Author Topic: The most favorite car you have owned.......................  (Read 46851 times)

Offline Doug.b

• Dislike keyboard Heroes
Re: The most favorite car you have owned.......................
« Reply #50 on: September 01, 2011, 09:58:26 AM »
Hj Monaro 5litre, 4 door, red & black
great cruising car
2012 PAJERO VRX  - Adventure offroad camper  - Cape York 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35363.0

« Reply #51 on: September 01, 2011, 10:13:10 AM »
Plenty of grunting in this thread, just wish I had something in my list of previously owned vehicles that I could grunt about.  

Now I know I'm going to cop a bit of flack over this list (except maybe from Gronk), but I've owned two Sigmas, the first a Chrysler Sigma SE (I think) and the second a Mitsubishi Sigma GSR (sports pack if that's possible), both with the thumping power of the mighty 2.6 motor.

I then went to four wheel drives and bought a HJ60 Cruiser with 2H diesel power and after that you all know the rest of the story.

Winching out of Gunshot

Oh, I do also own a VX11 Berlina.

I would seriously love to own a V8 Holden sedan of some sort, but just when I could possibly afford it, wouldn't you know it SWMBO is on her "P"s and is restricted to what she is allowed to drive.  Just waiting though!!!

To pick a favourite I would have to pick my old 60, it was great.  If my Patrol would lug down low in the rev range like that old 60 then it may be a contender.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 04:35:19 PM by Gunna Do »

Offline hairymick

• 2010 Nissan Navara D22, 2005 Kimberly Escape
« Reply #52 on: September 01, 2011, 10:14:28 AM »
1961 FB holden panel van with a worked holden side plate motor.  ;D

Mick

« Reply #53 on: September 01, 2011, 10:19:17 AM »
Toyota 4runner 2.8TD. Dont know why, just loved it!

« Reply #54 on: September 01, 2011, 10:19:58 AM »
Plenty of grunting in this thread, just wish I had something in my list of previously owned vehicles that I could grunt about.  

Did you paint the writing on the tyres with liquid papper Gary?

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #55 on: September 01, 2011, 10:32:51 AM »
Go the Stinkma!  ;D

« Reply #56 on: September 01, 2011, 10:34:46 AM »
Probably my swb f100 that i used to tow my race cars. Had a trick 302 that i built and would give the boy racers a run for their money in the twisty bits.

« Reply #57 on: September 01, 2011, 10:37:45 AM »
1961 FB holden panel van with a worked holden side plate motor.  ;D

Gee, I'd love one of them :( infact any old Holden Panel Van from pre 1974... Theres enough steel in that thing to make 100,000 Commonwhores
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 10:40:26 AM by Lost »

« Reply #58 on: September 01, 2011, 10:56:25 AM »
I would say if you pulled a burnout in a 180b the cops would have given you an achievement award  8)

Offline DANBRI

« Reply #59 on: September 01, 2011, 10:57:54 AM »
I've always wanted to own one of these, but I don't think it will ever happen now. Got a spare 100k?

Offline drrnadms

« Reply #60 on: September 01, 2011, 11:14:21 AM »
It was my Mk 1 escort rally car 220hp at the rear wheels, it was great on the dirt roads. best highway car I sold this year was the ford G6E turbo, great luxury items and good on fuel but my god they are a quick vehicle.

Darren :police:
Drive to survive.

« Reply #61 on: September 01, 2011, 11:15:22 AM »
I've always wanted to own one of these, but I don't think it will ever happen now. Got a spare 100k?

nice
but I'd prefer the A9x

Offline bushrat

• TRV 2
« Reply #62 on: September 01, 2011, 11:20:18 AM »
This my favorite car. I had my eyes on this for years but had to wait until my grandmother stopped driving which didn't until the young age of 92.

The better half has said she is never going to ask who I love the most, she even call it the other woman.
Some mistakes are too much fun to make only once.

« Reply #63 on: September 01, 2011, 12:06:27 PM »
Only ever owned a '85 Holden Drover and my current '01 Holden Rodeo. Prefer the Rodeo for obvious reasons though the Drover was a hoot off road. Only ever had Motorcycles before that.

Offline DANBRI

« Reply #64 on: September 01, 2011, 12:11:51 PM »
Only ever owned a '85 Holden Drover and my current '01 Holden Rodeo. Prefer the Rodeo for obvious reasons though the Drover was a hoot off road. Only ever had Motorcycles before that.

I had one of them, same year too - identical to this one.

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #65 on: September 01, 2011, 12:32:19 PM »
This is the first car I ever brought and its my favourite. 72 LJ torana. It was originally a GTR, still got the original interior. Engines a 186 bored to 192 with triple SU carbs and an exhaust loud enough to justify wearing ear plugs while driving 8) Still got it now, been tempted to sell it several times (never had the nerve to pull it off however) as it hasnt been driven in at least 6 years. Needs some work, but I'll get there eventually
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 12:34:47 PM by shanegtr »

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #66 on: September 01, 2011, 12:40:13 PM »
Bestest most favorite car was my white RS2000 4 door, bought it almost new in 1980, kept it for 5 years. and yes wish I still had it.
Other best car was my HG V8 ute. it was rough and ready and great for the other passion (enduro racing)
Love my Prado but by crikey it's slow!
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #67 on: September 01, 2011, 12:47:07 PM »
Funny how Datto 510's & 610's have a following. I had a 74 180B (610) which had some suspension work, extractors & a DCOE 45mm dual throat Weber which made it cruise rather well. When I got it new it seemed to have more get up & go than others so I checked & it had SSS pistons (domed rather than flat) out of the factory but the rest was stock. I used to love baiting V8's at the lights & watching their faces as I kept up with them. A mate of mine and I did a trip from Sydney to Lismore (roughly 500 miles) in 7 1/2 hours so it got along OK, 120 mph at red line. Oh how I loved the 70's. I could never work out why I sold it, it was such a sweet car, definately a Wednesday built car. The only thing that let it down was it's cheap interior. Bought another one a few years later (later model 77 I think) & it was a piece of junk, had nothing but trouble with it. I'm on the lookout for a 1600 to do up for my young feller but they are few & far between.

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #68 on: September 01, 2011, 02:11:35 PM »
Funny how Datto 510's & 610's have a following. I had a 74 180B (610) which had some suspension work, extractors & a DCOE 45mm dual throat Weber which made it cruise rather well. When I got it new it seemed to have more get up & go than others so I checked & it had SSS pistons (domed rather than flat) out of the factory but the rest was stock. I used to love baiting V8's at the lights & watching their faces as I kept up with them. A mate of mine and I did a trip from Sydney to Lismore (roughly 500 miles) in 7 1/2 hours so it got along OK, 120 mph at red line. Oh how I loved the 70's. I could never work out why I sold it, it was such a sweet car, definately a Wednesday built car. The only thing that let it down was it's cheap interior. Bought another one a few years later (later model 77 I think) & it was a piece of junk, had nothing but trouble with it. I'm on the lookout for a 1600 to do up for my young feller but they are few & far between.

All the boyhood rally stars in 1600's i guess.
Mine had one 16" hot dog muffler on a 2" system and sounded awesome through the Sydney expressway tunnels at night. Windows down, stereo off and nearly flat out in 2nd gear (about 50mph) ;D
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline sparksy

« Reply #69 on: September 01, 2011, 02:43:37 PM »
The car I probably had the most fun would have to be  my WB Holden Kingswood ute converted into a Overlander 4WD.
Dana 44 diffs, turbo 400 tranny with a worked up 308.
Go anywhere and get there really quickly. Most of my mate at the time ( 20 + years ago ) had them, we used to be build them ourselves and start on one friday night and have it finished by Sunday arvo.
Great to drive in sand and well capable of over 100MPH on the beach.
Once I got married and kids were on way wrecked it and built up a HZ wagon with same gear.
Other ones my mates built included a HX premier wagon with blown 350, a Bedford van with f100 gear, holden panelvans and even a torana hatchback.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 02:46:40 PM by sparksy »

« Reply #70 on: September 01, 2011, 08:05:01 PM »
This is the first car I ever brought and its my favourite. 72 LJ torana. It was originally a GTR, still got the original interior. Engines a 186 bored to 192 with triple SU carbs and an exhaust loud enough to justify wearing ear plugs while driving 8) Still got it now, been tempted to sell it several times (never had the nerve to pull it off however) as it hasnt been driven in at least 6 years. Needs some work, but I'll get there eventually

Thats definitely a keeper Shane, a great example :cheers:

Offline GS

• The hand the turns the doorknob, opens the door...
« Reply #71 on: September 01, 2011, 08:10:26 PM »
A good mate of mine had an XU1 that he sold 8-10 years ago for next to nothing.

Still struggles to sleep at night.

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #72 on: September 01, 2011, 08:14:09 PM »
A good mate of mine had an XU1 that he sold 8-10 years ago for next to nothing.

Still struggles to sleep at night.

Do hope it gets better for him Soon  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Cheers Rellbell

Offline JAYBEE

« Reply #73 on: September 01, 2011, 08:25:18 PM »
The car I probably had the most fun would have to be  my WB Holden Kingswood ute converted into a Overlander 4WD.
Dana 44 diffs, turbo 400 tranny with a worked up 308.
Go anywhere and get there really quickly. Most of my mate at the time ( 20 + years ago ) had them, we used to be build them ourselves and start on one friday night and have it finished by Sunday arvo.
Great to drive in sand and well capable of over 100MPH on the beach.
Once I got married and kids were on way wrecked it and built up a HZ wagon with same gear.
Other ones my mates built included a HX premier wagon with blown 350, a Bedford van with f100 gear, holden panelvans and even a torana hatchback.

I love the idea of the overlander. There is a guy in NSW who built one on a rangie chassis which looks really smart.

Cheers, Joel

Offline rodw

« Reply #74 on: September 01, 2011, 08:52:26 PM »
I gotta say my last car (Suzuki Vitara) was right up there as a favourite

BUt it has been eclipsed by my current Hilux which is my all time favourite (even if wheels fall off)