Author Topic: Gazebo brands?  (Read 20845 times)

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
Gazebo brands?
« on: May 09, 2012, 04:50:02 PM »
OK folks, I'm in the market for a stand-alone gazebo. I'm aware of OzTrail and ARB's new jobbie, but what are some other brands that I can take a look at? For logistical reasons, I need to buy at wholesale/retail level NOT eBay.

Hints and advice appreciated!

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
Re: Gazebo brands?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2012, 09:00:20 PM »
G'day GT,
I've got a spinifex 3m jobby from Anaconda.  I think it's called the deluxe model?  Anyway, the material on top is a thicker type compared to the cheaper ones.  Makes a big big difference in the sun.  You can really feel the sun radiating through on the cheaper ones.
Plus the frame is solid (steel rather than aluminium) and not flimsy.  Bit of extra weight but no big deal.
I think you can pick them up for about $199 (on special).
LJ
PS 4 hours since your first post and no replies?! Have you upset everyone?  ;D
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

Offline Hal Harvey

• OKA and Red Track
    • Bluewater Tackle World
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2012, 09:52:52 PM »
Lack of replies could be because everybody thinks OZtrail are the go anyway... Steel frame, good quality, you can get spare parts for them, all your mates own them so you can link them up... Not affiliated but I do have their Mega Deluxe 4.5m x 3m, and two of their 3m x 3m Deluxe, a few of the walls, and all the rest of the family own more of the same. They're great. Anaconda might do something that looks similar but good luck ever getting a part for one.

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2012, 09:59:11 PM »
They're that good, you don't need spare parts!  ;D

Probably made in the same factory as Oztrail anyway...??
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2012, 11:19:39 PM »
We have the Coleman shelter & have been happy with it.
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline taipan

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2012, 11:54:38 PM »
Oztrail has been good for us.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2

90 Series Prado, Custom 7x5 Offroad trailer with Downunder Campers Tent

Offline bussoboy

• Wanting to travel before all the roads are sealed
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2012, 07:58:37 AM »
Oztrail

have both a 4.5 x 3 and a 3x3.............both have served us well, the 4.5 x 3 has spent more time up than down as it was used for a shade on a onsite caravan for 2 years and now it acts as a carport for our 2nd car since the trailer lives under the real carport, i'ld say in the 3 years we have had it, it would of only spent about 3 weeks collasped and in its bag.....it has faded and the stitching around the elastic hold downs have split, the guy ropes have worn away but no tears in the main body and the frame is as good today as the day i bought it.

the 3 x 3 is used when we need the extra shelter camping and having no awning for the ute, it stands over the canopy perfectly so i can use the tailgate as a kitchen bench in any weather

100% happy, would only buy oztrail again if in the market for another one
2011 GXL 200 Series & 2017 Kokoda Endure 111

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2012, 10:46:01 AM »
We have one of these
http://www.bigw.com.au/sports-leisure/camping/tents-gazebos/bpnBIGW_0000000248039/coleman-widebase-gazebo-3-x-3m

Cheap as, and made form STEEL, not cheap sh!tty plastic. Brand name with a warranty!!

NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2012, 11:03:55 AM »
I bought one of these on special $69.00 plus delivery (can't remember how much delivery was) Edit just looked it up $20.00

http://www.bigw.com.au/sports-leisure/camping/tents-gazebos/bpnBIGW_0000000289950/coleman-3-6m-x-3m-hexagonal-gazebo
« Last Edit: May 10, 2012, 11:06:20 AM by gibbo301 »

Offline Tweekin

« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2012, 01:28:03 PM »

Offline britts

« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2012, 04:02:42 PM »
Supercheap are getting rid of old stock Deluxe 3mx3m steel gazebo $50. Had a mate pick one up yesterday.

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2012, 11:16:05 AM »
Supercheap are getting rid of old stock Deluxe 3mx3m steel gazebo $50. Had a mate pick one up yesterday.

Whoa!! Not what I want for what I need - if you know what I mean! - but I'll grab one of those!!

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

Offline Sol150SX

« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2015, 09:07:27 PM »
Hello,
I am in the market for a gazebo for camping. Is there any brands to look for? Or is it still OZtrail?

SOL.

Offline Andreweasty90

« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2015, 06:52:14 PM »
I brought a oztrail deluxe 3x3 a few years ago and it's been great I got a few walls and one of those hubs/rooms the top has a few tiny holes in the top now but already have a replacement 

Offline jmorgan1981

• It was that last beer!!!!
« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2015, 07:15:54 PM »
G'day GT,
I've got a spinifex 3m jobby from Anaconda.  I think it's called the deluxe model?  Anyway, the material on top is a thicker type compared to the cheaper ones.  Makes a big big difference in the sun.  You can really feel the sun radiating through on the cheaper ones.
Plus the frame is solid (steel rather than aluminium) and not flimsy.  Bit of extra weight but no big deal.
I think you can pick them up for about $199 (on special).
LJ
PS 4 hours since your first post and no replies?! Have you upset everyone?  ;D

I've got this one too. I love it.

I think it uses the Oz trail walls etc. 
2017 Mazda BT-50 XT
2014 Kimberley Kamper LE

« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2015, 07:57:47 PM »
I bought my oztrail over 4 years ago, still going strong, although the White frame is yellow now from the amount of campfires it has being set up over. It's time for a new cover for it too I think. But for the price I paid back then it's awesome.

Offline JD-120

« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2015, 08:13:07 PM »
i gottta oztrail 3 x 4 m. Its OK..i guess. It pools in the corners when it rains, big time. That really peeves me off...

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2015, 08:58:51 PM »
I have a BOAB branded one from Rays. Got it on sale for a good price. It's a 4.5 x 3m. It's been up in wind and rain and has stood up well and is still gong strong.
I think these generic ones about that price are basically the same thing just different colour, sold by whichever chain store stocks that particular brand.
You pay more for better quality but depends on your usage I guess.
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #18 on: June 15, 2015, 09:01:06 PM »
i gottta oztrail 3 x 4 m. Its OK..i guess. It pools in the corners when it rains, big time. That really peeves me off...

yeah, once they start to do that, it gets worse. the material stretches more each time, a hint, move it away from the nice warm fire when you push it up to empty it, ey Michealh ;D

Offline chillipepperz

« Reply #19 on: June 15, 2015, 09:08:17 PM »
It pools in the corners when it rains, big time. That really peeves me off...

Has anyone tried these?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-x-Gazebo-Corner-Supports-/281717154736?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item4197a6a3b0

Cheers!
Andrew
Alumina Hardtop Camper Build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0

Offline stubacca

« Reply #21 on: June 15, 2015, 10:04:22 PM »
Has anyone tried these?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-x-Gazebo-Corner-Supports-/281717154736?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item4197a6a3b0

Cheers!
Andrew

Yep, used some over the long weekend recently in steady rain. We had two gazebos set up, and used a set of these on one of them.

They were easy to fit, and worked well. Noticeable amount of water pooling on the one without them, but no pooling at all on the one with them.

Offline jr

« Reply #22 on: June 18, 2015, 09:19:41 AM »
After having several 3m gazebos blow over, leak and in windy weather and in one case take off and damage the car.
I got one of these
Expensive but way bigger than average Gazebo, 4.3 x 4.3, there is a 3m one too.
Less wind problems and packs away smaller and lighter
No rain issues, sides (you get one) and flyscreens available

Tricky to setup but not too bad once you read instructions.
http://www.kellyscamping.com.au/p/Outdoor-Connection/outdoor-connection-coolum-430-sun-shelter/9322302006612

Coleman have similar but cant get parts for it, these you can. Exposed poles enables extra ropes etc to be tied if needed and easier setup. So the dealer told me.

Offline Shippo

« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2015, 09:46:51 PM »
We have just bought a spinifex deluxe 3x3 for my wife to use when she does her Market stalls.
Quick question, the ground pegs are like large nails, what do people use to assist removing them when belted into hard ground? The peg is too wide to fit in the claw of my hammer, and ive already busted one of the plastic clips on the pegs that lock over the side of the gazebo footplate. Ended up using a crowbar to lever the footplate up but I think over time this will damage the plate as its thin metal. Any suggestions?
2004 V6 Toyota Prado. Coromal Magnum 440 XC Rally

Offline JD-120

« Reply #24 on: October 05, 2015, 06:47:19 AM »
Shovel ;)
I don't use the pegs that come with those things, they are usually too small for my liking. Put some decent tent pegs in the bag is my suggestion

The following users thanked this post: Shippo