Author Topic: Vrilya Point  (Read 5934 times)

Offline listo

Vrilya Point
« on: September 19, 2011, 06:52:06 PM »
Just wondering if anyone here has ever camped at and fished at Vrilya Point? Just wondering what it is like and what kind of vehicle is needed? I've got a standard dual cab hilux with no snorkel, or recovery devices (winch/diff locks)... Not sure if it's good enough  :-[
Even so, are there any success stories out there from the fishermen?
Listo

Offline jaycamrie

Re: Vrilya Point
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 07:08:34 PM »
standard 4wd drive will be fine it is a fantastic spot with great fishing although last year we did not smash the fish but a couple of years ago we had to keep throwing them back already had heaps good croc spotting south of vrilya we seen a 14 footer and at night we seen baby croc,s in a little creek south of vrilya we loved the place  will be going again 2012 

Offline bungie

• Satellite Phone rental
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 07:26:34 PM »
we camped about 10K's north up the beach. Right on the mouth of "no name creek" in the she oaks.
No fish, but the drive over crystal creek was fun :)

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2011, 09:02:14 PM »
You have to cross a log bridge heading out that requires careful wheel placement but other than that its just a rough road heading out. Once on the beach, lower your tyre pressure up to 5psi lower than normal as we found the need to to get up amoungst the Oaks to camp. Didnt catch a thing, no one was off the beach but there were plenty being caught by boaters.
Fantastic spot definately not to be missed.

Sunset from camp

Log Bridge
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline listo

« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2011, 09:40:33 PM »
Thanks for the replies fellers, a few mates and i were thinking of a trip that way next year to see what we can catch. Have heard theres good creeks nearby and good structure not too far out. We made a few jokes about taking the lux but now it might not be such a funny idea...
Listo

« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2011, 04:04:11 AM »
Listo,

You can either camp at the point where you reach the beach - there is a headland so you can fish off the rocks or launch a boat just about anywhere. As stated, there is also the option to go up the beach & camp near the creek - don't forget your crab pots as theres a "motza of muddies" up there.

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2011, 07:08:19 AM »
One other thing, please take your rubbish out with you. There is a rubbish tip on the track in but dont use it. Its disgusting with rubbish strewn everywhere and its a real eye sore. Cannot believe they allow it to be there.
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2011, 07:23:42 AM »
Just an update to the log bridge. Coming out if you have a trailer you may need to jack your trailer up with a hi lift and push it sideways to line it up there is a big hole on the right coming onto the bridge. Hind site is a wonderful thing next day. Pics tell the story. Barnray

« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2011, 08:04:52 AM »
The log bridge was fairly easy when we went this year, no jacking required...I reckon it was one of the best places we camped on the trip, you'll have a ball. The drive up the beach is not bad at all. The sand up the top can be real soft in spots so just watch out but with the right tyre pressure you should be OK

Offline listo

« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2011, 07:17:23 PM »
Thanks again for the tips guys, Hem, don't worry mate, the pots will be in before clothes, have also been told to take 2 per person extra to leave at camp. Apparently a few are lost to crocs. A few of the boys at work have just got back from a trip to the tip, but they only stayed there a couple of nights and didn't fish too hard... Naughty boys!
For a fisherman with a boat, what do you guys reckon would be the best time of the year to head up? Straight after the wet when things open up or towards the end?
They did say the sand was a bit ordinary Steve and Viv, about 18lb had them going comfortably. Broome ay, that's another dream trip that i hope to make im my life time! Dunno if it's as good as the show says, but bloody ifish makes me want to go there right or  wrong ;D
Listo

« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2011, 08:41:02 PM »
Thanks again for the tips guys, Hem, don't worry mate, the pots will be in before clothes, have also been told to take 2 per person extra to leave at camp. Apparently a few are lost to crocs. A few of the boys at work have just got back from a trip to the tip, but they only stayed there a couple of nights and didn't fish too hard... Naughty boys!
For a fisherman with a boat, what do you guys reckon would be the best time of the year to head up? Straight after the wet when things open up or towards the end?
They did say the sand was a bit ordinary Steve and Viv, about 18lb had them going comfortably. Broome ay, that's another dream trip that i hope to make im my life time! Dunno if it's as good as the show says, but bloody ifish makes me want to go there right or  wrong ;D
Listo

Well we reckon there right..Plenty do do up here and you can even fish....The Barra about to come the bite as the water warms up so all the die hard are out now. Were just waiting for the wet to arrive.. Magic time of the year - hot , humid but definitely worth seeing if you can.

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2011, 09:30:36 AM »
Listo
  A boat would definately be an advantage the crabbing would be great we caught good fish south of vrilya about 10 km there is another inlet good fishing ,when we where there last year we camped in the shelter at vrilya  the locals where dragging big nets off the beach and they did alright traditional hunting at night they where getting squid and rays with big light off the car and spears , braver then me to be draggin nets .we went julyish but i reckin september would be good

Offline listo

« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2011, 07:12:59 PM »
Just one more question guys, the boat i'd be taking is a 4.2 tinny on a standard stessco trailer that i thought i'd take to our local welder that's also a mad fisherman and cape guru to beef up to suit the conditions. The boys at work that have just got back from up there have informed me that i'd be an idiot to try due to it not handle the roads. I'm still keen to try but i won't lie, it's got me a bit hesitant and thinking of somewhere like Borroloola for a crack instead. What's the chances (driving to the conditions), any good?
Listo

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2011, 07:58:42 PM »
The roads are much worse now so if your game???????? fine but I would hire up there now. Barnray

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2011, 08:34:00 PM »
Mate, most of the damage people do to their vehicles and trailers could be avoided if they would simply slow down a little. So what if it takes a little longer to get there, at least you'll get there in one piece.
In saying this, there is no way I'd try and take a std. boat trailer up there, you still need to be sensible with what you take on the roads. But if your mate has been up there with his boat trailer and will strengthen yours up, go for it. Just drive to the conditions.
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2011, 11:35:02 AM »
i would take a trailer but make sure you strengthen it, i towed a fibreglass 15 foot haines to wiepa but we rebuilt trailer before we left  make sure you got skids and not rollers or they could punch through the bottom welder be handy just in case  like moto said drive to conditions , there is a fair bit of  bitumen up there now days but corrugations on dirt are a killer

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2011, 06:56:59 PM »
Mate forget the std boat trailer and even beefing up your trailer is a big ?.

reason is that there is only so much you can do to "beef" them up.

Sure gusset mud guards ect ,but a keel ladder is a must with a alloy boat IMHO. The quality of new boats(mass produced) is not as good as prev was and I have seen many a alloy boat in a welding shop up north. As said long skids to share the weight and conveyer belt between them and your hull.

I use an offroad hitch AT35 as it takes alot of the vibration and shock out of the trailer, any poly block type coupling will do the same.  

If you plan on doing lots of trips up north then I'd sell the std trailer and build yourself a custom job designed for the cond.  

Jetcrew  :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535