Author Topic: Winter Camping - Keeping the CT warm  (Read 11875 times)

Offline harrys767

Winter Camping - Keeping the CT warm
« on: April 22, 2013, 12:58:25 PM »

I'm aware it's not quite winter yet, but we are headed over the Blue Mountains this weekend where it feels like winter. We will have in tow our two labs with thick fur coats and our little 7mth old bub who doesn't have quite as thick a fur coat.

We have a Jayco Dove and are after some ideas to keep it warm enough for him to sleep. What methods do you use to keep yours warm? We will be unpowered, aside from the 100ah battery onboard.

Obviously he will be wrapped up nice and tight in blankets/sleeping suit etc etc.

2010 Prado GX 3.0L TD - "Paul"
2008 Jayco Dove Outback - "Davo"

Offline red t ute

Re: Winter Camping - Keeping the CT warm
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 01:23:54 PM »
Generator or Diesel heater.
That about the only options you have.

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2013, 02:20:59 PM »

I'm aware it's not quite winter yet, but we are headed over the Blue Mountains this weekend where it feels like winter. We will have in tow our two labs with thick fur coats and our little 7mth old bub who doesn't have quite as thick a fur coat.

We have a Jayco Dove and are after some ideas to keep it warm enough for him to sleep. What methods do you use to keep yours warm? We will be unpowered, aside from the 100ah battery onboard.

Obviously he will be wrapped up nice and tight in blankets/sleeping suit etc etc.

An electric blanket doesn't draw much power. 1.5 to 2 amps, you would get a night easily out of your battery if you have a way to charge it for the following night. Hot water bottles are the go for the kids and missus.

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2013, 02:29:40 PM »

You could always do some "horizontal dancing moves"   :angel:  ... or go for a jog ... or the old fashioned way of warming the bed was a large tin filled with coals.

Offline kiva

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2013, 02:40:26 PM »
Hot water bottles (with a cover to prevent burning) are great for pre-warming the bed and keeping the chill away during the night.

LandCruiser GXL 105 Series. Complete Campsite Exodus 14.

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2013, 02:58:52 PM »
Hot water bottles (with a cover to prevent burning) are great for pre-warming the bed and keeping the chill away during the night.

Beat me to it.  Highly recommend.

Offline GraemeL

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2013, 03:03:46 PM »
The old hot water bottles would be a safe and easy option.

« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2013, 05:37:05 PM »
Nothing.......just rug up with more clothes....especially with a baby, a hot water bottle may make them too warm.....

Offline simoncs

« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2013, 05:54:02 PM »
We camped at Barrington tops this time last year with our 3mth old.
The best way to keep him warm we found was to sleep him on the wool lining of his pram. Since then we have bought him a wool undersheet to go in the travel cot. Cost $60
It makes a big difference

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2

Offline Wortho

« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2013, 06:09:46 PM »
We use a Cole Catalytic heater to warm up the camper. They have less fumes than normal gas heaters but we always use with ventilation and never use it while sleeping. Takes disposable cartridges but we bought a hose that allows you to use a normal 2, 4, or 9KG gas bottle. Its nice to warm the camper up just before jumping into bed but then there are the hardy types who don't need em or "just rug up" so each to their own  :D

« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2013, 06:17:00 PM »
We use a Cole Catalytic heater to warm up the camper. They have less fumes than normal gas heaters but we always use with ventilation and never use it while sleeping. Takes disposable cartridges but we bought a hose that allows you to use a normal 2, 4, or 9KG gas bottle. Its nice to warm the camper up just before jumping into bed but then there are the hardy types who don't need em or "just rug up" so each to their own  :D
agree.

but the disposable cartridges you can refill :)

Offline Wortho

« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2013, 06:22:47 PM »
agree.

but the disposable cartridges you can refill :)
True, I have a MAC adapter but not got around to trying it yet.

« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2013, 06:30:55 PM »
True, I have a MAC adapter but not got around to trying it yet.
same.. DDR bought 2 about 17mths ago.. 1 for me 1 for him. LMAO

« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2013, 06:55:30 PM »
same.. DDR bought 2 about 17mths ago.. 1 for me 1 for him. LMAO

Yeah, I've got 1 too, and haven't used it.........

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2013, 07:19:20 PM »
I have camped in places that were so cold that the hot water bottles the kids were cuddling had turned into slushies, the gas had frozen as well as the water so couldn't even boil the kettle.

These days we have a diesel heater which fixes these problems. Although I don't plan on camping in the snow again.

Sent from Behind you...BOO
"I live with Fear everyday and sometimes She lets me RACE"

The Motley Crew 4x4 and Social Club of Australia inc
www.themotleycrew.com.au

2004 GU Patrol ST Wagon with all the good touring gear.
"Lifted Locked and Loaded"

2010 Kimberley Platinum Extreme with "extras"

Offline Yoda42

• Beagle kisses don't grow hair
    • Travels With Beagles Blog
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2013, 07:23:07 PM »
2 x beagles 8)
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, 2 beagles & an Lifestyle Reconn
http://travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com

Offline Canaussie

« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2013, 07:25:29 PM »
I have camped in places that were so cold that the hot water bottles the kids were cuddling had turned into slushies, the gas had frozen as well as the water so couldn't even boil the kettle.

These days we have a diesel heater which fixes these problems. Although I don't plan on camping in the snow again.

Sent from Behind you...BOO

Until you have camped in a snow cave, you have no idea of cold....;-)

Brrrrr all we had to keep warm was our -20 rated sleeping bags and a candle!!

Sent from Billy's iPhone using Tapatalk
Vinnie D4 2.7L 2012
Boogie Lifestyle extenda 2012

Mods.....what mods?

Offline harrys767

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2013, 09:38:46 PM »
Thanks all. I think extra blankets and hot water bottles should do keeping the young fella warm. I miht just be persueded to bring the labradors inside too...if they're lucky.

We're ok with the cold as we take the winter doona from home and a nice big thick woollen blanket. I was more chasing tips to keep a bub warm.

Cheers!
2010 Prado GX 3.0L TD - "Paul"
2008 Jayco Dove Outback - "Davo"

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2013, 10:25:50 PM »
polar fleece is the way to go

« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2013, 10:38:14 PM »
Until you have camped in a snow cave, you have no idea of cold....;-)

Brrrrr all we had to keep warm was our -20 rated sleeping bags and a candle!!

Sent from Billy's iPhone using Tapatalk

To right. Have camped many times in the snow growing up in NZ. Remember being down in the Alps as a young lad in the Awning of a caravan. We had 2 foot of snow over night..Also used to go Deer shooting as a 14 year old in Hammer Springs. We camped on the snow line, the mountain as call Mt Ringbuster ;D. To soft now to do that.

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2013, 11:06:58 PM »
Thanks all. I think extra blankets and hot water bottles should do keeping the young fella warm. I miht just be persueded to bring the labradors inside too...if they're lucky.

We're ok with the cold as we take the winter doona from home and a nice big thick woollen blanket. I was more chasing tips to keep a bub warm.

Cheers!
Does mum have a wrap? Or sling? Body heat is great for keeping a baby warm, so if bub is snuggled against mum or dad that would help too :)
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline 99disco

« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2013, 11:47:31 PM »
We've often used fire bricks (the type you put on the inside of your tile fire) and place them on the gas burners on the stove for a while before you go to bed. You'd be surprised how well it works.

Shane

« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2013, 12:07:47 AM »
First of all I will declare that we are soft and have a diesel heater.

When I went treking in Nepal (a long long time ago) I used a Thermarest self inflating mat. Between that and a good sleeping bag we camped on snow for a couple of weeks with no issues at all.

Our kids (who camp in tents) have sleeping bags over their self inflating matresses to insulate from the cold. They then sleep in a -5 sleeping bag and once again have no issues.

Layers between the ground and the body are important.

« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2013, 01:19:22 AM »
Bunyip, reminds me of backpacking in middle of spain.

Was freezing cold, rigged up with thick socks, thick pants, t shirt, long shirt, jumper, fleece, jacket,, TC.

Climbed into tent, with thermarest and 4 seasons sleeping bag, kicked boots off at tent door before climbing into warm cocoon.

Woke up hungover, thumping headache, still fully clothed and rugged up with full winter gear on, in 4seasons sleeping bag, by around lunchtime,  drenched in sweat, woke up stinking like a kaffa, hardly remembering much of getting back to the tent,

No worries with the cold at that time, slept like a log.!!

Offline LB

« Reply #24 on: April 23, 2013, 04:41:47 AM »
get a good quality onesy, so if they wriggle out of the blanket they still stay warm.

and I totally agree with chucking in the water bottle before you go to bed.

For me I have my very own Bunyip radiator so have never had an issue with the cold. More than happy to rent him out ;D

LB
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013