Author Topic: The Olympics  (Read 28359 times)

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
Re: The Olympics
« Reply #50 on: July 30, 2012, 12:23:47 PM »

Sounds like you watched it  ;D what color are them tablets again  ;) ;)

Wouldn't know Gibbo... (always too dark to see when I take them) ;D
LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

« Reply #51 on: July 31, 2012, 03:14:38 AM »
[ :cheers:e author=xcvator link=topic=23997.msg373599#msg373599 date=1343607388]
Where and when ?
[/quote]
Mitchels Crossing Catch up  if you missed it its gone . We will have to wait till Kelly Country for the next group sip  :cheers:

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #52 on: July 31, 2012, 11:50:59 AM »
The spirit of the Olympics that I want to see...

LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

« Reply #53 on: July 31, 2012, 12:35:16 PM »
ahhh... one day closer to it finishing

then there will be the need for 50 "tickertape parades"... another waste of money

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #54 on: July 31, 2012, 12:41:17 PM »
oh yeah and what's coming after the Olympics have finished.......
Big Brother

oh brother.... more free to air channels does not mean we get better TV. 
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #55 on: July 31, 2012, 12:49:16 PM »
oh yeah and what's coming after the Olympics have finished.......
Big Brother

oh brother.... more free to air channels does not mean we get better TV.

The Olympics
« Reply #56 on: July 31, 2012, 01:04:35 PM »

Offline bussoboy

• Wanting to travel before all the roads are sealed
« Reply #57 on: July 31, 2012, 02:29:11 PM »
These are just my/our opinions and in no way am i saying they're right or wrong

my wife = 100% anti sport of any kind

me = only care about self sustaining sport (footy, cricket etc) - if it cant survive on its own then it has no place in govt funding - i also feel this way about anything anyone might call "the arts"

as for the Olympics themselves.........out dated concept since all the sports have their own world championships etc

now having said all of that I do know one of the young girls in the Hockeyroo's (Jade Close) and I do wish her all the best for the games and beyond, but her sport would fall into one of those that should makes its way under its own steam

....and unlike most of you i think womens beach volleyball belongs on the playboy channel and not the olympic channels
2011 GXL 200 Series & 2017 Kokoda Endure 111

« Reply #58 on: July 31, 2012, 02:47:01 PM »
Quote from: bussoboy
me = only care about self sustaining sport (footy, cricket etc) - if it cant survive on its own then it has no place in govt funding -
i also feel this way about anything anyone might call "the arts"
I think I love you....

Tassie devils

« Reply #59 on: July 31, 2012, 06:59:17 PM »
Hi bussoboy
You really don't watch the Olympics,the beach volley ball players have been wearing long pants,scarves gloves and jackets it's been that cold and wet :-[
If you think the women's volleyball needs to be on the playboy channel,whatever you do don't google the women's grid iron lingerie  league, :cheers:

The Olympics
« Reply #60 on: July 31, 2012, 07:23:45 PM »
Looks like the Aussies are suffering from nerves..... I hope thats their excuse anyway ???
« Last Edit: July 31, 2012, 07:25:59 PM by Black Diamond »

« Reply #61 on: July 31, 2012, 08:15:22 PM »
I heard on SEN tonight, $500 million to send the athletes, and the millions of hangers-on-for-free-trip across for the games
it worked out to... - $100 million per "athlete"...

Surely they gest?

« Reply #62 on: July 31, 2012, 08:46:37 PM »
It could have been wasted on grog , couldnt it  :cheers:

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #63 on: July 31, 2012, 08:49:55 PM »
It could have been wasted on grog , couldnt it  :cheers:

Slightly underestimatimng your drinking ability there Speewa... >:D

Offline kranky al

• theeee winaaaaaaar
« Reply #64 on: July 31, 2012, 08:53:48 PM »

There are strong correlations between the success of an Australian team and participation in sport as a result of that.  I believe after the Socceroos did so well a few years ago there was a huge spike in young girls playing soccer. 

FTFY ;)
if nissan made a prop plane using the zd30 - would you fly in it?

if fishing were easy it would be called "your mum"

www.pixelpac.com.au

« Reply #65 on: July 31, 2012, 09:02:24 PM »
Slightly underestimatimng your drinking ability there Speewa... >:D
What 100 Mil are come on l could spill that much       :cheers:

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #66 on: July 31, 2012, 09:09:23 PM »
What 100 Mil are come on l could spill that much       :cheers:

Scary part is I believe you.... >:D

« Reply #67 on: July 31, 2012, 09:28:01 PM »
Scary part is I believe you.... >:D
Your taxs at work ,,,, What can l tell you ,,,,, :cheers:

The Olympics
« Reply #68 on: July 31, 2012, 09:33:51 PM »
Your taxs at work ,,,, What can l tell you ,,,,, :cheers:
Vote #1 for prime minister  Speewa ;D

« Reply #69 on: July 31, 2012, 09:41:05 PM »
Vote #1 for prime minister  Speewa ;D
[/q
uote
lm no big arsed chick & 2ND fiddle to the real world                                   :cheers:

Offline olddigger

« Reply #70 on: July 31, 2012, 11:13:15 PM »
Good Olympic result: the fat chick came fifth in her swim. Why was she there in the first place?

« Reply #71 on: July 31, 2012, 11:16:47 PM »
Good Olympic result: the fat chick came fifth in her swim. Why was she there in the first place?
cause shes friends with the bloke that beat his competitor to a pulp who is there and also did **** all.

http://www.theage.com.au/olympics/off-the-field/street-artists-forced-to-play-by-the-rules-20120731-23ces.html

« Reply #72 on: August 01, 2012, 03:33:04 AM »
It official  the competators are there & a few have wondered in to watch  but not enough to full the seats . Call in the army to watch the events , at least full the seats to make it look like somebody cares about it all . London is supposed to be spilling with huge crowds spending as fast as the 100M runners  but its not . Yet another expencive look at me event where only some did . At least the pubs arnt busy  :cheers:

Tassie devils

The Olympics
« Reply #73 on: August 01, 2012, 09:44:44 AM »
mate she was there because qualified fastest,to be called fat is just mindless,finishing 5th in the world is still bloody good,take a look at her credentials one of Australia's best swimmers.

ohttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:2008_Australian_Olympic_team_Leisel_Jones_-_Sarah_Ewart.jpg

Leisel Jones

Personal information
Full name   Leisel Marie Jones
Nickname(s)   Diesel
Nationality    Australia
Born    30 August 1985 (age 26)
Katherine, Northern Territory
Height   1.78 m (5 ft 10 in)
Sport
Sport   Swimming
Stroke(s)   Breaststroke
Club   Melbourne Vicentre
Medal record[hide]
Women's swimming
Competitor for  Australia
Olympic Games
Gold   2004 Athens   4×100 m medley
Gold   2008 Beijing   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2008 Beijing   4×100 m medley
Silver   2000 Sydney   100 m breaststroke
Silver   2000 Sydney   4×100 m medley
Silver   2004 Athens   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2008 Beijing   200 m breaststroke
Bronze   2004 Athens   100 m breaststroke
World Championships (LC)
Gold   2001 Fukuoka   4×100 m medley
Gold   2005 Montreal   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2005 Montreal   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2005 Montreal   4×100 m medley
Gold   2007 Melbourne   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2007 Melbourne   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2007 Melbourne   4×100 m medley
Silver   2001 Fukuoka   100 m breaststroke
Silver   2003 Barcelona   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2007 Melbourne   50 m breaststroke
Silver   2011 Shanghai   100 m breaststroke
Bronze   2003 Barcelona   100 m breaststroke
Bronze   2003 Barcelona   4×100 m medley
Bronze   2011 Shanghai   4×100 m medley
World Championships (SC)
Silver   2010 Dubai   100 m breaststroke
Bronze   2010 Dubai   4×100 m medley
Commonwealth Games
Gold   2002 Manchester   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2002 Manchester   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2002 Manchester   4 × 100 m medley
Gold   2006 Melbourne   50 m breaststroke
Gold   2006 Melbourne   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2006 Melbourne   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2006 Melbourne   4 × 100 m medley
Gold   2010 Delhi   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2010 Delhi   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2010 Delhi   4 × 100 m medley
Silver   2010 Delhi   50 m breaststroke
Pan Pacific Championships
Gold   2002 Yokohama   4 × 100 m medley
Silver   2002 Yokohama   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2010 Irvine   100 m breaststroke
Silver   2010 Irvine   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2010 Irvine   4×100 m medley
Bronze   2010 Irvine   50 m breaststroke

The Olympics
« Reply #74 on: August 01, 2012, 09:58:04 AM »
Pretty impressive CV