Author Topic: VW's reliability questioned again  (Read 10412 times)

Offline Nutto

• Burning desire to camp.....
VW's reliability questioned again
« on: August 01, 2013, 11:06:35 AM »
Interesting feedback from Amarok owners....
There's stories elsewhere too  -  they may be just that - "stories"  ??? , but there's some pretty good accounts from owners here that back them up :'(
Seems components in auto boxes in these are white flagging too >:(

http://www.ausamarok.com.au/forum/showthread.php/2097-Flashing-spanner-and-gear-selector-on-display/page2?s=2890532bc488e6490f822bac661e1746&highlight=spanner

Considering what you pay for utes these days, happy I chose what I did in 2011... I didn't even bother looking at these - more expensive and reliablity concerns I had back then are surfacing already  >:D
« Last Edit: August 01, 2013, 11:08:10 AM by Nutto »

Offline whitey

Re: VW's reliability questioned again
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2013, 07:00:07 PM »
G'day mate, just read the other Forum report on the site you posted, it sounds very disappointing that the VW's are having transmission issues ( on various makes ) They are a great vehicle, my son is a fanatical Vduber "no matter what type "and he has been in contact with guys on all different club links and knows quite a few who have no issues with their big beasts so far, but in saying that, he is shying away from the autos himself because of info on Forums that are starting to come out.

Unfortunately it's not just VW's in the spot light, its other brands as well, especially the Nissan's that have motor concerns. You fork out good money and expect to get a trouble free run out of any new or low K'd vehicle you purchase and you have the frustrations and concerns to worry about if you are next in line.

Like you I am more than happy with my vehicle ("Ranga") and will get another down the track regardless if we can't make panels and pieces here in Oz anymore.

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2013, 09:33:08 PM »
Reading that tells me VW has a bad batch of torque converters, and,

They have really good backup service.

Remember when the Nissan 3.0 motor would blow up and the stories you heard where really bad about the lack of care from Nissan.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2013, 09:35:22 PM »
Quote from: 02-SR5
They have really good backup service.
sarcasm?

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2013, 09:38:54 PM »
sarcasm?

Nope.

Reading the posts they get call backs within 3 hours of submitting a claim, the use of hire or demo cars and they have admitted a faulty part.

I think Australian companies can learn something.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2013, 09:48:16 PM »
My old volksie is still going strong !!!    ;D ;D   

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2013, 11:51:05 AM »
So are mine  ;D

« Last Edit: August 27, 2013, 03:14:48 PM by GeeTee »

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2013, 12:12:33 PM »
I was talking with the service manager of large multi car dealership that included VW and Nissan some time ago. He was discussing fuel pump problems with Amaroks, he commented that VW Aust wanted the fuel tested and as soon as that came up okay they authorized replacement pumps. Unlike Nissan he said. Mind you VW Aust are charging way over the mark for some models here so it stands to reason that they can be generous.

Offline Geoff77

« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2013, 08:27:05 PM »
Got near on 50k on My Amarok and no probs.
Mrs has 75k on polo no probs.
Had Toureg to 135k and no probs (gods own car).
Had Passat to 120k no probs
Had Golf for a while, no probs
And Seat Toledo for a while that started the VW craze in our house and had no probs.

People with supposed mates with problems surprise me, have 4 mates that moved to Amaroks based on our history with VW's and none are disappointed.

They are booming for a good reason, in most of the classes they are building cars they are being judged as being amongst the best in their class.

Offline JethroT

« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2013, 09:57:22 PM »
Good luck Geoff,

That story brings back memories of my childhood when dad bought a new VW every year for 12 years.  Not sure how many miles he put on them.  Unfortunately I can't afford a new car every year, so my poor old 80 series had to punch out 400,000k before I bought a newer model.

Geoff
Regards, Geoff and Michele

Offline Geoff77

« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2013, 08:48:12 PM »
Hi goldy,
No probs with that, when life was good we spent on things we enjoyed, now life is tougher we have Rok and Polo.. About the cost of service and brakes on Treg... (But not as much fun)...

It goes to reliability question, the dubs are as reliable as anything nowadays.
It is rare to get real troubles with any make now, engineering has come a long long way over the years.

I grew up in the mallee with Zephyr utes that would go anywhere (assuming you had a good enough run up)... Mrs grew up in Kenya where a Peugeot and RAV4 will go anywhere and last as they don't have the power to break themselves and drivers drive to the circumstances...

All goes back to simple stuff, blokes who looked after their horses in the scrub never come unstuck... Blokes who wanted to belt em wondered why life was so tough..

Offline geedublya

« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2013, 05:56:10 AM »
Wifes 2008 Golf GT TDI, bought new now with 95K. First had check engine light at 20K and no power. VW replaced sensors under warranty all good. All services done to schedule.

At 85K wouldn't start, I traced the problem to worn out starter motor brushes, you can't buy them. New starter motor from VW $800, chinese copy $300.
At 95K turns over but won't start intermittently and won't turn over intermittently. VW diagnose faulty cam sensor and ignition switch $1500, since they have to remove cam belts to access sensor and as cam belts, tensioner and water pump are due at next service I have it all done $2200.

It's a lovely car to drive, performs and handles very well while getting 6l/100 average, however I'm dissapointed with the reliability and the service costs. The most recent service was oil and filters $600, my previous Subaru Outback had one issue in 200K which was a leak from the Auto transmission where the cables enter it.

I don't think I will buy another VW as the reliability is suspect and the service costs are rudiculous. I'll probably go back to a Subaru though the new ones are pretty ugly.

« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2013, 08:24:25 AM »
Wifes 2008 Golf GT TDI, bought new now with 95K. First had check engine light at 20K and no power. VW replaced sensors under warranty all good. All services done to schedule.

At 85K wouldn't start, I traced the problem to worn out starter motor brushes, you can't buy them. New starter motor from VW $800, chinese copy $300.
At 95K turns over but won't start intermittently and won't turn over intermittently. VW diagnose faulty cam sensor and ignition switch $1500, since they have to remove cam belts to access sensor and as cam belts, tensioner and water pump are due at next service I have it all done $2200.

It's a lovely car to drive, performs and handles very well while getting 6l/100 average, however I'm dissapointed with the reliability and the service costs. The most recent service was oil and filters $600, my previous Subaru Outback had one issue in 200K which was a leak from the Auto transmission where the cables enter it.

I don't think I will buy another VW as the reliability is suspect and the service costs are rudiculous. I'll probably go back to a Subaru though the new ones are pretty ugly.

Don't have it serviced at a dealer and it won't be expensive Jeff ;D

Offline geedublya

« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2013, 11:50:47 AM »
Got a quote from an Indy for the cam belts, sensor, water pump and ignition switch... $50 more and no loan car.
The dealer couldn't finish the job on Friday as the water pump didn't arrive on time. I said "bugger as I going away tomorrow for a week" they said "no worries take the loan car" 1500km later I brought it back.
The dealer is great they look after us call back and follow up I just think the service is too expensive compared to other makes.

« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2013, 08:36:40 AM »
Got a quote from an Indy for the cam belts, sensor, water pump and ignition switch... $50 more and no loan car.
The dealer couldn't finish the job on Friday as the water pump didn't arrive on time. I said "bugger as I going away tomorrow for a week" they said "no worries take the loan car" 1500km later I brought it back.
The dealer is great they look after us call back and follow up I just think the service is too expensive compared to other makes.

That's pretty good service, see ya next week :cheers:

Offline Hendo66

« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2013, 08:25:40 PM »
"They are booming for a good reason" by Geoff77
You may want to check recent VFACTS Geoff, they have taken a big hit with the recent DSG transmission issues and now the FBT holdup will hurt them as much as any manufacturer as they are big in the novated scene.

A recent industry survey showed VW at the bottom of the Service CS scoring table!

Hendo66

Offline Geoff77

« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2013, 10:30:41 PM »
Can only say what I live with, we have had no issues and our 6 vehicles is convincing for me.. As are the others friends have.
Each to their own I guess...
We have had Ford's and Holden's and I would not swap back.
FBT will affect all manufacturers if it goes ahead.. I don't think it will, but time will tell.
Aussie manufacturing will suffer the real hit as others are produced for global markets and can cop a small hit.

Offline mut59

• Twin Cab Hilux and Modcon Front Fold
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2013, 10:47:21 AM »
Hi all, I have a 2009 Eos, great to drive, and didn't want the DSG originally, but there was no manuals in the country at the time and we were told the DSG was bulletproof. 50K down the track saw the mechatronics unit replaced under warrantee, luckily (I believe these units cost around the $4500 to replace). 60k a different problem arose so they replaced the same unit again but didn't fix the prob, so the dealer recommended a new transmission. This was overrode by VW aust and only the clutch packs replaced. They had the car for over a week and despite asking for a loan car we were told we had to book that at least a month ahead and had to pay extra for it. Now this model only comes with this dodgy transmission and we thought of trading down to the Golf but were offered only around $20k as trade in due to the troubles with the DSG boxes. On top of that we do not get all the engine variations here in Oz and we wanted another diesel. It cost me $26k to payout at the end of the lease. I can't afford to be losing that much to buy a new car so we have decided to keep it and hope for the best. So despite being a beautiful little car to drive and great on fuel, I doubt if I will ever go for another VW. I know of others who are also finding that their trade in values on their Audis with these transmissions are way down from what you could reasonably expect. It is a sad situation when this company makes such a good product in general.
06 Hilux D4D Dual cab
Modcon Solution Hardfloor http://i1333.photobucket.com/albums/w634/Mut59/th_Vrilyapoint_zps5bdf792f.jpg

« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2013, 05:23:55 PM »

All goes back to simple stuff, blokes who looked after their horses in the scrub never come unstuck... Blokes who wanted to belt em wondered why life was so tough..

Your point is valid though not in this context.
I hardly think the majority of VW owners are flogging their cars and causing engines and trans to die. Same with Nissan 3.0l owners.

Be it Nissan, vw or even toyota, thy need to OWN their design deficiencies.

Offline toeball

« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2013, 08:23:15 PM »
In my VW experience the muppets that they call "technicians" are partially to blame for some of their problems :'(
I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2013, 08:30:34 PM »
I have been seriously considering a new Touareg as a daily driver as the Prado is now out of lease. A mate has the previous model and regularly tows hit 2T+ boat with it effortlessly. Warranted or not, the recent hit to VW resale values and high service costs has me reconsidering.

Work - Outback  SOLD

« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2013, 09:02:18 PM »
What Jamie, is there a Prado going  cheap? :)

« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2013, 09:03:46 PM »
Everything is for sale at the right price :)

Work - Outback  SOLD

Offline Hendo66

« Reply #24 on: September 01, 2013, 11:03:47 AM »
And there you have, people are searching to find good 2nd hand Toyota's, where VW owners are searching to find good ways of getting rid of their 2nd hand dubs!