Author Topic: Wanderer Goliath Tent - Sleeps 10 Thoughts?  (Read 13276 times)

Offline rockinj

Wanderer Goliath Tent - Sleeps 10 Thoughts?
« on: November 09, 2016, 07:09:40 PM »
We were supposed to go away this weekend fishing for hubby's birthday. Due to what has happened at his work they have had to cancel his holidays. Due to this, we can do an appreviated trip (overnight) but can't justify the cost of taking two utes (camper and boat). We have been tossing some ideas around including taking the swags and putting a tarp up. I have a quick look on BCF and saw the above tent for sale for members for $250 reduced from $500 which sounds like my type of budget. :-)
Has anyone had any experience with these? Some reviews say they are fine in the wind, others say they are no good.
We only have access to a small BCF so I hope they have one in stock and this also gives us pretty limited options.

Thanks in advance.

http://www.bcf.com.au/Product/Wanderer-Goliath-Tent-Sleeps-10/383996?menuFrom=571573
Trying to find the time to use our camper . . .

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
Re: Wanderer Goliath Tent - Sleeps 10 Thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2016, 07:30:36 PM »
There are other similar options
https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/oztrail-seascape-dome-tent

https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/oztrail-bungalow-dome-tent

I guess if you are near a bcf but not near a tentworld then the bcf tent might be the go.  Wanderer is bcf's own brand ... not really sure how good their tents are.

Online Bird

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2016, 08:00:15 PM »
Get it, use it for weekend, and take it back get your coin back :)

I had one of these Oztrail canvas tents for years..  also in Qld.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/272276867726
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 08:05:04 PM by Bird »

Offline rockinj

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2016, 08:12:42 PM »
Chisel, I love that second one. If I could get to a tent world I would buy it. Unfortunately that's one downfall of country living - limited shopping options.

Bird - that cracked me up!!

Offline robali

« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2016, 08:14:46 PM »
Hi... dont know if this helps but i bought a wander instant up 10 person tent it is so easy to set up 1 person can do it, but it broke on the second use this was due to my part in not pegging out the fly corners and under mass heavy wind it pushed the corner in and this caused one of the pins that hold the legs outto shear off but BFC replaced in no questions asked i love the tent as i have my side which nice and clean and the kiddies have their side to do as they wish.
Cheers Robert.

Offline rockinj

« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2016, 08:23:03 PM »
Thanks Robert.

So peg, peg, peg I guess is the moral. I saw someone had one and put extra guy ropes on it also. Better safe than sorry.

Offline listo

« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2016, 08:30:25 PM »
We are in a similar scenario, we don't want to sell our boat but it's too big for the camper. We're leaning more toward the dome swags under a tarp as most fishing trips are done in warmer weather where maximum air flow is more appreciated. if it rains, we can still keep the swags open.
That's just our thoughts. What ever way you go, I hope you guys have a great time & all the best to hubby while all this gets sorted out  :cheers:

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2016, 08:37:44 PM »
Pity you need it so soon.

I have one like this for sale.

http://www.oztrail.com.au/support/downloads/category/50-Elite?download=216:Owners%20Manuals

Gives you the bit of extra room.

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

Offline Muckinhell

• 2014 Ecomate traveller forward fold.
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2016, 08:41:36 PM »
Helped sis in law put one of these up, what a night mare, 3 experienced tent camping blokes and an hour to finally put the thousand plus poles together with the right corner pieces etc. Never again.
2005 HDJ100r Sahara
Better to look at it, than for it!

Offline bak79

• Kropp's Go Camping
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2016, 08:42:27 PM »
we've got one and used it all of last year until we bought a camper.  i think it's easy and quick to put up but is a two person job.  We've had it in some really wet weather i think the worst was two days straight of pretty decent rain with no drama but not in anything overly windy.  Main thing i don't like is the you can't have the shade/awning sections up if any rain about. 

Offline rockinj

« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2016, 08:47:58 PM »
Thanks for your thoughts listo. He has been working crazy hours since Sunday organising things for sending workers to other plants. His area was in production yesterday and today also. It will be a long, long process getting into full production again though.

I know how you feel. The camper is so good having most things already in it but taking both boat and camper gets so expensive. I almost feel like this is a backward step but hey, it is cheaper than the extra fuel we would use in one trip. I have swagged it all my life in different scenarios so this will be fun anyway.

Crap Muckinhell - I don't like the sound of that!!!!

Redcherokee, typical, time is against us.

Offline rockinj

« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2016, 08:50:22 PM »
we've got one and used it all of last year until we bought a camper.  i think it's easy and quick to put up but is a two person job.  We've had it in some really wet weather i think the worst was two days straight of pretty decent rain with no drama but not in anything overly windy.  Main thing i don't like is the you can't have the shade/awning sections up if any rain about.

Thanks!!!!
What was a typical time to set it up do you remember? I have not set up a tent in forever but for a big one I would not be suprised if 30 - 40 mins for pegging in etc is required. Am I way off?

Offline bak79

• Kropp's Go Camping
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2016, 08:55:14 PM »
honestly it's really not difficult but we used it heaps so probably worked it out.  My 7yr old used to put all poles together while i pegged it out.  the poles are all colour coded as well as where they go on the tent.  My wife had to help lift the fly over but pretty much a 20min set up if not putting poles up for useless awnings.  Friend that usually comes with us uses a blackwolf cabin tent and really isn't much quicker to setup but his does have a decent awning. 

Offline rockinj

« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2016, 08:58:57 PM »
Great.

It is probably worth the gamble then if they have one! Cross fingers they do.

Thanks everyone for your input, I really appreciate it.

Offline bak79

• Kropp's Go Camping
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2016, 09:05:40 PM »
BCF also seem to have their own range of knock-off instant up tents as well depending on how much room you want but the 6 person one is in the catalogue this week for about $280. 

Offline rockinj

« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2016, 09:08:05 PM »
I will have a sticky when I go to town tomorrow night. It needs to be big enough to fit swags rather than sleeping bags.

Online Bird

« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2016, 09:42:53 PM »
Quote from: rockinj
I will have a sticky when I go to town tomorrow night. It needs to be big enough to fit swags rather than sleeping bags.

if you have swags, why are you wasting money on tents ?? I've never understood people doing this. if you really feel you need something to cover the swags, get a cheap gazebo.

Offline rockinj

« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2016, 04:26:40 AM »
As a theft deterent. out of sight, out of mind. Also for a mediocum of privacy.

Offline rockinj

« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2016, 02:59:32 PM »
Well there has been a total change of plans. Turns out another guy from Justin's work was also going but cannot go either now. He had a cabin booked. We have spoken to the managers and they are happy to give us the booking and not charge us for our camp site. Kudos to them!!!!
I was actually starting to look forward to tenting it but for a one night trip this will be heaps easier to manage and will be awesome any way.

Bring on the big barra!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Or lots of little ones!! lol)  :cheers:

« Reply #19 on: November 10, 2016, 04:28:08 PM »
We've got a two tents in Tin Can you can have for free. (in the giveaway thread, but no one has said boo yet)

One is a two man jobbie.
The other about a 5 man from memory that we use to have for Fraser back in the 90's.

Work out a time, come down and pick 'em up.

Use 'em, sell 'em, I don't a flying rats arse.

You guys have had a crap 12 months to say the least..... So come and have a small win for a change.

(No, I don't deliver either)  ;D

Offline rockinj

« Reply #20 on: November 10, 2016, 08:14:03 PM »
Awww, that is so nice!!!!!!
Great excuse for a visit if you don't mind keeping them until the chrissy hols. If you cant thank you anyway, that's a lovely offer.

« Reply #21 on: November 11, 2016, 03:45:21 AM »
Awww, that is so nice!!!!!!
Great excuse for a visit if you don't mind keeping them until the chrissy hols. If you cant thank you anyway, that's a lovely offer.

ALL YOURS.

I'll see ya sometime over the Xmas break. (give me heads up via PM a week out from when ya coming)