Author Topic: Howdy from Geelong  (Read 3524 times)

Offline enrbee

Howdy from Geelong
« on: August 01, 2011, 01:18:00 PM »
Actually from Lara but more people will understand where Geelong is.

My partner and I like nothing more than to get away - any way we can.    We are keen photographers and love camping, fishing 4x4ing and just traveling.

We have plenty to choose from -
a swag (yes the real variety) and tent
a Sturt Camper Trailer from Outback campers (soon to be up for sale once I can get it out of the garage)
a F250 motorhome (another one to go on ebay soon)
a semi offroad caravan
a Toyota 4x4 tray to pull said caravan and
a steel slide on canopy to use in places where we want to ditch the caravan.

It's a lot of stuff, but has been collected along the way whilst working out how we are going to tackle the big lap (or laps) once we finally tear ourselves away from working.

The steel canopy will go soon - it's great, but doesn't really suit our needs.   A replacement slide on is on the drawing boards and hopefully will be under way soon.

I have been reading various construction threads on here with great interest, and am still tossing up between using composite panel or metal tubing frame with an ally skin of some sort.

I love the idea of the composite panels for their lightness and ease of construction, but the tube and ally skin should be a great deal cheaper and importantly should give better strength as I intend it to be a pop top with bed out over the cab.   If I go down the tube track I am thinking that Stainless steel tubing may be the way to go - it can be easily tig welded I understand and isn't that much heavier than aluminium tube.   I have done some arc welding before but being self taught it looked a bit ugly.   If I could find someone to show me how to tig weld stainless I reckon that would be the way to go, or I might just pay someone to do it if the price isn't too prohibitive.

I looked into the idea of using square aluminium tubing and joiners from flexliner (they are the ones with a steel core) but I'm just a little concerned about strength for the peak area which would be canterleavered.

Anyway, once I have a couple more design ideas sorted out I'll start a construction thread in case anyone is interested.

Neil
ADVENTURE BEFORE DE... (What was it called?)
------------------------------------------------------
79 series Cruiser with canopy

Re: Howdy from Geelong
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2011, 01:23:17 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Neil, sounds a great amount of choices to get away. Enjoy your stay and join in the banter. Put any items you want to sell in the classifieds, someone may want something

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2011, 01:25:17 PM »
G'day & Welcome Neil.

That is a lot of options. How old is your Sturt?

Offline enrbee

« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2011, 01:33:24 PM »
Thanks GG.

Bigjules thanks for the welcome.   The Sturt is probably about 8 years old, I'll check when I get home.    Unfortunately it is sharing the garage with a resident possum or two and the bloody possums get upset when I disturb their slumber!

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2011, 04:51:22 PM »
Welcome from Mandrake at Wyndham Vale !!
If you need a hand or some photographic buddies
let me know - You're only a stone throw away !!
Could be joining Geelong Camera Club soon ...

Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline enrbee

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2011, 05:24:40 PM »
Hey Mandrake, I used to live in Werribee so was even closer to you.   I fully intended to come visit you for some solar panels soon anyway.
My partner and I are actually members of said camera club, but don't get along that often.

No doubt will see you around.

Neil

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2011, 06:47:51 PM »
Your surname's not Griffin is it ??

Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline enrbee

« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2011, 07:53:07 PM »
No mate, not griffin.

« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2011, 07:25:30 PM »
Welcome to the forum Neil - sounds like you have plenty of choices there.

I'd be keen to see your semi offroad caravan in the My Camper Trailer section.

« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2011, 08:46:49 AM »
Sounds great Neil welcome aboard  :cheers:
Would love to see some pics, and go the Geelong Cats! :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2011, 11:22:47 AM »
Hi Neil and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

Offline enrbee

« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2011, 08:14:06 AM »
Thanks for the welcome everyone.   Still tossing up between ssteel frame or composite panel for the slide on.

Neil