Author Topic: Hi from Toowoomba  (Read 5705 times)

Offline brno465

Hi from Toowoomba
« on: January 28, 2012, 09:00:21 AM »
Hi everyone, my name is Tim, I've lurked here for a few weeks, thought it was time to say G'day.
My wife and I are on our second camper trailer, first one was just a tent on a small trailer, but it did the job for a quick camp when we were fishing/hunting/bushwalking.
We decided we wanted a few more mod cons - space for a battery, electric lights and water on tap for starters, plus a bit more room so we upgraded.
We found what we wanted second hand and after spending the last couple of months sorting the new one out, we took a gamble on the weather
and took off on Thursday for a few days fishing, only to be chased home after one night by some fairly impressive storms ....  :-[
Anyway, we're quite happy with the new one so far.
Great forum you have here.

Our first camper.

Our new toy.

Challenger + Franklin Micro 

Re: Hi from Toowoomba
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 09:09:12 AM »
Welcome to the forum and I love the look of your set up.  Yes, it is a bit wet at the moment, but there is always another day.  There are so many places to go, so little time to visit them all.  ;)   Kevin

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 09:35:56 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Tim, looks a great set up. Keep us updated on any mods

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2012, 10:26:21 AM »
Welcome to the forum Tim, Plenty of great ideas and support to keep you busy  ;D

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2012, 10:32:00 AM »
Welcome Tim.. you will certainly find heaps of info here..

« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2012, 10:50:00 AM »
Hi Guys,

Heaps of great info here.

« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2012, 11:00:37 AM »

What make is your camper, nice looking rear fold?

« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2012, 11:16:03 AM »
welcome to myswag Tim & family

Offline brno465

« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2012, 12:17:49 PM »
What make is your camper, nice looking rear fold?

Thanks Guys
Don't know much of it's pedigree, the basic trailer is a Belco, the rest was apparently custom made, no idea by who,
but the canvas is good heavy duty Oz made, and the whole thing is fairly well set out.
The only thing I want to do is move the spare tyre from the draw bar to a swing away set up at the back to improve the 
weight distribution a bit.

« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2012, 05:26:16 AM »
Hi Tim, welcome to My Swag.Good looking set up you have.
Enjoy the forum, can be a lot of fun.

« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2012, 08:54:46 AM »
Hi Tim and welcome to MySwag.

Offline Aussie Blue

• Do you have a Plan B Income?
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2012, 09:26:19 AM »
Hey there.

Welcome aboard, there is loads of info on the board, use the search function  :D

Blue
Life is short, eat desert first

Blue

Highly modified cheapy Chinese CT, 2000NM Pajero

Offline wartim

« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2012, 09:53:23 AM »
Hi Tim,

Welcome to Myswag, I am also from Toowoomba and enjoy reading all the available info here on Myswag.  My trailer is also 2nd hand, however have made a few mods based on the info I have learnt on this forum.

As a matter of interest where did you head to on Thursday?   I was going to have a look at Yarramalong Weir on the weekend however the weather put a stop to that.

Wartim

Offline brno465

« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2012, 05:20:25 PM »
Hi wartim
We were camped a short drive from Coolmunda, and planned to fish the dam and maybe try a couple of places on the Brook.
Haven't been down that way for ages, and it looks like some of the reserves aren't open any more  ???

Offline Benji

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2012, 06:16:11 PM »
Welcome Tim,
Enjoy MySwag! There's lots to discover here.
Lifestyle Extenda Elite

« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2012, 08:08:36 PM »
G'day Tim
Welcome to Myswag.Nice setup you have mate

Offline Twbapest

« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2012, 05:50:35 AM »
Hello Tim,
Another twba rite here, nice looking camper. We were planning on going away as well,down around Tentafield, lucky we didn't, can't get out of some of those areas now.
upside was that I spent some time on the camper mods. :D
Outback camper trailer user

« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2012, 02:44:13 PM »
G'Day Tim

Welcome to the Forum.  A really pretty part of the world down there - dang cold in Winter though - I spent 5 years in Warwick going to boarding school and never could quite get used to the frosts in the morning.  Certainly plenty of gorgeous places to visit though - wouldn't mind doing a little more exploring in that area myself.

« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2012, 05:09:40 AM »
Hi Tim and welcome to My Swag