet yesterday.

The table we have is http://www.lifetime.com/gallery/tableschairs/recreation-tables/sport-tables/80188 but we got it at one of our local camping shops. 

Is is a bit long but fits on top of our drawers with just enough room not to slide around too much.  I started to make a ply slot for the table to slide into but I think that was when I did my back and at present still one of the jobs to get back onto and finish.

« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 12:27:18 PM by alnjan »

« Reply #31 on: August 18, 2013, 12:39:01 PM »
We liked this talbe for a number of reasons, the size was good.  You actually have room to a few things on it and still have room.  It is sturdy and passed the shake test better then the others.  The locking mechanism can be used easily even with arthritic pains and it is a solid table.  We have a different table in the camper but as we do a lot of trips without the camper a table in the vehicle was needed. 

As for the drop down fridge slide, it works a treat for the vertically challenged.  The bride can even touch the bottom of the fridge. 

Offline Wezza

« Reply #32 on: August 18, 2013, 12:49:40 PM »
We liked this talbe for a number of reasons, the size was good.  You actually have room to a few things on it and still have room.  It is sturdy and passed the shake test better then the others.  The locking mechanism can be used easily even with arthritic pains and it is a solid table.  We have a different table in the camper but as we do a lot of trips without the camper a table in the vehicle was needed. 

We have this table too, had it for about 8 years  or so and it is nearly as good as the day we bought it

« Reply #33 on: August 19, 2013, 06:44:29 AM »
We have this table too, had it for about 8 years  or so and it is nearly as good as the day we bought it
We have it as well.
Probably 6 years old and still going strong.
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #34 on: August 31, 2013, 06:58:15 PM »
Ahh Drifta drawers with tables that pull out and are free standing, if you play your cards right, you can get a whole bottle of orange cordial inside the drawer. All over the freaking drawer!!!.

« Reply #35 on: August 31, 2013, 07:01:47 PM »
Bugger the orange cordial, where are the trip pics!

Work - Outback  SOLD

« Reply #36 on: August 31, 2013, 07:37:55 PM »
Sorry mate, no way of shrinking same. Just go into Myswag facebook.  ;D

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #37 on: August 31, 2013, 07:42:25 PM »
Ahh Drifta drawers with tables that pull out and are free standing, if you play your cards right, you can get a whole bottle of orange cordial inside the drawer. All over the freaking drawer!!!.

Thats going to be fun to clean up lol.

BTW loving the pics on facebook some nice spots
2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

« Reply #38 on: September 01, 2013, 05:44:13 AM »
Unfortunately I cant shrink photos so have to wait till I do a trip report when I get home. :-)

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #39 on: September 01, 2013, 06:31:45 AM »
Free Android app ..Photoresizer..that's what I used for my photos all taken by Motorola Cam !!

Sent from Mandrakes Motorola

Going back to basics - sort of ...

« Reply #40 on: September 01, 2013, 06:46:16 AM »
Thanks, I will give it a try.

Tables and why they are useful
« Reply #41 on: September 01, 2013, 06:51:30 AM »

Dual purpose table

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #42 on: September 01, 2013, 01:39:22 PM »

Geez, went to the trouble of getting all the sugar out so not to attract ants so you tip cordial in there!
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)