Author Topic: Tables and why they are useful  (Read 16216 times)

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
Tables and why they are useful
« on: August 15, 2013, 08:48:32 PM »
So it turns out that there is a bit of thread hijacking going on about slide out free standing tables.
So much so it deserves its own thread.  :cup:

I was thinking about how good it would be to get a set of drawers in the back of the wagon that had an inbuilt table.
You know, one you can slide out and fold the legs down to use separately??????

Then after a ton of research I discovered that someone had beat me to the punch and stolen MY idea!!! I mean COMON people!!!!!
But as it turns out it was Luke at Drifta and as no one can be angry at Luke I thought I better let it slide........
(turns out its pretty well made too, (but shhhhhhh don't tell anyone I said that))

So people, please tell one and all how having a compact table that you can pull out, fold the legs down and use for cutting stuff and putting stuff on has improved your camping life.

Because I mean if you ordered the drawers and it had them standard, you wouldn't delete the table option would you  ;D ;D ;D >:D

Cheers Big Ears
Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline EvoWishesHeWasATurtle

Re: Tables and why they are useful
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 08:53:19 PM »
Funny that! A table that comes out completely and has legs so it's free standing!
Didn't know that's what tables are for haha...

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2013, 08:56:35 PM »
Bahahahahahahahahaha........................

« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2013, 08:57:50 PM »
Just awesome when friends call around for lunch.  Table and chairs live in the back as the tailgate at times just isn't big enough

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2013, 08:59:41 PM »
I agree, think it would be a mistake to have the table removed. Especially if you have to pack another table in its place. But I don't know anyone who would get talked out of having it, I mean really, who would do that??  ;D ;D

;) ;) ;) Sorry mate!!
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline evolution

« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2013, 09:01:04 PM »
Just awesome when friends call around for lunch.  Table and chairs live in the back as the tailgate at times just isn't big enough

Ok a serious reply, so a serious answer.
Gold, I think that is the perfect example of why they work so well.  :cup:
I don't think anyone could post a better photo of why its a good idea either. Well done  ;D

Ok new challenge! beat this for why they are awesome!  :cup:

Evo

Offline evolution

« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2013, 09:03:04 PM »
I agree, think it would be a mistake to have the table removed. Especially if you have to pack another table in its place. But I don't know anyone who would get talked out of having it, I mean really, who would do that??  ;D ;D

;) ;) ;) Sorry mate!!

X2 buddy, But you hijacked one too many threads hinting about it so I thought I would Slide it out of the "drawer" so to speak

Evo

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2013, 09:05:45 PM »
Maybe he wants to use the roof rack as a table with a view and turn the lights around so he still can't see...

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2013, 09:10:11 PM »

X2 buddy, But you hijacked one too many threads hinting about it so I thought I would Slide it out of the "drawer" so to speak

Evo

Yep, pay that 1  ;D. Yes I do have a problem with letting things go don't I  ;). It just seems to come up in a lot of discussions!! Now I have found the delete key I will behave!
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2013, 09:11:59 PM »
I don't think anyone could post a better photo of why its a good idea either. Well done  ;D

Evo

Challenge accepted

Drifta makes them

That's why they are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rod....................
Swag
Coramal Caravan

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2013, 09:13:46 PM »
Hmmm, missing something here but sounds like a doozy

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2013, 09:49:58 PM »

Evo

Might be a serious reply, and while I may have missed the original cause of the thread, I did think there was maybe a bit of tongue in check for the thread. 

Anyhow we have seen the Drifta table and they are fantastic and to have it's own slot in the drawer set up is even better. Unfortunately  we ended up going with one of the plastic table and chairs as, well the chairs sit inside the table when packed up and it all slides in the back on top of the drawers like a glove, esp with the fridge in the back.  Still have to finish off the slot for it to slide into.  But the main reason we went this way was when you have leg issues the convenience of a table and chairs to sit at are at times a god send.

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2013, 09:57:53 PM »
Might be a serious reply, and while I may have missed the original cause of the thread, I did think there was maybe a bit of tongue in check for the thread. 

Anyhow we have seen the Drifta table and they are fantastic and to have it's own slot in the drawer set up is even better. Unfortunately  we ended up going with one of the plastic table and chairs as, well the chairs sit inside the table when packed up and it all slides in the back on top of the drawers like a glove, esp with the fridge in the back.  Still have to finish off the slot for it to slide into.  But the main reason we went this way was when you have leg issues the convenience of a table and chairs to sit at are at times a god send.

This does sound like a good set up where chairs sit inside the table on packing up they are separate when in use though? Looks it in the pic.  There is some tongue in cheek comments there as perhaps a swagger might of got the drawers but opted to not have the table as it might just be in the way after ordering found watching the video that in fact the table removes and has its own legs for freestanding use lol.  Drifta is a great product and we have some of their stuff. Still happy to see others useful table ideas for day trips also. Hope the OP says this is ok  ;)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2013, 10:06:23 PM »
Drifta do make a good product and have some great ideas. Yes its a bit of a location joke and I suppose there are a few swaggers scratching their head and 1 swagger wondering why it took so long for this to be posted  ;D

On a serious not (unusual for me I know) the slide out table looks to be a great idea. Only wish we had a canopy to put a setup like the draws/table in. Maybe one day. I also like the look of the slide out/fold down fridge slide which would be good for the vertically challenged  ;D

Offline evolution

« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2013, 10:07:24 PM »
This does sound like a good set up where chairs sit inside the table on packing up they are separate when in use though? Looks it in the pic.  There is some tongue in cheek comments there as perhaps a swagger might of got the drawers but opted to not have the table as it might just be in the way after ordering found watching the video that in fact the table removes and has its own legs for freestanding use lol.  Drifta is a great product and we have some of their stuff. Still happy to see others useful table ideas for day trips also. Hope the OP says this is ok  ;)

Actually I think its a great idea Nay-Dmax.
as others like myself already have drawers of another brand without the table this could be a great way to see others ideas.
Ironically the table seems to be an overlooked item in a packing list.

This is by no means a dig at drifta, I love their products and service.  :cup:
Nay, has already pointed out why this thread has come about, but lets run with this and see what other great ideas come out of it  :cup:
and to the swagger in question, I am sorry mate, but I did hold off as long as possible. And I know just how good a bloke you are to see this is tounge in cheek and no offence intended.

Evo

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2013, 10:11:40 PM »
Actually I think its a great idea Nay-Dmax.
as others like myself already have drawers of another brand without the table this could be a great way to see others ideas.
Ironically the table seems to be an overlooked item in a packing list.

This is by no means a dig at drifta, I love their products and service.  :cup:
Nay, has already pointed out why this thread has come about, but lets run with this and see what other great ideas come out of it  :cup:
and to the swagger in question, I am sorry mate, but I did hold off as long as possible. And I know just how good a bloke you are to see this is tounge in cheek and no offence intended.

Evo

Totally agree that aluminium table that we had at the snow trip at lunch has been around for ever and takes up less room than a camp chair does take couple mins to put up but no longer than setting legs up on another one and room and weight can be paramount when choosing.  Don't worry about the swagger in question it was only you and lino6 that weren't meant to mention why and I put that part in. 

AlnJan does your table and chairs have a brand? Cheers

« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2013, 10:17:04 PM »
I also like the look of the slide out/fold down fridge slide which would be good for the vertically challenged  ;D

Some of us may be vertically challenged but good things come in small packages!  ;D

« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2013, 10:22:46 PM »

Oops, didn't read properly, had to edit post because I can't completely delete my post from my iPad, so I have to resort to dribbling s**t that none of you care about. All sorted, now back to the tables :D

« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 10:26:23 PM by Marcus73 »

« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2013, 02:57:30 PM »
Totally agree that aluminium table that we had at the snow trip at lunch has been around for ever and takes up less room than a camp chair does take couple mins to put up but no longer than setting legs up on another one and room and weight can be paramount when choosing.  Don't worry about the swagger in question it was only you and lino6 that weren't meant to mention why and I put that part in. 

AlnJan does your table and chairs have a brand? Cheers

Gday Nay-DMAX,

Just got in from work and saw this.  Going out for tea tonight, so tomorrow will get the brand details etc and some photos of it in the truck.

Offline benny_jahmin

« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2013, 04:54:22 PM »
I got a table with a hi ace van I bought 8 years ago. While it is quite big it has been invaluable. Every one knows whether it be in the kitchen or workshop you can't ever have enough bench space. And a portable and sturdy one is one of the most useful things I've had in the time I've had it.
It's been used in the garage as a work bench and extra storage, on the beach and river as a filleting table, and to extend the kitchen space with the previous canopy set up and will be used with the camper aswell. Oh and was also a bed side table for a couple of years while I slept on the back porch.
I'm shure it has had many other uses in the past.

Like I said it is a bit bulky at 600x1200x60 when folded up but if you have a roof rack or even better be able to fit it under the roof rack in a set of runners would be ideal as I don't think it would fit in the back of a wagon.
I was thinking of getting rid of it but found the perfect place in the canopy as it acts as a divider between the drawers and cargo space. I'll try dig up some pics :)

Offline benny_jahmin

« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2013, 05:04:41 PM »
Sorry about the quality of this one, its a phone pic of a photo ???

Some pics of different uses

And where it now lives

Normaly I just take pics of camp setup, fish and fishing spots or car poses. Maybe I should start focusing on some table posing shots just for you Nick ;D

« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2013, 06:16:24 PM »
Coincidentally, my wife brought this small table home this arvo from Kmart $38. She wanted another small table for camping.
It is 1200 X 700 and stands 700 high. Made by Jackeroo out of aluminium and it is extremely light. The legs slide down vis spring loaded bobble clamps. The whole thing stowed is 700 X 600 and around 60 mm thick. The top is made of thin MDF finished in a hammertone look.
I know for the price you can buy a bigger plastic table as we already have one of those but as I said earlier it is so light that I can hold the weight with one finger and being aluminium it should be fine camping on the coast.

Offline evolution

« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2013, 06:23:18 PM »
Oooh I like that !

Evo

« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2013, 06:33:39 PM »
I wouldn't mind one of those in a smaller version that fits inside your drawers ;D

« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2013, 06:36:36 PM »
Coincidentally, my wife brought this small table home this arvo from Kmart $38...........

I reckon I've seen them for a lot more than that in the specialist camping joints....