General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Txbum on May 04, 2016, 11:36:41 PM
:cheers: Howdy, Txbum here, we plan to have a holiday rally (camp out) and I plan to take some Australian beers to the gathering. Will you share your likes , dislikes of the more popular Australian beers with me. We have a package ( Spirits) store named Specs and they seem to have a large variety of imported beers. Looking to bring some Aussie influence to the wind up ( pop up) camper rally. If I may, I would like to share photos of our event with the Myswag group. Thank ya'all......now where is that Ozpig ...honey dear, have you seen my pig????
Haven't seen your pig roaming about. Might have gone walkabout ;D
One of my favourite readily available Australian beers is Little Creature's Pale Ale.
More info about it at https://littlecreatures.com.au/beers
For me.......Plain ole XXXX Bitter in a can on ICE....Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh...Pure blisss.....
I'm assuming Txbum, that you come from the Land of The Trump....... and maybe your a Texan?
Well y'all, a frosty cold glass full of Carlton Dry is always nice or a Great Northern comes a close second.
Texan by birth, American but not a Trumpian, is that even a word?...Texans love beer. Just trying to find some great Australian brews with out breaking my bank.....over here we typically view the television commercial Fosters...Australian for beer commercial. Looking for something other than this brand, nothing against them, just trying out new beers.
I like beers from smaller Brewers ( admittedly a large number of these are now owned by the big boys) and may not be readily available in the good ole US of A
I noticed though that James Squire and little creatures are exported, both worth a taste especially James squire 150 lashes.
Others but don't believe exported
White Rabbit both the white and Pale Ale, they have just released a red ale but only in Vic I believe where it is aged in cask like wine.
The Burleigh brewery has some good beer, bighead is their no carb beer.
Feral I enjoy the hop hog, and sly fox
Stone & wood
Texan by birth, American but not a Trumpian, is that even a word?...Texans love beer. Just trying to find some great Australian brews with out breaking my bank.....over here we typically view the television commercial Fosters...Australian for beer commercial. Looking for something other than this brand, nothing against them, just trying out new beers.
Fosters isn't even made in Australia any more, it is made under license in asia somewhere.
For a "normal" priced beer I like Coopers Pale or Sparkling Ale. They are both different to the usual beers as they have sediment in the bottle and a full flavour. This might put you off but worth a try to see. James Boags Premium is a good normal priced lager.
Higher priced beer, I like Little Creatures Bright Ale but most of their beers are worth drinking :cheers:
I just had a look at the Specs web site and they seem to stock Coopers even if they call it Canadian it is really made in South Australia ;D
Fosters isn't even made in Australia any more, it is made under license in asia somewhere.
Fort Worth, Texas I thought ??? Brewed by Miller Brewing?
Grab yourself a box of this stuff :D
http://youtu.be/WA1h9h7-_Z4 (http://youtu.be/WA1h9h7-_Z4)
Great northern. Made in Qld. "The beer from up here"
Geez, so many choice selections.....ales, bitters,pales,sparkling ,dry , beers....looking forward to going to the beer shop..... :cheers:, Txbum......that drunk armadillo run off with me Lonestar beer again!
Fort Worth, Texas I thought ??? Brewed by Miller Brewing?
I thought the fosters here come from asia, it is also made in the UK somewhere I think, as is fourex.
don't forget West End from Adelaide, an old favorite of mine
Fosters is still as always made at CUB in Abbotsford. It is also made in Queensland. Overseas it is made under licence, at various breweries. A bit like many "foreign" beers are made here under licence.
Having said that not many Australians drink Fosters and it doesn't represent the typical Aussie beer, which is mostly a draught or bitter. However a lot of other lagers are drunk , mostly "foreign" beers There is also a huge craft beer market in Australia which features Pale Ales. These are my preferred but the sad part, is the successful ones are usually bought out by the big companies and loose that locally handcrafted taste.
Only VB or Carlton Draught is welcome in my fridge.
Your fridge is pretty safe then ;D ;D
Matilda bay.... Beez Neez
Starsky
I thought the fosters here come from asia, it is also made in the UK somewhere I think, as is fourex.
As #jonesy said, made here by CUB.
The OP's Fosters that is marketed in the States as 'Aussie beer' is actually brewed in Texas. All of their marketing leads you to believe it's imported from here.
Only a few months ago Fosters was sued for misleading advertising or some crap because of this. One of my suppliers over there was fuming when he found out. He's been drinking it for years because it's a 'Mans beer.' Reckons it tastes like Shit, is stupidly expensive, but it's good for your image ::)
He doesn't believe me that no one here drinks the Shit ;D
I was weaned onto xxxx gold - my standard go to box. These days its about the most expensive mid strength in the world so I find myself bringing home cartons of sol and Heineken in protest. It should be cheaper than it is.
For me good aussie beers are:
Little Creatures Pale Ale
Coopers Sparkling Ale
Boags Premium Lager
100 Lashes (150?)
Fat Yak is a newer good one.
But I home brew and rarely buy beer any more.
When we go camping I bring XXXX gold in cans.
Drinks away easily and less waste than bottles.
However I prefer Belgium beer.
A "True" Oz beer still family owned. Most beer companies here are owned by foreign interests.
As my late father in law said "there is no such thing as a bad beer, only some are better than others". Over the years my taste has changed, I drank Carlton Draught, Courage, Richmond Bitter even Ballarat Bertie. These days my preference is for the Tasmanian Beers in winter, in order of preference, Boags Draught, Boags Premium, Cascade Premium then the Cascade Pale Ale. In the warmer weather not much beats a XXXX Gold.
Mine are similar to most of the previous posters.
Little Creatures Pale Ale (scored 4 cartons at $53.95 each the other day too :-)..)
James Squires Hop Thief (pale ale)
Fat Yak (pale ale)
Gage Roads Narrow Neck (session ale)
James Squires Chancer (golden ale)
For a mid strength, Carlton Mid
if you absolutely have to drink a light, Cascade Premium Light (that's low alcohol beer btw, for you yanks, not low carbs LOL)
Swapping around abit at the moment, Matsos sessions 3.5(mid) Matsos Mango beer ( only a couple because it's very sweet) and 150 lashes
Try Matsos Chilli beer... It's not bad if you're a fan of chillis. I made some home brew chilli beer many years ago, nowhere near as much bite as Matso's though
As my late father in law said "there is no such thing as a bad beer, only some are better than others". Over the years my taste has changed, I drank Carlton Draught, Courage, Richmond Bitter even Ballarat Bertie. These days my preference is for the Tasmanian Beers in winter, in order of preference, Boags Draught, Boags Premium, Cascade Premium then the Cascade Pale Ale. In the warmer weather not much beats a XXXX Gold.
Your father in law must have got lucky and never had the mis fortune to try TUN beer, I gave it away after my first can and even the people I gave it to threw it away, blowing the "any free beer is a good beer" theory out of the water.
never had the mis fortune to try TUN beer
& then there's Southwark ???
Only tried it once, many years ago when there was a beer strike on in Qld (early '80s?), so we were desperate :D
Have to say we were all happy to say no that's enough for me, thanks! >:D
On the opposite end of the scale, XXXX Summer is a very tasty drop, but can be hard to find.
I had the misfortune of buying a box of Resch's wrong once.......
& then there's Southwark ???
Only tried it once, many years ago when there was a beer strike on in Qld (early '80s?), so we were desperate :D
Have to say we were all happy to say no that's enough for me, thanks! >:D
On the opposite end of the scale, XXXX Summer is a very tasty drop, but can be hard to find.
Ha I remember it well, it was December 1978, the year I finished school and come to live on the goldie, I thought it was a magical place with beer from all over Australia, then the strike finished and all you could get was rubbish in a yellow can. http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cry.gif (http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cry.gif)
Toohey's Old, Cascade Stout, XXXX Summer Lager with the Lime in it, White Rabbit Dark Ale, James Squires Golden Ale, Sheaf Stout, Any of the Cooper's, and if anyone sees Quickdraw Lager, have one. We had some the other night at the pub after hockey and it was very nice.
Another vote for the White Rabbit range, epecially the Dark Ale, also Coopers Pale Ale, Tooheys Old and Stone & Wood Pacific Ale.
All of this beer talk is harsh when beer o'clock is still some ways off.
I'm a VB man through and through, but i did switch to Carltons when they changed the recipe of VB a few years ago.
Glad they went back to the original formula, now it's nothing but green in my fridges ;D ;D
now it's nothing but green in my fridges ;D ;D
Yes, keeping VB in the fridge would be enough to turn it green & mouldy! :D
Just think what it must do to your guts >:D
Yes, keeping VB in the fridge would be enough to turn it green & mouldy! :D
Just think what it must do to your guts >:D
Apparently it's doing wonders for me...... ;D
Forget that beer crap, feed them some Bundy Rum instead
As a smart ar$e, pimply faced 18 year old, I drank a bottle once on my own and then started on somebody else's bottle.
Threw up so hard I thought my own bum hole was gunna come up and then the other end started.
I Shit some toxic black substance that looked like melted road tar for about 3 days straight.
Couldn't go near the stuff for about 20 years. Just the smell of it was bad enough, however, a while back now, i did partake in a few.
These days, i don't overindulge too much, as I only have about 4 brain cells left that work and some of them are marginal at best.
But, I never gave up, lets face it, rehabs for quitters.
Gezzzzz..... VB...I can't even say the word without gagging.... Let alone get a can to my lips. It's got to be the worst beer going.... >:D >:D >:D
Its good for washing mud and grass and crap off mowers.
The mowers never run as well afterwards though, so even they don't like tomcat pi$$ either.
As a smart ar$e, pimply faced 18 year old, I drank a bottle once on my own and then started on somebody else's bottle.
Threw up so hard I thought my own bum hole was gunna come up and then the other end started.
I Shit some toxic black substance that looked like melted road tar for about 3 days straight.
Couldn't go near the stuff for about 20 years. Just the smell of it was bad enough, however, a while back now, i did partake in a few.
These days, i don't overindulge too much, as I only have about 4 brain cells left that work and some of them are marginal at best.
But, I never gave up, lets face it, rehabs for quitters.
good to read you came back for more mate, better late then never...lol
I've had some pretty big nights on Bundy that have ended up like that, the worst being whilst I was taking antibiotics... they seemed to hold off the getting pissed effect until the next day, then I threw up so much the next day it was rediculous. One other time a mate and myself knocked down a 750ml bottle in an hour and then I walked to the pub to get another bottle, only to find my mate passed out when I returned. I got through most of that second bottle on my own, but the damage was done early on. I did end up going through a timber fence that night when a mate slapped me on the back asking how I was going...ahh good times...lol.
Gezzzzz..... VB...I can't even say the word without gagging.... Let alone get a can to my lips. It's got to be the worst beer going.... >:D >:D >:D
That'll be because the stuff you get up there is brewed in QLD..... :-*
I can switch from XXXX Gold to VIC (not VB) and without an issue. They really aren't very different......
The Chancer
I can switch from XXXX Gold to VIC (not VB) and without an issue. They really aren't very different......
Yep, both crap
Yep, expected that from someone.......and your personal favourite is....??
If well planned (ie I've gone 20km down the road to the brewery) New Englander Pale Ale (http://www.newenglandbrewing.com.au/beers.html)
If poorly planned then it's Cooper's Green (if it's only for me) or Beez Neez/Little Creatures etc if the wife is stealing some.
I've been spoilt being a Pom as where my parents are based are 4 or 5 breweries within 45mins drive in Shropshire; some of those breweries have been brewing longer than the Europeans have been in Australia. They came over to visit and brought some with them - not for me, but for the owner of the New England brewery! I've brought him beers back before and he's enjoyed them, so we got a couple of others to try; he's savouring them so every so often I get a message saying how he's got on with them.
The best description of Fosters I've heard was that it's the beer that the teetotal office manager buys for the staff Christmas party...
Yep, expected that from someone.......and your personal favourite is....??
Is this
http://www.granitebeltbrewery.com.au/portfolio-items/india-pale-ale/ (http://www.granitebeltbrewery.com.au/portfolio-items/india-pale-ale/)
But off the shelf from the normal bottle shop I mix it up a bit. Burleigh brewery stuff is good, or great northern is easy to drink. I like to try new stuff all the time.
Is this
http://www.granitebeltbrewery.com.au/portfolio-items/india-pale-ale/ (http://www.granitebeltbrewery.com.au/portfolio-items/india-pale-ale/)
But off the shelf from the normal bottle shop I mix it up a bit. Burleigh brewery stuff is good, or great northern is easy to drink. I like to try new stuff all the time.
OK. I haven't seen that one. I'll keep my eye out.
I've tried Great Northern and found it OK, but it didn't win me over.
I've tried plenty of other stuff too, but I keep going back to CUB products......just make sure they're brewed in Carlton, 'cos it makes a difference.
:cheers: :cheers:
Another vote for James Squires - 150 lashes, hop thief, jack of spades porter.
As others have mentioned Coopers, but get into their stout. .....yummo.
There may be a chance to get hold of Mildura Brewery stuff also. If so, try some of their cocoa stout.
Probably not available outside much of South Australia is the range from Woolshed Brewery at Wilkadene. A must try is their Wattleseed infused dark ale called Judas Dark and every winter they also do an awesome coffee infused stout. Have a couple friends coming your way in the coming weeks, would be fun to try and get some to you.
Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk
As others have said, James Squire are all good, Matilda Bay (no-one has mentioned their original, and still my fave, 'Redback'), Little Creatures and an offshoot of Little Creatures is Furphy http://furphybeer.com.au/stockist (http://furphybeer.com.au/stockist)...made in Geelong in the same mill as Little Creatures and an amazingly good beer for a realistic price.
I am buying less these days though as I'm making more homebrew - currently have a Coopers Pale Ale, Matild Bay Redback clone, a Porter and soon will do a Ginger Beer, decisions, decisions!
(https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3032/5814456830_2bd56cafee_b.jpg)
Wow, amazing!...I can say for sure..that the Americans have nothing that compares to the variety , flavors and strength in the Aussie beers. I can only imagine a coconut, coffee infused beer stateside, heck I thought we were doing good with lemon or apple scented brews. " How I wish i was in the land Oz, look away, look away Aussie land".....old Dixie land song....I wish I was in the land of cotton, look away ,look away Dixie land. A sincere thanks to you and yours for all the recommendations, my wife and I are looking forward to the hunt for Australian beer... :cheers: Txbum
We are looking forward to a good full on report, not only on your final beer selection but to your whole gathering. Things like the location and pastime activities both organized and impromptu. What choice of food your lot choose to take camping and how it is prepaired, your campers and vehicles, and just the general atmosphere.
Hope it all goes well and keep it safe.
Gotta agree with that, they're both swill ;D
Wow, amazing!...I can say for sure..that the Americans have nothing that compares to the variety , flavors and strength in the Aussie beers. I can only imagine a coconut, coffee infused beer stateside, heck I thought we were doing good with lemon or apple scented brews. " How I wish i was in the land Oz, look away, look away Aussie land".....old Dixie land song....I wish I was in the land of cotton, look away ,look away Dixie land. A sincere thanks to you and yours for all the recommendations, my wife and I are looking forward to the hunt for Australian beer... :cheers: Txbum
Your Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is a pretty good drop, just too expensive over here.
While camping I always drink XXXX Gold Cans, but all other times my favourite beer is the one on special at the time. :cheers:
While we're on this vitally important subject :D (& apologies to Tex for the slight hijack)...
When going bush, what do most of us carry - cans or stubbies ???
Cans get colder quicker, stay colder longer & are less easily damaged; but beer out of glass just tastes so much better :-\
So what's everyone's answers ???
Weekenders, bottles. Touring, cans.
Cans all the way...XXXX Bitter....yumoo.
Cans......only.......
Actually haven't been drinking much beer lately, but ohhh the bottles of gin keep getting emptied >:D
Always cans when camping as they stack better in the fridge, if no bins where we are camping means they can be crushed down for the return trip to save space and no chance of broken glass around camp.
Otways brewery or 2brothers brewery here in Melbourne. Deliciousness.
Sent from my SGP511 using Tapatalk
2 brothers is fantastic..in fact might wander to the bar and grab another...then another and stumble the three blocks home.
4 Pines pale ale. Brewed in Manly-Sydney.
Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
Little Creatures bright ale at the moment.
My cousin has started his own brewery in Esperance.
Lucky Bay Brewery, in a few pubs in the area and Clancys in Freo.
Shameless plug I know, but it is a good brew.
TxBum as you can see there is a large choice of beer.
The sad part about it a lot of the posts are arguing about which state has the best mass produced beer. Many of those are best consumed in quantity, rather than quality. We all grew up with our home state beer as they weren't widely distributed until 20 odd years ago and so that is the "best" beer. So much so that growing up in Victoria I have never tried XXXX which comes from Queensland.
There is a great range of craft beer and hundreds of small microbreweries. My favourite microbrewery is the Social Bandit in Mansfield, mainly because it is new and I go that way a hit they haven't started bottling, but have 12 on tap.
Little Creatures Pale Ale (scored 4 cartons at $53.95 each the other day too :-)..)
Fat Yak (pale ale)
Poser beers. For decoration....to be held, rather than consumed.....
Australian Beer is found ! I have located a place that not only sells Coopers IPA in my itty bitty home town of 2500 people , but will also order other kinds by the case 24 bottles minimum. Lets see how much dinero is left in the kitty ( piggy) bank. Maybe they will let me have a six pack of this , a six pack of that and so on. Thanks for your recommendations. Schulenburg, Texas is 160km from Houston, and 160 km from San Antonio. I am smack dead in middle of nowhere., love it here, All the city folks zoom by on the Interstate highway speeding at speeds beyond 200 kph. :cheers: Come on Father's day...... ;D
Mine are similar to most of the previous posters.
Fat Yak (pale ale)
For a mid strength, Carlton Mid
if you absolutely have to drink a light, Cascade Premium Light (that's low alcohol beer btw, for you yanks, not low carbs LOL)
Proper beers. For enjoyment....to be held in awe, when consumed.....
Fixed it for you.... ;D ;D ;D
Question, a carton has how many beers in it? $53.95 Australian what would the U.S. dollar price be ?
A carton is 24 13 fl oz bottles (cans and large bottles may come in different numbers.
$53.95 Australian is approximately $40 USD
Fixed it for you.... ;D ;D ;D
Nice effort..... ;D ;D :cup: :cup:
They all taste OK for 1 or 2, but I tire of the flavour after that.....just my opinion, as usual.
Never seen anyone have a "session" on any of them....
me wife's gonna shoot me....but honey it comes all the way from Australia...I can hear now...."just like Australian dish washer you got me for Mothers day!" ....my wife did not like her at all. I tried to assure her , dishwasher was/is the best model Australia could send...a bloody nose and black eye later.....she she don't think it's funny. ;D.....just kidding have a very nice weekend everyone. I cannot surf the web while she is at home.....wonder why?
lf you open the Engal & it not full of cold VB can then it time it dispatch SWOMBO to the nearest pub & quickly :-*
( Well it might happen 1 day ) :-* :-* :-* :-* Please :cheers:
lf you open the Engal & it not full of cold VB can then it time it dispatch SWOMBO to the nearest pub & quickly :-*
( Well it might happen 1 day ) :-* :-* :-* :-* Please :cheers:
Lovely fetches my beer in the shopping, Jamie. It's on the list..... ;D
:cheers: :cheers:
Can you train Mstree ???
l will be hiding under the CT if you need me :laugh:
Can you train Mstree ???
l will be hiding under the CT if you need me :laugh:
Pass..... ;D
Bring your own cans when you pop under the CT to visit till this blows over :cheers:
A carton is 24 13 fl oz bottles (cans and large bottles may come in different numbers.
$53.95 Australian is approximately $40 USD
Some of the craft beer stubbies also come in cartons of 16 now as well... cheeky buggers
l walked in to a bottle shop to buy beer in LA & asked for " a slab of cans " . The bloke behind the counter just stood there & blinked slowly at & said nothing , everybody looked . Had No idea what l had just said . So l started asking for 24 cans of beer in a box . All they wanted to know was what l had just said . Took 20 mins to buy what l wanted , & get out of the shop :cheers: Lost in translation :angel:
VB is awful pigswill pretending to be beer.....although it is just barely drinkable icy cold from a can on a hot day, if you're desperate. The stuff in brown bottles is the devils pi$$.
I'm enjoying a James squire copper ale right now after an afternoon on the chainsaw cleaning up some downed trees.
Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk
Roo Thank you for your description of VB though a bit harsh you might be on to something . Now l understand why Roos get shot at & run over on the road & used as dog meat :cheers:
I'm enjoying a James squire copper ale right now after an afternoon on the chainsaw cleaning up some downed trees.
See reply #67 & #72.... :-*
Roo Thank you for your description of VB though a bit harsh you might be on to something . Now l understand why Roos get shot at & run over on the road & used as dog meat :cheers:
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers:
As a teenager I may have swilled plenty of the green death and the similarly ordinary tooheys offerings, XXXX was off the menu as we didnt allow that banana bender stuff south of the border. Eventually I grew up to discover that beer could be a taste sensation rather than an assault to the senses.
Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk
Its hard trying to find a beer not owned by coles/woolworths these days so always revert to coopers 👍.
Great Northern is OK, Carlton Dry is a solid favorite here, dont mind most of the coopers product, Dont mind Cascade or Boags for a light beer either.
Light Beer
its like kissing your sister , might be fun but it dosent get you anywhere >:D
Really, you think kissing your sister is fun ??? Clearly having if few of the green cans this arvo
Starsky
Really, you think kissing your sister is fun ??? Clearly having if few of the green cans this arvo
Starsky
Depends. What's speewa's sister like?
You asking my opinion ??? ??? ??? ???
Jeez Speewa I hope one of you are adopted
The scar on his shoulder is the give away. The green cans are to try and hide the embarrassment.
What do you want pics of? The scar, or him kissing his sister? :D
Little Creatures and Vale ale have been neck and neck for a while for me but just recently I had a Feral Hop Hog IPA and this has shot to the top of my list :cheers:
Bit pricy and at 5.8% its special occasion beer for me.
Does anyone know if Boags still make St George? Used to love that beer.
Currently stuck on Blue Moon. Not strictly an aussie beer but it is made under licence here. Got the tase for it in the States where they serve it with a slice of orange. Yummy...!
Not a favourite but tried a Matso's chiili beer on Sunday, got quite a kick to it.
How can you go past this stuff.....its the only beer that lives in my fridge :cheers: :cheers:
P155 H0RN . :cheers:
Spent last weekend on Kangaroo Island and had the pleasure of the locals taking me to their new Brewery just out of Kingscote. KI Brewery i think it was called.
Enjoyed his ginger wheat beer, amber ale, IPA and stout. The stout is quite sweet and the owner says he has many non stout drinkers enjoying it.
He starts bottling for the first time in the coming weeks. Keep your eye out at the boutique sort of spots, otherwise get yourself over and enjoy the camping, fishing and now beer that the little island has to offer!
Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk
So Tex, how'd your camp finish up going?
Did you educate a lot of palettes?
Are exports of Aussie beer to Texas going to increase dramatically?
The last two I tried.
The pale ale was great with a strong grassy hop flavour.
The Pilsner was a little bit too full on with the hop for a Pilsner with a nice bitter taste.
The local bottle shop, and most of them are not your standard beers