G'day all (except also a bloody hot one >:()
Just heard that the ISS (International Space Station) will be passing over Brissie & SEQ tonight Saturday 21/11, around 7.30ish.
It's actually supposed to be passing in front of the Moon, so should make for a good photo op!
Have a look at http://www.heavens-above.com/main.aspx?lat=-28.0173&lng=153.4257&loc=Gold+Coast&alt=4&tz=UCTm10 (http://www.heavens-above.com/main.aspx?lat=-28.0173&lng=153.4257&loc=Gold+Coast&alt=4&tz=UCTm10) & see when it's visible form your location.
Have fun (& stay cool 8)!)
Graeme
Thanks for sharing.👍🏾
Thanks Fizzie, I'll get the kids out for that one. Hope its visible by the naked eye!
Cheers, Paul
I can't work it out ???
Can anyone work out what time it will be visible from the Gold Coast for me. :cheers:
Quote from: Snapman007 on November 21, 2015, 03:18:22 PM
I can't work it out ???
Can anyone work out what time it will be visible from the Gold Coast for me. :cheers:
it's ok, plenty of time and we'll let you know as we'll see it an hour before you;D
http://spotthestation.nasa.gov/home.cfm
7.34 for brisbane mate.
Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Was in the pool with the kids and watched it cruise overhead at about 7:35, was pretty awesome to watch. Kids were fascinated, thanks again to Fizzie for the heads up.
Cheers, Paul
Thanks for the heads up.
It was worth watching.
If pigs could fly... Imagine how good their wings would taste.
Again - thanks for the reminder - I saw something on facebook about it - amazed at how fast it is travelling. I expected to see it go off into the horizon - but is just faded away after 30 seconds or so. Impressive.
When I first looked at the title I thought there was a terrorist attack in south east Queensland. Then I realised ISS not ISIS ;D
If you sign up at the spot the station web site ( in benben86's reply), you can get email notification with direction across the sky and time visible for your location.
Then use a tracking site such as http://www.isstracker.com/ or http://iss.astroviewer.net/ when it gets close to see exactly where it actually is.
Peter
Done - kids love this stuff (& me too just quietly).