Author Topic: The most favorite car you have owned.......................  (Read 46850 times)

Re: The most favorite car you have owned.......................
« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2011, 09:53:21 PM »
Dan i will line up your SH1TBOX Ford anyday   ;D
This is my Fav, love driving it its a balltearer  :cheers:

Its for sale anyone wanna buy it?
swap you a corolla for it?

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2011, 09:53:33 PM »
My favorite car is presently in the garage in a million pieces........

1970 VG Valiant Pacer coupe auto Hot Mustard.....competely stock and completely original.

For the first year I drove it here and there and then when rego ran out I took it off the road for a full bare metal resto.  Have wanted one all my life since dad owned a new one was I was growing up.  The first car I can remember being in when the memories begin....

Wife calls it the money pit but I see it as a blast from the past and a good investment.

I'm jealous :( O0
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2011, 09:54:14 PM »
For me it would have to be my old 1970 Mazda R100, it was a lot of fun to drive in those days, being only a light car with plenty of power. The rotary engine sounded like sh’t though, and it loved the fuel, but maybe that was the way I drove though.  ;D

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2011, 09:56:03 PM »
swap you a corolla for it?
haha depends on the year model  ;D

Clunker is an apt description, sad day when my wife sold it :'( My second favourite was the BA XR6.

Andy thats a ripper mate, absolute classic car. Gee they had some balls even by todays standards  :cup:

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #29 on: August 31, 2011, 10:01:46 PM »
OMG somebody had to start this thread didnt they.  Well my first car was a 1970 LC Torana 2 door (Linament Green) snazzy little number wonder where it is now?  Traded that on a 1980 White Sunbird then met Hubby who had 1976 XB Falcon Panel Van (He still has it in back shed).  We owned a Red XC Ute, and my Most Favourite  :cup: was a White XC Rally Pack, 351 Sedan with Chrome 12 slotters and unique exhaust system.  It was the most awesome car. I was talked into selling it so we could purchase an XD Falcon Wagon (Kids) which we traded in on an FJ55 Toyota Landcruiser. Then we bought a 1988 GQ 4.2 petrol and traded up to the current GU 2000 4.5L ST Wagon. Fairly early in our life/marriage we purchased an FJ Holden Sedan as a resto project and she also sits in the back shed patiently waiting for same (26yrs actually).  Ahhh I just loves cars.  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Cheers Rellbell

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #30 on: August 31, 2011, 10:03:15 PM »
stop it  :'( :'( :'( :'(

I tried to buy it back once, but I think he caught on that I was emotionally attached and he tried it on.  Sadly I had to give up.
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

« Reply #31 on: August 31, 2011, 10:12:44 PM »
My favourite was my VK HDT Director :cup:

« Reply #32 on: September 01, 2011, 07:22:13 AM »
My most bestest fun car was my 1973 180B datto, unfortunately it was also the most favorite car that the coppers liked to pull over. I still have a photo album full of speeding & undue noise in manner of operation tickets from the late seventies and early eighties, how times have changed. Pull a burnout those day's $10.00 fine and 1 point loss of your licence, pull a burnout today you loose your car and your licence.

« Reply #33 on: September 01, 2011, 07:38:46 AM »
My most bestest fun car was my 1973 180B datto, unfortunately it was also the most favorite car that the coppers liked to pull over. I still have a photo album full of speeding & undue noise in manner of operation tickets from the late seventies and early eighties, how times have changed. Pull a burnout those day's $10.00 fine and 1 point loss of your licence, pull a burnout today you loose your car and your licence.

I would say if you pulled a burnout in a 180b the cops would have given you an achievement award  8)

« Reply #34 on: September 01, 2011, 07:40:52 AM »
stop it  :'( :'( :'( :'(

I tried to buy it back once, but I think he caught on that I was emotionally attached and he tried it on.  Sadly I had to give up.

Getting an old car back is like getting an old girlfriend back..... you dont know who has f*cked with since the last time you had it....
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 07:42:23 AM by darren »

Offline bussoboy

• Wanting to travel before all the roads are sealed
« Reply #35 on: September 01, 2011, 07:44:01 AM »
 i had a 180B once - i paid a carton of Swan Gold for it
It was a great work hack - one day driving home a guy in a Pajero ran into the back of me denting the already dented rear end, i played up on it at the time and him not wanting to run it through his insurance gave me $500 to go away.......never did fix the car and ran it for another 12 months before it finally fell apart from lack of care, oil, water etc etc
2011 GXL 200 Series & 2017 Kokoda Endure 111

« Reply #36 on: September 01, 2011, 07:50:46 AM »
I still have a photo album full of speeding & undue noise in manner of operation tickets from the late seventies and early eighties,
In 1988 I had a 78 HZ 253 auto, A real sweet twin system on her.
Left the car park at Clarkes beach(Byron bay) in a hurry, didn't bag them up, just made a little bit of noise.
The coppers pinged me for 'Noisy exhaust due to management of vehicle'
I think it was a $300 odd fine and 4 points.
The first think the copper said to me was,
"Son, when you see a policeman in your rear vision mirror, you don't say "F&^%$ng Coppers"
I'd pulled out just in front of them, I wasn't speeding.
These were the days when the local coppers used some common sense. Just like when the H/way patrol pulled me up coming back from a surf, with the surf boards hanging out the left hand rear window. Instead of a fine, he follows me to the local surf shop to buy a set of Soft Racks, $80 racks, were cheaper than the fine.
Funny as  :laugh:

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #37 on: September 01, 2011, 07:52:31 AM »
"The most favorite car I've owned"
Bought new in 1985, ordered with 2.4Lt diesel and overdrive auto trans
it had done >600,000 Kms when I traded it on the Ssangyong  ;D
Fitted it with Fërd 12 slot, 1 ton ute rims, and suitable dirt bashing rubber
Even had tuned length extractors and dual Hyclones  :-*

Been up & down the GRR 4 times and over some of the worst corrugations here in WA.
Now can't load the solar system and some of the gear onto the Ssangyong :'(
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 07:58:51 AM by Maîneÿ . . . »

« Reply #38 on: September 01, 2011, 08:10:34 AM »
Getting an old car back is like getting an old girlfriend back..... you dont know who has f*cked with since the last time you had it....
Well said Darren ;D

« Reply #39 on: September 01, 2011, 08:28:59 AM »
I guess its a toss up between a GT Cortina and Subaru RS Liberty.  Both fun cars, the Cortina had the best gearbox I have ever used, great for clutchless changes.

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #40 on: September 01, 2011, 08:36:54 AM »
My first car was a Datto 180B that I put a fuel inj FJ20 turbo with aftermarket engine management system.

It did burnouts into 3rd gear with a CIG locker and did in excess of 200kmph.

It was a great car.

Offline toad

« Reply #41 on: September 01, 2011, 08:49:01 AM »
 65 Mustang fastback (2+2 to be correct) which we imported, restored and converted to RHD. Warmed 302, etc. Got bored because it had a roof so sold it over 10 years ago and now love my two Triumph TR's, a 58 TR3A and a 64 TR4.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #42 on: September 01, 2011, 08:50:54 AM »
I really think that my favourite car of all the various that have come and gone would have to be the first one I bought , a 1968 HB  2door 4 cylinder , 4 on the floor Holden Torana , white with red interior ,  bought in 1971 , did 50,000miles in less than 2 years , cost all of $2 to fill the petrol tank back then as the price for " super " was still round .35cents per gallon ,

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #43 on: September 01, 2011, 08:55:55 AM »
Mustang's are great, I'd love one. I'd have a hard top though, soft tops are too much effort.

« Reply #44 on: September 01, 2011, 08:58:38 AM »
1968 Triumph 2.5PI, same motor was in the TR5/6, mechanical fuel injected straight six, went like a rocket, could keep up with a 350 GTS Monaro :cup:

Brilliant car, all leather interior, real woodgrain, 4 speed manual, 4 wheel disc brakes and independent suspension.

« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 09:00:37 AM by Redback »

Offline rotare

« Reply #45 on: September 01, 2011, 09:06:54 AM »
My 1974 Mazda RX4 Coupe.  Was a one owner "barn find" when I got hold of it.  It was complete, very original, but in need of some TLC.  Did a lot of the restoration myself, including the engine build.  Beautiful to drive, smooth, quiet and very unassuming.... but with 300rwkw on tap in a 1000kg shell, it was an extremely fast and powerful car.  Ran 10.7 second quarters at the drags, but was just as happy cruising along at the speed limit on a public road.  Awesome car.    

« Reply #46 on: September 01, 2011, 09:14:47 AM »
My most favourite was my "84 Dual Cab Hilux 4x4...... sporting the 3y 2ltr Petrol ......... the old girl never let me down....... owned her for almost 13 yrs..... for the first 7 or 8 yrs she was my families only car, bought her in '95 sold her in '07........ Besides oil changes etc, the only things that broke on her was a rear diff pumpkin (got a second hand replacement for a $200), and an alternator in the whole time i owned her....... she had 365000klms on the clock, and she did plenty of bush work.... The whole family loved ol' Hessy......... Wish i'd never sold her, heaps of memories involve the old girl, from bringing home 2 of our new born babies, packing almost all our posessions into her including the Mrs and kids and moving town in search of a better life, later takin my young fella and mates out catchin pigs on countless occasions, bush bashin our way into some really hard to get to water ways for a family afternoons fishing (with the tinny on the roof), family holidays, camping trips etc....... she was far from fast but would always get ya where ya wanted to go.
Bloody legend that old Luxy.

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #47 on: September 01, 2011, 09:15:09 AM »
One of the best shaped Mazda's ever. That was seriously quick! I can't imagine how you'd get traction in it.

Offline rotare

« Reply #48 on: September 01, 2011, 09:32:50 AM »
One of the best shaped Mazda's ever. .

I agree.  They are a very tough looking coupe.  I owned quite a few mazdas in my younger years and they were all RX4 coupes..... wouldn't have anything else!  Although they are still very popular, they never had the cult following like Mazda RX3 had, and still have.

That was seriously quick! I can't imagine how you'd get traction in it

Yes, traction on the road was a bit of a problem  ;D..... little bit scary when it came on boost in 4th gear at 100km/hr and start smoking the rear tyres.  For drag racing I had to run slicks on the back.

« Reply #49 on: September 01, 2011, 09:42:07 AM »
i had two favorites. the 1st was my 1998 Holden commodore Ute.rebuilt engine and lowered.
very quick and way too much fun  8)

the 2nd was my Valiant speedway race car.
outright point score winner 4 years running and third in state tittles in Grafton.