Names for vehicles and campers

Started by landbarge, November 26, 2015, 12:28:56 AM

landbarge

Quote from: dales133 on November 26, 2015, 06:29:30 PM
Not one for naming inanimate objects but after persistance from a friend i might name the teardrop,a year in the making i guess it deserves a name.
The 80 series is just the wagon,
Geez you caught me on the edge of the fence with this. Yes you should have a name for the teardrop, especially when you're a year in to the build. Ya can't  force it though.

I have a few sketches and an off road 7x5 box trailer ready for a tear drop camper conversion. I had named it Salty.

Quote from: slydar on November 26, 2015, 06:02:16 PM
"Campers/Caravans are female right?"

hmm - where's that going...

"Our neighbor has a Pajero that he call Vaj the PaJ, so we've named his camper "Ina" "

ok, maybe that's it - gee, I'm glad your not my neighbour though - I wonder if that's what my neighbours think of me?!

"i did have 3 cub campers at one time so they become the three bear cubs"

now, that really is cute...!

our 'paj' is called 'alf' - I know, its on his bonnet stone guard (no, when I first bought him it was his number plate in nsw)
the camper is 'the unit' (named by the missus - not sure if it was after she tried to kick a brick under its wheel to chock it - with bare feet...)

dales133

Quote from: landbarge on November 28, 2015, 08:41:02 AM
Geez you caught me on the edge of the fence with this. Yes you should have a name for the teardrop, especially when you're a year in to the build. Ya can't  force it though.

I have a few sketches and an off road 7x5 box trailer ready for a tear drop camper conversion. I had named it Salty.

This friend suggested it looked like it belonged in "lost in space" so jupiter 2 in waterjet cut stainless in a 50s font is on the cards

landbarge

Quote from: dales133 on November 28, 2015, 08:44:57 AM
This friend suggested it looked like it belonged in "lost in space" so jupiter 2 in waterjet cut stainless in a 50s font is on the cards
Sounds great. You have inspired a theme for my new camper thing. I still can't work out if it's a caravan or a camper trailer.

rossmob

Quote from: slydar on November 28, 2015, 06:23:11 AM
good to see someone else doesn't allow himself to be manipulated into using female names for his cars - a lot of people (mostly female) are taken aback by my doing so

a car is a mate to me, as is the camper and the boat - they don't whinge, theyre always there for you and its not 'all about them' (although there are times...)

I just couldn't have a fitted out challenger being called cherry, Charisse or some other chick name.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
Stu Ross
Mitsubishi Challenger PB LS 2012 and 2013 Trackabout SV Extenda .... for list of modifications and journeys available at our Blog : http://rossmob.blogspot.com.au/

Jill loves to name our gear and we have a little fun with it.

Red Landcruiser - "Ruby"
Green Commodore - "Oscar"
Red Harley - "Cherry"
Huge Jayco - "Bertha"

Jillsy

Quote from: Brett on December 03, 2015, 09:41:30 PM
Jill loves to name our gear and we have a little fun with it.

Red Landcruiser - "Ruby"
Green Commodore - "Oscar"
Red Harley - "Cherry"
Huge Jayco - "Bertha"

It works for our young fella too ie he knows which car to hop in when you say Ruby or Oscar...

Hewy54

We go along the lines of many others.
The 80 series - the truck
The Commodore - your car
The Premier - my car
The crossover - the van

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

PenUltimate Destinations

Haven't named the Ultimate, but the LX is called Stan - Tan Stan thanks to his inspiring colour!

Dave Youl

2015 Ultimate Xterra
2006 Lexus LX470
Our blog - http://youl.id.au

me217

i sometimes call my grand vitara "the frittata"
https://t.me/pump_upp

Terry W4

Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

Rocky and Bullwinkle

Rocky for the ute because when we moved to the High Country a ute I was looking at was advertised by a person who called themselves Rocky. Did not buy that ute but it stuck for the old ute and now for the new one Of course who hangs a round with Rocky but Bullwinkle so the New camper got its name.
2015 Isuzu D Max
2015 Trackabout Safari SV Extenda
The other toy is a
2008 SeaDoo RXTX 255HP

theins

Yep, both car and camper have been named

Snowy - our white D4
Rufus - our AS camper

r2d2

We have R2D2 and C3PO, we thought about getting BB-8 for the trailer but couldn't justify the $550 for the plates on the camper.

landbarge

JD-120

Quote from: r2d2 on December 06, 2015, 11:40:39 AM
We have R2D2 and C3PO, we thought about getting BB-8 for the trailer but couldn't justify the $550 for the plates on the camper.
What's bb8? Big brother season 8

landbarge

Quote from: r2d2 on December 06, 2015, 11:40:39 AM
Nice work. You should splurge and get the full set of plates.

slydar

ok we have splashed out on a prado (albeit second hand) and have no idea what to call it - act plates are so boring - can anyone make a suggestion? my pajero was 'alf' after its original nsw rego (and it seems to suit him), previous car (lh torana) was 'hewie' as its number plate was 'hew-...' but what can you do with 'yhq-...'?

hmm, maybe I can make this a competition...?

landbarge

Youth Head Quarters.

slydar

landbarge

Your health, questionable

tracker

Hmmmmmm....never thought about naming tug or CT.

plusnq

Yogi's hot quad (yogi for short)
Your hard quest

slydar

Quote from: landbarge on December 12, 2015, 12:53:30 AM
Your health, questionable

hmm - not to mention the resulting pre-Christmas bank balance :-( - roof rack, voltage booster, rewiring for the fridge...

jamesroberts23

Kids have named the nissan XTrail "the beast"  (just wait until a Patrol is in budget!) and our Cavalier camper is "Chuck". 

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

Hewy54

Quote from: slydar on December 06, 2015, 03:15:23 PM
ok we have splashed out on a prado (albeit second hand) and have no idea what to call it - act plates are so boring - can anyone make a suggestion? my pajero was 'alf' after its original nsw rego (and it seems to suit him), previous car (lh torana) was 'hewie' as its number plate was 'hew-...' but what can you do with 'yhq-...'?

hmm, maybe I can make this a competition...?
Glad to see that I have a Torana named after me

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL