Postrate op

Started by Craig Tomkinson, November 18, 2023, 07:59:36 AM

Fox67

Thanks Bookleaf, I will check those out.
2023 RAV4 Cruiser Hybrid
2019 Landcruiser 200 VX TTD
Tent and some camping gear

Bookleaf

Yes, Fox.  They are made with a built-in absorbent pouch made of fabric.
I have found them "Just right" for my level of containment.
Not the cheapest undies around, but they are the most practical.

They make a female version as well if I remember correctly.
Isuzu MUX, LS-M, Cameron Canvas Camper

Paul Mac

Quote from: xcvator on November 18, 2023, 10:40:53 AM
Good timing, I think that's what is planned for me Dooc doesn't think the psa tests are always a good indicator, got a referral to 1 quack and was told earliest was next April  :-[

G'day xcvator. sorry to hear about your condition re prostate.

I've been an online viewer but haven't written anything for quite some time.

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer about 6 years ago and fortunately it wasn't an aggressive cancer, however, 2 years ago it started to expand and I went from a gleeson 4 to a 7 and after scans to show a spread my urologist advised me a decision had to be made within 3 months. I went the robotic surgery. Cancer PSA tests have been 0.01 ever since but I must admit there were moments I wished for you know what.
I was in hospital for over 3 weeks with complications I won't go into here.

Doing OK now though. Was introduced to a beautiful Thai girl by my neighbour during the big covid lockdown and have since been to Thailand several times eventually getting married and now living happily ever after.

Back to the PSA matter. I would thoroughly recommend to all the male members here over 50 to see your doctor and start at least annually your PSA testing. It's just a simple blood test. Easy peasy. Finding out too late sometimes leaves little alternative but the grave and in most cases prostate cancer can be treated if detected early.

Hope all goes well for you mate and all the others who have made comments.

Macca

Quote from: Paul Mac on June 01, 2025, 05:58:32 PM
Back to the PSA matter. I would thoroughly recommend to all the male members here over 50 to see your doctor and start at least annually your PSA testing. It's just a simple blood test. Easy peasy. Finding out too late sometimes leaves little alternative but the grave and in most cases prostate cancer can be treated if detected early.

Hope all goes well for you mate and all the others who have made comments.

Macca
Hi Macca,
You've nailed it.
I can't stress enough, get tested, it's not a big deal.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Fizzie

My GP gives me an annual blood-test anyway, so it's just get the lab to read an extra bit in it!

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

Bookleaf

Quote from: Fizzie on June 02, 2025, 07:05:05 AM
My GP gives me an annual blood test anyway, so it's just get the lab to read an extra bit in it!

I do as well, but I need to ensure the Doc has the PSA test on the lab form, as it does not seem to be added automatically.
Be alert and not let things fall through the cracks.

Bloody hell,
Yesterday caught up with a builder(59), I've known for 30 years.
He has started his journey, at this stage it is manageable, because he has got tested, every year and it was detected early.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

I would advise starting the PSA testing at 40yrs, 50yrs is way past when things can start going to chit!

lloydus67

Mine has been dropping since I started monitoring in 2015, I'm 56 it started at 0.46 and now is 0.20

Paul and Bern

:cup:  This is a great thread. Every one needs to take care of themselves.

:police: A PSA test is simple, blood test and pee in a jar, I think every male should monitor psa as a minimum. Education is key and we need to get it out in the open more. I feel prostate is fast becoming one of the more prolific problems in men's health but one that can be managed with good outcomes if caught early enough.
I have had tests for over 15 years the more regular as I passed 50 as they've been on the higher side at up to 7. Now 7 doesn't seem a big number until I think the norm is <2. It has been stable and I have seen the Urologists on a number of occasions and had the rubber glove treatment. 18mths ago it spiked to 8.2 and my GP referred me again.. MRI showed no shadows. Psa dropped again 6.8, 2 Months ago the 6mth check showed 7.6 again. Urologist was concerned because the prostrate measurements were too small at 40 something for the result so I have just had a TRUS biopsy (up the rear passage) and get the results soon. So an enlarged Prostate may not be the only indicator, things are individually based, what I feel/have is not necessarily what someone else will have so best thing is just Do the Test.

Can every day be made a public holiday?

Bookleaf

I believe my experience could serve as a warning to those with a tendency to adopt a "she'll be right - I will ignore possible signs and wait-and-see" mentality.

I had had the odd PSA test, but the doc was not putting it on the annual blood tests form.
After I realised this and also realised I had missed one yearly test, I insisted on a test. It came back around 5, over twice the 2 it was 2 years earlier.
Doc said, "It may be OK, it is not high, though the doubling in 2 years is of note/possible concern. We can 'wait-and-see (monitor) or you can go to a Urologist and discuss with him".
I opted for the Urologist.
He said," The figures are low. We can wait-and-see, or we can do a biopsy"
I chose the biopsy (samples taken of the prostate by a snapping/sampling device up the rear end - where access to he prostrate is the closest).
Results came back as "very slow growing, low-grade cancer in one quarter of the prostate. Not of high concern".
The urologist said, "We can wait-and-see and take more samples in 6-12 months, or you can investigate possible treatment options that you can take with the view of taking action if you wish, at your timing".
I chose "treatment options" - surgical (open surgery or robotic), or radiation (external or brachytherapy therapy - where small dots of radiated material - "seeds"- are placed inside the actual Prostate).
It took about 6 months for me to research, speak with surgeons and therapists, go to lecture/info sessions and have suitability tests for some options, before I opted for robotic removal.
No "wait-and-see".
Walked into the hospital at 7 AM, had the removal, and walked out 8 AM the next day.
Biopsy results of the removed prostate were that the cancer had spread to 100% of the prostate, but had not escaped the prostate sack/capsule. (so much for "very slow growing, low-grade cancer in one quarter of the prostate. Not of high concern") Had it escaped, then that would have been an altogether another whole ball game of ongoing treatment. 

10 years on, and other than some small leakage issues, all has been, and is, well.

The point is that although the PSA figures were low, it was the doubling in the relatively short time of 2 years that set off my journey - thanks to my insistence on the PSA test and then the "on the ball" GP once he analysed the results.
And if I had taken the "wait-and-see" option at any one of the steps on my journey, I am sure I would be in a much less healthy position today.

Do not be like a friend of mine,  Ignored urine flow signs, putting them down to "getting old", and not chasing up with the GP for PSA tests (I think that maybe he did not know of the test, or just put a low level of interest in it, if he did know).
Anyway, one day his doctor recommended the test.  He got a phone call a few days later, insisting he make an appointment ASAP.  This appointment revealed his PSA was 99!
Test/X-rays, etc, revealed the cancer had escaped the capsule and was in other parts of the body. Too late for any surgery, 12 months of chemo and radiation and hormone treatment. PSA eventually went down to under 1 after a couple of years of this, only to quickly shoot up again 18 months later. 
He is now terminally ill.

Take note, ignoring your PSA test can be fatal.

I don't let any Dr or politician tell me that you only need it done every 2yrs. I have been getting mine done every year since I turned 40yrs and my Dr has me getting checked every 6mthgs due to some changes in the reading. I've had one biopsy due to a doubling of the readings but nothing was found and then they dropped a bit and I'm now within the high range of normal. Don't pig tit around nor let anyone tell you that you are to young at 40yrs!  >:D

Harbourmaster

Had prostatectomy about 14 yrs ago. Reading went from 7 to 12 in 6 months. Wait until you've had an external biopsy they smart.
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper

Rowlie

I have been having PSA tests every year since my late 40s and results vary from year to year. I have been referred to urologists a couple of times and endured the digital exam which was nearly as uncomfortable as the bill. Each time they have reported that it is "just enlargement". Last year as the nurse was taking my blood she explained that I will now have to pay for the test as it is only free every two years - unless there is a family history. I couldn't care less about the cost but I find it odd that everyone tells you to get checked and that if you catch it early there is nearly a 100% recovery rate. The nurse then pressed me and said are you SURE your father didn't have it? Now Dad died from lung cancer (80 cigs a day will do that) but for all I know he might have had prostate too. Box ticked - no charge.

As a society we should be able to afford the cost of tests for the major life threatening illnesses ie prostate. bowel, breast cancers as well as heart checks. There is a cost to society when people suffer the illnesses so isn't prevention better than cure?

Rowlie