Author Topic: Hi from the heat of Victoria  (Read 5856 times)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
Hi from the heat of Victoria
« on: January 17, 2012, 08:42:15 PM »
Hi all. I have been a member of this forum for a while so I thought I'd better put up my first post! We got our second camper in November last year to replace an Oztrail camper 6 top we had put on an old 6X4 trailer we had. While the top was great as it was easy to set up the trailer wasn't big enough and the top wouldn't go on anything bigger. So we lashed out and got an Aussie Jays Big Red camper. After looking around a bit these trailers were in our price range with the features we wanted. Due to the "silly season" and work we haven't yet got it out but that is about to change. We have a 2-3 week trip to South Aus to plan! Out towing vehicle is a 2010 Isuzu D-Max which has towed the camper well from when we picked it up, just need to load it up now and see how it goes  :D

Probably should thank those who have posted on the forum handy info I have read. Look forward to learning more from here too!
 :cheers: Lino
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Re: Hi from the heat of Victoria
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2012, 08:50:12 PM »
Grau Lino and welcome :cheers:

Sounds great but you know the drill  :worthles:

Yes it's starting to warm up in Vic but standby snow is just around the corner ;D

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2012, 08:52:03 PM »
Welcome Lino.

Have fun in SA, there are some great ares to explore. We still havnt got further west than Port Augusta, next time.

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2012, 08:52:27 PM »
G'day Lino
Welcome to the forum.Enjoy your trip to SA mate.
Good setup you have too.The Isuzu will handle it no worries. :cup:

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2012, 05:01:37 AM »
Hi Lino and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2012, 06:38:04 AM »
Hi Lino and welcome to the forum.
Bet you are counting down the days. Enjoy SA.

Offline V8 Grunt

« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2012, 07:40:58 AM »
Welcome to myswag, I'm sure you will enjoy it  8)
2011 LC76 Land Cruiser towing a Tvan

« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2012, 08:32:47 AM »
to My Swag Lino  :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2012, 09:46:58 AM »
Welcome to myswag Lino & Family

« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2012, 10:10:12 AM »
Welcome.  There is so much to see in South Australia.  We spent a few weeks there in 2009 coming from the Birdsville Track way, then back through Victoria. 

Loved visiting some of these...

Loved the Flinders Rangers, this was our lovely quite camping spot facing Wilpena Pound.

Until this.... The Big sand storm hit us....

« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2012, 11:19:13 AM »

We had our National Meet in SA just a few months ago. I really enjoyed having a look around the Flinders, can easily see how you'd take a few weeks in SA. Go slow enought to take plenty of photos, that you can then share with us all.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2012, 05:39:22 PM »
Yeah really looking forward to having a bit of a look around SA. Hoping we don't come acros one of those sand storms though! I'd love to get to Flinders but probably won't make it this trip. Plus got a bit scared off this time of year because of the heat and fires there recentally but now we have the setup it is definately on the "to do" list.

Will hopefully get a pic of our setup up here soon. Apparently our camera taks photos that are too large to post so stay tuned!

Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2012, 05:53:42 PM »

Until this.... The Big sand storm hit us....

Love that shot Kris and Kev, and kno the exact spot!  We were camped in the next site up last September, and watched as the 8mx4m family tent put up on that site get swept up, rolled up and deposited 100m away - full of eskys, bedding, clothes bags, etc. 
It must have weighed 150 kg, but nothing would have held it down.  We had a long night repacking the young families Kia people mover (with 4 kids under 5) and their trailer when they returned form travelling  later that night.

For those who stay at Rawnsley Park, if you walk up that hill in KKs pic, you can get Telstra Mobile coverage, Our 19 year old daughter made the trip regularly after I jockingly said to try up there.  Damn me, when she got up there she had full reception!

« Last Edit: January 18, 2012, 05:59:28 PM by Mace »

« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2012, 06:02:25 PM »
G'day Lino and welcome to Myswag albiet belated. You will love SA :cup:  :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2012, 06:39:24 PM »
Welcome to the forum Lino, enjoy

« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2012, 08:27:13 AM »
Welcome lino

We absolutely loved SA when we went down for the National Meet - is definitely on the "to do" list to go back to and spend a bit more time!

« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2012, 09:59:11 AM »
Welcome Lino.... although you have been around longer than me...

More importantly, since you are from Victoria, who do you support in the AFl.... Or shouldn't I assume that just because you live in Vic you support AFL?

Go Blues...

Scott

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2012, 05:00:41 PM »
Welcome Lino.... although you have been around longer than me...

More importantly, since you are from Victoria, who do you support in the AFl.... Or shouldn't I assume that just because you live in Vic you support AFL?

Go Blues...

Scott

My blood is red and black all the way!

« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2012, 05:17:42 PM »
My blood is red and black all the way!

I'm sorry for you mate....   ;D

« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2012, 05:18:23 PM »
You blokes are losers, need to support a real team  >:D

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2012, 09:12:51 PM »
G'day Lino and welcome. Mate, you'll love your Big Red. Jason builds a great trailer. Look forward to SA report.  Undecided between there or Tassie this  later in the year.

Offline hillbilly

« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2012, 11:57:46 PM »
G'day Lino, welcome to myswag.

Hillbilly
2008 VDJ78R Troopy

http://hillbilliesinthekimberley.blogspot.com.au