Author Topic: Hello from Matt and Jess in Brisbane!  (Read 6416 times)

Offline myminirocks

Hello from Matt and Jess in Brisbane!
« on: October 27, 2012, 02:29:24 AM »
Well Hellooooooo everybody!

Bin lurking for a while now, including the research phase of buying our camper but now that we have bought one, I fell like I can go 'legit'!

Quick and Dirty about us. We are a couple of hopeless country bumpkins living in the big smoke of Brisvegas, hence why we try to escape as often as possible. We have 3 kids, a dog, a cat, chooks and up until last week, some fish (whoops!)

The Big news for us is that we are now only about 8 months from our BIG LAP OF OZ! We have been (seriously) planning now for about a year, and really ramped it up in the last 6months when we bought the Prado (the kids named him Peter) and a 2003 GoldStream GoldStar Offroad (the kids named her Karen) Here are Peter Prado and Karen Kamper happily married:

We are hoping to get a camp per month under our belts before we go so that we can become very comfortable with the setup, and determine what modifications have to be made, rather then the ones we "must have" after flipping through the latest 4x4 Action/Camper Trailer Australia and ARB catalogue, brew in hand!

So we had owned Karen for about a week before we headed out to Flanagans Reserve. It was a bit too much of a dust bowl for us but we had a ball and really enjoyed the creek. Here is the set up:

A few weeks later (last weekend) we then popped out to Somerset Park, and we loved it! It's a bit of a bummer to have to drive to the Spit to swim, but at least when you come back to camp you are away from the crowds. Here is the set up at Somerset (and trust me, it was dead level, the ground raking away creates a bit of an optical illusion)

So that's about it from us for an intro. We are really looking forward to immersing ourselves in this wonderful community.

I'm off to up my post count!
« Last Edit: October 27, 2012, 06:33:02 PM by myminirocks »
Check out our blog where we documented our (interrupted half) trip around Australia: http://fealyfamily.wordpress.com/

2009 Full Off Road All Terrain Camper, bare bones for now, but a few mods in mind.
Tow vehicle is a Prado 120 Series D4D with a little bit of fruit.

Offline LB

Re: Hello from Matt and Jess in Brisbane!
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2012, 04:51:51 AM »
Welcome Matt and Jess :cheers:

Jealous about your up coming trip wish it were me.

LB
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2012, 05:39:05 AM »
welcome Matt and Jess...great to see another Brisbane member....

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2012, 06:14:21 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Matt and Jess, looks a great set up, have a great time getting it ready for the big trip and keep us up to date on the mods and practice runs as you go

« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2012, 06:21:50 AM »
Welcome to The Show Matt, Jess, Peter & Karen....Hope you enjoy the site & keep us informed of your Big Lap progress.

Offline MarkVS

« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2012, 06:38:13 AM »
Hi Mat and Jess,
love seeing another Queenslander on the forum and you have a nice setup.  ;D

Looking forward to hearing about the mods you think you 'must' have as opposed to the ones you 'want' to have. Remember, you have to get some things that just make you 'feel good'.  :cheers:

Very envious of your trip..

MarkVS   
2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2012, 06:51:00 AM »
Hi Matt and Jess, welcome to My Swag

Offline myminirocks

« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2012, 05:04:59 PM »
Wow, so many responses already! You may have noticed the timing of my posts, no I am not a vampire, I work shift work (and clearly had a pretty quite night last night!)

Nice to wake up and find some responses already.

We are putting together a blog soon to track our trip preparation so once that is up and running we will pop it in the signature.

Now I just need to work out how to get email notification of replies so I don't appear to be rude not responding!

On a side note, it has just starting storming, just might be our first storm of the season (Geez we need the rain, we are on tank water!)

Ahhhhhh the smell of the evaporating rain on the dry hot dirt...... is there any better smell on earth?

Time to make a cuppa, sit on the deck and listen to the big summer drops on the tin roof.....heaven!
Check out our blog where we documented our (interrupted half) trip around Australia: http://fealyfamily.wordpress.com/

2009 Full Off Road All Terrain Camper, bare bones for now, but a few mods in mind.

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2012, 05:08:47 PM »
Hi and welcome.
Yes it is nice to see the rain again almost forgot what is was lol
Good to see another one from Brissy

Rod.....
Swag
Coramal Caravan

« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2012, 05:54:26 PM »

Now I just need to work out how to get email notification of replies so I don't appear to be rude not responding!

Go to your first post at the top of the thread and hit modify, under additional options tick the notify of response box and you should be told of a reply to this thread

« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2012, 05:59:38 PM »
Welcome Matt and Jess.

Heaps of nice spots for those weekenders on top of the hill up here.  Bit cooler too.

Look forward to hearing of your travels.

The following users thanked this post: oldmate

Offline myminirocks

« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2012, 06:34:04 PM »
Thanks GGPatrol, got it!

KingBilly, there are a number of spot around Warwick we have been looking at, whats your favourite?

« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2012, 09:22:04 PM »

Hey myminirocks,

Welcome to the BrisVegas MySwag Crew!  Nice to have you aboard.

« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2012, 10:24:29 PM »
Welcome to the forum matt and Jess, enjoy your stay!  :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2012, 11:18:50 PM »
Gee, hard to pick between the National Parks. We like them all - Girraween, Bald Rock, Sundown and Goomburra.  Goomburra would be closest for you.  Gordon Country http://www.gordoncountry.com.au/ is a private park at the gates to Goomburra.  There's also a 4x4 park on the road in but I can't remember the name of it.  Other private parks are Glendon http://www.glendoncamping.com.au/, The Springs http://www.thesprings4x4.com.au/ and Ron's Horse Riding http://ronshorseriding.com.au/.  Haven't tried any of these but all have been recommended.  Then you have Leslie Dam outside Warwick and Storm King Dam at Stanthorpe.  Our favourite caravan park is at Queen Mary Falls http://www.queenmaryfallscaravanpark.com.au/

Is that enough?

« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2012, 06:25:24 PM »
G'day Matt and Jess,

To MySwag,
Nice setup you guys have there  ;D
Hmmm, yeah a little bit of rain wouldn't go a stray, there are cracks in the ground everywhere.
Hope you guys enjoy your time here.

Offline myminirocks

« Reply #16 on: October 30, 2012, 01:02:27 AM »
Hey kingbilly, I have been trying to convince Jess to go to Goomburra for ages. We have a real dilemma in our camping, I like inland, freshwater, rivers and Lakes, Jess loves the beach! I got inland last weekend (somerset) but this weekend it's beach, well, sort off. We are off to Elandra/boreen point this weekend.

I had heard gordon country had gone a bit..... commercial? bit Impersonal?

I like the look of Ron's horse riding, that is going on the list!

thanks for the tips.

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #17 on: October 30, 2012, 08:24:31 AM »
Hey kingbilly, I have been trying to convince Jess to go to Goomburra for ages. We have a real dilemma in our camping, I like inland, freshwater, rivers and Lakes, Jess loves the beach! I got inland last weekend (somerset) but this weekend it's beach, well, sort off. We are off to Elandra/boreen point this weekend.

I like the look of Ron's horse riding, that is going on the list!

thanks for the tips.

G'day! Thanks for saying hi..

Be sure to post up how the Boreen Point visit goes. We're heading there twice over November and January with some groups of friends, and no-one's stayed before. Hoping to hear good things about the Boreen Point Camping grounds (can't go wrong with the old pub up the street!)

cheers, the spargos

Offline ruskie

« Reply #18 on: October 30, 2012, 08:48:30 AM »

myminirocks

We took our CT out there 2 weekends ago, was our first trip the CT and 1st time at Gordon Country, we stayed in the black cockatoo area as we need the amenities, the place is quite nice, got frustrated with the amount of rocks just under the ground, bent a few pegs getting the tarp up.

They are starting to build a little commercial area, will have a store more amenities and a stage area to hold functions of up to about 200 people. But there are plenty of camping areas to explore and get away from people especially if you are self sufficient. My wife and the boys liked it there and will most likely go back at some time maybe when it is a bit cooler.

Offline myminirocks

« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2012, 11:02:30 AM »
spargo: Yup will definitely write up the visit this weekend. we are planing on getting there friday and leaving monday so should be a good stay. hoping to do the tour in the 'Dirty Weekends" book and get to a few of the lakes and up the beach to rainbow etc. I'll let you all know how it goes.

ruskie: Thanks for the comments on gordon country. It has been very high on our list for a while now but I had heard it had turned into a caravan park and the crowds were far out stripping the amenities capabilities. Being self sufficient, would you reckon we could get a spot on the river to ourselves? with the prado, offroad goldstream and own shower, porta pottie, it seems to suggest Banshee valley, did you get down there for a look at all?

Offline ruskie

« Reply #20 on: October 30, 2012, 01:49:52 PM »
The weekend we were there there was very few people there, it was the weekend they had scheduled their shindig, although we were glad it was cancelled, at black cockatoo there were 2 other groups when we arrived and another group arrived on the Saturday (thought it would have been busier with the shindig, even though cancelled and also that is was a pupil free day on the Monday for school, which is why we went, had a long week end without the eldest missing school) .

So I'd say it was pretty quiet, the amenities there consisted of two blocks, in the boys there was one shower and two loos, the power wasn't on so trying to shower the 5 yo with a really tiny torch the 1st night was a challenge, the other block was smaller and locked so couldn't say what they had in there. I have been to places with better amenities, next time I'll take our big bucket for the boys to bathe it.

I didn't get all the way down to Banshee, only drove as far as the cabins area while looking for wood. But I'd say you would have more chance finding a quiet spot there, I did talk to a couple with exploring the creek who said they were camped at bull horn all to themselves right on the creek. My guess is to not go there on public holidays. Still worth checking out for yourselves, we certainly haven't crossed it off the list for another visit.

One thing was annoying is the lack of signage to the owners house, where you are supposed to go prior to finding a spot. We had driven past it and had to backtrack after  talking to some other people. Thankfully will only do that once though  :-[.

« Reply #21 on: October 30, 2012, 05:40:49 PM »
Yeah, Ron's Horse Riding looks good from the highway.  It would be at least 30 minutes or more closer for you than Goomburra or Gordon Country.  I noticed they now have an amenities block but still plenty of room along the creek to get away from it.

The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #22 on: October 31, 2012, 10:29:39 AM »

I remember seeing your user name when I clicked "approved" and thinking that this should be a good story, but I see you aren't crossing the Simpson in a mod'd letterbox after all.

Would love to do the big lap myself, one day I'll stop rationalising why I can't and just go, but until then I'll look forward to reading about your trip and the preparations leading up to it.