Author Topic: How to handle loud campers over xmas  (Read 24239 times)

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
Re: How to handle loud campers over xmas
« Reply #50 on: November 16, 2012, 03:04:58 PM »
You can only take the aggressive option(s) if you are prepared to see it through - meaning they will have to end up being afraid of you before you 'win'. If you're not up for that level of confrontation, don't even start.

They obviously see the place just as you do - 'their' place for a special annual holiday. And you can't change people who behave like that, as you've discovered.

Go somewhere else; you never know, you might just find somewhere that you like even better than this place.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

« Reply #51 on: November 16, 2012, 03:05:27 PM »
Hi everyone, thanks for the replies.

Unfortunately its not so clean cut.
We would normally just not go back, but we have no other family here and its sort of my family's tradition to go there for christmas.
My wife and I started going before kids were born and 11 years and 2 kids later (7 yo and 5 yo) we still do it.
It would be hard for us to stop and heartbreaking for the kids. Its where santa comes to......................

So hard to try wreck that because of some middle aged bogans...
We did approach the managers last year and they did try (not as well as we would have liked though) to stop them, but as soon as the managers left it started up again.
Like some posters have said, they are probably unlikely to boot them out as they want their money.
Easier to see us go than their big group.
Sad really.

We are going to give it one more go in the hope that their teenage kids are too old now and or they may have been hit by a truck during the year.
We have contacted the park who have stated they will monitor the noise and enforce the noise curfews.
Empty words to me really. Money talks as previously said.

I'm a sparky by trade and we'll be up there before christmas, so I may resort to a remote switch across the safety switch to their sites so I can control the power.............
But I was hoping not to resort to something so low. Albeit it could be a bit of fun.

Heres hoping...........

« Reply #52 on: November 16, 2012, 03:17:08 PM »
If you must go back there, is there not another area of the park you can go to??

hope it works out...

Offline jamesjfa

« Reply #53 on: November 16, 2012, 03:25:14 PM »
What if they're Scottish??

Us Scots know how to behave  :angel:

« Reply #54 on: November 18, 2012, 10:42:14 AM »
Only problem we've had the last couple of years is a group who camp together near us (about 10 -15 sites worth) tend to stay up really late - 2 to 3am - on the cans swearing and carrying on.
Its all good for them, but the rest of the park has young families and is trying to get some sleep.

So you & "the rest of the park" can't 'persuade' these people to either keep it down or you will all help them pack up & leave?

If you do pack up early & leave, don't forget to get your money back

Offline cheif carlos

« Reply #55 on: November 18, 2012, 01:18:56 PM »
Just call the johnny hoppers if the park wont do anything - Ok it is private property but surely the poilce can still tell them to shut up

or find dead animal a few weeks prior to turning up and throw under tent etc or on top of tarp >:D

and just announce which park it is and let people know to talk with their feet

at 6am when kids are up you tell them they have free rain to play with noisy toys, ride bikes, maybe buy some cymbals etc for xmas

buy some 2 inch mortors I have thrown them around 30m and they will wake the dead >:D
Need to get the backside into gear and get out camping

Offline Kalebjarrod

« Reply #56 on: November 18, 2012, 07:35:48 PM »
Tell the park managers to sort the clientele out or you will Shit talk them on every forum and google site know to man

Also let the park owners well aware of thier oh&s respondsabilities that council may like to be aware of

Mention you've be asked to do a review on the park for a website ?

HILUX D4D + LIFESTYLE WALKTHROUGH

« Reply #57 on: November 19, 2012, 01:53:16 AM »
Some interesting replys, many notes taken so as not to pi$$ of Swaggers.

Seriously though, many parks are council owned & managers tender for the right to be there...maybe a little investigation as to the actual owners of the park and approach them poor performance would jeopardise renewal of there contract.

Failing that a Name & Shame campaign would be appropriate...certainly over 10,000 Myswaggers would carry some weight.

« Reply #58 on: November 19, 2012, 05:52:31 AM »
Us Scots know how to behave  :angel:
Jimmy:::::   >:D

Offline Fivid

« Reply #59 on: November 19, 2012, 05:31:10 PM »
Buy your kids some cheap noisy toys for xmas, also give them a 30 pack each of duracells....  It is what we used to do to people who bought our kids annoying noisy toys, at least the noise our kids toys made ran out once the no name elcheapo supplied batteries did!

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #60 on: November 21, 2012, 10:05:53 AM »
Banjo  music at dawn  >:D

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #61 on: November 21, 2012, 10:46:12 AM »
Banjo  music at dawn  >:D

Well thats one way to kick off a day.

Failing that.......... a jar of honey over the top of the tent and just inside the doors will give everyone else a giggle.

gives a whole new meaning to the saying "ants in your pants"  >:D

Evo

Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #62 on: November 21, 2012, 10:55:25 AM »
Ask management to intervene but let them know if it is not resolved to your liking you will inform the police.

This can sometimes happen at Augusta over the long weekend but it is funny that on the nights the paddy wagon with the alsation does a couple of laps through the van park ( the cops are actually quite friendly) things settle real quick

Offline morcon

« Reply #63 on: November 21, 2012, 11:47:31 AM »
Find out the surname that the sites are booked in and ring the park to cancel their booking. Make sure you object when they tell you that you will lose your deposit so it is all the more believeable. It might mean waiting until next year but it is gold to see the 'happy campers' arrive only to see their site occupied by those people who were waiting for a cancellation.

« Reply #64 on: November 21, 2012, 11:50:44 AM »
Find out the surname that the sites are booked in and ring the park to cancel their booking. .

Oh, you are an evil man, but I like it.  :cheers:

Offline bushrat

• TRV 2
« Reply #65 on: November 21, 2012, 01:28:27 PM »
Step1 buy 1kilo of green prawns

Step 2 remove heads and shell from prawns and place them in a bucket with some water and let to sit in the sun, longer you can leave them the better.

step 3 Remove prawn heads and shell

Step 4 Pour the water from the bucket into a spray bottle or a garden pressure bottle with the long hand wand for those  hard to reach places.
And when they pack-up and leave the smell goes as well.
I have never used this but have heard it works well >:Dnot that I have ever used it :angel:
Some mistakes are too much fun to make only once.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #66 on: November 21, 2012, 02:39:01 PM »
Some of the replies have just been evil >:D >:D... I like

My parents were in the same situation when we were little ones... We'd been going to a caravan park for 10 plus years and on one particular year a bunch of low life d#+ks  turned up..
My parents asked them nicely to turn the music down and stop swearing a few times through the holidays, and they just got a rude reply back...
So towards the end of the our holiday my parents went and spoke to the park owners and asked if that particular group had booked for next year.. And the response was yes...
So the word spread right though the van park that the D*%ks were coming back next year...
So during the year almost everyone had cancelled there booking for the holidays, just had pay a small fee for late cancellation...
The next year my parents took us on touring holiday from Sydney to coolum beach and us kids didn't think anything of it cause we had never done anything like this before... But on the way home from QLD we stop in for a night at this particular van park to see what was going on... Well the van park was empty from everyone cancelling during the year and the bunch of d%¥ks had been asked to leave...
So my parent made booking that day for the next year...
And that trip we did was most probably the best we had done...
So the morel of the story is to hunt in packs and destroy the evil >:D >:D

« Reply #67 on: November 21, 2012, 02:42:43 PM »
Some of the replies have just been evil >:D >:D... I like

My parents were in the same situation when we were little ones... We'd been going to a caravan park for 10 plus years and on one particular year a bunch of low life d#+ks  turned up..
My parents asked them nicely to turn the music down and stop swearing a few times through the holidays, and they just got a rude reply back...
So towards the end of the our holiday my parents went and spoke to the park owners and asked if that particular group had booked for next year.. And the response was yes...
So the word spread right though the van park that the D*%ks were coming back next year...
So during the year almost everyone had cancelled there booking for the holidays, just had pay a small fee for late cancellation...
The next year my parents took us on touring holiday from Sydney to coolum beach and us kids didn't think anything of it cause we had never done anything like this before... But on the way home from QLD we stop in for a night at this particular van park to see what was going on... Well the van park was empty from everyone cancelling during the year and the bunch of d%¥ks had been asked to leave...
So my parent made booking that day for the next year...
And that trip we did was most probably the best we had done...
So the morel of the story is to hunt in packs and destroy the evil >:D >:D

I like your experience but typically there is a waiting list for popular parks in peak periods (well there is for the one that we have used a couple of times) and protesting by not renewing your booking just frees it up for the next person. The park won't care.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #68 on: November 21, 2012, 02:50:41 PM »
When we did it that particular trip it was about 20 years ago...
So things have changed a bit now...
It might be a gamble but bight the bullet so to speak...
Hope everything works out
« Last Edit: November 21, 2012, 02:52:55 PM by Cloutys »

Offline terravista

« Reply #69 on: November 21, 2012, 03:55:27 PM »
Go to a seedy part of your town and get a few illegal drug baggies and MJ cigarette butts and make a couple of bongs.
Hide them around thier tent when they are away (or asleep) and call the cops.
I wouldn't take them head on, that can lead to nastiness, but a silent  gotcha can be rewarding.

« Reply #70 on: November 21, 2012, 04:04:00 PM »
Firstly, sorry to hear of a bad camping experience.  Nobody wants that.  Camping is supposed to be pleasant and stress free.

Some interesting ideas indeed.  I know revenge is sweet but some suggestions are downright criminal.  I can't believe people have these crazy ideas in their heads about how they can punish somebody for some harmless late night noise.  And no I'm not condoning the noise or partying in any way.  Just the punishment should fit the crime.  "Oh I can't get to sleep so I'll cause many thousands of dollars damage to their vehicle".  WTF ???  OK, maybe most were tongue in cheek but hey, let's get real.  Talk to park management.  If that doesn't work, talk to your neighbours.  If they were upset about the noise, get them to complain.  The manager probably won't take much notice of just the one complaint but several will/should make him take action.  And if that doesn't work, vote with your hard earned money.  Don't go back.

Hope your next trip is better.
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #71 on: November 21, 2012, 08:59:24 PM »
Bango music at dawn ;D      >:D

« Reply #72 on: November 21, 2012, 10:03:03 PM »
Kingbilly, I think most of the replies were in actual fact tongue in cheek and just for a laugh. Not many would actually go through with it, as much as we all would like to.

The cancellation is the most stress free and less hassle. Besides, nobody would ever know its you when you quote someone else's name.
thats not me mate mate, thats not my name. Pity you had your booking cancelled, see you nextyear.
Enjoy your noise free Nd bogan,idiot,scumbag free Xmas

« Reply #73 on: November 21, 2012, 11:20:30 PM »

This is the reason we don't do CVP's.

P.S  Yes I did do it  ;D   :angel:

« Reply #74 on: November 22, 2012, 05:09:22 AM »
As soon as they start up just ask the managers/care takers to call the cops and have them issued with a move on notice  .Or call the cops and make out your the managers of the park and you want them escorted out.