Author Topic: g'day from Brisbane  (Read 3920 times)

Offline cootha

g'day from Brisbane
« on: May 04, 2011, 09:25:11 PM »
g'day all, err just put a deposit down on one of them thar trackabouts this week.  Been dreaming about one one for years, and finally took the plunge on the extenda model which will have to house 4 kids under 10 and me and the missus as well. 

This site is so informative, it's unreal.  Haven't really had to ask anything cause it's all here already.

so yeah thanks for all the info, am sure i'll be asking a lot of questions over the next couple of months preparing the trailer and stuff. cheers!

Re: g'day from Brisbane
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2011, 09:26:46 PM »
Welcome cootha and congrats on your pending arrival. Now what's on your mod list?

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2011, 09:34:02 PM »
Welcome to MySwag. Heaps of great info on here

Offline cootha

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2011, 09:42:45 PM »
Welcome cootha and congrats on your pending arrival. Now what's on your mod list?

thanks D4D, mod list is something like, big axle, big springs, drifta dpor, stoneguard wings, recovery point, err heaps more stuff, bikerack etc, it's all a bit of a blur really.

one thing i am struggling with is the tent size, I was going to order the 12ft, but John assures me 10ft is enough (with 4 kids) on the extenda and the 12ft is too big (and takes longer to set up etc).  I gotta let him know my decision by Fri.  Would like to see both in the flesh, but they don't have either there at the moment.  Difficult to make a decision on that.

I saw a post on here about getting a spare door put on the drawbar side for access to another tent or the toilet tent.  Thought that sounded like a good idea, and am thinking of putting that on instead of the 12ft. John reckons most people who get the 12ft regret it.  I reckon he might know something about camper trailers so yeah am taking his word on that.

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2011, 10:02:14 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Cootha, you will be happy with the purchase

« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2011, 10:07:50 PM »
G'day Cootha and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2011, 10:47:51 PM »
Dont forget the extenda is 3foot longer....

« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2011, 10:57:37 PM »
I would probably steer away from a 12 foot on the SV Extenda... that is a lot of canvas to pull over!
The usable floor area in an Extenda is 9 foot along the side of the trailer and a 10 wide tent - heaps of space for a growing family!

Best of luck with your impending purchase.

« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2011, 06:40:31 AM »
Hi Cootha and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

Offline SKEMPIE

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2011, 08:35:37 AM »
Welcome cootha,
Yes another Trackabout on its way, well done! We have a standard deluxe tourer with 2 littlies still in porta cots plenty of room in there for more.

ZORDO

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2011, 12:51:15 PM »
Welcome to the forum

« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2011, 05:35:53 PM »
Hi Cootha and welcome to Myswag

« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2011, 06:52:00 PM »
Hi Cootha
Welcome to My Swag Happy Trails with your Trackabout plenty of fun and good times for your family ahead

Offline cootha

« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2011, 07:02:32 PM »
Thanks everyone, what a great welcome. 

Well, spent well over an hour today with John and the 10ft tent is the go.  Even got to see the trailer being welded together so that was pretty awesome.  What a top bloke he is eh. 

I decided 5 years ago i wanted a trackabout, and can finally do it now that we've stopped breeding (have now worked out what was causing it  :-[), am a tad excited about it all.

« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2011, 09:45:00 PM »
Gday Cootha, welcome to Myswag mate :cheers:

We love Trackabouts here and for good reason, they are a great bit of gear  :cup:

Look forward to checking out some pics when she arrives  :cheers:

Cheers Bd

« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2011, 09:57:37 PM »
Welcome mate

« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2011, 01:40:32 PM »
Welcome cootha , enjoy the forum theres heaps of info and reading here

« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2011, 01:52:32 PM »

I can recommend the Drifta kitchens, having just fitted on retrospectively to my own camper.