Author Topic: Flash Floods  (Read 50574 times)

Offline Tracey family

Re: Flash Floods
« Reply #75 on: December 07, 2010, 06:32:07 PM »
Yeah! The river has finally peaked and we've seen it drop just a tiny bit over the last few hours thankfully. Fingers crossed we don't get another big downpour anytime soon.

Xmas baby - yep it's a great little town. I wouldn't move back to the city for quids.

Anyone heard from Wagga locals??? Not good there still.

Glenyse

« Reply #76 on: December 07, 2010, 07:40:38 PM »

We just got flooded in at our weekend camping spot!  I never thought it would happen less than 2 hours from Brisvegas, but I've been proved wrong.  At least I got a long weekend, much to the bosses disgust! 

« Reply #77 on: December 07, 2010, 08:53:26 PM »
A cunning & devious plan Well done  ;D

« Reply #78 on: December 07, 2010, 09:50:39 PM »
A cunning & devious plan Well done  ;D

Ssshhh ... don't tell the boss.

Offline Pauly

• Whats This?
« Reply #79 on: December 07, 2010, 10:00:15 PM »
Personally, I'm just here for the ride... ;D

And thats about all you can do mate. As long as all keep themselves safe the material things can be worried about next week.

I see on the news a farmer at Coonable I think who has made a big kick arse levy around his shed, hope it holds for him.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 10:02:38 PM by Pauly »

Cheers Pauly

New ride 2005 Landcruiser Sahara, Mickey T,s, dual batts Arb Sahara Bar, HID lights :)

Self made camper

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #80 on: December 07, 2010, 10:04:34 PM »
The river is at 6.79 and is now predicted to go up to 6.9...still not much water out the back of my place and still no where near the base of the levy bank even.

Kit_e...where were you guys camped?? Nice way to get a longer holiday, girl!  :cup:

Pauly...you've just got to enjoy the trip to the island, mate. No point trying to get off, just sit back, enjoy the water views and hope to goodness the levy holds the tide back!  ;D Well, that's what I think anyway.

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

« Reply #81 on: December 07, 2010, 10:32:07 PM »
The river is at 6.79 and is now predicted to go up to 6.9...still not much water out the back of my place and still no where near the base of the levy bank even.

Kit_e...where were you guys camped?? Nice way to get a longer holiday, girl!  :cup:

Now that's a serious flood.  Mine was more like a flash flood ...  http://kit-ecamping.blogspot.com/2010/11/041210-glen-rock-regional-park.html

Offline Duchess

« Reply #82 on: December 08, 2010, 06:53:12 AM »
My "alarm" went off at 6am today and I got to "snooze" twice before giving up and getting out of bed. What greeted me out the back window was a very different picture to yesterday. A lot more water about and it has reached the bottom of the levee bank, coming into my back yard.

So, braving the mozzies, I went out to grab some photos to share. Even got one of the "alarm" flying away... ;D

This is looking down my fence line, down near the tree line is my back gate leading out into what we call the "lagoon paddock". Now, its just "lagoon"!  ;D

And one of the "alarm" leaving...

« Reply #83 on: December 09, 2010, 04:15:56 AM »
Duccess  looks as though from the pics the water has a way to go to get to you yet . Down hear the news tells us your town is still cut off & still rising . Hope the  snakes have relocated down stream to, Stay safe

Offline Duchess

« Reply #84 on: December 09, 2010, 06:38:43 AM »
Yes, snakes are a problem and they can swim quite well too. Usually, they get swept down stream during floods and seem to find that the water slows around the back of our place and then get themselves out of the water. I've usually got a pretty wary eye out for them!

Here's an update on the water out the back of my property, in my back yard...there was a bit more by the afternoon and now its steady with no rising or falling as yet. I think we're not completely cut off, we have some access but off course it is through some awesome water crossings that would make you guys jealous!!  ;D I'll try and get photos of people doing our water crossings today.

Now my back gate is about halfway under...

And yes, I'm up early, thanks to my early alarm clock!  ::) (though, I'm hoping to get up in it tomorrow morning to get a birds eye view and some photos of the water.)

« Reply #85 on: December 09, 2010, 07:49:38 PM »
Hopefully the slow rise will give the water time to go away before it stuffs your day to much  ;D

« Reply #86 on: December 09, 2010, 08:50:40 PM »
Hey Duchy,
 Been keeping an eye on the news etc to see how you guys are fairing. How is Mozz?? has he got much water at his place??  :cheers:

« Reply #87 on: December 10, 2010, 03:16:26 AM »
Sitting watching the BOM as a blet of rain of some size dumpes on WeeWaa  Looks like a top up as if thats needed . Should we send floaties  or have you finished the largeish boat you were working on ?

Offline Duchess

« Reply #88 on: December 10, 2010, 06:38:15 AM »
Yeah, it wasn't good here last night, speewa. Another 50mm onto an already sodden ground. I see that there is also another storm moving through from the west as well. We knew it was coming, I guess, it was just a matter of when.

Was a good year to get a boat licence really... ;D

Bullfrog...Mozz and Sue have been fine, the water hasn't even gone over the road and now its receding. However, with last nights storm and more possibly on the way today, could be a different story for them tomorrow...

« Reply #89 on: December 10, 2010, 05:16:21 PM »
The storm looked bad from this distance , would have been worse to be in it . I hope this is nearly over so hang bin there  :cheers:

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #90 on: December 10, 2010, 05:24:06 PM »
I am in Newcastle and we have had about 20 spots all day....the only evidence of floods is the harbor which is a mirky brown colour.

Offline Duchess

« Reply #91 on: December 10, 2010, 06:16:21 PM »
Today's update...

Yep, storm hit us pretty well and then more rain during the day. All up, another 70mm on the area, varying by 5 or 10 mm across the district. It was reported that the Cox's Creek (some may remember this one having its head waters up in Coolah Tops) rose by 5 metres in height in a little under 2 hours.

So, I came home today to find I had a creek crossing to tackle before I get to my house! My front paddocks are just completely under water but thankfully it is draining away well.

I went for a drive around the town and had a look at our other "crossings", some of which I think that even Roothy wouldn't dare tackle!! There are road closures everywhere and as of tonight, I think we are completely isolated with all of our roads into and out of town closed at some point along them. You can only get so far before you get turned back.

This one goes to the town of Pilliga...its just under the 2 metre mark...

This road leads out the "back" way to Narrabri. You can cross here now, but about 30km up the road, the Bohena creek has cut the road and it has been closed.

This is looking along the lagoon bridge to the new "creek crossing"...

Here's the local ABC radio's photos and some interviews (one with my neighbour who has the helicopter in his yard) and if you're interested, just click on the link to see just what our town looks like from the air at the moment.

http://www.abc.net.au/local/photos/2010/12/09/3088724.htm

« Reply #92 on: December 10, 2010, 06:24:03 PM »
As long as you & your are safe  :cheers:

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
« Reply #93 on: December 10, 2010, 08:37:32 PM »
duchess do you have stock , if so how are they going

Offline Duchess

« Reply #94 on: December 10, 2010, 08:45:54 PM »
Barneys...I've got horses here, they're currently up to their fetlocks in mud but otherwise happy as because there is heaps of feed! (as you can see in the photos)

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
« Reply #95 on: December 11, 2010, 09:11:08 AM »
yeah got amate in cooma with sheep he would love that much feed

« Reply #96 on: December 11, 2010, 06:21:13 PM »
By the living Harry there will be so much growth going on that cows will have to pull a double shift to keep up  ;D

Offline Duchess

« Reply #97 on: December 12, 2010, 10:32:37 PM »
Whilst it seems like the flood situation has eased, I can assure you, it hasn't. Here, we are cut off from every direction and there is no way off the "island" we have become, unless you can afford the helicopter flight or have a boat.

We will be isolated for up to 5 days at this time.

It will be interesting come Tuesday to see what happens with all our deliveries and I am wondering if we'll have them flown in! Could be fun but I'm wondering about the cold and frozen items, how they'll deal with those.

Meanwhile, I had a personal guided tour over one of the helicopters that is here for flood relief work this weekend. The chief crewman of the Kawasaki BK117 was more than happy to show me over the machine and then let me take some photos.

I also drove my Chevy to the levee... ;D

But the levee was dry...at least this part is. Every where else is wet!!

« Reply #98 on: December 13, 2010, 04:54:09 AM »
Duchess  hope that you dont go flying with American pie  that might not go well . We hear the roads are cut ,  if air the only way in  the chopper will be busy . At least you have that  has to be a good thing . ;D

« Reply #99 on: December 13, 2010, 08:34:29 PM »
I also drove my Chevy to the levee... ;D

But the levee was dry...at least this part is. Every where else is wet!!

Did you see any Good Ole Boys drinking Whiskey and Rye and singing This'll be the Day that I Die?
Looks like everything is coming Air Mail for the next few days.  Stay Dry!