Author Topic: Another butane stove recall  (Read 8714 times)

Offline filcar

Defender 90 towing AussieSwag Ultra D

Re: Another butane stove recall
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 06:44:00 PM »
Glad I kept my original "banned" one. With so many newer ones still failing, who knows which cheap chinese brand is any good ?

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2017, 07:27:20 PM »
I have a twin burner ridge Ryder which I bought late last year after they were reintroduced to the market after apparent safety upgrades.
I like the concept of these things, especially that the twin burner I have comes with it's own non stick cooking plate, comes in its own carry case....and the biggy for me....they are light and take up little room and I don't need pack to another large heavy gas cylinder.

I freely acknowledge I am no expert on the mechanics of these things, but they were reintroduced onto the market around this time last year for the third time after stringent safety upgrades and passed the relevant Australian safety standards again with improved safety features. As for the butane canisters themselves, these were made with vents inside the top so if they were to explode due to being exposed to excessive heat, they would blow in a much more gentle and controlled way instead of a violent explosion.

When cooking with mine I pay particular attention to the canisters to check if they are getting warm while cooking and they have remained cool at all times. When transporting I always have any spare canisters standing upright in a plastic bucket separated by a towel so they do not rub against each other.

Accidents can always happen though and people's safety must always come first....but I can't help but wonder what actually happened to justify this recall of the Kmart single burner this time ?

Was it a faulty appliance, canister or simply human stupidity....again ?

If it is found to be another design fault then I will admit I was wrong and turf the thing....again.

« Last Edit: September 09, 2017, 06:56:32 PM by archer63 »

« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2017, 12:09:28 AM »
Wondering if this is in response to the old bloke blowing up a butane cooker and getting burnt on Fraser a couple of weeks ago ..

« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2017, 08:11:59 AM »
Wondering if this is in response to the old bloke blowing up a butane cooker and getting burnt on Fraser a couple of weeks ago ..

What'd you do wrong Edz ??? >:D

« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2017, 09:17:03 AM »
Just get a duel fuel stove. Best thing I did.  :cheers:

Offline corndog

« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2017, 09:55:40 AM »
There are so many products that come into this country that don't comply, bad quality or have safety issues. This is just a drop in the ocean.

« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2017, 11:00:21 AM »
What'd you do wrong Edz ??? >:D
NUFFIN !  Of all the Bloody cheek you young whipper snapper, I;ll have you know I'm not old, Some just say I smell that way . ;D

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2017, 12:29:28 PM »
We bought a stove before the first recall .... still have it and have used it

Marv

Offline Murph

« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2017, 01:17:57 PM »
I have an old one and I am always aware that safety it foremost.   It's an Italian one back in the days when they were nearly $80 !!!!  Yep that long ago , still running like new but I do look after it .

« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2017, 01:50:02 PM »
Survived another brekky done on the Russian roulette self detonating cooker .. ;D

« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2017, 04:05:21 PM »
I don't get the danger of them, we took 2 of these types of cookers to Cape York back in 2006, cooked 3 weeks of meals on them without issue, and have used them plenty since without issue also

« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2017, 05:51:07 PM »

I don't get the danger of them.......

     Over heating the canister by using overly wide pots/pans caused them to explode. A canister modification was made by fitting a relief valve, but this will produce a large jet of flame if the gas gets ignited by the flame.

For safety, I keep an eye on the canister, and never use them in a confined space.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Offline CorzaDry

« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2017, 08:02:42 PM »
These sort of stoves suck anyway. They use heaps of gas and in remote areas they cost a fortune. Wife and I made that mistake when we went through the outback in 2014. It was f'd by the end of the trip too.

Good triple stove and gas bottle for us!

« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2017, 08:07:26 PM »

No as this recall was initiated by Energy Safe Victoria, so the problem came to there attention first. Once a Jurisdiction becomes aware of the problem it is raised as a national recall.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2017, 08:08:59 PM by rags »

« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2017, 08:24:59 PM »
For day trips or overnighters these things are perfect...which is why they are so popular, and sold everywhere at every cheap Shit shop, like big w etc..

but if you use a pan too big, the cans do get red hot.. also in high country weather, they freeze up and I have a stack of 3/4 used ones in the shed :(

« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2017, 10:12:24 PM »

     Over heating the canister by using overly wide pots/pans caused them to explode. A canister modification was made by fitting a relief valve, but this will produce a large jet of flame if the gas gets ignited by the flame.

For safety, I keep an eye on the canister, and never use them in a confined space.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
lucky for us space was at a premium all the time I guess, so mustn't have used overly big pots and pans...i'd not heard of that issue

« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2017, 07:11:38 AM »
l have 1 like that but l didnt buy it at Kmart . it came from a clearing sale . l will wait for the recall from there  ::)                         :cheers:

« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2017, 10:14:01 AM »
[quote ]
but if you use a pan too big, the cans do get red hot.. also in high country weather, they freeze up and I have a stack of 3/4 used ones in the shed :(
[/quote]
Think I found the answer to the  problem Birdman, You need to use the extra large pans when in the High country to keep the gas cans hot so they dont freeze up and keep working  ;D ;D

« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2017, 07:17:00 AM »

in high country weather, they freeze up and I have a stack of 3/4 used ones in the shed :(

Don't you tuck them in ya swag................ ;D

« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2017, 09:28:22 AM »
Quote from: edz
Think I found the answer to the  problem Birdman, You need to use the extra large pans when in the High country to keep the gas cans hot so they dont freeze up and keep working  ;D ;D
I'm gonna try that :P

Quote from: doc evil
Don't you tuck them in ya swag................ ;D
mate of mine does inside old footy socks doubled over... they take about 20 seconds less to freeze that way LMAO

« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2017, 04:35:16 PM »
The fault with most if not of them hasn't been the cans heating and exploding. It has been the pressure release system that failed which ultimately caused the explosion. As the cans heated up the pressure in the cans increases to the point where the pressure release should work. This disengages the gas canister, which means no more fire. This should have been occurring well before the can exploded (but wasn't). Basically the can gets a bit longer pushing on the mechanism which Is a bit like flicking up the locking lever.

Most of the changes since recall has been little more than cosmetic, newer warning labels and pressure release that actually works. The latest few recalls now seem to be leaks in the system somewhere.
The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2017, 07:53:00 PM »
Todays Paper has a recall on Jackaroo Branded ones...

Due to gas leaking

Time to just not sell them at all

« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2017, 08:13:38 PM »
Knowing a bit about the original testing and subsquent recall, I'm not surprised. I would be happy if they were all banned.

Offline jmorgan1981

• It was that last beer!!!!
« Reply #24 on: September 26, 2017, 07:09:20 AM »
I use one to get the heat beads going for the bbq 
2017 Mazda BT-50 XT
2014 Kimberley Kamper LE