Author Topic: Interesting Pubs To Visit In Tassie  (Read 8448 times)

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
Interesting Pubs To Visit In Tassie
« on: January 17, 2013, 12:06:54 PM »
We like interesting pubs and are going to Tassie in 4 weeks,so does anyone know from there travels any that stand out.I allready had The Pub in The Scrub down and thanks to DannyG , pointed out the Mole Creek Pub which has the Tiger Bar.There must be others.

2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

Re: Interesting Pubs To Visit In Tassie
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2013, 12:09:55 PM »
Pyengana Pub has the pig that drinks beer :)

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2013, 12:14:46 PM »
Shipwrights Arms, Battery Point, Hobart - if you're in to Maritime history.

Offline qlddsl

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2013, 12:19:55 PM »
The Bush Inn, New Norfolk is worthwhile.
if i dont need 4wd, i ain't going!!!

« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2013, 12:29:38 PM »
Longford Pub 'Lex Davison' bar has F1 GP history

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2013, 12:51:16 PM »
Thanks everyone yeah thats the types of things we are looking for .Keep em comeing
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2013, 12:57:14 PM »
Not a pub but the Cascade Brewery use to do tours. Back in around 2003 me, the brother inlaw and father inlaw did the tour whilst the girls did something else. You use to get 7 tokens to redeem over the bar at the end of the tour to "sample" their differnt beers. In our tour group 5 people gave us their tokens as they didn't want to hang around. Needless to say we had a good afternoon....................           I think.

« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2013, 01:09:31 PM »
Not a pub but the Cascade Brewery use to do tours. Back in around 2003 me, the brother inlaw and father inlaw did the tour whilst the girls did something else. You use to get 7 tokens to redeem over the bar at the end of the tour to "sample" their differnt beers. In our tour group 5 people gave us their tokens as they didn't want to hang around. Needless to say we had a good afternoon....................           I think.

Pretty sure they still do, but not sure about on weekends.  Still on the agenda - next time.

When there, send SHMBO over the the old female "Convict Factory" across the road!!  ;D

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2013, 01:14:41 PM »

I think they still do it as we purchased the Tasmania Entertainment Book and its in that.
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2013, 01:55:34 PM »
Pyengana Pub has the pig that drinks beer :)

That's the "Pub in the Paddock", just up the road from the Holy Cow Cafe. The St Collumba falls are also just up the road.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2013, 02:58:17 PM »
the lighthouse hotel in ulverstone has a thirsty fishfinder sitting there on thursday nights -

Offline bussoboy

• Wanting to travel before all the roads are sealed
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2013, 03:04:45 PM »
i really liked the timber carvings @ the Derwent Bridge Hotel

The Fox & Hound? just out of Port Arthur was really nice too
2011 GXL 200 Series & 2017 Kokoda Endure 111

« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2013, 03:11:52 PM »
We like interesting pubs and are going to Tassie in 4 weeks,so does anyone know from there travels any that stand out.I allready had The Pub in The Scrub down and thanks to DannyG , pointed out the Mole Creek Pub which has the Tiger Bar.There must be others.
a few of us in tassie are meeting up on the weekend of 15/02 maybe you can join us and we will create our own bush byo pub

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2013, 04:02:35 PM »
a few of us in tassie are meeting up on the weekend of 15/02 maybe you can join us and we will create our own bush byo pub

Mate unfortunately we arrive on the 20th of Feb if i only knew about this 12 months ago i would have booked the Spirit to meet up im very dissapointed.Im hopeing to catch up with DannyG for a beer at the Mole Creek Pub aswe are staying at the CP for the first few days if im around Ulverstone ill definately look you up for a beer .
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2013, 04:37:46 PM »
Mate unfortunately we arrive on the 20th of Feb if i only knew about this 12 months ago i would have booked the Spirit to meet up im very dissapointed.Im hopeing to catch up with DannyG for a beer at the Mole Creek Pub aswe are staying at the CP for the first few days if im around Ulverstone ill definately look you up for a beer .
Make an effort to catch up we DannyG he is not a bad bloke even if he can not catch fish. And yes as mentioned I am always at the Lighthouse on THursday nights between 6.00pm and 8.30pm - nothing special about the pub but Ulverstone area is worth a visit

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2013, 04:40:47 PM »
Make an effort to catch up we DannyG he is not a bad bloke even if he can not catch fish. And yes as mentioned I am always at the Lighthouse on THursday nights between 6.00pm and 8.30pm - nothing special about the pub but Ulverstone area is worth a visit

Have 5 weeks so i will be at Ulverstone

2015 Jayco Swift Outback

« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2013, 04:41:48 PM »
Every pub you see, stop and have a pot!  ;D

Offline bushbandit

« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2013, 05:05:12 PM »
Every pub you see, stop and have a pot!  ;D

Funny you should say that just said to the wife this could turn into a pub crawl,she replies yeah no worries  8)
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2013, 05:39:47 PM »
G'day bushbandit

Others have mentioned the Pyengana pub, or "the Pub in the Paddock". Fantastic little pub that really is in the middle of a paddock! If you are in the area, drop in for a meal, you won't be disappointed. Good old fashioned pub meals, with a great atmosphere. Don't forget to give Priscilla the pig a beer as well, but keep a good grip on the stubbie ;D

A visit to the spectacular St Colomba falls is also a must.

And yes, cascade still do tours of the brewery, however you must be over 18 to go on the tour, which kinda rules out kids. The building and grounds are beautiful, and dont miss the chance to sample some of their wares. I sampled all of them, twice, so lucky the good wife was driving that day ;D

Have a great trip, you'll love Tassie!

Offline Pirate_Pete

« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2013, 05:47:36 PM »
Boags in Launceston do tours too.

Then there is Seven Sheds brewery in Railton who brew their own beer & some cider.  He also provides the Mole Creek pub with their beer.

Offline Vulcan

« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2013, 06:14:15 PM »
Try the Bruny Island pub.
Great food & hospitality.

Offline sschmez

• sschmez's "Huts" photos on flickr
« Reply #21 on: January 17, 2013, 06:28:30 PM »
It's been a few years but,

I have very fond blurry memories of "Lake Leake Chalet"
was being run by very hospitable ex-sydney treechangers.
was a great night, food and accomodation was excellent

Stevo

Offline gowalkabout

• Walkabout 4WD & Camping Accessories
« Reply #22 on: January 17, 2013, 06:34:18 PM »
Around Hobart you can check out mona great gallery and they make moo brew as well as wine. Also out at Richmond is a nice pub. If in Hobart let us know, we have 6 or 7 pubs within about 500 meters of our place in north Hobart some of which have great meals.

You will have a great time down here although if you check out all the good pubs you won't make it to far   ;D  :cheers:
« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 06:39:44 PM by tas130 »
2007 Camprite TL8s
2012 Nissan Patrol GU8
Formally known as Tas130
www.gowalkabout.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/gowalkabout?ref=hl

« Reply #23 on: January 17, 2013, 06:40:11 PM »
we have 6 or 7 pubs within about 500 meters of our place in north Hobart

Sounds like you live pretty close to my SIL.

Have stopped off at the Black Buffalo a few times, and it has a good bottle shop.  :cheers:

« Reply #24 on: January 17, 2013, 06:48:10 PM »
It's not a pub, but go to the lark distillery in Hobart.