General => General Discussion => Topic started by: MrNoodle on April 03, 2014, 10:17:34 PM
I am still to get out in my new camper but like the idea of a fridge for foods and esky for frothies. I have an arkpack, going to put a 120 - 130 AH AGM batt in there, a 150 W solar panel of some kind and maybe this fridge
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Waeco-CF40-Fridge-Freezer-37L.aspx?pid=134788&menuFrom=1021966#Cross (http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Waeco-CF40-Fridge-Freezer-37L.aspx?pid=134788&menuFrom=1021966#Cross)
Does this fridge seem like a good starting out fridge? If I kept it in the back of my ute while driving, should I get a cig plug installed into the rear tub? Any other better ideas or fridges?
What about this Engel?
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924#Combo (http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924#Combo)
Does this seem like a feasible setup? Run some LED lighting and charging phones and stuff and
It's the older model waeco but a good deal. Doesn't use too many AHs. Your setup should be heaps.
SCA have the following on sale.
http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Fridge-Freezer-42L-Ridge-Ryder.aspx?pid=349024&menuFrom=90301#Cross (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Fridge-Freezer-42L-Ridge-Ryder.aspx?pid=349024&menuFrom=90301#Cross)
I run two fridges. IMO the best are Engel (a big outlay to start, but IMO they are the best). I am currently on the road and use two, which we find ample. A 40 litre as the main fridge and a 21 litre as a freezer.
What about this Engel?
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924#Combo (http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924#Combo)
Does this seem like a feasible setup? Run some LED lighting and charging phones and stuff and
The engel I have just picked up for $689. HAve a search on ebay. Its in the back of the prado running from 12volt whilst parked, yet to change the socket to an anderson plug, and runs 240v from the toyota factory inverter in the back, its an automatic changeover which I like. Good solid construction.....theres my two cents.
Cheers Nomad. :cheers:
I'm happy with my Bushman. Made in Melbourne, low power use and it is unique in the flexibility to adjust from 35 to 52 litres. Great baskets as well.
http://www.bushman.com.au/ (http://www.bushman.com.au/)
Whichever fridge you choose, just make sure the lid opening orientation suits your purpose and how you wish to access the fridge once in your vehicle. The Engel Eclipse lid is side opening and was not an option for me and my setup, so I went for the Engel MT45 with the lid opening lengthways. More expensive, but a great fridge !!
I run 2 engels and very happy with them, a 60L for our main fridge and a 32L for our freezer. I would stay with the main players if you can afford the initial outlay which is large but will pay for itself over time.
Also have a read here, http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=2411.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=2411.0)
If starting from scratch I would go 'Bushman'.
Whatever you get, I would fit an Anderson Plug or smaller version - PowerPoles - rather than ciggie lighter socket.
Ciggies are way to temperamental and known to work loose and either turn off or over heat as a result.
If you prefer that general shape then go the 'Merit' plug, which locks in much more betterer. :cheers:
I have nutted it down to 2, maybe 3?
Engel MR40F
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924&menuFrom=1021966#Combo (http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Engel-MR40F-Eclipse-Fridge-Freezer-38L.aspx?pid=165924&menuFrom=1021966#Combo)
and
Waeco CF 40
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Waeco-CF40-Fridge-Freezer-37L.aspx?pid=134788&menuFrom=1021966#Cross (http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Waeco-CF40-Fridge-Freezer-37L.aspx?pid=134788&menuFrom=1021966#Cross)
Any thoughts? Both are similar on power usage.
I did see this Evacool on sale and for similar money I can get a 60 Litre but their power consumption seems pretty high in comparison to the previous 2
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Evakool-RV-Fridge-Freezer-60L.aspx?pid=321831&menuFrom=1021966#Cross (http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/Evakool-RV-Fridge-Freezer-60L.aspx?pid=321831&menuFrom=1021966#Cross)
Noods
Personally I would save up and buy a Trailblaza. They have a mean reputation but costs alot of $$$$. That will be my next fridge when I sell my Engel.
Wayne
http://www.norcoast.com.au/ (http://www.norcoast.com.au/)
l have 2 Eclipse Engals have had since they 1st came out . 1 to freeze on longer trips & :cheers:Beers :cheers:
I have had plenty of Waeco's over the years and all have been excellent. In fact I just bought another one a few weeks ago to put into the new LC200.
Very happy with the Waeco product.
I have had plenty of Waeco's over the years and all have been excellent. In fact I just bought another one a few weeks ago to put into the new LC200.
It's funny how different people have different experiences with things.
Ive tried Waeco, Engel, Autofridge and more recently Evacool.
I rate all off them except the Waeco, it has been back for repairs and let me down numerous times. It is currently in need of some sort of poly block fuse as it won't run on 12v but is ok on 240v.
Definitely on the never buy again list I can tell you.
I bought a TecniIce fridge for my first.
http://www.techniice.com/car-fridges-1/60l-car-fridge.html (http://www.techniice.com/car-fridges-1/60l-car-fridge.html)
I payed $650 for the lot before Christmas, great fridge, big enough for our family (of 4) and doesn't run down the 100AH in the ArkPak too quick.
Very similar to the EvaKool fridge.
It's funny how different people have different experiences with things.
Ive tried Waeco, Engel, Autofridge and more recently Evacool.
I rate all off them except the Waeco, it has been back for repairs and let me down numerous times. It is currently in need of some sort of poly block fuse as it won't run on 12v but is ok on 240v.
Definitely on the never buy again list I can tell you.
I did a fair amount of research before we bought our fridge about 5 years ago. I paid a visit to the Cairns repairer seller of portable fridges. He sells Waeco, Evacool, Engel, Autofridge, Primus etc and repairs them all as well. He showed me the fridges he had in for repair. I know I was amazed at how many Waecos he had in his worshop that were getting repaired. I scratched Waeco off my list of potentials. That was a few years ago, maybe the newer Waecos are better now.
The cf40 is a good solid reliable fridge. I have had two of the cf range and been happy with both. Anaconda had the cf50 last week with lots of extras for 650. An absolute bargain.
Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
There is a big assumption in the OP's question. If you buy right, your "first fridge" will also be the last one you need to buy.
I originally had a 29 litre Engel (ye olde green and cream colour). It had the same innards as the 39L but a shorter body. Problem was you couldn't stand bottles upright in it. It had a hard life in the back of an FJ40 and excessive vibrations meant it needed repairing once or twice (it was a mistake buying the spring base). I sold it through the Trading Post for about what I paid for it (no eBay in those days) and replaced it with a 39 litre. That was 20 years ago and it is still going strong. It lives in the back of my vehicle and I tend to leave it running all the time. It hasn't missed a beat.
We've got a 60L Engel fridge in our camper, which we sometimes use in the tub of the covered ute. A mate of mine has a 65L CFX Waeco, and it is excellent from what I've seen of it in direct comparison on the same trips, for less $$.
If we had our time again now, we might have got 2x 40L CFX's, giving us the option to have one as fridge, one freezer, for not much more $$. The CFX's weren't out when we got the Engel. We will get a 2nd fridge down the track to put in the back of the 4WD, and it will be a CFX.
Also consider the height of anything you get. Will it fit where you want it to go, and will it fit the things inside it that you expect to want to have standing up. Example: I can't fit some wine bottles upright in our 60L Engel, and it's a pain. Just think it through and take a tape measure..
Engel MT45 for me. I run it off a 120AH AGM battery which is good for a weekend quite comfortably, along with some LED strip lights, phone chargers etc.
It cost a bomb, but it works very well. Ideally, I'd have another one in a camper too, but gotta get a camper yet!
I have a primus mammoth 65L, love it. danfoss compressor and I love the two lids, can have both fridges, both freezers or one fridge one freezer. I usually run drinks in one side as fridge and food in the other as fridge, this way when opening and closing for beers later at night you're not losing all the cold. Great quality fridge.
picked mine up for about 1k with the transit bag.
http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/fridge/item/primus-mammoth-65l-dual-zone-fridge-freezer.aspx (http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/fridge/item/primus-mammoth-65l-dual-zone-fridge-freezer.aspx)
what I don't get is why they are so damned expensive.
I can buy a big upright fridge/freezer for the kitchen for the same amount as these little suckers.
these have less components, smaller compressors etc etc
total rort if you ask me!
Good point! Never thought of it like that. +1 total rort...
I can buy a big upright fridge/freezer for the kitchen for the same amount as these little suckers.
Agreed!!
That has always hacked me off.
While I have one or three fridges. (Market allows a price point) so I am guilty of allowing manufacturers to get away with it.. It drives me nuts.. Well nuttier...
Rant over.
In regard to the OP.
As all have said above.. Work out exactly what you want/need out of a fridge/ freezer...
Have a look at a few... Get feedback on as many as you can. (Redundant comment cause this post is doing that)
Work out how much you are happy to spend vs. how long the fridge will last vs. how you plan to treat it.
Ie: a fridge in the back of a bouncy old ute in full sun, used every day during the last few years and competes in the tough truck winch challenges probably won't last as long as one that sits in your camper stationary most of the time.
Then buy the one SWMBO likes. ;)
This is a man who has mastered the art of staying married. You could run a whole course on marriage counselling with only those 6 words to read every week!!
Personally I would save up and buy a Trailblaza. They have a mean reputation but costs alot of $$$$. That will be my next fridge when I sell my Engel.
Wayne
http://www.norcoast.com.au/ (http://www.norcoast.com.au/)
I found the problem with the trailblazer was due to all the extra insulation that the external dimensions were huge compared to how much space was actually inside
Funny you should say that. I recently camped next to a lovely couple travelling in a twin cab with a tray. Apart from the weirdness of climbing a ladder to get a drink out of the fridge it was the exterior size of the fridge vs it usefulness that got me. He kept telling me how good the trailblazer was and how well it worked uncovered in the back of his ute in 40 degree heat. Well it would cos it had more insulation than the space shuttle. Was very impressed by the build quality though.
I have got 2x 60 litre evakools and are rapt with them, never had an issue. One in the car and the other in camper. One I brought second hand and the other new. I have used a 40l engel before and it was more power hungry than the evakool in my opinion. You won't be diss appointed with either. As long as they keep the beers cold all good. Steve
IMO the Evacool RF 60 is a brilliant fridge that underrated and very versatile. You can use it as fridge only, freezer only or combo.
The Evacool RF60 in the Trakabout definitely cycles way less than the 40 l Engel in the back of the cruiser. When summer camping we normally leave the back door of the cruiser open with the fridge in the drop position so that is not in the heat of the vehicle. Even SWMBO has noticed how little the Evacool is running compared to the Engel.
Don't get me wrong the Engel has been a brilliant fridge, but if I was in the market again the Evacool would probably get the nod.
It does stand to reason that evakool fridges would be efficient > after all it's just one of their esky's with a compressor and a few other bits tacked on the side, and the evakool esky has been THE only and best brand to get for the last 20+yrs IMO, and that of others judging by the numbers sold. You get what you pay for.
Just for your interest - Snowy's here in Adelaide have the later model CFX Waeco's on sale at great prices (CFX35 for $749).
Take this price to Anaconda and get them to beat it by 10% = super cheap fridge!!
I found the problem with the trailblazer was due to all the extra insulation that the external dimensions were huge compared to how much space was actually inside
Gotta agree....
I was at the 4wd show on the weekend and had a chat to them about custom size. They do a fridge with 50mm insulation all round but were not real interested in doing a custom size.
me to. I've had a 60 that has not been turned off for 6 years now. Been across aus three times and going great. I have a 50 Dual zone which is great for fruit and veg because it does not have an evaporator plate in the fridge area. You need to look at that else you will have no end of ruining veg.
Just for your interest - Snowy's here in Adelaide have the later model CFX Waeco's on sale at great prices (CFX35 for $749).
Take this price to Anaconda and get them to beat it by 10% = super cheap fridge!!
I looked up that snowys but couldn't find fridges?
At the moment I will be running the fridge from 240 but hopefully 12 volt off the car if I get it set up in time. I have a 130Amp SSB AGM going in an Ark Powerpack and going to be playing around setting up the 12 volt system soon (lights, fridge and chargers). Also plan a 160 watt panel for recharging. Am I reading into this too much?
The Evakool RV 60 litre or 80 litre on Evakool website says
Power usage*: Between 1.5 and 2 Amps per hour on average measured over a 24 hour period, motor cycling on/off. Power usage while running 3.75 Amps (RV25 & 35) & 4.58 Amps (RV62 & 82)
The Waeco CF40
Average Power Consumption: 0.87 amps/hr (@ 12V, 5°C interior, 32°C ambient temperature)
The Engel MR40F
DC POWER : Variable from 0.5 to 2.75 AMPS Maximum
Does this mean that the Evakool uses twice as much power as the others (its obviously bigger)? Does it even matter with the size battery and planned setup I have?
IMO the Evacool RF 60 is a brilliant fridge that underrated and very versatile. You can use it as fridge only, freezer only or combo.
The Evacool RF60 in the Trakabout definitely cycles way less than the 40 l Engel in the back of the cruiser. When summer camping we normally leave the back door of the cruiser open with the fridge in the drop position so that is not in the heat of the vehicle. Even SWMBO has noticed how little the Evacool is running compared to the Engel.
Don't get me wrong the Engel has been a brilliant fridge, but if I was in the market again the Evacool would probably get the nod.
How often it cycles is not the same as power consumption.
Oh really..... Thanks so much for pointing that out!!
Ok, I'm confused, please clarify your claim.
If a Fridge needs a burst of power to start the motor from static.
The Fridge starts up its cycle more often.
How is it using less power, than another Fridge that is not cycling as much?
Not cycling as much may mean it is better insulated and not heating up as quick.
I can understand that part.
As the owner of an ENGEL 60Ltr. F/F Combi..
I know I'm going to need to keep an eye on the batteries, if it's at a static camp.
In the words of a Fish and Chip Lady.
"Please explain."
There is so many on the market these days, it makes for a pretty hard decision, particularly if you trying to be conscious of money.
Ive just bought a new fridge myself, the price really chits me for something which is not that big after all.
Ive had a 40 litre Engle in the back of my bus' for many years and its never let me down, so for me the choice was very easy, I bought a 60 ltr F/F Engle, which will go in the CT, yes it costs more, but you get what you pay for IMO.
Engle all the way for me.
Swanny.
We purchased an Evakool RV80 for our trip around AU as it was the perfect size to fit in the Patrol with all our other gear. Also helped it was fairly cheap as well. I'd researched and Evakool had a good name etc so felt fairly safe getting it.
Actually worked mostly fine for nine months then the thermostat played up and ended up freezing everything even though was set to 4 degrees. Was also fairly sensitive to voltage drops and our 12v wiring setup needed to be redone to cope. Anyway we had the unit replaced at the closest BCF (they are an imported BCF only product) and thought we'd be fine however several weeks later the new unit failed. As it is a BCF product Evakool pretty much said it is a BCF issue so deal with them. Not quite the response I was hoping for!
Ended up backtracking 500kms to another BCF and they were actually great ... I said we needed something reliable and they said we'd need to upgrade. Timing meant they had a 25% discount on as well as the manager of the store knocking cash off of a brand new Waeco CF80 so it was straight swap!! Couldn't be happier now ... IF something goes wrong with the Waeco there are people around who can actually service them as opposed to the RV where it has to go back to a BCF!
I'm sure the actual Evakool fridges are probably good, just be wary of the RV range. Has to go back to BCF if issues and can't be serviced locally. For what it's worth my testing seems to indicate the power consumption might be less for the Evakool compared to the Waeco.
Sanz
Ok, I'm confused, please clarify your claim.
If a Fridge needs a burst of power to start the motor from static.
The Fridge starts up its cycle more often.
How is it using less power, than another Fridge that is not cycling as much?
Not cycling as much may mean it is better insulated and not heating up as quick.
I can understand that part.
As the owner of an ENGEL 60Ltr. F/F Combi..
I know I'm going to need to keep an eye on the batteries, if it's at a static camp.
In the words of a Fish and Chip Lady.
"Please explain."
To use a hypothetical example; a fridge may draw 0.5 Amp while it runs continuously and use less power than a fridge that draws 10 Amps while cycling at 5 minutes on and 15 minutes off. The first will consume 0.5 Ahr and the latter 2.5 Ahr (ie 10 divided by 4 as it is running 5 minutes out of twenty or 15 minutes out of 60).
So it's not just how often the thermostat switches on and off, but also how much power the motor needs when it does run.
So My Engel Needs approx. 4Amps when the motor cranks up and once the initial draw is over it's running on 1.5A - 2.5A, depending on thermostat setting.
This small draw of power continues until the temp. drops enough for the thermostat to shut off the motor. Then it waits till the temp. rises and it starts again.
Am I right so far?
Because that was how it was explained to me at the time of purchase.
Or is there another pump in there somewhere that continues to push the refridgerant through the coils? (I don't believe so.)
I believed the motor compresses the refridgerant into liquid and it is pushed around into the coils by this action. The heat turns it back into gas which then bleeds off and the thing starts another cycle. In the down time between Cycles. The only part actually sucking power would be the Thermostat and its display (milliamps.). (and maybe the inside light when you open the door :D)
Have I got that part right?
I'm just trying to understand, ok.
I'm a lot happier with spanners and screwdrivers etc.
So My Engel Needs approx. 4Amps when the motor cranks up and once the initial draw is over it's running on 1.5A - 2.5A, depending on thermostat setting.
This small draw of power continues until the temp. drops enough for the thermostat to shut off the motor. Then it waits till the temp. rises and it starts again.
Am I right so far?
Because that was how it was explained to me at the time of purchase.
Or is there another pump in there somewhere that continues to push the refridgerant through the coils? (I don't believe so.)
I believed the motor compresses the refridgerant into liquid and it is pushed around into the coils by this action. The heat turns it back into gas which then bleeds off and the thing starts another cycle. In the down time between Cycles. The only part actually sucking power would be the Thermostat and its display (milliamps.). (and maybe the inside light when you open the door :D)
Have I got that part right?
I'm just trying to understand, ok.
I'm a lot happier with spanners and screwdrivers etc.
Sounds reasonable, but my comment was not so much about the "how". It was more that you can't compare two different fridges' power consumption or efficiency just on how often they cycled.
Well I was still unsure and went for a look at the fridges at Anaconda. Walked in and the Waeco CF 50 was $799 with a travel bag. Now I hope it fits under the ute cover! Cheers for your hints and tips
Same as Swannie.......40lt Engel in the cruiser and 57lt Engel fridge/freezer in the camper, running off solar when static.
Miko1 Dead right. Just had to buy a new house fridge, bloody thing is taller then I am, and cost LESS then a car fridge. W.T.F. ?