Author Topic: Aldi - 6pc Cast Iron Cook Set in Timber Box  (Read 20988 times)

BernieS

Aldi - 6pc Cast Iron Cook Set in Timber Box
« on: December 29, 2012, 02:58:07 PM »
Just noticed that Aldi has on sale 5th Jan, a 6 pc Cast Iron Cook Set in Timber box (box has rope handles) lid is stamped "Adventure Ridge" The set includes 9qt Camp oven, 3qt Saucepan and Trivet Base, 12inch Skillet, Oversized 2 Burner BBQ plate, 43cm lid lifter. Pre-seasoned. 22kgs/.  $69.99.  A great deal!!

Pity really.... I picked up 4.5qt CO with carry bag, lid lifter, leather gloves and trivet (lid can be used as a skillet) earlier today at BCF for around $80 - Campfire Brand.  I'm still happy tho, the lid as a good seal. (And my Lodge Logic grill pan was $57 from an oz online kitchen shop.)

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
Re: Aldi - 6pc Cast Iron Cook Set in Timber Box
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2012, 03:14:44 PM »
Was just reading that.. :laugh: looking at that tent..  comfy enough for 2, light enough to chuck in the Ute for over nighters. My old Supercheap one is looking very sad these days... but even though it was $69 back then (way way back) it has done a few miles. so time to invest in another quality item. ;D  :cheers:

BHG

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2012, 03:35:57 PM »
I can only see the special upto the second....you guys must be special.......have you got a link?

Cheers Nomad.

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2012, 03:51:45 PM »
Should give minutes of reliable service!

Offline UR-50-LO

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2012, 09:19:09 PM »
I can only see the special upto the second....you guys must be special.......have you got a link?

Cheers Nomad.

I can only see the 2nd also

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2012, 09:20:27 PM »
mine came in the mail...or junk mail..lol

BHG

« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2012, 09:32:51 PM »
Was just reading that.. :laugh: looking at that tent..  comfy enough for 2, light enough to chuck in the Ute for over nighters. My old Supercheap one is looking very sad these days... but even though it was $69 back then (way way back) it has done a few miles. so time to invest in another quality item. ;D  :cheers:

BHG

Carefull, don't rush into something you may regret later  8)

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2012, 09:38:12 PM »
LOL had my old chinese super cheap one for years.. think its been around the island a few times now, served me well for a cheapie.
but it is getting a little worn now, bit like me. ;D
there light. easy to put up and pack away.. it'll do me for overnighters. :cheers:

BHG

« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2012, 09:40:53 PM »
LOL had my old chinese super cheap one for years.. think its been around the island a few times now, served me well for a cheapie.
but it is getting a little worn now, bit like me. ;D
there light. easy to put up and pack away.. it'll do me for overnighters. :cheers:

BHG

I think I've got 2 in the shed, wanna comeanpickemup ?

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2012, 09:47:54 PM »
On me way, have the fridge full.! :cup:

BHG

Offline kevb

« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2012, 09:58:22 PM »

Really mate, because it is cheap it is cr@p and wont last????

« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2012, 05:18:23 AM »
Stash the Cash & buy a Billman camp oven , Australian Quality . Get your name on the lid as an added bonus  :laugh:

« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2012, 06:18:19 AM »

I have had a pretty good success rate with Aldi stuff, some of it is crap though. The way I tell is the local aka Chinese sourced stuff is usually crap however sometimes they import stuff from Germany and that is really good. I have a hole saw kit (8 pieces) which is made in Germany and it has been great, cost me the price of one Sutton hole saw from Bunnings. We have a kids table and chairs set and that has been great too. I did buy some of their air tools, the nailer has worked well however the shears lasted one job. They also have a no bullsh!t return policy so I take the broken stuff back and get my money back.

« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2012, 09:53:42 AM »
Agree.

Some of their stuff is made under licence for Aldi's own brands.

XS is a Weaco for example.

Gotta say though it is a bloody depressing place to step foot into.

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2012, 10:05:57 AM »
Agree.

Some of their stuff is made under licence for Aldi's own brands.

XS is a Weaco for example.

Gotta say though it is a bloody depressing place to step foot into.
Why you say that Nomad.??? i have a ball in there, hate the Queue to get out though ;D

BHG

Offline heath74

« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2012, 10:29:18 AM »
Have to agree with the above the stuff tends to be great or craptacular. No in between.

Why is it depressing?

« Reply #16 on: December 30, 2012, 11:04:17 AM »

Why is it depressing?

see:

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=27024.msg419091#new

Have had a pretty good record with Aldi stuff.  Budget priced doesnt allways mean cheap and nasty.  Have had good use out of their 3 way fridge, BBQ, tablet, various TV's for daughters, tools,  etc, etc.  Only ever had one return - their vacuum sealer, which didnt work from first try.  Replacement has given over 12 months service.

« Reply #17 on: December 30, 2012, 01:43:35 PM »
Mace nailed it..........

Offline heath74

« Reply #18 on: December 30, 2012, 02:08:41 PM »
Yeah I get what you mean. You do get some interesting types there. Just makes the excursion all the more entertaining.

Offline GMac

« Reply #20 on: December 30, 2012, 07:20:23 PM »
Looks ok for occasional use

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #21 on: December 30, 2012, 07:57:31 PM »
Yeah I get what you mean. You do get some interesting types there. Just makes the excursion all the more entertaining.

Years ago when the Turbo cookers were on special we grabbed a coffee and were at the start of the line at Raymond Terrace Aldi. the line ended up into the car park well next thing ya know this younger female I'll use that terminology loosely headed straight for the front of the line at the doors.All hell broke loose and the guy next to me said if she was a guy he would snot him.She heard this and said I didn't.think there was any men in Raymond Terrace,I then said to her I'm not from the Terrace she goes you look like you were born and breed here,wife laughs.So I said to her listen lay if you get what I'm after there going to be trouble.Doors open and the leading oldies jam her with their trolleys into the glass all I could here was don't touch me don't touch me,you had to be there it was full on.Anyway when I got home I placed the debacle on the caravan forum and guess what it was a she...t fight at most Aldis around the country
2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #22 on: December 30, 2012, 08:09:26 PM »
Looks ok for occasional use

Not being picky D4D, but define "accasional use"  and it looks ok.???  it's a photo.! what can you work out from that.?

BHG

« Reply #23 on: December 30, 2012, 08:16:39 PM »
Not being picky D4D, but define "accasional use"  and it looks ok.???  it's a photo.! what can you work out from that.?

Looks to be the same type of kit you can buy at Rays for twice the price. If you were not a 'purist' camp over user, used it every other month and kept up the seasoning I'd suggest you'd get a long service life out of it.

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #24 on: December 30, 2012, 08:48:13 PM »
guess who spelt it wrong... "occasional"     :P

BHG