Author Topic: LED Torch (flashlights)  (Read 32585 times)

Offline griz066

Re: LED Torch (flashlights)
« Reply #75 on: June 24, 2010, 02:02:57 PM »
Try this one

http://www.mossko.com.au/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=40&sid=80c90b5a6b8a3f5b284e9d2d8fe8001a
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

Offline rossow

« Reply #76 on: June 24, 2010, 02:41:00 PM »
that one actually looks pretty cool.
Do u have one?
Doesnt look like it can be dimmed though. which i find handy for around the camp fire / eating dinner off lap scenario.

rossow.

« Reply #77 on: June 25, 2010, 07:26:06 PM »
i just purchased two headlights from ledtorches.com.au.

comes with free shipping and the prices were good as well.

hopefully they come next week.

i bought the Fenix HP10 for myself and a HL20 for the wife. 225 and 105 lumens respectively.

the HL20 is a bit lighter, a smaller unit runs off 1 AA battery.

the HP10 is bulkier that runs off 4 AA batteries.

can't wait.

dan

« Reply #78 on: June 25, 2010, 07:36:00 PM »
On headlamps
My missus and kids have the trusty petzl tikka plus's I have a tikka xp for hiking because its lite, and i have a myob xp for home. It gets used every day and the elastic is stuffed. I use the tikka xp for night hiking by myself and its easily bright enough. You only need to see just in front of you.
 Silvo, the rear battery pack lamps like my myob are a pain if your reading in bed as you lay on the battery
Darren
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 08:58:10 AM by darren »

Offline Pebble

« Reply #79 on: June 26, 2010, 09:22:45 PM »
i'm curious which maglite you have.

i bought one of these 900 Lumens torch and it far out performs my 4 cell led maglite.i run 9000ma rechargeables in the mag lite and even at full charge the torch isn't as bright.

having a light throw a beam long way is no good if you still can't make out what you are looking at 500 metres away. close up the little cheap led blows it out of the water.

the led lenser head lights do look good, and the h7r is up on my list of new headlights (on the SWMBOs order), but i'm also considering the Fenix HP10 at roughly twice the brightness. Feniz HP10 on the other nerd forum.

dan

Well the only distinguishable thing about my Maglite that I can tell is that the NiCad battery pack looks to have 5 cells (says 6.0V 2.2AH). It's about 32cm head to tail and I think we purchased it back in 2001! Lol not a bad life I guess!

The LED Lenser certainly kills it in light quality, that is giving out even light without all the black-spots etc.

Lol I'm not sure if my eyesight would be good enough to make out what I'm looking at 500m away!
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

« Reply #80 on: June 28, 2010, 08:24:45 AM »
Now you have a torch get out there in the CT , go camping  Or are you afraid of the dark ?

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #81 on: June 28, 2010, 08:39:48 AM »
"i bought one of these 900 Lumens torch and it far out performs my 4 cell led maglite.i run 9000ma rechargeables in the mag lite and even at full charge the torch isn't as bright."

What I want to know is how they get 900 Lumens out of 1 AA size battery...?

Seems remarkable to me.  The light from that must be absolutely blinding.

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #82 on: June 28, 2010, 08:55:25 AM »
I have both a Led Lenser P3 and H7.

The P3 has an awsome light spread. Bright right to the edge of the beam.

The H7 is just amasing. The light it throws is great.

I have got a few of the cheap headlamps from ebay. Still waiting on them. They look like they will be good for the money.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 09:03:10 AM by Laith »

Offline Darcy7

• RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #83 on: June 28, 2010, 11:55:23 AM »
Hey Laith

If the headlamp torches from ebay are similar to the ones I bought, I'd be interested to see what you think about the comparative outputs.  If you could post up some pics that would be great.

Darcy

« Reply #84 on: June 28, 2010, 12:23:34 PM »
What I want to know is how they get 900 Lumens out of 1 AA size battery...?

Seems remarkable to me.  The light from that must be absolutely blinding.

it''s not 1 AA, it is a 18650 li-on battery.

you can't look at it when it is on full strength.

Offline Laith

« Reply #85 on: June 28, 2010, 06:31:28 PM »
Hey Laith

If the headlamp torches from ebay are similar to the ones I bought, I'd be interested to see what you think about the comparative outputs.  If you could post up some pics that would be great.

Darcy

No worries. Will do.

Offline Pebble

« Reply #86 on: June 28, 2010, 09:29:37 PM »
Seems like the consensus is to have one or two "good torches" and some cheapies as well!
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

« Reply #87 on: June 29, 2010, 04:57:25 AM »
Pebbles  whats the bet the expensive torch dies or dose the phantom on you only to use the cheapy as a main  , Works in my camp  .     >:D

« Reply #88 on: June 29, 2010, 09:23:11 PM »
ok, i got my new headlights today.. god they are bright.

Original Headlight - Tactical brand (Anaconda) no idea what lumens

Wifes new Headlight - Fenix HL20 - 105 Lumens (i almost like this one better than mine)

My Headlight - Fenix HP10 - 225 Lumens

MTE 900 Lumens LED Torch

« Reply #89 on: June 29, 2010, 09:24:24 PM »
edit - removed a double post
« Last Edit: June 30, 2010, 08:00:47 AM by Silvo »

« Reply #90 on: June 30, 2010, 05:11:16 AM »
That must be a flash camper as you have art on the walls ?

« Reply #91 on: June 30, 2010, 08:01:04 AM »
That must be a flash camper as you have art on the walls ?

jealous?

Offline Pebble

« Reply #92 on: June 30, 2010, 06:32:56 PM »
I don't know why I'm laughing, my headlamp just arrived but I know someone out there would be saying "serves you right for buying from overseas". It came with a UK adapter for the charger! I feel so stupid now :-[ not having even thought of that, if it was any other electrical product I would have known better.
Ahh well in the end it was still a good price for what I could now class as a H7 (rather than a H7R). I don't like my chances of sourcing the correct adaptor part I need (rather than buying a whole charger).

About to give it a go charging direct via the USB connection!
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

« Reply #93 on: June 30, 2010, 07:40:01 PM »
I don't know why I'm laughing, my headlamp just arrived but I know someone out there would be saying "serves you right for buying from overseas". It came with a UK adapter for the charger! I feel so stupid now :-[ not having even thought of that, if it was any other electrical product I would have known better.
Ahh well in the end it was still a good price for what I could now class as a H7 (rather than a H7R). I don't like my chances of sourcing the correct adaptor part I need (rather than buying a whole charger).

can you cut the plug off and put an aussie one on? my led torch came with a european plug, i cut it off and ran a aussie one, after checking the voltage would be ok.

dan

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #94 on: June 30, 2010, 10:10:14 PM »

Check the input voltage on the plugpack, if it says 100-240v just use a travel adaptor on it, I have several that are like this and they work fine.

Offline Pebble

« Reply #95 on: July 01, 2010, 04:38:11 PM »
Yes the voltage is 100-240 so a travel adapter would work fine.

The thing with the charger is that the charger unit actually can accept different adapters (heads) ie an Aus or UK or Euro whatever, I guess so that for different markets all they have to do is throw in the correct "head " for the charger rather than have entire different charger units. Hubby said he's seen a similar thing with one of the GPSes he has at work.

The USB charging worked fine though, but I think just for general usability we will probably end up getting a travel adapter at some stage.

I tested it out last night and from what I could tell the H7R and the P7 were about as bright as each other. The H7R seemed to have more homogenous light though, maybe a little brighter but the beam width not quite as wide in coverage at the flood setting.
Pretty nifty for a head torch to have spot / flood and also a dimmer! Nice and compact in size as well.
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

Offline Laith

« Reply #96 on: July 07, 2010, 09:30:52 AM »
Hey Laith

If the headlamp torches from ebay are similar to the ones I bought, I'd be interested to see what you think about the comparative outputs.  If you could post up some pics that would be great.

Darcy

I got my eBay lights yesterday. One is the same as the one you got and the other is a copy of the H7.

Unfortunently I cant take any pics of a comparison between them and my LED Lenser H7 as my son broke my H7.

I now have a LED Lenser P2 and P3 and they both run off one AAA and are miles brighter and better quality light than the eBay jobs. The H7 just blows them away by such a huge amount that they are no comparison.

For the money I guess the eBay ones are OK but I now recon the LED Lenser H7 is worth the money. I have seen them on eBay for approx $80 and will be getting another one.

The light from my eBay ones are a little on the dull side and when focused into a tight beam the light turns into a funny shaped rectangle.

Here is a pic of the LED Lenser P2 and the and one of the eBay jobbies.

« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 10:05:32 AM by Laith »

« Reply #97 on: July 07, 2010, 10:10:33 AM »
yep - a little bit more money, once, will get you a light you won't replace.

Offline Darcy7

• RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #98 on: July 07, 2010, 10:19:28 AM »
Strewth Laith...!

Are you saying the beam on the left is from a $40 torch that uses just one AAA battery...??!!  If so that's incredible...!!!  And you reckon the H7 is better again...?  Amazing...!!

The one on the right looks the same as the eBay one I bought.  Yes they do give a strange image on the tight focus.  I think its actually the LED emmiter 'element' itself.  For $12 they are OK and very good on a spread or flood beam.

Offline Laith

« Reply #99 on: July 07, 2010, 09:16:47 PM »
Yeah Darcy. The beam on the left is a LED Lenser P2. I have a P3 somewhere in the camper and its a bit better again.

The H7 is is quite amazing. The light is so bright and good for quite a distance.

I agree for the money you cant complain about the eBay ones but they are certainly no comparison to the LED Lenser range.