Author Topic: Snatching from towballs  (Read 23654 times)

Offline DX grunt

Snatching from towballs
« on: July 12, 2012, 09:17:20 AM »
Thanks to ARB 4 X 4 Accessories for posting this pic on their Facebook page, about the dangers of snatching with a towball.

'A picture is worth a thousand words', they say.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=431275326916688&set=a.327646243946264.81274.313208172056738&type=1&relevant_count=1&ref=nf

Take care out there.

Rossco
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
Re: Snatching from towballs
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2012, 09:30:58 AM »
Just saw that myself, serious though what idiots would snatch from their towballs.

I have said it before society is becoming dumber because of OH&S, mainly because all the dimb people got injured or killed doing dumb stuff, sorry if I have offended anyone. Maybe this is just natures way of squaring the ledger.

Cheers Rod.... 8)

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2012, 10:07:38 AM »
Unfortunately I see it all the time on the beach. When I point out how dangerous it is, some look at me like I’m an idiot.

If I need to recover anyone and they go to use the towball, I tell them either we use a proper recovery point, or I’m going to drive away and leave you here stuck.

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2012, 12:53:11 PM »
Old news and even older photo, been on here a few times before, however, some people never learn

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2012, 04:34:23 PM »
Since becoming a 4wd enthusiast, I've learned not to snatch or recover via a tow ball.

Given that a tow ball is used to attach things we tow to our vehicles, it seems obvious to me that many would assume a tow ball is a great thing to use when snatching/recovering. 
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Offline wholehog

• "Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups"
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2012, 08:05:27 PM »
pretty sure a young women was killed when the tow ball came thru her windscreen and hit her.......
I think it was Stockton beach in NSW

Offline terravista

« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2012, 03:16:18 PM »
Snatching with a towball probably wouln't be so bad if you didn't have a spring washer under it.
It's gotta be the spring washer pushing the broken towball through the air, something like Newton's seventh law of motion........... come on, prove otherwise.

Offline wholehog

« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2012, 05:47:01 PM »
Snatching with a towball probably wouln't be so bad if you didn't have a spring washer under it.
It's gotta be the spring washer pushing the broken towball through the air, something like Newton's seventh law of motion........... come on, prove otherwise.
So a spring washer is going to push a tow ball 50 metres thru the air and thru a windscreen or sheet metal and potentially kill someone......MMMM
So its like when i pull the trigger on my .243 rifle..its not the explosion happening inside the chamber that releases all that energy to propel the projectile....its the spring on the firing pin.......
Man....i have been wrong all these years

« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2012, 08:49:13 PM »
Think about it.
its only logical.

Its not going to go anywhere,there's nothing stopping it.

Offline terravista

« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2012, 08:33:20 PM »
So a spring washer is going to push a tow ball 50 metres thru the air and thru a windscreen or sheet metal and potentially kill someone......MMMM
So its like when i pull the trigger on my .243 rifle..its not the explosion happening inside the chamber that releases all that energy to propel the projectile....its the spring on the firing pin.......
Man....i have been wrong all these years
Yep, definitely wrong unless proven otherwise. Just imagine how your .243 would go if you had a spring washer behind the bolt.

« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2012, 08:35:56 PM »

Offline wholehog

« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2012, 08:44:38 AM »

Offline ARB 4X4 Accessories

« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2012, 11:17:27 AM »
Good to see this message is getting around. Too many people still don't understand the dangers of snatching from tow balls.

Thanks for sharing DX Grunt.

Cheers, Sam.
ARB 4X4 Accessories Head Office

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2012, 11:27:27 AM »
This happened even more recently in WA. I've seen many guys start to do it, and the question I always ask them is, "Mate, would you rather lie down in the sand and attach that via a shackle that's made for this, or do you want to go hold someone's hand while they die, then explain to the kids in the back seat what just happened?"

pretty sure a young women was killed when the tow ball came thru her windscreen and hit her.......
I think it was Stockton beach in NSW
Living the Dream

Offline ranger_ant

« Reply #14 on: July 17, 2012, 12:15:53 PM »
Went out on the weekend, playing around in the mud, and someone in a standard ranger decided to join. Went into a mud bath without even getting out to check depth or the exit... he got stuck, then asked for a pull out. he hooked up to the towball, clearly no idea on the danger, so i explained what could happen... he ended up getting into the mud to hook up to a recovery point...
2010 Ford Ranger Dual Cab with all the bits
2009 Challenge Walk-in Deluxe

Offline Blinky Bill

• 2013 Pajero auto diesel & 2000 Kimberley Kamper
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2012, 09:16:46 AM »
I well recall thinking that the towball would make a pretty good recovery point. Fortunately for me and others, people in the know soon put me straight on that one.  :D

But being the type who needs convincing, I jumped onto the internet to check the facts. I found heaps of really terrible outcomes on YouTube. Believe me.......... I am now convinced.  :'(

I then figured well 'if I didn't know about the towball, then what else don't I know' and took several 4x4 training courses. I'm far from an expert but I'm at least competent. Most importantly I'm now at least aware of the dangers that come from enjoying a 4x4 and recoveries.  :police:

Best tip - Stop, relax and think about your next course of action.  :-*

Of course nothing beats experience. Sadly inexperience & one bad decision can cost lives.

Happy trails - Wayne D
Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.
W. C. Fields (1880 - 1946)

« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2015, 07:20:10 PM »
And it still happens and this could of gone really bad

https://www.facebook.com/pnt.panels/videos/109710036036205/

« Reply #17 on: July 12, 2015, 07:22:14 PM »

what would you expect from a stalkerbook user.... ;D

Did I miss something, nothing happened... ???
« Last Edit: July 12, 2015, 07:53:38 PM by Bird »

« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2015, 07:28:42 PM »
Classic what not to do

« Reply #19 on: July 12, 2015, 07:38:24 PM »
Remove the warnings and let Darwin do his work!!!!

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
« Reply #20 on: July 12, 2015, 07:40:06 PM »

We have a saying in Renmark.... "Wogs n water don't mix".

Generally it is reference to their lack of ability to drive their overly expensive speed boats in a sensible and social manner.

Also, we watched an 'Ethnic' bloke load his brand new boat onto his trailer at the local boat ramp a few months ago.

Boat worth about $80k ended up in the back of his brand new Ranger. Wrecked the front of the boat, and back of the ute. Was fairly funny to see.
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

Offline StevenB

« Reply #21 on: July 13, 2015, 08:28:28 AM »
snatch straps can just be dangerous http://www.news.com.au/national/breaking-news/man-hurt-in-bogged-4wd-in-sydneys-west/story-e6frfku9-1227439387018

their is also a pretty nasty video floating around with the results of a tow ball hitting someone
2015 LC200 GXl with KDSS
2017 Drifta DOT6 DOT216 "Blue DOT"

« Reply #23 on: July 13, 2015, 01:50:42 PM »

I well recall thinking that the towball would make a pretty good recovery point. Fortunately for me and others, people in the know soon put me straight on that one.  :D

But being the type who needs convincing, I jumped onto the internet to check the facts. I found heaps of really terrible outcomes on YouTube. Believe me.......... I am now convinced.  :'(

I then figured well 'if I didn't know about the towball, then what else don't I know' and took several 4x4 training courses. I'm far from an expert but I'm at least competent. Most importantly I'm now at least aware of the dangers that come from enjoying a 4x4 and recoveries.  :police:

Best tip - Stop, relax and think about your next course of action.  :-*

Of course nothing beats experience. Sadly inexperience & one bad decision can cost lives.

Happy trails - Wayne D

Hot the nail on the head........I was about to say the same, k used a snatch strap a couple of times before I found out the rights and wrongs......from memory way back than there wasn't instruction or video or you tube.

I have driven away from recovery requests where the other party wasn't interested in learning........did feel uneasy about it hoping nothing went wrong even though I could not have changed a thing.

Offline Suncruise

« Reply #24 on: July 13, 2015, 06:23:55 PM »
You can't beat a good snig chain combined with slowly taking up the strain  IMHO.

None of this sling shot type action for me.