General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on January 03, 2011, 08:07:56 AM

Title: Newbees Gathering
Post by: speewa158 on January 03, 2011, 08:07:56 AM
Calling all Swaggers    New , Old , Young , Lets draw a spot on the map to collect as many as possible to gather around the camp fire . Bring your CT , chairs   :cheers: for a weekend of CTs
Where is to be discussed ,  but mid to late Feb , 2-3 hours Melb ,
Lets get some idear of numbers then we can find a site .
So over to you Swaggers that have been to , have wanted to go to or missed any of the catch ups .
They are a hoot , lots of friends you havent met yet    SO ,,,,,
Title: Re: Newbees Gathering
Post by: sschmez on January 03, 2011, 09:59:07 AM
I reckon the Schmezzs would be up for that  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 03, 2011, 10:39:13 AM
Suggested site Balaclava mine  Via Rushworth  
2wd  road in to all areas
2 hours Melb in the lovely Goulbern Valley  ( 1 of my old stamping grounds )
close to town of Rushworth
steeped in history / bush walks / birds / Whroo cemetery / township
level grassed areas for Lots of CTs
40 ( odd ) KM from SPC Cannery outlet in Shepparton to restock the larder  cheap
a water less site ( not dry ) but you can carry  for the weekend
google the Balaclava mine  & the specials at the SPC website for info .
 Great sites in or around the area  
check Camps 5 Vic map 48  2 D  :cheers:
Thursday 18/02/2011 to Monday 21/02/2011 & all days it between
Post by: dno on January 03, 2011, 10:51:47 AM
Could be a goer for us. But would have to confirm closer to the date due to work load at this time of year..
Post by: D4D on January 03, 2011, 11:07:33 AM
We'll probably make it a day trip
Post by: Crimso on January 03, 2011, 11:13:20 AM
Calling all Swaggers    New , Old , Young , Lets draw a spot on the map to collect as many as possible to gather around the camp fire . Bring your CT , chairs   :cheers: for a weekend of CTs
Where is to be discussed ,  but mid to late Feb , 2-3 hours Melb ,
Lets get some idear of numbers then we can find a site .
So over to you Swaggers that have been to , have wanted to go to or missed any of the catch ups .
They are a hoot , lots of friends you havent met yet    SO ,,,,,

Move Melbourne to Maleny & I might come.  :cheers: :cheers: ;D
Post by: gronk on January 03, 2011, 12:26:29 PM
Well Speewa, theres no excuse for any Mexicans not attending ......theres nowhere in Victoria thats more than 2 - 3 hrs from Melbourne !!! ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 03, 2011, 01:28:23 PM
Gronk  put this in your dairy & so you will remrmber to come on down To the Land of Plenty . Looking forward to meeting you there , will cool a coldie just for you . :cheers:
19 / 20 Feb
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 03, 2011, 02:59:23 PM
put this in your dairy & so you will remrmber to come on down

And if no-one has a Dairy then put in your Diary ... LOL!  Speewa you crack me up ...

Post by: speewa158 on January 03, 2011, 04:10:30 PM
I will be there  I will be the bloke with a coldie in claw by the fire  grab a chair & wonder down . Rock in  & join us .
Post by: hutchie62 on January 03, 2011, 04:20:59 PM
Sounds good, should be right to catch up Thursday & Friday night. The Saturday night we have a 71st, the wife's 50th & daughters 21st.
Post by: cancan on January 03, 2011, 04:40:24 PM
+1 For Maleny
Post by: Sir Kev + Darkie on January 03, 2011, 05:33:08 PM
What about the Glenpatrick Reserve at the Pyrenees???
Post by: Brett B on January 03, 2011, 05:36:11 PM
Sounds good  just about got the trailer sorted
Hangin to meet some of you guys and girls :cheers:
Post by: Mandrake on January 03, 2011, 06:49:10 PM
Mandrake and Nada could be a starter from Friday night onwards ..

I'll bring a few cold ones and a couple of reds ..

Oh yeah and a heap of Solar gear if anyone wants to check out the possibilities without
paying up front !!

Now there's a plan ...

PS - Hey Speewa - Its in the dairy on my Pheletone !!
Post by: speewa158 on January 03, 2011, 07:13:31 PM
Post by: idlegossip on January 03, 2011, 10:31:22 PM
We might be a goer for this but will need to confirm closer to the date.
We would only be the Saturday night though.

will be watching this closely.
Post by: speewa158 on January 04, 2011, 05:23:55 AM
Starters
Speewa    x 2
D4D         x2       for the day
Hutchie62 x2
BrettB
GeoffA      x2
RowanB
Ralphedward x2+ 3 + 1 dog
Barry1956  x2
Fivid         x2 + 2 puppies
Tambodaryl
Mandrake   x2
Outbackjack
Black diamond X6
Wisepone s  X4
Miniac     x 4
Pacs     x2

To Be Starters
Idlegossip
Jtraf
GU Rich
Any others can be added to a growing list of Swaggers
Post by: fabulous on January 04, 2011, 06:50:48 AM
Sounds Great, BUT, wrong weekend.....  (We really need to free up more weekends)

We'll be heading away on a cruise for our 1st wedding anniversary.

We're sure you'll have a great weekend.

Phil & Karen
Post by: GeoffA on January 04, 2011, 07:46:23 AM
My wife and I wouldn't mind going to this, but would need to confirm after the date has been decided.

Geoff
Post by: sschmez on January 04, 2011, 07:56:08 AM
Gronk  put this in your dairy & so you will remrmber to come on down To the Land of Plenty . Looking forward to meeting you there , will cool a coldie just for you . :cheers:
19 / 20 Feb

19/20 Feb is out for me.
Wandin 4x4 show is on the 20th (http://www.victorian4wdshow.com.au/store/default.pl) and I'll be manning a stand

Have a good one
Stevo
Post by: Black Diamond on January 04, 2011, 09:07:25 PM
Gday lads :cheers:

I should be right for Sat/Sun at this stage, but will confirm as we get closer  :cup:

Looking forward to this one :cheers:
Cant wait sink a few Tinnies and talk some s h i t e with some Swaggers  :D
See if i can get me ole mate Rob - Black Stump to come along. He's good value the big fella :cheers:
cheers John
Post by: Rowanb on January 04, 2011, 09:52:28 PM
Me and the other half are keen as we are yet to meet you "my swaggers" but will depend on work commitments kids etc.
Post by: speewa158 on January 05, 2011, 05:17:17 PM
All are welcome its not just Newbees but a Swaggers get together  is not to be missed , just be there  :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on January 05, 2011, 06:42:28 PM
I could be a goer for this as well, it should be the campers maiden voyage.   Just need to avoid any work commitments for that weekend.

Post by: Barry G on January 05, 2011, 07:29:26 PM
Many years since I was in the Whroo area, certainly a great spot.
As Yoda says: "There is only do or do not, there is no try."  Put me on the list. :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 05, 2011, 08:02:51 PM
Done & dusted  :cheers:
Post by: Fivid on January 05, 2011, 09:07:44 PM
Reckon we will be able to get there on the Friday evening, will be great to meet everyone.
Post by: speewa158 on January 06, 2011, 06:05:50 AM
Good to hear
Post by: tambodaryl on January 06, 2011, 07:58:45 AM
Put me in,  Daryl.
Post by: poppasmurf on January 06, 2011, 03:18:43 PM
Sorry we can't make this one as we already have plans for that weekend. Hope you all enjoy yourselves and we will try for the next one.

Shane
Post by: speewa158 on January 06, 2011, 04:36:37 PM
Poppasmuf Thats a pity  ,next time yes  :cheers:
Tambodaryl done & dusted
Post by: poppasmurf on January 06, 2011, 04:44:11 PM
Such is life mate. It's really rather annoying. I got home from work this arvo and SWMBO told me she had booked in to the Hume resort for that weekend so I had better organise the time off work, or else!!!!!!! Then I jumped online to see a Swagger gathering for the same date.
We had to use it soon or lose it since it was a gift from our eldest daughter.

Cheers until next time(I hope)
Post by: Fivid on January 06, 2011, 06:23:05 PM
Such is life mate. It's really rather annoying. I got home from work this arvo and SWMBO told me she had booked in to the Hume resort for that weekend so I had better organise the time off work, or else!!!!!!! Then I jumped online to see a Swagger gathering for the same date.
We had to use it soon or lose it since it was a gift from our eldest daughter.

Cheers until next time(I hope)

I hear Hume resort is good, never stayed there but only heard good things and with the water level so high you should have a great time.
Post by: poppasmurf on January 07, 2011, 06:43:12 AM
I hope so Dave, I have lived in this area most of my life and I have never been there.
Post by: speewa158 on January 07, 2011, 04:36:39 PM
poppasmurf I dont know a relaxed weekend in a resort with a bar , air conditioned  hugh comfy bed & someone you love . Or 2 days with us in the bush in our CTs . Can I come with you , no really . You have a cuddle we will have a camp fire  both hot . Next time  :cheers:
Post by: poppasmurf on January 07, 2011, 06:02:29 PM
Speewa, Tracey said to thank you for calling her hot, and after only meeting once. She must have made quite an impression.LOL. ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 07, 2011, 06:03:59 PM
More to the point its your decerning taste in women  :-*
Post by: ralphedward on January 08, 2011, 09:27:11 PM
 ;D Speewa you've started something here.  Provided the camper arrives on time I'm in.  Just means I've got to buy a few more additions for the campers maiden voyage as SWMBO and the girls have decided that they are up for it as well (there goes my peace).   Looking forward to meeting a few of the people from this site and checking out some set ups (so much for the bank balance). If Mandrake brings the solar gear along, as an ex sparky who will have a camper with no power, it could be hazardous for my finances!!!!!

Post by: speewa158 on January 09, 2011, 05:36:39 AM
Mark I do belive you have missed the point of money. $ is a fluid thing  that flows ,seeps drips gushes out of a bank account in all sorts of directions . & for no petisular reason. Hang the expence come bush camping cant spend much there .  I will bring my (Mandrake) solor to show as well
You bring a pen & paper to note down all the things that will be really handy to have in your new CT .  Dont be scared you if you work hard might pay it off eventully ,Catch you soon  :cheers:
Post by: Fivid on January 09, 2011, 06:55:14 AM
Mark I do belive you have missed the point of money. $ is a fluid thing  that flows ,seeps drips gushes out of a bank account in all sorts of directions . & for no petisular reason. Hang the expence come bush camping cant spend much there .  I will bring my (Mandrake) solor to show as well
You bring a pen & paper to note down all the things that will be really handy to have in your new CT .  Dont be scared you if you work hard might pay it off eventully ,Catch you soon  :cheers:

And bring a camera too cos you always get to see some ingenious idea that someone has had, a way of doing something really nifty that you can never figure out later on...  And doing your own little things to the camper helps fill in time between camping trips!
Post by: Mandrake on January 09, 2011, 08:13:49 AM
Minor amendment --
Thanks SSCHMEZ !! :cup: - Stand 131 at Wandin 4X4 is now mine !! - So we'll be coming up friday for overnight stay then off to Wandin to setup for Sunday ...
I'll have some stuff on board for lookers and touchers ...

Post by: Fivid on January 09, 2011, 12:30:04 PM
Minor amendment --
Thanks SSCHMEZ !! :cup: - Stand 131 at Wandin 4X4 is now mine !! - So we'll be coming up friday for overnight stay then off to Wandin to setup for Sunday ...
I'll have some stuff on board for lookers and touchers ...

Will be good to talk to someone about solar that uses and knows their stuff, work out what the next step is for us.
Post by: hutchie62 on January 09, 2011, 02:06:05 PM
Is anyone going to be staying on the sunday night, might see if I can get monday off.
Post by: speewa158 on January 09, 2011, 05:30:31 PM
Swaggers  We have just returned  frow a recky trip to chech the site at Whroo  via Rushworth . Will be posting directions to the Green rd camp site only 7km out of town . Met the Ranger Tim had a chat about how he wants it to happen , Camping on level sites with a common fire place , so each Swagger should collect a goodly amount of wood on the way up . There is no water on site so bring all drinking  & washing with you, But there are DUNNIES for Swaggers & Swagetts .
As usual all rubbish will be returned to your bin at home & we will tread lightly at the site .
They know were coming so its best foot forward then we can come back .
Load the cameras as suggested to rip off ideas , Steve will have solar to play with or just look at mine .  Its all looking good Site , facilities , all we need are Swaggers looking to have a good time
 Check Camps 5 site 258               :cheers:
Post by: Fivid on January 09, 2011, 06:03:43 PM
Sounds great.  Is it a dog friendly place or would it be preferred if we leave them at home?  We have two 13 week old puppies, trying to get them used to travelling but totally understand if dogs either not allowed or not welcome... 
Post by: GeoffA on January 09, 2011, 06:09:28 PM
Sounds good Speewa,

We're still on for this, and looking forward to it.

"[i...........]rip off ideas...........[/i]"..........What do you mean????????? ;D

The solar stuff will be good. It's very high on my list.

At this stage, my wife and I will probably be travelling up Friday, and stay until Monday.
It will depend on work etc.......

Cheers to all,
Geoff
Post by: speewa158 on January 09, 2011, 06:30:42 PM
GeoffA thats my plan to , if the grog holds out  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 09, 2011, 06:38:30 PM
Fivid the rules are dogs are permitted in the reserve but on leads at all times . Check www.parkweb.vic.gov.au then Whroo Historic Reserve  & have a poke about . The kiosk is closed & up for sale so disregard that  but its a ripper camp site  :cheers:
Camps 5 camp 258
Post by: GeoffA on January 09, 2011, 06:41:50 PM
Speewa,

.........if the grog holds out ............ ???
Rushy is just up the road a bit........ :cheers:

Geoff
Post by: speewa158 on January 09, 2011, 06:44:12 PM
Rushy is 7 km away        I wonder if they deliver   ???
Post by: Black Diamond on January 09, 2011, 10:03:43 PM
Any others bringing their kids along?

cheers John
Post by: Barry G on January 09, 2011, 10:14:27 PM
Probably my 15 y.o. son.
Post by: speewa158 on January 10, 2011, 06:19:09 AM
Bring the young Swaggers as thereis lots of flat ground to run around  or ride their bikes they  too will have fun .
Might be time to do a head count
Speewa x2
Post by: GeoffA on January 10, 2011, 06:56:54 AM
GeoffA x2
Post by: outback jack on January 10, 2011, 01:06:44 PM
i'll be a starter (friday till sunday)

looking forward to it  :cheers:

jack
Post by: Rowanb on January 10, 2011, 03:24:05 PM
Bikes? dirtbikes I hope, nothing better to disturb the racket mother nature makes than with a dirtbike. ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 10, 2011, 04:03:32 PM
MOTOR BIKES NOT ALLOWED IN THE RESERVE   listern to that serenity . Kids on push bikes ok
Post by: hutchie62 on January 10, 2011, 04:03:57 PM
Hutchie x 2, friday night & sunday night
Post by: Fivid on January 10, 2011, 06:11:28 PM
Fiona and Dave, maybe  2 pups...  Fri to Sun
Post by: Rowanb on January 10, 2011, 07:55:18 PM
MOTOR BIKES NOT ALLOWED IN THE RESERVE   listern to that serenity . Kids on push bikes ok

Damn Government fun police. Dirtbike riders have feelings too.  :'(
Post by: Black Diamond on January 10, 2011, 08:35:16 PM
At this stage, there will be 6 of us on Friday till Sunday. ;D

Just out of interest, is this the spot? Greens campground?
http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au/resources05/05_0624.pdf

cheers John
Post by: ralphedward on January 10, 2011, 09:07:06 PM
At this stage it will be myself and son,  with the distinct possibility of SWMBO and the 2 daughters (and if that's the case then the real Ralph Edward, the German Stupid [Shepherd] will make an appearance as well.  Fri - Sun arvo.

Geez I hope hope the camper arrives before then!!!!!
Post by: speewa158 on January 11, 2011, 02:37:15 AM
Black Diamond  Spot on the Greens rd camp ground is the go. checked it out on sunday .  See you there  :cheers:
Ralphedward Hope you can get there if you dont have a camper just stand under a tree .
Post by: speewa158 on January 11, 2011, 06:06:53 PM
jtrak your on the To be starter list , be good to see you & your trib there  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on January 11, 2011, 10:10:25 PM
Black Diamond  Spot on the Greens rd camp ground is the go. checked it out on sunday .  See you there  :cheers:
Ralphedward Hope you can get there if you dont have a camper just stand under a tree .

Can't wait Speewa, should be a beauty mate  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 12, 2011, 05:07:05 PM
It will be the people at camp that will make it  :cheers:
Post by: wiseone on January 13, 2011, 08:40:50 PM
Please add 2 x big and 2 smaller Wiseones

(smaller ones being 7 & 10 yo boys, very busy boys.  I can't say for sure if they'll stay on their leashes) :laugh:

Russell
Post by: Rowanb on January 13, 2011, 08:59:21 PM
Can I bring my kids? XXXX my youngest (my special one) and wild turkey my oldest
(Sharon's favourite)? They will be good will keep them close by at all times.
Post by: speewa158 on January 14, 2011, 03:57:51 PM
Rowanb why dont you stay home with the kids & send Sharon  ;D Just a thought  ( dont tell my SWOMBO  I am at it again , Thinking )  :cheers:
Post by: Rowanb on January 14, 2011, 09:08:51 PM
Speewa she would get lonely without me, or be happier lol one of the two. My kids being 17 and 19 they will stay at home, just bringing the kids we have adopted from Dan Murphy's Orphanage.
Post by: Fivid on January 15, 2011, 05:40:52 AM
Speewa she would get lonely without me, or be happier lol one of the two. My kids being 17 and 19 they will stay at home, just bringing the kids we have adopted from Dan Murphy's Orphanage.

We try our best to be nice to all those Dan Murphy kids too, We pay the adoption fee, bring them home with us, find them a great spot in the house, make sure they are not too hot or too cold, we have them watching TV with us, take them outside when working in the yard or up in the shed, take them camping, etc. and all too soon they run out on us and we are left with a vacancy in our house that we just need to fill again.... 
Post by: speewa158 on January 15, 2011, 06:05:34 AM
if you get 4 Swaggers together there will always be a 5th wont there  8) :cheers:
Post by: Rowanb on January 15, 2011, 09:42:58 PM
We try our best to be nice to all those Dan Murphy kids too, We pay the adoption fee, bring them home with us, find them a great spot in the house, make sure they are not too hot or too cold, we have them watching TV with us, take them outside when working in the yard or up in the shed, take them camping, etc. and all too soon they run out on us and we are left with a vacancy in our house that we just need to fill again.... 

Ungrateful little bastards. Know how you feel, but the positive is that you can always adopt more, sometimes 2 for 1. Makes me proud to get these kids of the dusty old store.
Post by: speewa158 on January 17, 2011, 05:39:50 PM
Had some Swaggers that dont have their CT yet , So turn up anyway fling up your tent or sleep under a tree . The important thing is your there . So dont be bashful .   :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on January 17, 2011, 08:57:41 PM
At this stage it will be myself and son,  with the distinct possibility of SWMBO and the 2 daughters (and if that's the case then the real Ralph Edward, the German Stupid [Shepherd] will make an appearance as well.  Fri - Sun arvo.

Geez I hope hope the camper arrives before then!!!!!

Speewa,

After I swore blind to SWMBO that I was never going to use the tent again unless I could sleep at least a metre from the floor on an inner spring mattress (whilst her idea of roughing it is a night at the Hyatt),  I just bought a shower tent -- so bugger it, camper or not I'll be there  ---  I just may have to sleep vertically!
Post by: speewa158 on January 18, 2011, 07:22:06 PM
Ralphedward got you down as starters already think of the savings you will be making . You in camp at Whroo cost SFA , SWOMBO at the HYATT room service , mini bar , spa , masause in room service , nails in room , pizza in room + extrs  . You poor Bastard  We might never see you again  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on January 18, 2011, 08:40:42 PM
Speewa do you know if they allow Gennie's to charge the batteries or is that sacrilege  ;D
Post by: D4D on January 18, 2011, 08:47:52 PM
Any chance the camp ground could be underwater?
Post by: speewa158 on January 19, 2011, 01:59:18 AM
Black Diamond  Dont see a problem with a genny , but  when its running we drink your grog so bring LOTS :cheers:
D4D Dont think there will be a problem with water but have a mate called Noah will contact him re same . At the moment wrong area will keep you posted closer to date  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on January 19, 2011, 08:31:39 PM
Hey Speewa........Noah  :D :D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Righto sounds like there will be a drinking comp on  :cheers: :cheers:
I will be in that matey  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 20, 2011, 06:35:41 PM
B D  there will be no drinking comp as I am not a bid drinker , in fact I only have 2 drinks a night .
 I have 1 then another 1 then 1 then another 1 so in reality I only have 1 a night .    :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on January 26, 2011, 01:19:05 AM
Ralphedward got you down as starters already think of the savings you will be making . You in camp at Whroo cost SFA , SWOMBO at the HYATT room service , mini bar , spa , masause in room service , nails in room , pizza in room + extrs  . You poor Bastard  We might never see you again  :cheers:

If I can work out how to stay in the s$!t with SWMBO I may just be camping permanently. Couldn't be all that bad could it?
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 03:42:29 AM
Ralphedward  do I sence " troble at mill "                   :-[
Post by: Ray-C on January 26, 2011, 09:42:20 AM
Move Melbourne to W.A . And I will be in it. .....Then again Maybe not a good idea Thats where the Family is. :laugh:
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 05:27:11 PM
Ray C did we start the Australia day cheer a bit early today or was it a late finish  :cheers:
By the way are you coming to Whroo & with how many  ??? ???
Post by: Fivid on January 26, 2011, 05:32:31 PM
Good to keep distance between family and home...  At least enough distance that they ring before coming to visit! 

As for moving Melbourne to WA....  How about you just take some bits and the rest stays where it is.   Sports, Restaurants, etc stay.  WA can have the pipeline, the desal plant and all the bills that go with both of them, and, bugger it, you can have parliament house too! 
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 05:52:22 PM
I have been reviewing the page 2 list to try to get an idea of the size of the show , could you check if your listed the crew size & let me know if its not listed already  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on January 26, 2011, 06:33:30 PM
We'll be day trippers
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 06:56:46 PM
 8)
Post by: GU Rich on January 26, 2011, 06:57:07 PM
I can't make this one But I"ll be watching for others!!
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 07:03:36 PM
Pity      8)
Post by: Brett B on January 26, 2011, 07:10:16 PM
We will be there x2  friday arvo
Brett B
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 07:26:33 PM
 8)
Post by: Miniac on January 26, 2011, 09:12:32 PM
At this stage, count SWMBO and I in for this, and maybe another couple.
Could we maybe update the first post to show the exact details of where we are going etc and maybe an update of who is going.

Cam
Post by: speewa158 on January 27, 2011, 03:26:47 AM
Miniac Looking foward to meeting you . Now Greens rd camp site is 7km out or Rushworth via Rushworth / Nagambie rd  Near ths Balaclava Hill mine at Whroo  Good drit rd for the last few km .
Camp is 400m off the road signed  ( or it was a few weeks ago )  or Camps 5 site 258 . If you come in from Nagambie then its a lot more dirt in through Bailston  ( not a town an area ) .
As far as whos coming post 14 page 2  :cheers:
Post by: pacs on January 27, 2011, 10:03:35 AM
Hey all just been checking dates and all looks good so I will word Missy up tonight but would love to attend
Post by: speewa158 on January 27, 2011, 04:51:48 PM
 8) Look forward to meeting you  :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on January 27, 2011, 08:09:25 PM
Yahoo, the camper arrives next week - I don't have to sleep vertically!

Hey Speewa,  I saw you today (can't be too many white Paj's around with Speewa scratched into the middle rear mud flap).  If I had have been able to catch ya I would have said gidday!

Post by: speewa158 on January 28, 2011, 05:17:17 AM
Was I awake when you saw me ? If I was traveling would have only been to the bottle shop , not far . :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on January 28, 2011, 07:58:12 PM
You had the boot in so my guess is you were heading for the bottleshop.  Should have done the same myself a little bit earlier - I've just run out - Oh well SWMBOs wine is looking good!!!!
Post by: speewa158 on January 30, 2011, 07:12:44 AM
Just having a read through the list of starters & i am stasrting to think the area camp might be starting to fill to full . I hope all that said we can pack em in . there is only 26000HA of bush shoul find room some where , Or get in early  :cheers:
Post by: outback jack on January 30, 2011, 07:48:33 AM
lets hope no other group has planned a trip that weekend to the same spot

jack

Post by: Muso on January 30, 2011, 08:51:05 AM
I think Mandrake got his merds wubbled up ;D
Post by: Mandrake on January 30, 2011, 09:14:08 AM
Which Merds did I get wubbled ?  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 30, 2011, 10:15:44 AM
Outback Jack  I plan to arrive early on Friday set up , if anybody wants to camp anywhere close then I will get dressed a have a chat to them . Not many stay when I wonder over & I might turn down the Slim Dusty CD a bit   >:D :cheers:
Post by: D4D on January 30, 2011, 10:17:07 AM
How do I erase that mental image  :-X
Post by: speewa158 on January 30, 2011, 10:20:23 AM
 :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: >:D
Post by: outback jack on January 30, 2011, 10:34:05 AM
I'll be there mid morning friday, just in time to knock the top off one  :cheers:

jack
Post by: Barry G on January 30, 2011, 11:10:18 AM
I'll be there mid morning friday, just in time to knock the top off one  :cheers:

jack

Likewise!
Post by: Fivid on January 30, 2011, 11:14:07 AM
We should be there somewhere between 7 and 8pm.  A line up of big dog bowls near the camp seems to keep other campers away we found, maybe we should bring extras.  The clothing optional bit... may give that a miss until after unless there are too many  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 30, 2011, 12:11:06 PM
RoghtO you bring the  :cheers: & I keep the duds on  ,  Hope its drinking weather  :cheers:
Post by: Fivid on January 30, 2011, 01:08:21 PM
Beer if its hot, bourbon and port if it is cold!  Always drinking weather!
Post by: speewa158 on January 30, 2011, 02:07:32 PM
That's what I like adaptable Swaggers  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on January 30, 2011, 05:41:27 PM
Should be there sometime Friday  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Nothing wrong with a bit of Slim Dusty Speewa  :cheers: as long as you dont mind a bit of Maiden  :cup:
Post by: outback jack on January 30, 2011, 07:02:58 PM
hey speewa, if the current victorian temperatures continue do you reckon i should pack a few more "liquid refreshments" for the gathering  ???  :cheers:

jack
Post by: speewa158 on January 31, 2011, 03:50:40 AM
It was very cold today as I locked myself in the cool room of the supermaket bottleshop  then they threw me out  ;D . Might be of interest to forsee the temp for our trip . Pack extra if you think you need it  ;D
Post by: ralphedward on January 31, 2011, 09:08:06 PM
In my last 50yrs I've found drinking to be the be the thing that I understand most in this life. It's really easy - you drink, then you fall down (that's called rest), then you stop resting and start all over again.

Disclaimer:{all comments offered by myself in the making of this post have not been scrutinised by SWMBO and therefore must be considered invalid!}

I'm just about to fall down (I'm still on holidays) so therefore I don't care about the validity of my comments :cheers:

Post by: Black Diamond on February 03, 2011, 09:05:50 PM
Hey Speewa might have to give ya mate 'Noah' a buzz. There is a fair bit of rain forecast.
Hopefully things will dry out.

Nevermind we can drink through it  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 04, 2011, 04:54:57 AM
Black  Diamond Have a drink of cement & harden up , last week its to hot this week its to wet .Make up your mind are you up for this or what  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on February 04, 2011, 07:39:46 PM
 ;D More like i need some VIAGRA eye drops so i can take a long hard look at myself  8)

Im up for it son if you are  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 05, 2011, 01:57:50 PM
If the 135mm of rain we have had in the back yard here are anything to go by could be a tad moist between the toes at Whroo  :cheers:
Post by: Fivid on February 05, 2011, 02:22:19 PM
A couple of weeks yet, should be great, plenty of greenery and not too much dust.  Perfect for a drink or three
Post by: outback jack on February 05, 2011, 05:39:14 PM
or four  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on February 05, 2011, 06:03:34 PM
If the 135mm of rain we have had in the back yard here are anything to go by could be a tad moist between the toes at Whroo  :cheers:

We had 120mm in the back yard, and a few extra in the lounge room............but a lot less than others...........
Post by: Rowanb on February 05, 2011, 07:56:38 PM
We are still good to go at this stage, we are currently in Toowoomba seeing my folks as they are crook. After repacking a over heating bearing on the the C/T on the way up it should be in tip top shape.

Why must women take pics when its obviously embarrassing to repack bearings in the campsite? WHY?
Post by: Black Diamond on February 05, 2011, 08:18:00 PM
We had 120mm in the back yard, and a few extra in the lounge room............but a lot less than others...........
Hope all is good mate.

My pool filled up by 6 inches overnight. Had to get up and backwash it as we got a fair bit this morning as well.
Post by: GeoffA on February 06, 2011, 05:36:34 AM
Hope all is good mate.

My pool filled up by 6 inches overnight. Had to get up and backwash it as we got a fair bit this morning as well.

Thanks BD. We're OK. Just got some carpet to dry out, and some ceilings to paint. Nothing, compared to others.
We've had big rain before (Feb 2004), but the intensity got us this time. It just couldn't get away. Spent yesterday closing gates after horses had bolted.........
Post by: speewa158 on February 06, 2011, 05:40:18 AM
GeoffA should be ready for the 2nd coat about now  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on February 06, 2011, 05:45:37 AM
RowanB If thw SWOMBO is busy with the camera recording the event then she wont have to help as she has the camera instead . At least she is diong sumething  ( did I really post that  ???)  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on February 06, 2011, 06:18:11 AM
GeoffA should be ready for the 2nd coat about now  ;D

Nah. The painting can wait.......... :cheers:
Post by: D4D on February 08, 2011, 08:34:17 AM
Speewa is it 'Greens Campground'?
http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au/resources05/05_0624.pdf

Does this matter
http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au/1park_display.cfm?park=214
The open cut Balaclava Mine in the Whroo Historic Area has been temporarily closed due to concerns over visitor safety.

Post by: speewa158 on February 08, 2011, 05:28:35 PM
D4D the Greens camp site is some distance from the mine & in no way closed . Balacava Mine is a hole in a hill & as such OH&S have stuck there head up & said OH SH1111111T its a hole in the ground . Spoke to the ranger , He said the biggest problem is there are shafts that if your really dumb can get in to them . If you do get in to these holes & into troble Darwin Awards will be forth coming . You can still walk on the pathway through from top to bottom , its open cut , a hollow hill . Quite safe as is , so no worries . If you stay in camp that could be even safer .  Tucked up in a comfy chair with a blanket over your knees to stay warm , A cup o tea , or  :cheers:
Post by: outback jack on February 08, 2011, 06:57:52 PM
 :cheers: for me

jack

Post by: Fivid on February 08, 2011, 07:07:03 PM
Tucked up in a comfy chair with a blanket over your knees to stay warm , A cup o tea , or  :cheers:

Definitely  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:  Only thing is that our fridge is too big and heavy to get out of the Patrol to sit it by my side and the kids have left home... Every time I get comfy I will have to get up for another  :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on February 08, 2011, 08:37:47 PM
Definitely  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:  Only thing is that our fridge is too big and heavy to get out of the Patrol to sit it by my side and the kids have left home... Every time I get comfy I will have to get up for another  :cheers:

I'm bringing a couple of my kids along.  I'm sure that we can train them (in very quick time) to do this and I'll only charge a few bevvies for their services.  (yet again this comment only rings true until SWMBO finds out).

Post by: Fivid on February 09, 2011, 01:18:56 PM
Have been wondering if I could teach our dogs to do this task... 
Post by: speewa158 on February 09, 2011, 05:55:01 PM
Lets get real training kids or dogs is fun to keep the supply of coldies up to your requirements , there is someone left out . SWOMBO , She knows you , she wants to be there & to help you , Got to love that . ( I am not here you have not read this  iamgoingtohidundertheCTasIamnothere )
Post by: Fivid on February 09, 2011, 07:21:33 PM
What UHF Channel will you be on Speewa?  I will call you when we are 10 minutes away to give you warning.  You should start running....  I'll try and restrain her but it will be a tough job and I may not succeed...
Post by: ralphedward on February 09, 2011, 08:18:45 PM
Lets get real training kids or dogs is fun to keep the supply of coldies up to your requirements , there is someone left out . SWOMBO , She knows you , she wants to be there & to help you , Got to love that . ( I am not here you have not read this  iamgoingtohidundertheCTasIamnothere )

All I can say is that - although we haven't formally met yet both you and I should be glad that SWMBO isn't coming on this trip.  Fortunately the kids are and my youngest just brought me a beer, the training is working!!!!!!!
Post by: Black Diamond on February 09, 2011, 08:21:53 PM
Never fear lads we will not die of thirst :cheers:
I met this sheila the other day who is willing to come along and grab our drinks for us  :cheers:

She claims to be female but im not sure..........

One things for sure, SHE'S A GOOD BLOKE   :cheers: :cheers:

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/image002-1.jpg)

Now we just gotta work out a way how to drain the snake without getting our asses off the camp chair  ;D
Post by: ralphedward on February 09, 2011, 08:45:47 PM
As long as there's beer and humour everyones a good bloke!
Post by: speewa158 on February 11, 2011, 05:24:16 PM
Fivid  Don't worry about me let her rip , She can take a number & get in line as others also want to do things to me with very blunt objects . Well deserved I suppose . Possibly when she meets me & discovers what a pitiful slob I really an I may got a reprieve  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 11, 2011, 05:33:00 PM
Black Diamond           Nice truck   There is soumthing about cousins mixing that just OOUUuuuuu
Post by: Black Diamond on February 11, 2011, 10:16:19 PM
Black Diamond           Nice truck   There is soumthing about cousins mixing that just OOUUuuuuu

(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing019.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

:cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 14, 2011, 05:53:08 PM
Just seen the weather report for the weekend in Melb but some 160km north & over the Divide , differant story . All Good so  , Pack up
                                      ,  Treg up
                                      ,  Make dust
                                      Whroo WharHOOOOOOO   
Post by: Rowanb on February 14, 2011, 06:31:21 PM
Any Alb/Wodonga area guys/gals heading up Fri arvo? Im hopeing to leave work lunch time pack up and headoff around 3-4ish depending on Misses's work commitments, can big rig convoy it down breaka breaka. lol
Post by: GeoffA on February 14, 2011, 06:33:09 PM
Just seen the weather report for the weekend in Melb but some 160km north & over the Divide , differant story . All Good so  , Pack up
                                      ,  Treg up
                                      ,  Make dust
                                      Whroo WharHOOOOOOO   

The camper fridge is on, and fully stocked..................we're ready to roll.................
Post by: speewa158 on February 14, 2011, 06:43:08 PM
 :D :D :D :DTake it easy on the way down  or up as the case may be  
         All Swaggers Drive SAFE  . Wont start with out you  >:D :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on February 14, 2011, 08:28:31 PM
I wont be there until much later than expected, bloody work commitments >:D

Should give the rest of you a laugh though! - me setting up for the first time in anger with my three kids looking at me with absolutely no idea, and no inclination to help.  Might need more than a few beers to get over the initial experience!!!!!

See you all around 8pm (2000hrs for you military types).
Post by: outback jack on February 14, 2011, 08:48:14 PM
wake me up when you get there zzzzzzz  :cheers:

jack

Post by: jtraf on February 14, 2011, 08:50:22 PM
Now I know this may be a silly question but i have to ask it.

For some unknown reason our youngest son who is just about to turn two has a real issue with dogs..........

Just wanting to know how many of you guys and girls are bringing your four legged friends along?

James
Post by: ralphedward on February 14, 2011, 09:17:20 PM
wake me up when you get there zzzzzzz  :cheers:

jack

Wake you up - Ha,  you'll hear the side show start up and join in  _   I'll be the one swearing under my breath!!!!!
Post by: outback jack on February 14, 2011, 09:22:21 PM
g'day james

i am bringing my "four legged friend" along, a rough coat jack r (barney on the left playing with jack r puppy)

dogs "pretty much" have to be on lead at all times within parks "except as signed"

if your young fella is concerned with dogs i am sure all the myswag members will confine their dogs when necessary

looking forward to meeting you

jack

(http://i1181.photobucket.com/albums/x429/jackbparsons/IMG_4594.jpg)
Post by: ralphedward on February 14, 2011, 10:05:35 PM

For some unknown reason our youngest son who is just about to turn two has a real issue with dogs..........

Just wanting to know how many of you guys and girls are bringing your four legged friends along?

James

I'm tossing up as to bringing the real Ralphedward along (a 45kg German Stupid).  One thing he has done all his life is bring kids to him.  I have been training dogs all my life and have had many German Shepherds before but this Ralph is one out of the box.  If I bring him, and as the rules state, he will always be on a lead, he will convince your boy that dogs are just big (or little) fluffy toys.

If I do bring him your boy will be fearfull child number 20 who has succumbed to Ralph's charms.

Rule No1. is - never trust a dog totally, but always have total control over the dog!!!!

Post by: wiseone on February 15, 2011, 04:46:22 AM
Any Alb/Wodonga area guys/gals heading up Fri arvo? Im hopeing to leave work lunch time pack up and headoff around 3-4ish depending on Misses's work commitments, can big rig convoy it down breaka breaka. lol

PM Sent
Post by: speewa158 on February 15, 2011, 05:41:50 AM
To any or all that do arrive late in the evering to set up .As always there will be extended to newbees the extened group help . This means we will sit in our chairs in a 1/2 circle around your CT  :cheers: in hand trying not to fall out of our chairs laughing  :o ::) :o ::) . We will help as much as possible , but ,,,,,,, See you soon
Post by: Fivid on February 15, 2011, 05:59:11 AM

James

We will have our two with us, Shepherds about 4 months old.  Will make sure they are not a bother.  It could be good for your young guy to have some controlled contact with some dogs.  We have friends locally and their young guy has an issue with dogs also but slowly getting used to them with controlled visits...
Post by: Fivid on February 15, 2011, 06:01:05 AM

Hoping to leave directly from work in Albury and get away somewhere between 4 and 4:30...
Post by: Black Diamond on February 15, 2011, 07:56:21 PM
Change of plans Speewa  ;D Im am now trekking up on Friday arvo instead of Saturday  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: Gives me an extra day to charge the batteries and  sink a Bourbon or 40  ;D
Any good spots up their for a bit of fishing? Kids are keen, i will just kick back and enjoy the serenety :cheers: :cheers: Might bait em up if i can get my fat ass of the campchair  8)
Its on like Donkey Kong Old Son :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 15, 2011, 08:19:49 PM
Black Diamond  there is a fishing spot not far from the site , bout 3 mins walk . Teaming with sucidal fish gaging to have cold steel in their gob . In fact they have been known if aproached they will bait a hook & eat it as you wonder up . Dreaming  :cheers: Dont bring hooks it only drives the fish silly  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on February 15, 2011, 08:23:41 PM
 ;D ;D ;D They sound like intelligent fish  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: Might smarten me up if i eat the Carnts  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on February 15, 2011, 08:25:01 PM
We will have our two with us, Shepherds about 4 months old.  Will make sure they are not a bother.  It could be good for your young guy to have some controlled contact with some dogs.  We have friends locally and their young guy has an issue with dogs also but slowly getting used to them with controlled visits...

Can't wait to check those two young'ens
Post by: outback jack on February 15, 2011, 08:33:43 PM
yep i'm all cranked up for a good weekend, ute/camper ready. just gotta add the tucker and grog thursday night  :cheers:

jack
Post by: ralphedward on February 15, 2011, 09:01:49 PM
[quote author=

Seeing as you'll be asleep when I get there just leave your esky outside your door and all will be sweet!!!!!!!!! :cheers:
Post by: outback jack on February 15, 2011, 09:05:04 PM
yeah mate, the way i'm feeling at the moment the esky will be empty when you arrive  :cheers:

Post by: speewa158 on February 15, 2011, 09:06:17 PM

Dreaming  ;D

Post by: outback jack on February 15, 2011, 09:09:20 PM
speewa, my doctor told me "never go to bed thirsty"

i haven't let him down yet  :cheers:
Post by: tambodaryl on February 15, 2011, 09:13:51 PM
speewa,  is there any place to paddle a kayak close by, not into too much walking with kayak and young one.
Post by: speewa158 on February 16, 2011, 05:01:02 AM
There is a black water hole that could be used for a kayak but this is a dry camp . Waranga Basin would be the closest body of water about 14/15 km away . Bring his bike instead  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 16, 2011, 07:45:32 PM
Noon tomorrow  Thunderbird Speewa is go  !  Can in hand at Whroo at the camp fire by early arvo be there . :cheers: My Engles are running  :cheers:
Post by: sschmez on February 16, 2011, 07:49:58 PM
Well I'm sorry I can't make this one... looking forward to the next.

Hope you all have a great time, good company and good  :cheers:

Travel safe

Stevo & the rest of the Schmezzzs
Post by: outback jack on February 16, 2011, 08:40:29 PM
the weather should be reasonable

http://www.weatherzone.com.au/vic/northern-country/whroo
Post by: jtraf on February 16, 2011, 10:52:06 PM
Well all going to plan we will be making our way out there Friday afternoon.......have to work till 2pm but should be there in time to setup with a little light left.......the family is looking forward to another camper trailer trip.........I will have the wife and three boys 7, 5 and 1.95.... ;D

See you all out there.....
Post by: speewa158 on February 17, 2011, 02:54:12 AM
Dont forget to bring some fire wood otherwise we will have to sit around & look at each other  ;D.
Weather looks good , not to hot with reduced dust which will be a good thing . Will sit ch 18 uhf Fri/ Sat arvo .  Travel Safe
Post by: dno on February 17, 2011, 07:50:27 AM
Were not going to make it ether  :'( hopefully everyone has a great time and a safe trip .
Post by: Fivid on February 17, 2011, 08:40:00 PM
WE are all organised, hook the CT up tomorrow am and we will leave Albury as soon as I can get away from work late arvo.  Have to stop and find some wood or maybe go for  drive on Sat to find some outside the historic area.
Post by: Barry G on February 17, 2011, 09:55:44 PM
Will be pulling the house into camp middle of the day Friday, to run a temp check on Speewa's Engels!  :police:  :cheers:
Then bobtailed back to the smoke to move daughter back in to Uni - before back for the Sat night festivities.

Look forward to meeting you all!  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on February 17, 2011, 10:18:33 PM
Top stuff Lads :cheers: :cheers:

Will be leaving Melb around 12 noon tomorrow so should be there mid arvo. An hour or so to setup just in time to fire up the BBQ and beers. Look forward to meeting some fellow swaggers and talk ****e  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: wiseone on February 17, 2011, 11:35:30 PM
Sorry folks it's all turned pear shaped for us as the wife has hurt her back and we won't be able to make it :'(

Enjoy the weekend!
Post by: jtraf on February 18, 2011, 12:39:20 PM
Slight change of plans for my group as the little one woke up this morning early being sick...........Due to this I won't make it up there tonight but will be up there tomorrow with a least two of the boys.....wife and little one may have to stay behind  >:(

James
Post by: GU Rich on February 20, 2011, 05:17:21 PM
ATTENTION SPEEWA

I heard from Mandrake it was wet on Friday night!

Post by: dno on February 20, 2011, 05:41:43 PM
I heard from GU Rich that heard from Mandrake that it was wet on friday!
dno
Post by: BT50_Cam on February 20, 2011, 05:47:59 PM
Big thanks to all the Swaggers that attended this event and made it such an enjoyable weekend.  :cheers:
Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Can't wait for the next one. May even have to organise one myself.  ;D
I have created this new account and SWMBO is going to be using the Miniac account.
Gu-rich: Boy did it rain on Friday. We sat out in it for quite a while, though at a out 11:30 it started pelting down, so it was exit stage el pronto.
Weather was fine for Sat and Sun.
Loading photos to photobucket so should be up soon.

Cam
Post by: Brett B on February 20, 2011, 07:56:52 PM
Hey Cam
Whats the link to pics on photo bucket for the Newbees Gathering
Post by: Fivid on February 20, 2011, 08:34:34 PM
Yes it was wet Friday night.  You can sit in the rain to a certain stage but as BT50_Cam said, about 11:30 it all got too much.  It bucketed down at about 5am Sat morning and some lucky campers woke to find that they had the bonus of a lake view from all sides of their CT...  We even took pity on the pups and took them into the CT as it was just so wet they ended up with their bed in puddles of water.

Here are a few pics from the weekend

Saturday night
(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0416_20-02-2011.jpg)

Group photos from Sunday morning
(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0452_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0458_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0459_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0460_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0461_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0462_20-02-2011.jpg)

Did anyone notice the guy in the striped shirt who thought he wasn't getting enough attention in the group photos?  We also tried to take photos of each group / family with their camper...  The striped T shirt guy pops up in all of them.  Its a bit like "Where's Wally?" but you don't have to look for him, he just stands out in each one!
Post by: Fivid on February 20, 2011, 08:46:09 PM
Here are some pics of the attendees...  Fearless leader Speewa has the notes to go with the pics so after he breaks camp tomorrow I am sure he will share all his info and pics also.  Has the forum been quiet the last few days?

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0483_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0481_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0463_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0442_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0424_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0423_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0421_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0420_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0431_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/a_DSC0437_20-02-2011.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/MySwag%20-%20Whroo%2018-20%20Feb%202011/aa_DSC0469_20-02-2011.jpg)

Looks like with all my pics I may have missed a couple of camp setups so apologies to those guys, I am sure Speewa has any I missed. 

Thanks to all that came along.  We didn't know anyone else attending prior to the weekend so it was great to meet everyone and share some stories and have a few  :cheers:  :cheers:  :cheers:.  Hopefully you all had a safe journey home and we can catch you all again at future camping events.
Post by: BT50_Cam on February 20, 2011, 08:47:08 PM
Here's some of the pics i took on the weekend. I thought there was more, but really just spent to much time talking/drinking and not enough time taking photos.
Oh well, maybe next time.

Camp BT50_cam/Miniac (SWMBO)
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8522.jpg)

And more Camp BT50_cam/Miniac
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8543.jpg)

The Swamp/Lake/Pond thing (where the Mozzies lived) near our campsite. No confirmed bunyip sightings.
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8537.jpg)

Maisy
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8508.jpg)

Maclary with his poor little eye bite. Went away quickly thankfully
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8510.jpg)

BT50_cam/Miniac and Jtraf
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8619.jpg)

Camp Black Diamond
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8618.jpg)

Camp RalphEward
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8617.jpg)

Jack and Wife (Sorry i am bad with names  >:D) & Barry
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8616.jpg)

Camp Fivid ???
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8609.jpg)

???? (Stupid Brain)
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8607.jpg)

Camp Speewa (As seen in CamperTrailer Australia Issue 37  ;D)
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8606.jpg)

Getting ready for the Infamous "Group Photo"
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8596.jpg)

Campfire fun
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8572.jpg)

And more
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8556.jpg)

Puppies
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8546.jpg)

More social networking
(http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/z404/miniac_cam/MySwag%20at%20Whroo/IMG_8545.jpg)

Hope I got all the names and pics together correctly, if not let me know and I'll fix them up.
Looking forward to others pics

Post by: GU Rich on February 20, 2011, 09:01:03 PM
Looks like a good turnout! Any more planned?
Post by: D4D on February 20, 2011, 09:03:45 PM
Looks like a great turnout, pity we couldn't make the trip today.
Post by: Fivid on February 20, 2011, 09:10:38 PM
For anyone interested keep an eye on the forum, I am planning a gathering somewhere close by Albury in probably 3 or 4 months time, possibly the June long weekend.  Was thinking it could be somewhere nearby a couple of the high country tracks and incorporate a 4WD day trip for those so inclined...
Post by: pacs on February 20, 2011, 09:24:23 PM
Hi guys great to see the photos up so soon  :cup:
Jack and I both had a great time  :cheers:
looking forward to the next trip will keep an eager eye for more details  :cheers:
Post by: dno on February 20, 2011, 09:30:47 PM
Look's like a great time was had by all. good to see you got some better weather too,
Post by: outback jack on February 21, 2011, 04:51:01 PM
me and the missus had a great time

looking forward to the next one  :cheers:

jack
Post by: Mandrake on February 21, 2011, 05:24:08 PM
I'm sure I was there on Friday  ;D - Where's the photo of me brolly ?

Post by: Fivid on February 21, 2011, 06:15:36 PM
I'm sure I was there on Friday  ;D - Where's the photo of me brolly ?

I reckon when the fearless trip organiser gets online there will be pics...  How did you go at Wandin?
Post by: Mandrake on February 21, 2011, 06:29:53 PM
Ever tried selling Solar Power stuff in the middle of a rain storm ??

Bit like Eskimos and Icy Poles .... Coal and Newcastle .... :cup:

Just and only just covered costs - but if the promises come good ... ;D ;D ;D

Post by: speewa158 on February 21, 2011, 07:34:53 PM
What a weekend 30 or so strangers rolled up  to meet there new friends . we arrived early set to feel the serenity . As Swaggers rolled up we filled the area , faces were put to names . We sat , we yarned  we had a few  :cheers:  The weather did eventully break up out our little gathering on Friday night but it was so much fun . Sat started early as the tide seemed to have come in for some . The rest of the weekend went really well . We swoped stories , ideas & recipies. The Upside Down Pinapple cake from Out Back Jack , Jtrafs Apple Crumbel & SWMBOs Sticky Date Pudding with brandy sauce custared & cream . Trip report  & pics to follow . To those that went able to be there , you should have been there . Thanks for having so much fun & enjoying yourself so much &  :cheers: to all  . Till next trip  :cheers:
Post by: outback jack on February 21, 2011, 08:07:26 PM
good onya speewa

you started the ball rolling mate  :cup:

may there be many more  :cheers:

jack
Post by: Barry G on February 21, 2011, 08:12:12 PM
Thanks for organising the trip Jamie, was disappointed I wasn't there earlier on Saturday - but not that I wasn't there to open the camper on Fri night!  The last time I camped there was 30+ years ago.  Great to be back there with new friends.  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on February 21, 2011, 08:43:47 PM
Yep was a top weekend had by all :cheers: :cheers:
Speewa thanks for organising it, was a top spot and the beer was icy cold  :cheers: :cheers:

Came out of the weekend as a far more knowledgable man as Cameron, James and i were treated to the 'Speewa 101 shower tent exercise' fully equipped with the Husqvarna and all  ;D Now i realise life is a breeze compared to the shower tent debacle  ???  Glad Geoff came along and shed some light to the situation when it was my turn  :cheers: :cheers: Thanks again mate  :cup:

Gotta say the Swan held up well after Friday nights massive downpour, not even a drop  :cup: :cup:

Was really nice meeting you all, some great Swagger's here, and we are really looking forward to the next one  :cheers:

Forgot to swoop the Camera on the way out so dont have too many pics, but i will dig some up from my phone  :cheers:

Cheers John and Family  ;D  ;D

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/IMG_0291.jpg)

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/IMG_0290.jpg)

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/IMG_0289.jpg)

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/IMG_0288.jpg)

Post by: GeoffA on February 21, 2011, 09:08:42 PM
Thanks to Speewa :cup: for making the effort to get the weekend going, and thanks to all that attended for their company.
Lots of great conversation, plenty of fun, and a little bit of :cheers: as well.......
Kay and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend. Looking forward to the next......

Geoff
Post by: jtraf on February 21, 2011, 09:38:07 PM
Jamie aka Speewa thanks for organising what turned out to be a great outing :cup:

I did appreciate shower tent 101 but should have taken a few more notes as I don't think I can remember all the steps...

Great to meet you all and hopefully only the first of many......

(http://users.tpg.com.au/jtraf/camper/tent%20lessons.JPG)

Did we mention that the mosquitos were huge....... :laugh:

(http://users.tpg.com.au/jtraf/camper/tent%20lesson1.JPG)
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 06:35:31 AM
Folding of Dunny Tent ( in to stupid small bag )
1 Assembly huge group of strong caperablIe Swaggers
2 Fill them with plenty of grog
3 Gather the weman folk to watch & be impressed
4 Have the Mini Swaggers stand well back it will get messy
5 Firmly grasp dunny tent in both hands , stand on with both feet
6 fold in a gentle rolling action without letting go , inside to out  in a left handed triangular circle
7 Cut into small pices with a chain saw , stuff in bag place beside tree & drive away
8 Find the bloke that designed the Dam thing &   DO THINGS TO HIM !!!!!                                        
Post by: Black Diamond on February 22, 2011, 04:33:53 PM
Folding of Dunny Tent ( in to stupid small bag )
1 Assembly huge group of strong caperablIe Swaggers
2 Fill them with plenty of grog
3 Gather the weman folk to watch & be impressed
4 Have the Mini Swaggers stand well back it will get messy
5 Firmly grasp dunny tent in both hands , stand on with both feet
6 fold in a gentle rolling action without letting go , inside to out  in a left handed triangular circle
7 Cut into small pices stuff in bag place beside tree & drive away
He he dont forget the Husqvarna Speewa :cheers:  >:(
Post by: sschmez on February 22, 2011, 04:34:22 PM
6 fold in a gentle rolling action without letting go , inside to out  in a left handed triangular circle

Now was that clockwise or counter clockwise, please ???
Post by: Brett B on February 22, 2011, 05:25:26 PM
Sorry we could not make this one it was all hands on deck at work on a break down
looks like it was a good turnout hey
Need to do another one before the weather turns to crap
looking foward to some more pics guys of what we missed out on :-[
Brett B
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 05:35:17 PM
Dont turn up to the cocktail party on Friday night as the rain slowed it down at 11.30pm ,, just as well I think . Though it may have rained but as it came down  we became more determined to enjoy . OutBack Jack in fact up graded his camp site to river frontage penthouse , to impress us all .
Thec weather did turn to crap & on we went  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on February 22, 2011, 05:39:42 PM
He he dont forget the Husqvarna Speewa :cheers:  >:(

(hispanic accent)............"say hello to my little friend".............
Post by: Rowanb on February 22, 2011, 05:45:23 PM
Great weekend, first time out for us and it was great to meet new people. looking forward to doing it all again soon. its good to get together with a great bunch of people.
Its a driking club with a camper trailer problem.
Some pics.
Post by: Rowanb on February 22, 2011, 05:51:19 PM
Ill try again
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 06:07:32 PM
Rowanb Wee doonnt ave a drrrrinkkkkkinnng     what was theeee ???? ???
Post by: Rowanb on February 22, 2011, 06:42:31 PM
I didnt till i met you Speewa. ;D
Post by: pacs on February 22, 2011, 07:15:29 PM
lol  ;D
I missed the huski moment that would have been a must see
Post by: Black Diamond on February 22, 2011, 08:00:12 PM
lol  ;D
I missed the huski moment that would have been a must see

:laugh: Speewin we didnt get any pics, i cant tell you how hard i was laughing when i saw speewa walking towards me revving the guts out of it. Then Geoff came out with the famous "say hello to my little friend"  8) Goodnight shower tent....
Post by: ralphedward on February 22, 2011, 08:06:46 PM
Trying again for the second day in a row to post!!!!! ???

As has been said before it was a fantastic weekend. We had all the elements - flood (Friday night - I think Jack may still be swimming) - fire (and all the conversation and food that was shared around it) and pestilence - (bloody mozzies & and who the hell let me park on a bullants nest >:D).

Thanks speewa from my kids and myself and thanks to all who attended.   One thing that stood out, every single person that attended offered something, be it food, advice, help or items that may help.  In no other setting have I met a more selfless, helping group of strangers (that I'm very pleased to call friends) in my life.  Well done all 'myswag' stands tall!!!! :cheers:

Where next??????????????????????????????????????

Post by: Black Diamond on February 22, 2011, 08:20:18 PM
Hey Mark  :cheers:

Was also great to meet you and your family. Shared some great stories, especially your mate "Beeper" ;D ;D we were still pissing ourselves laughing on the way home over that one  :cheers: :cheers:

cheers John
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 08:35:37 PM
here are the pics Mandrakes  rain cover
Post by: ralphedward on February 22, 2011, 08:41:15 PM
Lets look at the pics

hey speewa,

my computer wont allow me to open your pictures, it says the files are empty.  It's alright tho' I told my computer that the sender was like that as well.  Do you think that all will be right now?
Post by: Black Diamond on February 22, 2011, 08:47:13 PM
hey speewa,

my computer wont allow me to open your pictures, it says the files are empty.  It's alright tho' I told my computer that the sender was like that as well.  Do you think that all will be right now?

x2  :laugh:
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 08:52:53 PM
Retry pics
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 08:56:04 PM
Will re try again till I get it  >:D
Post by: ralphedward on February 22, 2011, 09:09:00 PM
Retry pics

Same message, my computer says the sender is empty!!!!!!!! ;D
Post by: tambodaryl on February 22, 2011, 09:12:41 PM
Another one to thank Speewa for organising a great weekend :cup:
Thanks to all the swaggers that made us feel welcome.  

What makes it great is when you are driving home in the car and Tyson is saying how he enjoyed himself and how he met new buddies and enjoyed riding his bike around.  He's still asking when we can do it again.  

One great thing about camping the kids enjoy playing and the adults enjoy  :cheers: :cheers:.

Great to meet new unknown people that you can now call friends and maybe meet next time to discuss many more stories and many more  :cheers: :cheers:.

Also great to see Tyson getting more familiar with dogs and appreciate the dog owners for their understanding and patience.

:cheers: :cheers:Daryl & Tyson.
Post by: Rowanb on February 22, 2011, 09:21:33 PM
Thanks for the history lesson Speewa about Rushworth being a gold area, funny thing is all I found was aluminum and it was a strange cylinder shape. :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on February 22, 2011, 09:34:33 PM
Hey Mark  :cheers:

Was also great to meet you and your family. Shared some great stories, especially your mate "Beeper" ;D ;D we were still pissing ourselves laughing on the way home over that one  :cheers: :cheers:

cheers John

beepa is a memory that will outlive dementia (try and imagine his wedding night), great meeting you guys as well.
Post by: Barry G on February 22, 2011, 09:34:58 PM
Thanks for the history lesson Speewa about Rushworth being a gold area, funny thing is all I found was aluminum and it was a strange cylinder shape. :cheers:
What you have described is known as  "good as gold" irrespective of colour - ... apart from gold ones marked "XXXX"!  >:D  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 09:54:54 PM
more pics
Post by: speewa158 on February 22, 2011, 10:10:40 PM
From all acounts there is a feeling that all enjoyed , hopefully as much as we did . We would like to thank everybody that took the time to turn up as there wouldnt be anything with out you being there . Myswag gave us the key to the weekend , & you made it happen  , well done . :cup:
 Soooooooooooooooooo Where to next  ??? ??? ???

If you missed it " Suffer in your jocks "  Dont miss the next one . :cheers:
Post by: ralphedward on February 23, 2011, 08:10:21 PM
I could go back to the same place.  This time I might see more than the campfire, the inside of young Cooper and the bottom of yet another tinnie!!!!!!!  Arghhh, who am I kidding :cup:

Once again thanks Jamie, and thanks to MYSWAG
Post by: outback jack on February 23, 2011, 08:18:39 PM
yep i'm with you mark, good camping ground, great company, no shortage of drinking mates. lets do it again soon

righto speewa, it's up to you  :cheers:

Post by: speewa158 on February 23, 2011, 08:36:30 PM
I still recovering the last trip . Trying to work out where the coldies went  ??? 1 minert in the fridge n next GONE . How dose this happen  ??? What about tomorrow I can be there . We could go prospecting next time .  :cheers:
Post by: outback jack on February 23, 2011, 08:40:34 PM
i know where your coldies went (down your throat)

every time i looked your were heading back to your ct for another one