Author Topic: Kayaks...what to buy?  (Read 24958 times)

Re: Kayaks...what to buy?
« Reply #25 on: August 02, 2012, 01:21:23 PM »
Those are winter temperatures here. :-)

Offline McDonald

Re: Re: Kayaks...what to buy?
« Reply #26 on: August 02, 2012, 02:24:14 PM »
Quote from: DannyG

There is no hurry yet, its a bit cold atm the be kayaking in Tassie ;)
[/quote

There is a common misunderstanding that kayaking should be left for summer
A good pair of paddle pants can keep you dry. some of my best fishing from a kayak has been done in winter with a 4kg snapper caught last year.

Ocean kayak a good option as well, kids can sit in the rear well without too much trouble

Robert

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Offline wholehog

• "Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups"
« Reply #27 on: August 02, 2012, 07:15:35 PM »
i bought one of these for the kids or my wife...its an exact copy of the Mantra Palini..which is a $1000.00 plus yak once speced up a little( i have a hobie outback)... but for the money these EBAY ones are ok
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/290752587382?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

« Reply #28 on: August 03, 2012, 11:24:57 PM »
Those are winter temperatures here. :-)

lol I am of course making it sound worse than it is!

Robert
I agree actually, we do have some beautiful winter days here where id much prefer to be paddling aroung in a kayak instead of being at work :)

« Reply #29 on: August 03, 2012, 11:27:00 PM »
i bought one of these for the kids or my wife...its an exact copy of the Mantra Palini..which is a $1000.00 plus yak once speced up a little( i have a hobie outback)... but for the money these EBAY ones are ok
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/290752587382?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

mate your onto a winner there.....maybe not that 4 metre long one but the same supplier makes a shorter version and the shipping appears to be reasonable

Offline wholehog

• "Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups"
« Reply #30 on: August 04, 2012, 04:50:15 PM »
mate your onto a winner there.....maybe not that 4 metre long one but the same supplier makes a shorter version and the shipping appears to be reasonable

We hired a mantra polini and a mantra noah...which those ebay ones are copies of and of those and my wife preffered the way the larger of the 2 tracked ...it was also much faster thru the water as well....... but yer...they seem like a reasonable yak for the dollars

Offline Pirate_Pete

« Reply #31 on: August 04, 2012, 05:18:25 PM »
my wife preffered the way the larger of the 2 tracked ...it was also much faster thru the water as well.......

The longer the water line length the better a kayak will track & the faster it will go for the same amount of effort. So dont be afraid of a bigger kayak it will be easier in the long run to use. 

« Reply #32 on: August 04, 2012, 05:28:21 PM »
We understand what your saying in regards to the length but we want to carry them on a rack above the CT so over 4 metres is too big for us. That might sound a bit silly getting a kayak to match the length of the CT when we could easily put them on the Patrol roof but I am on a fuel economy hunt as well so I am taking the roof rack off the Patrol in search of better economy on big trips.

Maybe I am just being too tight or getting old but the more money I save the quicker I can retire ;)

Offline swampmonster

« Reply #33 on: August 04, 2012, 05:50:33 PM »
Danny, wander into Anaconnda , the guy leech single yaks could be had for around the price you were talking about, a couple of mates had them at Mt William this year, handle the surf well, and were quite stable, other then that have a look on the trading post for a mob called Paddle steam in Hobart.

Offline Pirate_Pete

« Reply #34 on: August 04, 2012, 06:24:51 PM »
How long is your draw bar???

Mine is 2m from the front of the camper to the centre of the coupling. I can carry my 4.6m long beasts on the racks & still open the tail gate of the Sorento.

You might be surprised how long a kayak you can take.

Like I said earlier I can organise a few kayaks for you to try out if you wish & other people to talk to.

At least 4 members also have Camper Trailers of Ute back Camper. 

« Reply #35 on: August 05, 2012, 09:10:31 PM »
Thanks for the info swampmonster ill check it out.

Pete my draw bar is 1800 or the overall length of the trailer is around 4100. So we could carry a bigger one.

Thanks very much for the generous offer to try other kayaks, ill get back to you about that.

« Reply #36 on: August 26, 2012, 11:59:27 AM »
We bought a Guy Leach signature series Seak Swift on special at Ananconda in Cambridge :)

We only bought one at this stage to see how it goes. We only want to use them for calm inland waters for the kids to have a bit of fun so I think this one is a good entry level to get us started. It came with a basic paddle and a life jacket and we bought a deluxe seat to go with it :)

It was under our budget so Ill let you know how it goes when we use it. We have to go down there next weekend to pick it up. We were not in the 4wd when we bought it and our Launceston store didnt stock the colour we wanted.

« Reply #37 on: September 04, 2012, 12:26:14 PM »
Thought Id put a picture of it up being used, this is my youngest having a go.

It didnt come with instructions on where to use it but it seems to float really well  ;D

bunyip

« Reply #38 on: September 04, 2012, 01:13:46 PM »
Danny,

That is the best place to use it IMO.

If we were made for water we would have fins and gills  :D

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #39 on: September 04, 2012, 02:13:07 PM »
We have 2 x wilderness systems....a Pungo and  a Tsunami
« Last Edit: September 04, 2012, 02:17:43 PM by Woodsie »
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

« Reply #40 on: September 04, 2012, 03:39:15 PM »
   A dog with a grin !

« Reply #41 on: May 01, 2013, 10:15:09 AM »
After a long time (4-5 years) we decided to get one of these:
It is the Hobie Revolution 11.
And after using it every day last week, we love.
Now time to get a sail kit for it.

Offline GROB

« Reply #42 on: May 01, 2013, 09:54:28 PM »
Check out KFDU or KFA  for sale add's you mite get a bargain
2010 d22 navara & jimboomba explorer

« Reply #43 on: May 02, 2013, 10:23:18 AM »
We bought a Guy Leach signature series Seak Swift on special at Ananconda in Cambridge :)

We only bought one at this stage to see how it goes. We only want to use them for calm inland waters for the kids to have a bit of fun so I think this one is a good entry level to get us started. It came with a basic paddle and a life jacket and we bought a deluxe seat to go with it :)

It was under our budget so Ill let you know how it goes when we use it. We have to go down there next weekend to pick it up. We were not in the 4wd when we bought it and our Launceston store didnt stock the colour we wanted.

Hi we have 2 of these for about the last year and a half and really enjoy them. The only drawbacks we found is you need to stick a bit of foam or something under the seat as it is a bit thin when going for long paddles.

Due to the short lenght and design they are really meant for flat water only as we find on windy days they want to round up in the wind all the time

They are really good on the roof cause the kind of interock together when travelling to give an example i get better fuel economy with the kayaks on the roof than 2 bikes as they kayaks are lower and more streamlined

But for mucking around on a river or other flat water for a few hours they are great we have dragged them over rocks dropped one of the roof of the prado and they are still going strong

« Reply #44 on: May 02, 2013, 10:38:20 AM »
Hi we have 2 of these for about the last year and a half and really enjoy them. The only drawbacks we found is you need to stick a bit of foam or something under the seat as it is a bit thin when going for long paddles.

Due to the short lenght and design they are really meant for flat water only as we find on windy days they want to round up in the wind all the time

They are really good on the roof cause the kind of interock together when travelling to give an example i get better fuel economy with the kayaks on the roof than 2 bikes as they kayaks are lower and more streamlined

But for mucking around on a river or other flat water for a few hours they are great we have dragged them over rocks dropped one of the roof of the prado and they are still going strong

I agree. They wont win any races but for messing around in, which is exactly what we bought them for they are ideal. They are tough and weren't too expensive so perfect for us :)

« Reply #45 on: May 02, 2013, 02:28:58 PM »
I recently purchased 2 real cheep kayaks, took my girls for a paddle and was not impressed the way the arse end of the kayak was dragging only just above the water line and when I got back sure I noticed it was only rated to 110kg, so next time I mite have to take a smaller esky.

Kayaks...what to buy?
« Reply #46 on: May 02, 2013, 03:48:06 PM »
I recently purchased 2 real cheep kayaks, took my girls for a paddle and was not impressed the way the arse end of the kayak was dragging only just above the water line and when I got back sure I noticed it was only rated to 110kg, so next time I mite have to take a smaller esky.

Mumble mumble fat bastard mumble mumble :)

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

« Reply #47 on: May 02, 2013, 04:11:49 PM »
Mumble mumble fat bastard mumble mumble :)

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
rumble rumble - you'll keep - rumble rumble  ;D