Author Topic: DIY Portable BBQ & Grill.  (Read 8751 times)

DIY Portable BBQ & Grill.
« on: September 24, 2011, 01:09:23 PM »
Spent a bit of time in the shed and knocked this little baby up.  8)

Re: DIY Portable BBQ & Grill.
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2011, 01:12:20 PM »
Are you taking orders  ;D

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2011, 01:53:41 PM »
Very nice, I have had my eye on one similar at Ray's

http://www.primusaustralia.com.au/index.php?p=line&sid=1286335289

« Last Edit: September 24, 2011, 02:11:53 PM by D4D »

Offline goody59

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2011, 01:55:58 PM »
Nice work.  I can smell the barby now!

Racer

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2011, 02:01:09 PM »
I see you use Delo 400 for cooking oil as well

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2011, 04:00:05 PM »
Great job mate, many happy hours of good old camp barbie cooking id say.   :cup: :cup:

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2011, 09:24:50 PM »
Are you taking orders  ;D

Sorry mate to bissy  ;D

I looked at the one 4wdaction flog and based it roughly on that.
Nice work.  I can smell the barby now.

BBQ sounds good, hard to beat a good feed of snags on the hot plate.
I see you use Delo 400 for cooking oil as well

I only use the good stuff mate. ;D
Great job mate, many happy hours of good old camp barbie cooking id say.   :cup: :cup:

Have to find some pine cones for the maiden fire up.   

« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2011, 09:29:47 PM »
Looks good Deano have to come around and fire it up mate ;D

« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2011, 09:34:14 PM »
Looks good Deano have to come around and fire it up mate ;D
Any time your ready  ;D just let me know.
Thinking I might stick a fire under it tomorrow if i can find time.

« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2011, 10:04:58 PM »
Nice kit ,,, but it wont replace my PDFP ( Per Dug Fire Pit ) . Send signed cheque I will fill in the messy bits to save you the troble  >:D >:D    :cheers:

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2011, 10:10:14 PM »
Nice. I was eyeing off a piece of angle yesterday and came up with a similar plan.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2011, 10:13:25 PM »
Nice bit of fabbing up Dean. :cup:

Offline rotare

« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2011, 10:31:53 PM »
Far out, great job on the oil drum, looks just like a real one!

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2011, 08:04:14 AM »
Very nice... can't beat Home made fabrication...  I made a Toilet Roll holder/spike on Friday from 10mm Brite Steel.   Maybe (if there isn't already) start a thread showing things we have built for our camping trips... 
KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
Canberra

« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2011, 09:02:38 AM »
Nice kit ,,, but it wont replace my PDFP ( Per Dug Fire Pit ) . Send signed cheque I will fill in the messy bits to save you the troble  >:D >:D    :cheers:
You mean to say ya haven't received my rubber cheque, I sent it weeks ago.
Nice bit of fabbing up Dean. :cup:
Thanks snow, should come in handy.
Far out, great job on the oil drum, looks just like a real one!
I have another spare one if your willing to pay.... >:D
Very nice... can't beat Home made fabrication...  I made a Toilet Roll holder/spike on Friday from 10mm Brite Steel.   Maybe (if there isn't already) start a thread showing things we have built for our camping trips... 
Thanks KP, have you got any pics of the ticket dispenser ?

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2011, 09:40:16 AM »

KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Canberra

« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2011, 09:47:38 AM »
Simple and useful :cup:

« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2011, 09:50:31 AM »
Nice work, have you thought about a light mount of some sought on it. Maybe something that could hold one of those cheapo $5.00 led torch's for night time visits.

« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2011, 11:08:17 AM »
That is terrific DNO. I have two similar, though I bought them from Hillbilly. I think your design is superior.

Maybe a little less grill and more plate? I know, I know, this is an endless debate, but personally I use the plate all the time but almost never use the grill.

« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2011, 11:22:58 AM »
Thanks Jules,
I totally agree with the hotplate % I would've like'd even more but it's made from scrap and that was the the biggest piece i could find laying around, without welding bits together, and can always put a pan on the grill.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2011, 01:07:00 PM by dno »

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2011, 12:14:23 PM »
Nice work, have you thought about a light mount of some sought on it. Maybe something that could hold one of those cheapo $5.00 led torch's for night time visits.
That I did!!!   But figured that the girls will let me know what they want and if I put all sorts of hooks and stuff on it it would just be unappreciated anyway...
I just could not bare listening too all weekend "How wet the Toilet paper got"   so start with the basics and this way they will help design it further and they can feel like they had some input in it's design...  But I do like that idea of those cheap LED torches hanging off it.... I will let them come up with that... :)

BTW I am now on the lookout for some plate to make my BBQ with.....
KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Canberra

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2011, 12:35:13 PM »

Speewa was using my drive as a storage area for his PDFP's. It's just cost me a $$$$$$ to have them all graded out.   ;D ;D ;D ;D

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2011, 01:09:27 PM »

http://www.primusaustralia.com.au/index.php?p=line&sid=1286335289

I have that one and it's been great for years and years now, well 5 anyway....

« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2011, 01:13:13 PM »
That I did!!!   But figured that the girls will let me know what they want and if I put all sorts of hooks and stuff on it it would just be unappreciated anyway...

I will let them come up with that... :)

Funny how that works  ???

BTW I am now on the lookout for some plate to make my BBQ with.....
Look forward to seeing some pics.

« Reply #24 on: September 25, 2011, 01:15:47 PM »
I have that one and it's been great for years and years now, well 5 anyway....
When folded do the tops of the legs stick up much ?