General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Paul Mac on February 08, 2015, 06:55:16 AM

Title: Who has avoided camping in Vic Parks since increased fee Introduction?
Post by: Paul Mac on February 08, 2015, 06:55:16 AM
I have been reading on other forum's about people who have decided not to camp in Victorian National and State Parks since the introduction of the increased fees in July 2014.

How many swaggers have looked at the Parks website and decided not to camp at a particular park because of the fees now being applied?

It would be interesting to see how much revenue the State Gov't are actually missing out on these days.

As an example, Mt Buangor ( Middle Creek Camping area ) prior to July last year used to be free however, in their wisdom now has a fee of $37.80 per site per night plus a $10 booking fee. I know of many other sites which have escalated to ridiculous prices given the facilities available.
Title: Re: Who has avoided campig in Vic Parks since increased fee Introduction?
Post by: D4D on February 08, 2015, 06:58:19 AM
If it means the 'bogan' lot go somewhere else I am all for it. That said, for those prices you could get a powered site at a caravan park with full facilities.
Title: Re: Who has avoided campig in Vic Parks since increased fee Introduction?
Post by: IanC on February 08, 2015, 07:08:03 AM
That does seem a little excessive $$.  In Qld for 4x4 camper trailer and 2 adults it is about $12 per night. 

I think a fee is a good idea to slow up the freeloaders but in saying that we have on occasion had to request people pack and leave our booked and paid for campsite.  So you will not stop the opportunists, unless there is a Resident Ranger.
Post by: Ciscokid on February 08, 2015, 07:22:57 AM
Yep. We looked at the sites at the otways NP and cant justify the price. Even at the inflated peak season caravan park prices it is only about upto $20 more for powered site. When you consider a drop toilet vs running water, hot showers, jumping pillow, etc for kids its a no brainer.  Disappointing as Ive spent some coin setting up the camper for 'free camp'. No doubt the grey nomads will be thinking the same in there luxurious caravans.

Id rather support the local business than support the govt with this change.  Lets just hope the CP dont inflate their prices because they realise they now can with all the boycott.
Post by: muzza01 on February 08, 2015, 07:52:10 AM
$37.80 per night plus a $10 booking fee ??? Fark me!! Is that just for one park or are they all expensive in VIC?
Post by: dazzler on February 08, 2015, 08:00:09 AM
If it means the 'bogan' lot go somewhere else I am all for it. That said, for those prices you could get a powered site at a caravan park with full facilities.

Spot on.
Post by: loanrangie on February 08, 2015, 08:24:49 AM
So where does it leave us for free camp options ? Private land and anything that isnt a state or national park ?
Post by: Bird on February 08, 2015, 08:53:21 AM
Quote from: D4D
agree//but whats the chances of bogans paying? 0% or less its only the honest people who would pay and suffer

Quote from: muzza01
$37.80 per night plus a $10 booking fee ??? Fark me!! Is that just for one park or are they all expensive in VIC?
x eleventy1

thankfully its only some select camping sites that charge extortion fees.  Caravan parks would be thanking the powers that be for this move.. makes you think really about th reasons behind it.
Post by: GeoffA on February 08, 2015, 08:56:59 AM
.Caravan parks would be thanking the powers that be for this move.. makes you think really about th reasons behind it.

CP associations have been lobbying for it for years. They've got what they wanted.
Gov have always wanted to charge.
Greenies want to keep people out.

Everone's a winner, except those that actually use....
Post by: Paul Mac on February 08, 2015, 08:57:17 AM
Not all Parks are at that price. Some are dearer......lol
It's graded - Basic , Medium and High then there is peak period, shoulder and off-peak seasons to calculate the fees. I will add that not all parks in Victoria are subject to fees but you have to look closely to find the ones that don't.

Sadly, even with the introduction of the increased fees the "bogan element" has not been severely deterred as I still read about campers who continue to leave their rubbish behind or drink and party ALL night in many locations. Fees wont stop that and unfortunately closures are considered by Park Victoria as the only deterrent.

I'm not wanting to rubbish Parks Victoria because on the whole most if not all rangers are hard working dedicated employees and want to protect our natural environment. They have a job to do. It's just hard to see how the desk jockeys can justify the high fees being applied.
Post by: Bird on February 08, 2015, 09:06:40 AM
CP associations have been lobbying for it for years. They've got what they wanted.
Gov have always wanted to charge.
Greenies want to keep people out.

Everone's a winner, except those that actually use....
agree
Post by: feisty on February 08, 2015, 09:13:18 AM
Totally avoided them unfortunately.   
Post by: Tim - Stratford on February 08, 2015, 09:55:25 AM
Australia Day Weekend Parks enforcement officers were at the start of the Alpine National Park just up from Licola. They were checking cars/drivers/bikes etc. if your bike was unregistered or you were unlicensed, if you didn't have the correct firearms authorities, or you had your dog with you, you got turned around.

If the fees go to enforcement and patrols that stop these idiots camping next to me I'm all for it.

Tim

PS - it hasn't stopped us using the basic areas
Post by: Vk3bq on February 08, 2015, 09:57:52 AM
At tidal river Friday night. At least 85% full at nearly $60 a spot. The same back packers. Tourist in renta--taragos . Family groups. 20 something's in Utes And Chain smoking bogans :). Clearly for the icon spot. The price rise hasn't scared people away.

We know this and come anyway. It's a nice spot for a couple of days with younger kids introducing them to the ocean beaches.

They have removed the really basic kids park from the park. National parks lady said because it was old and NON compliant. For my $180 3 nights. I'd hope they would build a new kids play area. (The kids can't swim 24/7).

How much does tidal river cost to run a 24hr period? 400 camps x $60 is a lot!

Post by: xcvator on February 08, 2015, 10:08:13 AM
With this current fee structure I'm not prepared to pay the fees involved  >:( >:( >:(
For a basic site $5-00 pn, for a site with drop toilets $12/$15 pn, would be ok, but at the fees now, no way  :'( :'( even with an oap discount  >:(
Australia Day Weekend Parks enforcement officers were at the start of the Alpine National Park just up from Licola. They were checking cars/drivers/bikes etc. if your bike was unregistered or you were unlicensed, if you didn't have the correct firearms authorities, or you had your dog with you, you got turned around.

If the fees go to enforcement and patrols that stop these idiots camping next to me I'm all for it.

Tim

PS - it hasn't stopped us using the basic areas
That's good to hear Tim, but I still feel the structure is just too high 
Post by: Tim - Stratford on February 08, 2015, 10:23:25 AM
I just checked the booking site - hmmm I agree Keith, a bit steep for some spots. The part where it does become a hindrance is if I want to tour over the other side of the State. I now have to book somewhere but have no idea where. I'm unfamiliar with the campsites and would normally roll up and pick one....but hard 'site' unseen.  ???

Tim
Post by: Bird on February 08, 2015, 11:25:56 AM
At tidal river Friday night. At least 85% full at nearly $60 a spot. The same back packers. Tourist in renta--taragos . Family groups. 20 something's in Utes And Chain smoking bogans :). Clearly for the icon spot. The price rise hasn't scared people away.
what makes you think anyone but you paid? You can bet your left ball the scrotes didnt....
Post by: oldmate on February 08, 2015, 01:36:26 PM

We know this and come anyway. It's a nice spot for a couple of days with younger kids introducing them to the ocean beaches.

They have removed the really basic kids park from the park. National parks lady said because it was old and NON compliant. For my $180 3 nights. I'd hope they would build a new kids play area. (The kids can't swim 24/7).

How much does tidal river cost to run a 24hr period? 400 camps x $60 is a lot!

I don't give a crap where it is, how good the view is, I would never ever consider paying $60 a night for a price of dirt in the bush. 
Post by: gone_bush on February 08, 2015, 02:06:29 PM
$60?! And I thought they hung Ned Kelly. :o
Post by: Andrew_C on February 08, 2015, 04:28:10 PM
Me- it's a scam, and I can guarantee, not spent on any actual land management. Free state forests for me.
Post by: koshari on February 08, 2015, 05:23:07 PM
There is little doubt it's a punitive measure to keep people away from a lot of the places, such as the 90 mile beach camps. And yes it is reactive from the minority that leave all their crap behind and vandalise everything in sight.  I heard reports that the 90 mile beach surf fishing comp numbers were way down this year on previous years.
Post by: Bird on February 08, 2015, 06:01:36 PM
Me- it's a scam, and I can guarantee, not spent on any actual land management. Free state forests for me.
... sadly if anyone knows its A_C :'(
Post by: Juddy on February 08, 2015, 07:11:01 PM
As someone who has worked in park management in VIC, and a regular user of our great outdoors I feel I have some points to offer! Firstly, anyone who believes that camping/park fees are directly spent on managing/improving the park in which the money is spent is mistaken! Two words 'consolidated revenue'! I once worked for an area that had a very rare situation! Some kind of trust had been established for a section of bush, that saw "ALL" money's received for that area returned to the management of that area, and clear of DSE's consolidated revenue! We had the best of equipment, and provided a great service to those who use the area! Theories about using fees to exclude certain groups/members of the public from using the area are also wrong! Park/land management makes the government of the day next to zero $$$! Any money gathered is purely spent to offset the original expense in establishing/maintaining iconic bush/tourist experiences for the tourism industry! Also, the insignificant actions of an irresponsible few who choose to damage our public land areas can cause hundreds of thousands of dollars damage! This for a manageent team with $10,000 to sprend on fox control, rabbits, weeds and maintenance for an entire park, hurts! Don' blame the parkies! Blame/lobby the government! It's hard to place a value on park and camping management!

Cheers Juddy
Post by: PeteGU6 on February 08, 2015, 07:11:11 PM
I refuse to pay ridiculous prices for what is offered and then where they are not ridiculous, most of the time I wont pay because I want the flexability to decide where I stay on a day by day basis. State forrests for me till they hopefully review the structure and size of fees...
Post by: dales133 on February 08, 2015, 07:12:40 PM
I wouldn't again for tat money I agree with gone bush!
Post by: rastus on February 08, 2015, 08:21:20 PM
Lets all boycott .... say .... "The Grampians" and see how long the prices stay.

Once all the business owners start winging about lack of tourism and believe me they will, they will be the ones driving a demand to reverse the fees, because they rely on all campers to make a living.

rant over....rastus
Post by: dales133 on February 08, 2015, 08:27:58 PM
Exactly, any remote region relies on revenue from people that use campsites around it....just use wikic amps and find better alternatives
Post by: feisty on February 08, 2015, 09:06:34 PM
Appreciate what you are saying Juddy.  Consolidated revenue. .......   make money where you can.   Parks are meant to be free.   Not  everything in this world is or should be user pays.  No offence to anyone but I really don't give a rats about a highway upgrade between mildura and robinvale but I'm happy to pay for it cos that's what members of society do.   I don't expect the local dog owners to pay to take their dogs to the park down the road, I don't expect people to pay a daily fee to visit the local state forest or national park and I don't think overnight or short term campers should be slugged ridiculously OTT fees.   What's next? Admission fees for kids to attend local council park playgrounds?  Park usage is meant to be free.
RANT OVER ! 
I feel much better......
Post by: GanG on February 08, 2015, 09:38:08 PM
I will not pay, I already paid for that public land at the tax office. 2 filthy pit dunnies and a wind swept, dusty hill top for $37.60 a night...........Jam that :)
Title: Re: Who has avoided camping in Vic Parks since increased fee Introduction?
Post by: koshari on April 03, 2015, 06:36:37 AM
looks like common sense may have prevailed,

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/basic-camping-fee-axed-in-national-parks-20150402-1mdhoi.html (http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/basic-camping-fee-axed-in-national-parks-20150402-1mdhoi.html)
Title: Re: Who has avoided camping in Vic Parks since increased fee Introduction?
Post by: lindamc on April 03, 2015, 06:46:00 AM
Yep well done vic gov!

Post by: Paul Mac on April 03, 2015, 07:37:36 AM
It is good to see common sense prevail and a great start. It does only cover the 'basic' camping areas at present but it's a start. Hopefully a review will see the medium and high camping areas get a reduction in fees also. I would imagine many camping areas saw a huge reduction in usage over the past 9 months.

Post by: Snake on April 03, 2015, 09:42:49 AM
What are you supposed to do though if you just rock up on a whim and there is no ranger etc to pay?
Post by: Barry G on April 03, 2015, 09:46:23 AM
The crazy thing is you are supposed to book and pay on-line.
Following your nose without a mobile phone and computer is forbidden.
Post by: Snake on April 03, 2015, 09:53:41 AM
The crazy thing is you are supposed to book and pay on-line.
Following your nose without a mobile phone and computer is forbidden.

Bit of a joke really. I know it's been said to death but why should honest people pay and scumbag scrotes get away with without paying.
Post by: koshari on April 03, 2015, 11:51:28 AM
its more than that snake, you had to book online and obviously in advance if its one of the many sites without mobile internet reception, then you get there and find the site you booked wasn't compatible with your van or tug or whatever and you had no recourse,

in other word you were screwed.
Post by: koshari on April 03, 2015, 12:02:19 PM
I would imagine many camping areas saw a huge reduction in usage over the past 9 months.

this year the 90 mile beach annual surf fishing comp numbers this year were down something like 40%.

Post by: Paul Mac on April 03, 2015, 02:00:34 PM
It doesn't surprise me that the numbers were down. Golden Beach, Seaspray and Loch Sport businesses relied on the fishing carnival and Easter to survive the rest of the year. The announcement on the 2nd April will be too late for those towns this year to have a great Easter period I dare say.
Post by: speewa158 on April 03, 2015, 02:16:57 PM
ls it just me or is there a difference between DSE  , Parks or our indigenous Friends  all seem to have their hand out . ln the Far North West as in many other places the grubby hand is dipping you kick every time you try to enjoy anywhere .
All in the name of progress , but to where   .                        >:(                      :cheers:
Post by: Barry G on April 03, 2015, 04:08:10 PM
Let's see, Aboriginal communities are charging to visit attractions on / travel through their land, as any private landowner can, and in many cases have done for years.
At the direction of the previous government DSE etc were charging to camp in the public bush, including $30 a $40 / night in some instances where the only facility was likely to be a smelly pit dunny, as distinct from the composting ones found in parks interstate.
The outback is not 'terra nullius' for us modern explorers, the vast majority of it is occupied by someone. Where this is the case they are entitled to charge.