Does anyone have any experience with camper trailers manufactured with aluminium-foam core composite type panels. Emu Adventure campers from around 2020-2022 are an example. Stories, good or bad. I'm nearly past swagging it. So, we're looking to buy a s/h forward fold camper, figuring I should get 5 years good use out of one before I give up on outback/desert travel on corrugated roads (due to our age). I'm wondering how they stand up to rough roads, given steel or aluminium sheeting is what I envisage as traditional construction. Thanks. A.D.
Edit- I note well-known brands such as Cub and Track Trailers (T-Van) use composite panels, so if done well they stand up to plenty of punishment. I'm not sure about other mainly Chinese campers?
G'day ADTradie, I don't know if they are on your radar, but I know several people that have had Vista RV campers for quite a few years, have done heaps of outback travel, and the trailers have handled it all.
The Vistas use a composite panel and I have yet to hear a problem where the panels have given any grief. They are a very strong unit and well built, but not cheap.
Hope you find something.
Our Rhinomax Scorpion Hybrid has a composite body.
It's awesome, no more flapping canvass.
Forward fold, as in composite body and canvas roof/walls?
Check the storage available. My mate had a forward folding Opus and the internal storage was dismal.
Thanks guys. We're still investigating this. Plenty of storage is a common issue with both forward fold and rear fold camper trailers. A lot positive is to be said for the good storage volume in the older style side-fold soft-floor campers. But we know how things have progressed with the search for the perfect camper trailer when people want all the conveniences of home. :)
Quote from: nab on June 22, 2026, 10:56:02 PMForward fold, as in composite body and canvas roof/walls?
Check the storage available. My mate had a forward folding Opus and the internal storage was dismal.
Yes, composite body and canvas roof/walls.